NFL Division 1

Replying To greatpoint:  "If as you say it was a jaw breaking hit and Murphy tried to nail him and did, how come he was fine and continued playing? Your logic doesn't follow."
Rather than nit picking ......i left the word "type" out of my post...............jaw breaking type tackles!

are shoulder charges or elbows to the jaw, jaw breaking type tackles and do we want them in the game?

Most people understand what I meant, may not agree but understood!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 24/02/2020 14:10:26    2269739

Replying To Mayonman:  "Rather than nit picking ......i left the word "type" out of my post...............jaw breaking type tackles!

are shoulder charges or elbows to the jaw, jaw breaking type tackles and do we want them in the game?

Most people understand what I meant, may not agree but understood!"
No nitpicking, you typed what you typed. I have no control over that.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2020 14:54:56    2269762

Replying To sligo joe:  "Same Michael Murphy that gave Fenton a closed fist shot to the jaw, all-ireland q/f 2016, when Dublin were out the gate, mis-timed shoulder???"
Murphy definitely plays the game on the edge at times. The Fenton incident you refer to was a red card challenge for me and there was also a bordeline one on Connolly back in 2014 when he caught him with a closed fist in the gut. Unlike a lot of Dublin supporters us Donegal supporters aren't afraid to admit when our players cross a line from time to time. You lads never like to admit it when a Dublin player may have done wrong and your go to defence is to point out a wrong doing from an opposition player and completely deflect. For what it's worth I think Donegal lack a John Small type player in our team and outside a few experienced players our team is too nice at the moment. Stephen McMenamin and McFadden Ferry have that dog in them so hope they can develop that because if the top team are getting away with those tactics we need to adapt them too. Our 2012 team had a few of them and that helped us get over the line.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 24/02/2020 15:16:41    2269771

To be honest byrne half put his head into Murphy's elbow aswell it was right infront of me but yes murphy did lead with it arm also.
At least we can admit when one of our players do wrong so and stop the oul ah poor dublin no-one likes us as its getting kinda embarrassing at this stage! In other words man up you'll get way more respect doing so!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 24/02/2020 16:45:39    2269804

I think it was a red for Murphy, as someone mentioned the onus has to be on the tackler to be in control. I wouldn't be happy at all if a Dub got away with the same incident (and I really am not happy about Small on McHugh not being picked up).

Murphy goes in recklessly at times and opposition fans can go way way OTT screaming for his head in my opinion (often hear and see some very unsavoury comments about him which I think are incredibly unfair) but on Saturday I do think we were lucky he didn't see the line.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/02/2020 17:03:48    2269812

Replying To Mobot:  "Murphy definitely plays the game on the edge at times. The Fenton incident you refer to was a red card challenge for me and there was also a bordeline one on Connolly back in 2014 when he caught him with a closed fist in the gut. Unlike a lot of Dublin supporters us Donegal supporters aren't afraid to admit when our players cross a line from time to time. You lads never like to admit it when a Dublin player may have done wrong and your go to defence is to point out a wrong doing from an opposition player and completely deflect. For what it's worth I think Donegal lack a John Small type player in our team and outside a few experienced players our team is too nice at the moment. Stephen McMenamin and McFadden Ferry have that dog in them so hope they can develop that because if the top team are getting away with those tactics we need to adapt them too. Our 2012 team had a few of them and that helped us get over the line."
Murphy does play the game on the edge. As does Small and several other of our lads. As does Clifford, O'Brien, Keegan, the O'Connor brothers, a few of the Tyrone boys and plenty more to boot. The difference is, only 2 counties are vilified for it in the media. Dublin and Tyrone. Personally I love Small, he would be in all my teams every day and twice on Sunday. I daresay most counties would love him in their team too.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 17:14:17    2269815

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I think it was a red for Murphy, as someone mentioned the onus has to be on the tackler to be in control. I wouldn't be happy at all if a Dub got away with the same incident (and I really am not happy about Small on McHugh not being picked up).

Murphy goes in recklessly at times and opposition fans can go way way OTT screaming for his head in my opinion (often hear and see some very unsavoury comments about him which I think are incredibly unfair) but on Saturday I do think we were lucky he didn't see the line."
I would have been happy enough to see him walk after 3 mins to be honest as I thought he was outstanding after that. He makes up for his lack of mobility in fielding, pinpoint distribution and accuracy between the posts. A class act.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/02/2020 18:01:31    2269824

Replying To Jackeen:  "Murphy does play the game on the edge. As does Small and several other of our lads. As does Clifford, O'Brien, Keegan, the O'Connor brothers, a few of the Tyrone boys and plenty more to boot. The difference is, only 2 counties are vilified for it in the media. Dublin and Tyrone. Personally I love Small, he would be in all my teams every day and twice on Sunday. I daresay most counties would love him in their team too."
Mayo and Kerry players have been vilified too...in most cases deserved so come on Jackeen don't go into this us against the world tripe cause it ain't so.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/02/2020 18:13:09    2269825

Replying To catch22:  "Mayo look like they are on the verge of a drop but Tyrone may well be the other candidate in the same boat.
A year in division 2 might not be a disaster though considering what all the years in division one has achieved."
I dont see any positive in dropping to division 2...Mayo are in division 1 for 24 years and in that time have won 2 league titles, multiple Connacht tiles and competed in 7/8 All Ireland finals and have a consistency only bettered nun Kerry and Dublin so your suggestion that we have achieved nothing is way off the mark.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/02/2020 18:15:53    2269826

Replying To Jackeen:  "Murphy does play the game on the edge. As does Small and several other of our lads. As does Clifford, O'Brien, Keegan, the O'Connor brothers, a few of the Tyrone boys and plenty more to boot. The difference is, only 2 counties are vilified for it in the media. Dublin and Tyrone. Personally I love Small, he would be in all my teams every day and twice on Sunday. I daresay most counties would love him in their team too."
My point exactly jackeen. Dublin do not get vilified for it where they should and i for one was in shock when rte broadcast this on sunday night because they get away with alot more than other countries do especially small!!!

