Clare Hurlers 2020

Replying To munsterchamps:  "just curious what ye think if liam cahill puts a man marker on tony kely and he is kept quiet where are the clare scores going o come from....."
Matt O'Hanlon man marked kelly on saturday didnt he? Or at least tried to. Also he cant be man marked when taking frees, so he'll still get a few of those. O'Donnell is going to cut loose on the scoreboard one of these days as well. Shanagher if he plays will get his share of scores. The other players from 8-15 are all capable of getting a couple of pints. I dont think its a major concern. Particularly because if he is man marked, assuming it wont be de burca then there should be more space for the other forwards.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 16/11/2020 15:27:56    2310152

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Matt O'Hanlon man marked kelly on saturday didnt he? Or at least tried to. Also he cant be man marked when taking frees, so he'll still get a few of those. O'Donnell is going to cut loose on the scoreboard one of these days as well. Shanagher if he plays will get his share of scores. The other players from 8-15 are all capable of getting a couple of pints. I dont think its a major concern. Particularly because if he is man marked, assuming it wont be de burca then there should be more space for the other forwards."
matt o hanlon is not up to staying with kelly with pace.....its just worrying for clare if he is kept quiet or has an off day where are the scores going to come from.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 16/11/2020 15:37:32    2310157

Replying To munsterchamps:  "matt o hanlon is not up to staying with kelly with pace.....its just worrying for clare if he is kept quiet or has an off day where are the scores going to come from....."
It is worrying for Clare, but none more so than if Canning has a day off for Galway, TJ has a day off for KK etc.

We have talked for years about what an impact TJ Reid makes on KK, like Horgan for Cork. What if they are shackled? You dont see it happen often if ever with those players and that is the level Kelly is at now. Give Kelly the freedom to express himself and no defender in the country can keep up with him.

Limerick are probably the only team in Ireland that could see the likes of Gillane get beat and it would have little impact on them. The others would all struggle without their talisman.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/11/2020 16:16:41    2310188

Replying To munsterchamps:  "matt o hanlon is not up to staying with kelly with pace.....its just worrying for clare if he is kept quiet or has an off day where are the scores going to come from....."
Its a fair point but Tony said at start of year man markers were part of the job and it was something you just get on with. He is nearly 27 and hitting his prime. He was blackguarded in 2018, second highest scorer from play in whole championship and now even an All Star nomination. Some of the scores he got on Saturday he was getting for years but people took no notice. He got one in 15 v limerick where he was basically on the end line. same in 14 v Cork. I could think off another 10 of top of y head, left and right for club and county.

If we had Conlan and Duggan it would ease pressure on Kelly but at same time he is now the leader of the team and maybe them being away has forced him to go to another level. If he is quiet the next day people will do mad, its the standards he has set. Joe Canning had same issues most of his career. I would hope that somebody next day chips in with scores but I think the team are working to a set way to play and not taking pot shots.

SOD has sacrificed his own game for the team. Malone has been outstanding. Cleary and Hayes as well in FB line. Great and fight in the team. Jason Mac adds real punch. I don't know why he doesn't play more.

If you look at what Clare are missing, Conlan, Duggan, 2 Galvins, Podge, Shanahan and last day Davy Mac and Shanagher, it shows what a great job Lohan has done. He is slowly building a new side and squad.

Wexford were however a total shambles and completely clueless. Brain dead tactics. It was like watching Clare in 2015 and 16...where we averaged about 17 points and couldn't buy a goal.

Waterford will be favs next day but there is no reason for Clare not to have a right cut again and just go for it. If Waterford had Padraig Mahony there would be some side. They are coming. Cahill is a top coach.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 16/11/2020 16:18:44    2310193

Replying To Clareman:  "Its a fair point but Tony said at start of year man markers were part of the job and it was something you just get on with. He is nearly 27 and hitting his prime. He was blackguarded in 2018, second highest scorer from play in whole championship and now even an All Star nomination. Some of the scores he got on Saturday he was getting for years but people took no notice. He got one in 15 v limerick where he was basically on the end line. same in 14 v Cork. I could think off another 10 of top of y head, left and right for club and county.

