Master Calendar 2020

Replying To Bloodsub6:  "I have read your post a number of times, in particular the last line. I can't fathom what you a trying to say, is it a dig at me? Is it a dig at another? or what is it as I can't make sense of it. The whole purpose of a forum is to give opinions, some you will agree with, some you won't but everyone is entitled to one. A healthy debate (based on fact where possible) is always welcome. I personally like discussing GAA especially with people who give a balanced view on games they have attended. With current restrictions on game attendances this should be a platform for neutrals to get reports from around the county (we cannot rely on our local rags at times). I take it you are an Eastern Harps supporter hence your attendance in Keash & Collooney and the scramble for tickets (i'll be looking forward to a report from Curry). Believe me i'm not here to get into a 'war of words' with you or any other and that's one of the main reasons I will only periodically comment. Moving on to the weekends games

Drumcliffe V Shamrock Gaels = Shamrock Gaels
Eastern Harps V Tubbercurry = Tubbercurry
Coolaney/Mullinabreena V Tourlestrane = Tourlestrane
Geevagh V Calry/St Joseph's = Calry

Curry V St Molaise Gaels = Curry
Bunninadden V Enniscrone = Bunninadden
Castleconnor V Easkey = Easkey
St Farnan's V Michael's = St Farnans

I think Shamrock Gaels should build on last years semifinal appearance and will have too much for Drumcliffe. They are young and enthusiastic but I do think a full league campaign may of stood to them based on their youth (will be watching on youtube). Tubbercurry or Eastern Harps are not the teams of old but still should be a good game. Coolaney need a victory after last weekends result but I cannot see it coming against the reigning champions. Geevagh equally are going to find it difficult against a physically strong Calry team who are on the up.
Intermediate - its very competitive with a number of teams of equal standing. Hard to know with Curry V Molaise, all I can base this on is how poor Molaise were last year. Good game, with Curry to prevail and Adrian Marren to lead the charge. As for us, who knows? Based on last weeks performances i'd worry but all is positive in the club after the local derby success. Enniscrone have very good forwards and a nice blend of youth. Can't look past Easkey & St Farnans in the other 2 games.

As for referee's - without them we would have no games (stating the obvious I know). But who is the best maybe JG, there are a number of them at the same level."
i think you have read to much into my last line, i was simply suggesting for people not to slate me for my opinion on best referee, as it is a hot topic and a topic that divides opinion, it was nowhere near a personal jibe at you (so you wasted your time over thinking the line)

drumcliffe have a whole new defence with the ex donegal keeper durkan, you will be sure he has them well martialled, that is my reason for siding with drumcliffe ,
havnt heard much about molaise, i know they were riddled with injuries and emigration last year, i presume some of those have returned, their minor team is superb, caught the last 20 minutes of their game against ballymotebunn minors, definetly a team for the future
that game between bunninadden and enniscrone is crucial, whoever loses is most likely going to be in relegation semi with ballymote, going to be a spicy match , could not get a ticket to this game (may watch through the fields)
have had no luck geting tickets to any games this weekend yet, fingers crossed

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2020 10:46:03    2285941

Replying To sligopublican:  "i think you have read to much into my last line, i was simply suggesting for people not to slate me for my opinion on best referee, as it is a hot topic and a topic that divides opinion, it was nowhere near a personal jibe at you (so you wasted your time over thinking the line)

drumcliffe have a whole new defence with the ex donegal keeper durkan, you will be sure he has them well martialled, that is my reason for siding with drumcliffe ,
havnt heard much about molaise, i know they were riddled with injuries and emigration last year, i presume some of those have returned, their minor team is superb, caught the last 20 minutes of their game against ballymotebunn minors, definetly a team for the future
that game between bunninadden and enniscrone is crucial, whoever loses is most likely going to be in relegation semi with ballymote, going to be a spicy match , could not get a ticket to this game (may watch through the fields)
have had no luck geting tickets to any games this weekend yet, fingers crossed"
I think you are trying to make out your from everyclub and at the same time no club in case someone might know your identity. If the bunnies lose this weekend there is no way they are in relegation. On another note it was great to hear that Ryan Feehilly played for Mary's last Sunday. The Sligo rugby player even got on the score sheet. Nice that Rugby and Gaelic can be played hand in hand unlike the other fancy Dan's in the Showgrounds who won't allow 12 and 13 year olds play Gaelic if they"sign" up with them

