Clare Hurlers 2020

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Ive been thinking about next year a lot this week with a lot of optimism to be honest. A starting team im thinking of for what its worth. Something to fill us with hope into a miserable winter.

1 Quilligan
2 Hayes
3 Cleary
4 Browne
5 McInerney
6 Galvin
7 Ryan
8 J McCarthy
9 Kelly
10 Malone
11 Duggan
12 A McCarthy
13 Shanagher
14 Conlon
15 O'Donnell

What do ye think?"
I've also been thinking about it and have a fairly similar team.

Quilligan ( got better with each game)

Hayes Cleary Browne
D Mac Malone Ryan

Galvin J Mac

A Mccarthy Duggan Conlon
Kelly Shanagher SOD.

David Mcinerney needs a flying start to the season or he'll be on the bench for championship. J Mccarthy should be played midfield for the league, give him a chance to make that position his own. Malone was top class playing half forward but if we have all our players back, he could do a job at 6.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 26/11/2020 23:36:16    2315808

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Ive been thinking about next year a lot this week with a lot of optimism to be honest. A starting team im thinking of for what its worth. Something to fill us with hope into a miserable winter.

1 Quilligan
2 Hayes
3 Cleary
4 Browne
5 McInerney
6 Galvin
7 Ryan
8 J McCarthy
9 Kelly
10 Malone
11 Duggan
12 A McCarthy
13 Shanagher
14 Conlon
15 O'Donnell

What do ye think?"
If you had that team would be in top 4 I believe, both McCarthys need to improve quiet a bit though, follow the lead of Malone.

I would also like to see Hayes used further out the field possibly as a no 11 { not the tallest but great paw} too much hurling for CB IMO no insult meant to any other CB but he wants to play every ball he is a real Jem though, great skill & Balance.

Tony Kelly seems to be leading the charge to have best team available in 2021and there seems to be a very positive feel about Lohan's style of management.

There are other hurlers that got a run this year like Ryan Taylor & Colin Guilfoyle Liam Corry & David Fitzgerald that could quiet easily develope into top hurlers they have skill need to hit a consistent vein of form.

Mark Rodgers & Shane Meehan Cian Galvin all were very good minors and performed for club this year.

Dara Corry Tulla also huge man played Centre Back for them he has the potential as well

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 27/11/2020 09:25:39    2315842

Replying To clooney:  "If you had that team would be in top 4 I believe, both McCarthys need to improve quiet a bit though, follow the lead of Malone.

I would also like to see Hayes used further out the field possibly as a no 11 { not the tallest but great paw} too much hurling for CB IMO no insult meant to any other CB but he wants to play every ball he is a real Jem though, great skill & Balance.

Tony Kelly seems to be leading the charge to have best team available in 2021and there seems to be a very positive feel about Lohan's style of management.

There are other hurlers that got a run this year like Ryan Taylor & Colin Guilfoyle Liam Corry & David Fitzgerald that could quiet easily develope into top hurlers they have skill need to hit a consistent vein of form.

Mark Rodgers & Shane Meehan Cian Galvin all were very good minors and performed for club this year.

Dara Corry Tulla also huge man played Centre Back for them he has the potential as well"
I know what you're saying in relation to hayes, but the way hurling is now with 2 man full forward lines and short puckouts its very important to have corner backs who are comfortable in possession and then because of that a corner back could also have more possessions of the ball than most positions would have.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 27/11/2020 13:51:09    2315922

Clare need to fix the half back line and especially centre back. Its absolutely paramount. Team target that area as a weak line.

You have 2 options nowadays for a centre back position. You either pick a hurler like Hannon, De Burca etc who sit deep and nearly act as a playmaker. These lads usually have a midfielder sitting in front of them or a sweeper behind. Lohan does not want to play a sweeper so if wants to pick a hurler at 6 then Galvin, Davy Mac or Shanahan ( if he comes back) are only options. Cian Galvin is too young but has potential.

The other option is go the Galway/Tipp route which is to pick a stopper at 6 like Gearoid Mac/Brendan Maher with 2 serious hurlers either side. Conor Cleary is perfect for that and had a good year in 17 n 18 in that role but I think we need him at 3. Now, is there another player who could play 6 and hold the centre? POC doesn't seem to be able to do it even though I have great time for him and a great servant. Or do you bring back a Malone ( not for me, we need his engine up the field). Or do you get David Mac to sacrifice himself and to sit more? I don't know. I think Ryan or Aidan Mac worth a go there. Jack Browne has the natural aggression for it but maybe not the physique. I cannot over state how important getting this right is.

For me if we can lower our concession rate and have a stable half back line that protects the FB line, we have the firepower up front to hurt all teams out there.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 27/11/2020 14:47:46    2315940

Replying To Clareman:  "Clare need to fix the half back line and especially centre back. Its absolutely paramount. Team target that area as a weak line.

You have 2 options nowadays for a centre back position. You either pick a hurler like Hannon, De Burca etc who sit deep and nearly act as a playmaker. These lads usually have a midfielder sitting in front of them or a sweeper behind. Lohan does not want to play a sweeper so if wants to pick a hurler at 6 then Galvin, Davy Mac or Shanahan ( if he comes back) are only options. Cian Galvin is too young but has potential.