If we had Conlan and Duggan it would ease pressure on Kelly but at same time he is now the leader of the team and maybe them being away has forced him to go to another level. If he is quiet the next day people will do mad, its the standards he has set. Joe Canning had same issues most of his career. I would hope that somebody next day chips in with scores but I think the team are working to a set way to play and not taking pot shots.

SOD has sacrificed his own game for the team. Malone has been outstanding. Cleary and Hayes as well in FB line. Great and fight in the team. Jason Mac adds real punch. I don't know why he doesn't play more.

If you look at what Clare are missing, Conlan, Duggan, 2 Galvins, Podge, Shanahan and last day Davy Mac and Shanagher, it shows what a great job Lohan has done. He is slowly building a new side and squad.

Wexford were however a total shambles and completely clueless. Brain dead tactics. It was like watching Clare in 2015 and 16...where we averaged about 17 points and couldn't buy a goal.

Waterford will be favs next day but there is no reason for Clare not to have a right cut again and just go for it. If Waterford had Padraig Mahony there would be some side. They are coming. Cahill is a top coach."
All good points there Spirit & Fight are absolutely essential and we have heard Brian Cody refer to it many times about his team, of course you need a lot more than these qualities but these two are crucial.

Shane O Donnell got an awful dogging as well as TK on Saturday but got on with it as you have to I spose young Ryan at some time in 2nd half flaked and gave away a free when we had a near certain point that was badly needed at time.

Discipline is also crucial all the free takers now are nearly 9/10

Read this morning also that John Conlon is back training too early for him to feature again but great news.

Just on the players that we are missing some of course cant be helped but why is Jamie Shanahan not involved he is not injured as far as I can tell ?.

I have great time for Podge { really nice lad away from hurling too } but why would he drop himself in our greatest need

Ian Galvin also is a beautiful hurler but he is oftener off than on with one thing or another I woulden't be rushing to have him back on panel.

Waterford gave great account of themselves but don't appear to have huge scoring threat either hope they done send Gleeson back to 5 next day which is probably his best spot as with both himself & De Burca in half backline the would be v hard to break down

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 16/11/2020 16:57:24    2310226

Replying To clooney:  "All good points there Spirit & Fight are absolutely essential and we have heard Brian Cody refer to it many times about his team, of course you need a lot more than these qualities but these two are crucial.

Shane O Donnell got an awful dogging as well as TK on Saturday but got on with it as you have to I spose young Ryan at some time in 2nd half flaked and gave away a free when we had a near certain point that was badly needed at time.

Discipline is also crucial all the free takers now are nearly 9/10

Read this morning also that John Conlon is back training too early for him to feature again but great news.

Just on the players that we are missing some of course cant be helped but why is Jamie Shanahan not involved he is not injured as far as I can tell ?.

I have great time for Podge { really nice lad away from hurling too } but why would he drop himself in our greatest need

Ian Galvin also is a beautiful hurler but he is oftener off than on with one thing or another I woulden't be rushing to have him back on panel.

Waterford gave great account of themselves but don't appear to have huge scoring threat either hope they done send Gleeson back to 5 next day which is probably his best spot as with both himself & De Burca in half backline the would be v hard to break down"
From our point of view I would probably prefer to see gleeson playing wing back rather than centre forward. The further he is from our goal the better! Plus if he was wing back, Malone would be ideal to keep him quiet. Id expect malone to keep the shackles on calum lyons anyway as he seems as real class hurler.

I think podge left the panel because he knew he was well down the pecking order and had a much better chance of getting a game with the footballers. He had a great impact against tipp 2 years ago but other than that he doesn't seem to be the player he once was.