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 31/07/2020 11:45:13    2285946

Replying To eoinog:  "I think you are trying to make out your from everyclub and at the same time no club in case someone might know your identity. If the bunnies lose this weekend there is no way they are in relegation. On another note it was great to hear that Ryan Feehilly played for Mary's last Sunday. The Sligo rugby player even got on the score sheet. Nice that Rugby and Gaelic can be played hand in hand unlike the other fancy Dan's in the Showgrounds who won't allow 12 and 13 year olds play Gaelic if they"sign" up with them"
i have no issue stating i am a harps man, but i try to get to as many games as possible eoinog, i dont think there is a issue with that ? what club are you ??

and my point was if bunninadden lose to enniscrone, you could see them losing to molaise and curry also, so the loser of this match is more then likely in my opinion in a relegation semi final with ballymote

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2020 12:26:04    2285954

Replying To eoinog:  "I think you are trying to make out your from everyclub and at the same time no club in case someone might know your identity. If the bunnies lose this weekend there is no way they are in relegation. On another note it was great to hear that Ryan Feehilly played for Mary's last Sunday. The Sligo rugby player even got on the score sheet. Nice that Rugby and Gaelic can be played hand in hand unlike the other fancy Dan's in the Showgrounds who won't allow 12 and 13 year olds play Gaelic if they"sign" up with them"
i have no issue stating i am a harps man, but i try to get to as many games as possible eoinog, i dont think there is a issue with that ? what club are you ??

and my point was if bunninadden lose to enniscrone, you could see them losing to molaise and curry also, so the loser of this match is more then likely in my opinion in a relegation semi final with ballymote

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2020 12:26:13    2285955

Replying To sligopublican:  "i have no issue stating i am a harps man, but i try to get to as many games as possible eoinog, i dont think there is a issue with that ? what club are you ??

and my point was if bunninadden lose to enniscrone, you could see them losing to molaise and curry also, so the loser of this match is more then likely in my opinion in a relegation semi final with ballymote"
Sure how is it the case if Bunninadden lose to Curry or Molaise that they play Ballymote? Surely they will play the opposite side of the championship. Seems to be a lot of bluff going on here!

Bring on the football of the weekend!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 488 - 31/07/2020 22:32:50    2286009

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Sure how is it the case if Bunninadden lose to Curry or Molaise that they play Ballymote? Surely they will play the opposite side of the championship. Seems to be a lot of bluff going on here!

Bring on the football of the weekend!"
Maybe recheck the revised format for this year Sligoman ;) bottom two in relegation semi final , Goodman

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 31/07/2020 22:45:57    2286010

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Sure how is it the case if Bunninadden lose to Curry or Molaise that they play Ballymote? Surely they will play the opposite side of the championship. Seems to be a lot of bluff going on here!

Bunnies won't lose I'll make sure of that!

Taliban! (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 01/08/2020 08:37:41    2286022

Group 1 is certainly a group of death with all the teams capable of taking points from each with the possible exception of harps. The stand out game for me is Drumcliffe v Gaels - can gaels build on their performances of last year especially having capitulated to Tour in league and championship, on the other hand Drum have ran Tour close both in league and championship in recent years, a win for either would give them some momentum for the Tubber and Mary's clashes and put them in prime position to possibly top the group.

Nobody wants to finish second in this group as almost certainly they will face Tour in a semi-final and whist Tour haven't historically set the world alight on their semi-final performances (last year was different) they are a grizzly, tough, strong outfit who will have enough experience to gain the day and appear in yet another final, where they have a phenomenal record of only ever losing a handful of senior finals since their inception.

leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 71 - 01/08/2020 10:03:18    2286023

Definitely bluff. No one from Harps would call a Ballymote v Bunninadden game a west division derby. Nice last week to see all the teams on the web so you could see all the lineouts. Hopefully it will continue but as games are coming thick and fast the reliability of the information will Slacken as teams prob won't be named until Friday night giving lads with knocks every chance to recover.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 01/08/2020 11:10:06    2286026

No great surprises this weekend it would appear. The one 50/50 senior tie ended a draw and the rest went to plan. Molaise Gaels edged out Curry in whats probably a dress rehearsal for the intermediate final.