The other option is go the Galway/Tipp route which is to pick a stopper at 6 like Gearoid Mac/Brendan Maher with 2 serious hurlers either side. Conor Cleary is perfect for that and had a good year in 17 n 18 in that role but I think we need him at 3. Now, is there another player who could play 6 and hold the centre? POC doesn't seem to be able to do it even though I have great time for him and a great servant. Or do you bring back a Malone ( not for me, we need his engine up the field). Or do you get David Mac to sacrifice himself and to sit more? I don't know. I think Ryan or Aidan Mac worth a go there. Jack Browne has the natural aggression for it but maybe not the physique. I cannot over state how important getting this right is.

For me if we can lower our concession rate and have a stable half back line that protects the FB line, we have the firepower up front to hurt all teams out there."
If anyone needed confirmation of your comments re a dominant halfback line then Waterford & Limericks display over weekends will prove how important that line is in hurling.

Pace, catching high ball, proper tackling, delivery, & threat going forward, all these are needed.

Our best options for Halfback line is to start there with D Ryan & David McInerney and i am not sure of 3rd Member would make up that line I don't think Aidan MCarthys future is in backline either perhaps as a wing forward.

There is time before next year but Brian needs to unearth a doughy defender or two watching Waterford on Saturday they have a class centre back in De Burca and C Lyone is brilliant hurler big man as is Moran outside them then the amazing Jamie Barron this year Clare had nobody like this Bar TK and to a lesser degree Malone.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 30/11/2020 14:42:56    2316959

Replying To clooney:  "If you had that team would be in top 4 I believe, both McCarthys need to improve quiet a bit though, follow the lead of Malone.

Dara Corry Tulla also huge man played Centre Back for them he has the potential as well"
Mark rodgers will ve on team next year..i see lohan has added bradley higgins and aaron fitzgerald to panel..higgins has been dogged by injury but has great potential.he played u21 for clare while still a minor..aaron fitzgerald was very good for eire og this year.does know what age is he? He never played underage for clare..

Pepper1 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 10/12/2020 02:09:16    2320939

Cathal Mac and Aaron Cunningham have left the panel. Mac had a lot of issues with his hamstrings so I don't blame him. A fine finisher but injuries have taken their toll. Cunningham always a goal threat and we need bench but maybe he felt he deserved more game time. Its a pity to lose him.

Rodgers, Cahill, Higgins, Cian Galvin etc. have a lot of potential but still only young lads. It will take time.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 10/12/2020 10:41:30    2320979

Replying To Clareman:  "Cathal Mac and Aaron Cunningham have left the panel. Mac had a lot of issues with his hamstrings so I don't blame him. A fine finisher but injuries have taken their toll. Cunningham always a goal threat and we need bench but maybe he felt he deserved more game time. Its a pity to lose him.

Rodgers, Cahill, Higgins, Cian Galvin etc. have a lot of potential but still only young lads. It will take time."
Rodgers is 20 next year..plennty old enough..

Pepper1 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 10/12/2020 12:57:10    2321017

Replying To Clareman:  "Cathal Mac and Aaron Cunningham have left the panel. Mac had a lot of issues with his hamstrings so I don't blame him. A fine finisher but injuries have taken their toll. Cunningham always a goal threat and we need bench but maybe he felt he deserved more game time. Its a pity to lose him.

Rodgers, Cahill, Higgins, Cian Galvin etc. have a lot of potential but still only young lads. It will take time."
Both were part of 26 for game V Waterford something wrong that Clare cant keep a panel together Cunningham definately diden't get enough game time is he emigrating again ?

Its not good new anyway

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 10/12/2020 13:53:20    2321037

Is Aaron Fitz a good player? Haven't seen much of him.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 10/12/2020 13:56:35    2321039

Any young fella 19 and up should be ready to play senior..In this day and age there's no kid that should be new to weights. I was doing weights at 15 , 20 plus years ago in Limerick. If fellas are coming into the clare panel they should know the standard of fitness and strength thats expected. Theres no intercounty player that shouldn't be lifting 100kg+ bench press. Its a basic standard that schools rugby players lift in Limerick.. thats from the scrum half and all the backs

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/12/2020 09:21:34    2322520

Replying To clooney:  "Both were part of 26 for game V Waterford something wrong that Clare cant keep a panel together Cunningham definately diden't get enough game time is he emigrating again ?

Its not good new anyway"
You need Cunningham. Id be sorry to see him go. Calre have a small panel and they need everyone. Your first 15 is as good as most. To be honest the likes of Rodger should have been given some bit of time this year. Clare will be better next year but you can't buy experience

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/12/2020 09:24:06    2322521

Replying To bloodyban:  "Any young fella 19 and up should be ready to play senior..In this day and age there's no kid that should be new to weights. I was doing weights at 15 , 20 plus years ago in Limerick. If fellas are coming into the clare panel they should know the standard of fitness and strength thats expected. Theres no intercounty player that shouldn't be lifting 100kg+ bench press. Its a basic standard that schools rugby players lift in Limerick.. thats from the scrum half and all the backs"
I wasn't talking about weights, I was talking about blooding them and giving them game time. Some of the Limerick lads in 16 and 17 looked way off intercounty standard and now they are flying it. Hayes in 17 was getting awful abuse of limerick fans when Clare beat them in Munster. Same in 18 in the park in Ennis before they turned their season around.