Id happily have ian galvin back next year if he's ready to commit.
If we can get everyone fit and available next year then we really could challenge next year. Anyway we'll focus on saturday to start with!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 16/11/2020 21:31:07    2310417

Its great to see the new optimism surrounding the hurlers. They have come onto form at the right time and it looks like they have a simple effective gameplan. However, I think the 3 games in a row will take it out of them. Its good its on in Cork where the weather won't affect the pitch in the slightest so it would be good preparation if we get to Croke Park. Of course if its raining and windy it will make the game hard to play in. The winners will have earned it but they will be at a huge disadvantage having to go out against Limerick or Kilkenny the following week. Its fair that Kilkenny and Limerick get a proper advantage from winning their provinces.
A week too early for Conlon I think so its an imperative that Shanagher is available. Id keep David McInerney in the backs but I do not know who id drop. Id play him centre back for this. Id start Diarmuid Ryan and Jason McCarthy in the forwards .. I think alot will come down to subs and Waterford have talented forwards and subs. Id give them the nod ,just.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 20/11/2020 09:54:57    2311626

Replying To bloodyban:  "Its great to see the new optimism surrounding the hurlers. They have come onto form at the right time and it looks like they have a simple effective gameplan. However, I think the 3 games in a row will take it out of them. Its good its on in Cork where the weather won't affect the pitch in the slightest so it would be good preparation if we get to Croke Park. Of course if its raining and windy it will make the game hard to play in. The winners will have earned it but they will be at a huge disadvantage having to go out against Limerick or Kilkenny the following week. Its fair that Kilkenny and Limerick get a proper advantage from winning their provinces.
A week too early for Conlon I think so its an imperative that Shanagher is available. Id keep David McInerney in the backs but I do not know who id drop. Id play him centre back for this. Id start Diarmuid Ryan and Jason McCarthy in the forwards .. I think alot will come down to subs and Waterford have talented forwards and subs. Id give them the nod ,just."
3 weeks in a row seems to get to all teams but if the Training was geared to allow for this I suppose you could also look at it as a positive Players love to Play & generally don't like training I imagine.

David Mc IInerney would probably be best in half back line as game can bypass him at MF but we probably cant afford to love him for MF with all the players we are down. On the good side of it he can get you 4 points from here he was settleing in to have a really good game V Laois before getting harshly send off.

Our Forwards haven't being scoring enough bar TK obviously I simply cant understand why Cunningham is being overlooked rarely a bad day with County at least he is always a threat should start @ 13.

Hope Shanagher plays too his strenght is massive.

If we get over tomorrow then all best are off as we would not really fear Kilkenny if we got that far

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 20/11/2020 10:40:00    2311642

Replying To clooney:  "3 weeks in a row seems to get to all teams but if the Training was geared to allow for this I suppose you could also look at it as a positive Players love to Play & generally don't like training I imagine.

David Mc IInerney would probably be best in half back line as game can bypass him at MF but we probably cant afford to love him for MF with all the players we are down. On the good side of it he can get you 4 points from here he was settleing in to have a really good game V Laois before getting harshly send off.

Our Forwards haven't being scoring enough bar TK obviously I simply cant understand why Cunningham is being overlooked rarely a bad day with County at least he is always a threat should start @ 13.

Hope Shanagher plays too his strenght is massive.

If we get over tomorrow then all best are off as we would not really fear Kilkenny if we got that far"
I dont think i really agree with you in relation to cunningham. I think he has generally been very inconsistent when he has played for clare in the past. Its probably been 3 and a half years almost at the stage since his last championship game for clare. 2 games where he was very good was the 2016 league semi final against kilkenny and the championship quarter final aginst tipp in 2017. I think he's a player that can add value but i dont think its a major surprise that he hasnt been involved much

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 20/11/2020 15:28:09    2311735

Clare Team V Waterford

E Quilligan

R Hayes
C Cleary
P O Connor

S O Halloran
A McCarthy
S Morey

J McCarthy
T Kelly

C Malone
D Reidy
Fitzgerald

SOD
Guilfoyle
Taylor

Subs

Touhy
McInerney
D Ryan
A Shanagher
C Mcinerney
A Cunningham
P Fitzpatrick
P Flanagan
L Corry
J Browne
G Cooney

Bench is very strong wonder will he start with Team as selected hardly ???