ChasingShadows (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 02/08/2020 17:41:27    2286132

Replying To ChasingShadows:  "No great surprises this weekend it would appear. The one 50/50 senior tie ended a draw and the rest went to plan. Molaise Gaels edged out Curry in whats probably a dress rehearsal for the intermediate final."
Curry won't be near that final by my viewing of them this year , completely reliant on the marrens,
Shamrock gaels left the game behind
And harps to go down, as expected

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 03/08/2020 03:30:28    2286189

Replying To sligopublican:  "Curry won't be near that final by my viewing of them this year , completely reliant on the marrens,
Shamrock gaels left the game behind
And harps to go down, as expected"
Ok Curry have played in Dromard & Collooney in the championship and you got to see them? As a neutral how are you getting these tickets? 'Harps to go down, as expected' strange statement from a harps supporter after 2 games? i'm with eoinog on this one, I don't think you know what club you are from! As for the Shamrock Gaels V Drumcliffe game - nice to watch it from the comforts of home on what looked difficult conditions. My opinion on it is Shamrock Gaels didn't perform bar Sean Carroll and I believe Drumcliffe will be very annoyed they didn't kick 1 of the frees at the end to win the game. Drumcliffe are a hard working team with 2 very decent transfers in this year. Big game for Shamrock Gaels next, they really need to up their game. As for us, i'm not the better of the result. We looked comfortable at so many stages and even had the luxury of missing another penalty and still looked like the winning team. However the dieing minutes proved disastrous for us and a lot of soul searching before the next game. I have to mention young Gavin Duffy (who is still a club minor) who was excellent throughout and i'm sure someday will be a talisman at County level. Group wide open now with St. Molaise also grabbing victory at the death. No surprises in the other group.

Bloodsub6 (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 03/08/2020 18:23:07    2286242

Replying To Bloodsub6:  "Ok Curry have played in Dromard & Collooney in the championship and you got to see them? As a neutral how are you getting these tickets? 'Harps to go down, as expected' strange statement from a harps supporter after 2 games? i'm with eoinog on this one, I don't think you know what club you are from! As for the Shamrock Gaels V Drumcliffe game - nice to watch it from the comforts of home on what looked difficult conditions. My opinion on it is Shamrock Gaels didn't perform bar Sean Carroll and I believe Drumcliffe will be very annoyed they didn't kick 1 of the frees at the end to win the game. Drumcliffe are a hard working team with 2 very decent transfers in this year. Big game for Shamrock Gaels next, they really need to up their game. As for us, i'm not the better of the result. We looked comfortable at so many stages and even had the luxury of missing another penalty and still looked like the winning team. However the dieing minutes proved disastrous for us and a lot of soul searching before the next game. I have to mention young Gavin Duffy (who is still a club minor) who was excellent throughout and i'm sure someday will be a talisman at County level. Group wide open now with St. Molaise also grabbing victory at the death. No surprises in the other group."
curry have live streams on their facebook page mr bloodsub if your not feeling adventurous, and besides it wasnt hard got into coolooney anyways, i thoroughly enjoyed the game in coolooney with all the ballymote men in front of the stand,
how did they get tickets ???
harps will be in the relegation final this year with geevagh, im just calling a spade a spade, bunninadden left that game behind them if from what i heard is correct, still waiting on the match report

sligopublican (Sligo) - Posts: 45 - 04/08/2020 08:46:41    2286274

Group 1 looks like a minefield to predict who's going the get out of it, two big games this weekend with the loser of Tubber and Shamrock in a real battle to make the semis. Group 2 see's CM needing a win this weekend or else the relegation battle beckons.
Any stand out performers from the weekend that Mr Taylor should be getting on the phone too?

downsouth18 (Sligo) - Posts: 18 - 04/08/2020 10:35:33    2286296

Moving into the critical stages now although with the new format every game really is make or break which is great in one way for bringing a bit of spice to it.

For this weekends games I'm going to go with

Group 1:Mary's and Tubber wins which should put Tubber safely through to the semi finals just a matter of it being first or second. I think Mary's will join them and you'll have Harps definitely in relegation with probably Shamrock Gaels.

