Dublin Fans Behaviour

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Irish Independent:
Even in the stand below us a minor scuffle broke out between rival supporters well into middle age, who really ought to have more sense. And as the referee Alan Coyne, of Westmeath, made his way off to a safe house at the back of one of the goals, some Dublin supporters surged in his direction and made their displeasure known.

Irish Times:
Not that Saturday's result seemed to bother the former Dublin minor and U-21 manager too much, with their travelling supporters far more agitated.

One of them, standing on the terrace beneath the main press area, almost came to blows with a Longford supporter while later on, after Darren Gallagher kicked the winning point for Longford after winning a debatable free himself, Dublin supporters verbally abuse referee Alan Coyne as he exited the pitch.

In the end, it required the intervention of two gardaí and a couple of stewards to bring calm to an unseasonably combustible situation for the second weekend of January."
Ah ok. I saw the phrase "Dublin fans attacked Longford fans" used by Benji and assumed that there had been a riot. Silly stuff from those who travelled. It was only a OBC game and no matter how terrible the referee was, he's an amateur at the end of the day and doesn't deserve that volley of verbals at close range."
I seen a lot of images of the referee been escorted off pitch. But in none of the images have I seen Garda escorting him off the pitch.

I do not condone abuse of referees. However unfortunately it is part and parcel of our games. While it was disappointing to see it so early in the year it is a culture that will continue until something is done at the very top.

Dublin have won five All Ireland titles in a row. Followed by so called glory hunters in the summer so we are told. Was it not heartening to see so many of them travelling to Longford on a cold Saturday afternoon to see their third string team in a OBC tie.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 13/01/2020 21:49:14    2259565

Your are right about one summer band wagon jumpers on the hill

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 14/01/2020 01:39:43    2259599

This is what our gaa and our government sponsored sports bodies have brought the game of football too or should I say this is what bought it too. With all that money flying about to buy 5 in a row

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 14/01/2020 01:43:59    2259600

You can buy All Ireland titles but you cannot buy class.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 14/01/2020 07:50:47    2259607

Replying To Jack L:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "Irish Independent:
Even in the stand below us a minor scuffle broke out between rival supporters well into middle age, who really ought to have more sense. And as the referee Alan Coyne, of Westmeath, made his way off to a safe house at the back of one of the goals, some Dublin supporters surged in his direction and made their displeasure known.

Irish Times:
Not that Saturday's result seemed to bother the former Dublin minor and U-21 manager too much, with their travelling supporters far more agitated.

One of them, standing on the terrace beneath the main press area, almost came to blows with a Longford supporter while later on, after Darren Gallagher kicked the winning point for Longford after winning a debatable free himself, Dublin supporters verbally abuse referee Alan Coyne as he exited the pitch.

In the end, it required the intervention of two gardaí and a couple of stewards to bring calm to an unseasonably combustible situation for the second weekend of January."
Ah ok. I saw the phrase "Dublin fans attacked Longford fans" used by Benji and assumed that there had been a riot. Silly stuff from those who travelled. It was only a OBC game and no matter how terrible the referee was, he's an amateur at the end of the day and doesn't deserve that volley of verbals at close range."
I seen a lot of images of the referee been escorted off pitch. But in none of the images have I seen Garda escorting him off the pitch.

I do not condone abuse of referees. However unfortunately it is part and parcel of our games. While it was disappointing to see it so early in the year it is a culture that will continue until something is done at the very top.

Dublin have won five All Ireland titles in a row. Followed by so called glory hunters in the summer so we are told. Was it not heartening to see so many of them travelling to Longford on a cold Saturday afternoon to see their third string team in a OBC tie."]Their passion is to be commended. Good to see their hunger for further success extending itself into the pre season competition.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 14/01/2020 09:43:57    2259624

Maybe someone who was at the game can comment on if this applied on this occasion.

For years I was angry about leinster council appointment of referees in midland games. Typically I would have followed my kids school games around leinster and Leinster club games. Usually a referee from a technically neutral county was appointed. In places like westmeath and longford because they are not big counties this was always a fellow from down the road who worked /did business/had relations in the competing county.

I distinctly remember a schools game in westmeath with a longford referee, Before the match I overheard a smug westmeath parent say Jimmy is refereeing it, he'll look after us. The smug b*****ks was right and Jimmy allowed our kids be assaulted without as much as a free.

This is what you get from the Leinster Council with a sick attitude to appointing referees

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 14/01/2020 10:30:35    2259642

Replying To Ashrules:  "Maybe someone who was at the game can comment on if this applied on this occasion.

For years I was angry about leinster council appointment of referees in midland games. Typically I would have followed my kids school games around leinster and Leinster club games. Usually a referee from a technically neutral county was appointed. In places like westmeath and longford because they are not big counties this was always a fellow from down the road who worked /did business/had relations in the competing county.