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 20/11/2020 16:57:57    2311773

Replying To clooney:  "Clare Team V Waterford

E Quilligan

R Hayes
C Cleary
P O Connor

S O Halloran
A McCarthy
S Morey

J McCarthy
T Kelly

C Malone
D Reidy
Fitzgerald

SOD
Guilfoyle
Taylor

Subs

Touhy
McInerney
D Ryan
A Shanagher
C Mcinerney
A Cunningham
P Fitzpatrick
P Flanagan
L Corry
J Browne
G Cooney

Bench is very strong wonder will he start with Team as selected hardly ???"
I would think that team definitely wont start. McInerney is surely a cert to start. While on the flip side i definitely cannot see any way guilfoyle will actually retain his place. Especially with shanagher named in the 26, he'll probably start full forward. david reidy i think would be very lucky as well if he keeps his place.
I also cannot understand how Jack Browne is not in the team, it looks unlikely he will come into the team at this stage which personally i cant see the sense in. but i assume lohan has valid reasons.
Diarmuid ryan would be unlucky not to get a start. he has been very good off the bench recently but will probably have to settle for a similar role again.
lastly i find it very strange that shane golden was originally named to start midfield last week, then obviously didnt or didnt come on either. now he is the one to miss out from the 26 altogether!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 20/11/2020 18:10:49    2311800

Is it possible mcinerney will start in the half back line?i really can't see him being left out..I'm expecting ye also to win tomorrow..I feel the Munster final will have taken to much out of Waterford..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 20/11/2020 20:41:55    2311838

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Is it possible mcinerney will start in the half back line?i really can't see him being left out..I'm expecting ye also to win tomorrow..I feel the Munster final will have taken to much out of Waterford.."
Only way i can see him being played in the backline is if lohan moves aidan mccarthy to his best position in the half forward line.
He has picked mccarthy, morey, cleary and o'halloran in almost every game. Including the league as well. So it's unlikely any of them will be taken out of the team. While hayes and o'connor were probably our 2 best players aside from kelly, against wexford!
Having said all that, im not a huge fan of o'halloran. So he could potentially slot in there for him at 5.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 20/11/2020 23:17:28    2311894

Fair play to the lads, great effort but unfortunately we came up short. A number of costly mistakes were punished. Kelly's injury obviously really hindered him. But he never gave up. Great to see shanagher have a huge performance from the start. He has so much to offer, o'donnell impacting on the scoreboard as well was good to see. Also a mention for cathal malone, aside from Kelly, Malone has been our best player 2 years in a row. An excellent player now, the least he deserves is an all star nomination. Kelly surely will get one. Rory hayes had a great battle with his man, i think overall it was 50/50 as he won his share of the ball.
Positive outlook ahead of next year now. If we can get conlon, duggan and colm galvin back in there we will be a really strong team. We just need to tighten up a bit defensively. David mac to 6 i think is needed with diarmuid ryan beside him and we'll be a match for anyone next summer.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 21/11/2020 18:49:35    2312129

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Fair play to the lads, great effort but unfortunately we came up short. A number of costly mistakes were punished. Kelly's injury obviously really hindered him. But he never gave up. Great to see shanagher have a huge performance from the start. He has so much to offer, o'donnell impacting on the scoreboard as well was good to see. Also a mention for cathal malone, aside from Kelly, Malone has been our best player 2 years in a row. An excellent player now, the least he deserves is an all star nomination. Kelly surely will get one. Rory hayes had a great battle with his man, i think overall it was 50/50 as he won his share of the ball.
Positive outlook ahead of next year now. If we can get conlon, duggan and colm galvin back in there we will be a really strong team. We just need to tighten up a bit defensively. David mac to 6 i think is needed with diarmuid ryan beside him and we'll be a match for anyone next summer."
First of all I hate these Dummy Teams we all knew David McInerney was going to play I hope the GAA force Managers to play team that they select.