Group 2: Coolera and Tourlestrane to win. I think Tourlestrane will make semi finals and it'll come down to winner of Calry Coolera game to see who joins them. Mullinabreena and Geevagh for the wooden spoon section.

Intermediate:
Group 1: Curry and St Molaise Gaels to win which will take the good out of Enniscrones win at the weekend as in this group its looking like anyone with two losses is fighting to avoid relegation. However I fancy Enniscrone to overcome Ballymote too so I'll say Ballymote and Bunninadden for the relegation.

Group 2: Farnan's and Easkey for comfortable enough wins. Both these two will top the group in my view bar a St.John's surprise and it has to be in their games against either Easkey or Farnan's. Castleconnor and Michaels for relegation and tbh I'd say they'll meet each other in the final of it too.

Junior: We never give them a shout at all so here goes

Group 1: Pats to win well and Cloonacool to win also. Both will reach semi finals should they win this weekend.
Group 2: Owenmore and Tourlestrane wins which will see Owenmore qualified too.

Here's hoping to no tickets being announced today so we can get out and about over the weekend!

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 488 - 04/08/2020 11:50:54    2286309

Replying To sligopublican:  "curry have live streams on their facebook page mr bloodsub if your not feeling adventurous, and besides it wasnt hard got into coolooney anyways, i thoroughly enjoyed the game in coolooney with all the ballymote men in front of the stand,
how did they get tickets ???
harps will be in the relegation final this year with geevagh, im just calling a spade a spade, bunninadden left that game behind them if from what i heard is correct, still waiting on the match report"
Hands up, I was not aware Currys games were streamed on-line. My sincere apologies sligopublican. How did Ballymote men get tickets? straight answer I don't know! Maybe you could ask them at the next Ballymote/Bunninadden minor game if you go (reference "caught the last 20 minutes of their game against ballymotebunn minors"). Shame your giving up on your club so early - 'will be' is very definite. I did state in the last post we lost in the dieing minutes. Too many missed chances, frees/penalty/tap overs. We really should of been out of sight. But you don't take your chances you get punished. 2 very difficult games left.

Bloodsub6 (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 04/08/2020 16:54:01    2286354

In the senior championship group 1 is too tight to call. It looks like Harps may not pick up any points which means that a team on 4 points could easily be in relegation also. Drumcliffe won't fear any team. Well organised and un beaten in 2 games. Tubber would appear in good health but they need to beat either the Gaels or Mary's to get off 3 points. Neither will be easy. Mary's have one win against the weakest team in the group so they need 2 wins out of 3 to be sure of knockout If Gaels beat Harps then they have 2 very tough games to follow.. The dropped point last week might come back to haunt them.... It's like the 12th count in a council election and you are wondering where the transfers will go. Other group is fairly predictable. Geevagh and Coolaney will be bottom. Tour should top it,Calry to take runner up spot and Coolera to take third place

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 05/08/2020 11:51:26    2286439

Curry's stream was excellent in every way, picture quality and commentary as well fair play to all involved, first-ever time I watch the Gaels from abroad. It was a great one to win but we stole it, it was harsh on Curry who were more clinical throughout. Adrian Marren was outstanding but not surprised as Eoin gave himself and Adrian a free role. The best player on show was Alan Mcloughlin, points from play, winning his own frees and switching of the play. Taylor may want to look at him. Subs made a big difference for us as we were 12-6 down with 12 mins left and shackles came off. If our lads learn to back themselves more stop trying to play everything through Eoin we will be there or thereabouts. That was the main change in the last qtr, we moved the ball faster instead of kicking it 30 yards back the way. Anyway, I'm sure Jimmy already knows this and will adjust accordingly.

Enniscrone won't be easy as Duffy is making his mark, but wearing that rustiness off and showing that mental strength was very impressive from our lads so I'd expect us to get better as the year goes on.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1831 - 07/08/2020 03:56:14    2286696

Interesting to see the reaction from Curry this weekend. The butt of all jokes worldwide, the worst coming from St. Johns

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2074 - 07/08/2020 11:34:54    2286727

Did anyone hear word on Castleconnor getting rid of manager Declan O'Dea?

gaaman20 (Sligo) - Posts: 4 - 07/08/2020 11:55:50    2286734