I do have a big concern with the way the game is going though. Its all brawn. Liam Cahill said straight after the game his team need to up the S&C. That is depressing. Will we ever see the likes of DJ, Joe Deane, Lar again? Or ball players like John Troy, Cha Fitz, Bubbles etc. Hurling needs these types and the swashbuckling players like Ciaran Carey, Ken McGrath, Colin Lynch, Dan Shanahan, John Leahy, Joe Cooney etc, we need characters. It cant become Gaelic football and all power, possession and precision.

Limerick play to their strengths and hats off to them but I hope the other sides don't just ape them. We need people to try and out hurl them as much as match them physically. By all means dont get bullied ( which is what happened all year, I can't ever imagine the likes of Liam Doyle, Lohan, Diarmuid O Sullivan, JJ or Tyrell etc. taking the stuff hegarty dishes out without a response but that is another question).

Clare have fantastic hurlers. They need to sort their half back line out and they wont be far off.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 15/12/2020 10:57:22    2322544

Replying To bloodyban:  "You need Cunningham. Id be sorry to see him go. Calre have a small panel and they need everyone. Your first 15 is as good as most. To be honest the likes of Rodger should have been given some bit of time this year. Clare will be better next year but you can't buy experience"
any idea why both Cunningham & McInerney left panel Both Aaron Cunningham & B Logan same Club ?

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 05/01/2021 12:41:25    2326099

Replying To clooney:  "any idea why both Cunningham & McInerney left panel Both Aaron Cunningham & B Logan same Club ?"
Cathal bad injuries I think. Cunningham perhaps not happy over game time. Morey is also not coming back.

Time to blood more young lads.

Happy New Year to ye all

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 06/01/2021 16:24:32    2326323

Hope whoever the online trolls are proud of themselves for the abuse and making the lives of the Fitzgerald family a living hell for years now. I was always a Clare hurling supporter but what ive heard and seen the last five or six years or so is just sickening whats going on behind the scenes.
At the end of the day davy led clare in 2013 to an unlikely all Ireland and ive never seen much of a response or respect or thanks from clare people for that, just blame when the wheels began coming off the cart in the years after. And what his elderly father has had to put up with is a different story altogether. Social media is pure wicked at times to what it does to people and those who done it should be held accountable.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 801 - 09/01/2021 10:23:43    2326765

Replying To preddan:  "Hope whoever the online trolls are proud of themselves for the abuse and making the lives of the Fitzgerald family a living hell for years now. I was always a Clare hurling supporter but what ive heard and seen the last five or six years or so is just sickening whats going on behind the scenes.
At the end of the day davy led clare in 2013 to an unlikely all Ireland and ive never seen much of a response or respect or thanks from clare people for that, just blame when the wheels began coming off the cart in the years after. And what his elderly father has had to put up with is a different story altogether. Social media is pure wicked at times to what it does to people and those who done it should be held accountable."
I'd give that 2013 all ireland back, if himself and his father stepped away from Clare hurling. Is this considered online abuse?

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 09/01/2021 11:49:48    2326769

Replying To Dec82:  "I'd give that 2013 all ireland back, if himself and his father stepped away from Clare hurling. Is this considered online abuse?"
Ye haven't won anything for over a hundred years without Davy being involved in some way so he deserves a lot more than the cowardly abuse he gets. I'm no Davy fan but himself and his father especially deserve to be left alone instead of cowards in a crowd shouting personal abuse at him or weirdos online in their bedroom pretending to be big men. If ye don't like him just ignore him.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 09/01/2021 14:59:09    2326792

Replying To updwell:  "Ye haven't won anything for over a hundred years without Davy being involved in some way so he deserves a lot more than the cowardly abuse he gets. I'm no Davy fan but himself and his father especially deserve to be left alone instead of cowards in a crowd shouting personal abuse at him or weirdos online in their bedroom pretending to be big men. If ye don't like him just ignore him."
I've never shouted abuse at anyone and anything I've said online about Davy has been related to hurling and never personal or abusive. I've criticised the Facebook page and if I heard abuse being shouted at anyone, I'd tell them to knock it off.

Now why don't you do some research on the the state of the Clare County board and then come back to me. It could take a while. They aren't victims.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 09/01/2021 16:47:16    2326796

Replying To Dec82:  "I've never shouted abuse at anyone and anything I've said online about Davy has been related to hurling and never personal or abusive. I've criticised the Facebook page and if I heard abuse being shouted at anyone, I'd tell them to knock it off.

Now why don't you do some research on the the state of the Clare County board and then come back to me. It could take a while. They aren't victims."
If the abuse is criticism of the Fitz's and their GAA related decisions then that's par for the course but if it goes beyond that and the Gardai are involved then they are the victims no matter what you say.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 09/01/2021 21:08:02    2326830