We gave a very good account of ourselves but that should not surprise as we have some very good hurlers.

A few factors dident help us the 4th game in a row we ran out of steam the injury to Tony K he played on manfully but was not at full flow as you would expect and we missed a glorious goal chance by Aaron Cunningham.

Our first touch at times was very eighty's style hurling

Also some quality players like David McInerney Shane O Donnell & Jack Browne did not give the performances they can although SOD got 2 points & worked hard he was not at his usual high performance.

Going forward we need a serious half back line we need D Ryan there & Davy Mac at 6 he looks out of sorts at moment

E Quiligan had a good outing Rory Hayes got roasted at times but also had great moments I thought that the 2nd goal should have been better dealt with by C Cleary who had another good game.

Half back line struggled at times neither Davy M or J McCarthy were over prominent enough at MF

C Malone gave another great performance 4 points worked back like a trojan I felt sorry for D Fitz the sub being subbed he had an awful miss when it was easier to score he always seems to have so much potential needs to find a bit of consistency would be better at half back.

A Shanagher has a great outing 2.01 from play set up 3rs goal won a few frees.

I think my fellow parishioner R Taylor is a very god hurler with pace & touch but he needs to be played in midfield

AAron Cunningham & indeed Cathal McInerney brought immediate threat to the forwards Aaron should have goaled immediately after introduction he had the instinct to be off Shanaghers shoulder it was a good save but hit at a good heights for a goalie, it would have brought us back to 2 points.

With a full panel available and a settled backline we will be right back in contention

I hope Waterford go to reach Final

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 23/11/2020 09:12:04    2313636

Great heart displayed but the better side won and Waterford showed they are a very fit and strong team with some serious hurlers. As I said last week, Cahill is a top coach. They too are missing some big players and I always felt 2018 and 2019 were not their true form.

Kelly's injury really hurt the team but I don't think we can use it as an excuse, we were beaten by 9. Our issues were the same as ever, poor individual errors, our half back wiped out and bar Malone we got wiped out in middle area of the pitch. This is where we missed the guile and class of Colm Galvin.

It has been a tough year for Lohan, pretty much everything has gone against him, from even trying to get the job to injuries, the pandemic affecting their flow, suspensions, draw from hell in munster and all the sideshows that are sadly currently Clare hurling. Yet his team played with heart the whole year through, never dropped heads once. Rory Hayes looks a real find, Cleary will grow into the 3 slot but we need another corner back ( Higgins and Donnellan look promising) and I think we need to look at a half back line of Ryan, David Mac, Aidan McCarthy. Perhaps blood Cian Galvin in league and see if Jamie Shanahan can be enticed back to the fold.

We have plenty scoring power. All this 1 man stuff was insulting. 3.10 from play outside of TK with Conlan, Duggan, 2 Galvins to come back and a bench full of lively forwards and lads coming through. Our big issues though are back the field and until we fix them we will only be a top 6 side which is, on average, where we have been since 2013.

Considering where we were, I think the year wasn't the write off I feared. Kelly was magnificent and is now a real leader. He turns 27 next month. He has played 9 seasons for Clare already and hopefully many more to come. Malone has become a serious player, averages 3 or 4 a game, works like a Trojan, creates and tracks back. If he was Hegarty or Morrissey he would be getting all the plaudits. We need more like him.

If Lohan is given the support he deserves from the board, we can get better.

Up The Banner.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 23/11/2020 09:17:36    2313642

Replying To Clareman:  "Great heart displayed but the better side won and Waterford showed they are a very fit and strong team with some serious hurlers. As I said last week, Cahill is a top coach. They too are missing some big players and I always felt 2018 and 2019 were not their true form.

Kelly's injury really hurt the team but I don't think we can use it as an excuse, we were beaten by 9. Our issues were the same as ever, poor individual errors, our half back wiped out and bar Malone we got wiped out in middle area of the pitch. This is where we missed the guile and class of Colm Galvin.