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 24/02/2020 18:15:54    2269827

One named from Donegal, one from Dublin, two from Kerry, none from Tyrone and THREE from Mayo. Doing your best to redress the perceived vilification imbalance there Jackeen. Have you forgotten our Leroy was vilified before it became fashionable, and to our cost if I remember correctly. And Lee so harmless!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 24/02/2020 18:43:31    2269832

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "My point exactly jackeen. Dublin do not get vilified for it where they should and i for one was in shock when rte broadcast this on sunday night because they get away with alot more than other countries do especially small!!!"
I'm not sure you understand my point. How many articles have we seen on John Small in recent times? How many on Murphy or the O'Connors etc? He doesn't get away with it though. He is carded and walks more often than not. He must hold the record for being sent off the most time in all Ireland finals. So he does the crime then does the time. Not always but you win some you lose dome. Same as ANY other player!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 18:49:44    2269835

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo and Kerry players have been vilified too...in most cases deserved so come on Jackeen don't go into this us against the world tripe cause it ain't so."
Who in Kerry or Mayo in recent times has been vilified? Has articles written about them. Is subject to their behaviour being scrutinised on GAA programmes and podcasts?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 18:51:25    2269837

Replying To yew_tree:  "I dont see any positive in dropping to division 2...Mayo are in division 1 for 24 years and in that time have won 2 league titles, multiple Connacht tiles and competed in 7/8 All Ireland finals and have a consistency only bettered nun Kerry and Dublin so your suggestion that we have achieved nothing is way off the mark."
I suppose, it may just be that Mayo have gone as far as they can and while a couple of league titles and Connacht titles are grand it's not great for a team that's playing the top teams consistently year in and year out for nearly quarter of a century.
Maybe sometimes you need to go back before you can go forward or not as is your opinion.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 24/02/2020 18:56:52    2269840

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "One named from Donegal, one from Dublin, two from Kerry, none from Tyrone and THREE from Mayo. Doing your best to redress the perceived vilification imbalance there Jackeen. Have you forgotten our Leroy was vilified before it became fashionable, and to our cost if I remember correctly. And Lee so harmless!"
Jesus you're precious. Obviously we have more, Connolly....remember him??? Keegan does! Cooper & whoever else you deem fits the bill.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/02/2020 18:57:47    2269841

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm not sure you understand my point. How many articles have we seen on John Small in recent times? How many on Murphy or the O'Connors etc? He doesn't get away with it though. He is carded and walks more often than not. He must hold the record for being sent off the most time in all Ireland finals. So he does the crime then does the time. Not always but you win some you lose dome. Same as ANY other player!"
As you said yourself he must hold the record for the most sendings off in All-Ireland finals. Do you think this might have anything to do with the articles being written? Come on now Jackeen.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 24/02/2020 19:07:26    2269843

Read a few posts on here about the referee. I thought he had a reasonable game. The 2 yellow cards to Flynn were questionable but he gave the ref a decision to make. Also about time referees started to clampdown in goalies taking for ever to kick out the ball. It's not a question of killing time but of giving time for players to get open. I hope more refs do this, from once you place the ball down 5/6 seconds till you kick it is more than enough. The ref wasn't perfect but he was better than most.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 24/02/2020 19:20:31    2269848

Replying To catch22:  "I suppose, it may just be that Mayo have gone as far as they can and while a couple of league titles and Connacht titles are grand it's not great for a team that's playing the top teams consistently year in and year out for nearly quarter of a century.
Maybe sometimes you need to go back before you can go forward or not as is your opinion."
I'm well aware of our all Ireland failure and it's an asbysmal record but you gotta keep at it.

But to develop players you need to be playing the best and in division 1...we are in transition with a raft of new players who will need time...you need them playing in division 1. An all Ireland winner will not come from division 2.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 24/02/2020 19:37:11    2269854

Replying To yew_tree:  "I dont see any positive in dropping to division 2...Mayo are in division 1 for 24 years and in that time have won 2 league titles, multiple Connacht tiles and competed in 7/8 All Ireland finals and have a consistency only bettered nun Kerry and Dublin so your suggestion that we have achieved nothing is way off the mark."
Its not good when Horans boss is on the Lash tweeting #Horanout after yesterdays result.
Not hooking that kid yesterday at H/T was not county level management and probably the reason for his reaction.
Club managers would have seen this happening..

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 24/02/2020 19:43:23    2269856

Replying To BeJasus:  "Its not good when Horans boss is on the Lash tweeting #Horanout after yesterdays result.
Not hooking that kid yesterday at H/T was not county level management and probably the reason for his reaction.
Club managers would have seen this happening.."
That TOM fella is a disgrace, on the lash watching the rugby and then tweeting Eglish soccer style looking for a manager to be sacked.
If I was Mayo GAA I'd cut all ties with him..
On the relegation issue, Div 2 would be a disaster for Mayo.. They are trying new lads now but that's basically because after this season I would think Higgins, Clarke, Parsons, O Shea, Barrett, Vaughan and possibly Boyle will all be finished. They have no choice but to try the newbies.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 394 - 24/02/2020 20:04:50    2269863