I distinctly remember a schools game in westmeath with a longford referee, Before the match I overheard a smug westmeath parent say Jimmy is refereeing it, he'll look after us. The smug b*****ks was right and Jimmy allowed our kids be assaulted without as much as a free.

This is what you get from the Leinster Council with a sick attitude to appointing referees"
Blaming referees for a defeat is very common. Looking at the stats from Saturday's match it was 14 scores to 9. Out of the 9 scores three were goals. The reason for defeat my lie here.

Those of us who attend matches on a regualr basis knows that decisions balances itself out over the year. I would rather receive bad calls in January rather than business end of season when every decision is decisive

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 14/01/2020 11:13:38    2259661

Not just Leinster council didnt the Gaa apoint a Referee for the All Ireland final that lives and works in Dublin

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 14/01/2020 11:22:30    2259670

Jack L

That is a sporting sentiment worth contributing.
The cynic in me however wonders do you mean in this case that bad decisions will go against dublin in longfort but for them in Croke Park

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 14/01/2020 12:31:02    2259683

Replying To Ashrules:  "Jack L

That is a sporting sentiment worth contributing.
The cynic in me however wonders do you mean in this case that bad decisions will go against dublin in longfort but for them in Croke Park"
Ashrules.

I am not referring to Dublin here with that comment. Every team the length and breath of Ireland, club, county scholl etc suffers from poor referere's decisions from time to time. My point is in a lot of cases they are balanced out over the season. Decisions goes your way one day and againsy you another day. Referees are under such much scrutiny nowadays (at intercounty at least) that they need to impress just like any player to get matches at latter end of season.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 14/01/2020 12:52:15    2259690

Replying To traleegerry:  "Your are right about one summer band wagon jumpers on the hill"
as opposed to the early autumn bandwagon jumpers in green and gold?

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 14/01/2020 16:19:23    2259737

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "as opposed to the early autumn bandwagon jumpers in green and gold?"
Hi at least our supporters have an excuse unlike yer lads, I read that our kerry team and supporters will have to travel over 2,800 km that's double what dublin have in 1,400km in this year's league alone with away trips to dublin Tyrone Monaghan and Mayo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/01/2020 16:38:53    2259744

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi at least our supporters have an excuse unlike yer lads, I read that our kerry team and supporters will have to travel over 2,800 km that's double what dublin have in 1,400km in this year's league alone with away trips to dublin Tyrone Monaghan and Mayo."
I never heard a kerry supporter complain about travelling pre 2011? Wasn't croke park the home of kerry football?

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 14/01/2020 16:54:06    2259749

Replying To hamsterdean:  "I never heard a kerry supporter complain about travelling pre 2011? Wasn't croke park the home of kerry football?"
Where did I mention anything about crokepark in my post?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/01/2020 17:32:24    2259757

Every single thread just descends into this Kerry / Dublin nonsense. So, so boring to read.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 14/01/2020 17:32:48    2259758

Replying To sourmilk93:  "For years I was angry about leinster council appointment of referees in midland games. Typically I would have followed my kids school games around leinster and Leinster club games. Usually a referee from a technically neutral county was appointed. In places like westmeath and longford because they are not big counties this was always a fellow from down the road who worked /did business/had relations in the competing county.

Not just Leinster council didnt the Gaa apoint a Referee for the All Ireland final that lives and works in Dublin"
And a Cork man doing business in Kerry for the replay!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/01/2020 17:37:55    2259759

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi at least our supporters have an excuse unlike yer lads, I read that our kerry team and supporters will have to travel over 2,800 km that's double what dublin have in 1,400km in this year's league alone with away trips to dublin Tyrone Monaghan and Mayo."
Apparently there were more Dubs in Pearse for this meaningless match with our D team than there was Kerry fans in Ennis for their championship game last year. Need we say any more? ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 14/01/2020 17:42:09    2259760

Jays Tom but you're really tearing the ar*e out of it now. Wasn't there once a time when ye were willing and able to win anywhere.
Where did Kerry win all these AI's ye do be telling everyone about.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 14/01/2020 18:18:40    2259771

But the boys behaved them self's that porter is too strong for the blue boys up in Longford or should I call them the boo boys from the hill

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 14/01/2020 19:43:46    2259794

Great crowd for a game in early January! Dublin apparently made 23 substitutions (unlimited in preseason) which probably didn't help their cause.

To be fair, the ref did give us some soft frees towards the end. I thought he was doing his best for a penalty shootout but the winning score was a free, in my opinion. Dublin won their l resulting kickout but their in their quest for an equaliser the last attack broke down & ref blew the final whistle.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 14/01/2020 19:45:27    2259795