It has been a tough year for Lohan, pretty much everything has gone against him, from even trying to get the job to injuries, the pandemic affecting their flow, suspensions, draw from hell in munster and all the sideshows that are sadly currently Clare hurling. Yet his team played with heart the whole year through, never dropped heads once. Rory Hayes looks a real find, Cleary will grow into the 3 slot but we need another corner back ( Higgins and Donnellan look promising) and I think we need to look at a half back line of Ryan, David Mac, Aidan McCarthy. Perhaps blood Cian Galvin in league and see if Jamie Shanahan can be enticed back to the fold.

We have plenty scoring power. All this 1 man stuff was insulting. 3.10 from play outside of TK with Conlan, Duggan, 2 Galvins to come back and a bench full of lively forwards and lads coming through. Our big issues though are back the field and until we fix them we will only be a top 6 side which is, on average, where we have been since 2013.

Considering where we were, I think the year wasn't the write off I feared. Kelly was magnificent and is now a real leader. He turns 27 next month. He has played 9 seasons for Clare already and hopefully many more to come. Malone has become a serious player, averages 3 or 4 a game, works like a Trojan, creates and tracks back. If he was Hegarty or Morrissey he would be getting all the plaudits. We need more like him.

If Lohan is given the support he deserves from the board, we can get better.

Up The Banner."
Thing was Clare teams from 1-9 were always quiet good our current team is very unsettled no matter how many systems are employed a dominant half back line is still where a lot of ball drops so thats a priority for B Lohan some reports suggest that he got little enough support from Clareabbey at times he did well I think, as you say a lot went against him.

We do need a couple of defenders R Hayes had a good year but personally I think he has too much hurling for cb and I would like to see further up the field but he will probably forever remain at cb.

I think that Cathal Malone should stand out as an example of what can be achieved I thought that when he came on panel first that he was cumbersome poor touch coulden't score but he has corrected all those things and is now an all star nominee IMO.

Waterford were better team overall but if we had pegged it back to 2 we might have slugged t out

I think Waterford will beat KK and if they do would have right crack at AI

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 23/11/2020 10:54:15    2313748

We all know now anyway that our backline needs fixing to make us a force going forward.
I think generally cleary has been very good at full back, exceptions being for the laois second goal and also the waterford second goal. I think hayes can become a top cornerback, he has the pace needed and loads of hurling, which is key for the position in modern hurling with short puckouts. I think browne was a little rusty the other day, but he is a top corner back. Not a wing back. I think that is/ can be a very good fullback line. Donnellan who captained the 21s this year looks a good option to come in also.

Half backline is a tricky one. Although i would definitely have ryan on one wing and McInerney there also. I would give serious consideration to colm galvin at 6 with Mac on the wing. Alternatively if galvin is to be left midfield, i would put mac to 6 and play fitzgerald on the wing. My preference is galvin at 6 though, he is brilliant on the ball and reads the game very well. He could play it similarly to hannon for limerick. If jason mccarthy is in midfield then, he can offer that defensive cover similarly to will o'donoghue.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 23/11/2020 15:32:02    2314062

Ive been thinking about next year a lot this week with a lot of optimism to be honest. A starting team im thinking of for what its worth. Something to fill us with hope into a miserable winter.

1 Quilligan
2 Hayes
3 Cleary
4 Browne
5 McInerney
6 Galvin
7 Ryan
8 J McCarthy
9 Kelly
10 Malone
11 Duggan
12 A McCarthy
13 Shanagher
14 Conlon
15 O'Donnell

What do ye think?

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 26/11/2020 19:59:19    2315736

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Ive been thinking about next year a lot this week with a lot of optimism to be honest. A starting team im thinking of for what its worth. Something to fill us with hope into a miserable winter.

1 Quilligan
2 Hayes
3 Cleary
4 Browne
5 McInerney
6 Galvin
7 Ryan
8 J McCarthy
9 Kelly
10 Malone
11 Duggan
12 A McCarthy