Clare Hurlers 2020

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "We have 2 potentially top class young players with diarmuid ryan and aidan mccarthy. But it is so frustrating to see them both being played out of position. Ryan should be wing back and mccarthy should be wing forward. Replacing touhy with quilligan has also not gone well. The team i would go with for this weekend is.
1 Touhy
2 Browne
3 Cleary
4 Hayes
5 Ryan
6 O'Connor really not sure who our long term 6 should be. But i think our best bet this weekend is to bring Pat back in for his experience. Morey was lost here againt laois
7 Fitzgerald needs to be used here as it is his best position
8 McInerney im assuming his card will be overturned
9 J McCarthy crazy he has not gotten more gametime. He has all the hurling needed as well as the strength.
10 Malone
11 Kelly
12 A. McCarthy
13 O'Donnell
14 Shanagher
15 Taylor
I think stephen o'halloran and paul flanagan have done ok. But i think the players im have put in are better. Morey and reidy i think would be better used off the bench as they are not physically enough for the middle 8 positions in modern hurling. I always though morey might have been best used at midfield but he was never given a go there.
A huge factor this weekend is who we will use as the spare man as wexford will have their sweeper back. Im really unsure who it should be. I suppose it is a role which might suit seadna morey. So he could start possibly in place pat o'connor there with jack going to 6."
Not a bad team when you look at it like that you would have a strong half back line { if they performed} Pat O Connor is a lovely hurler very cute and good in air not the tallest man he had a very bad day against Limerick was doing fine at CB in league might work at 6

I would have Cunningham at 13 he thinks GOALS is lightning fast with great control on a good ball, with a target man beside him. It would be harsh on R Taylor but Ryan is a lot better out the Field.

Aron Shanagher needs to make a lot more runs off ball its not always his fault but a lot of ball that comes to him when he is static and then he gets surrounded but it often results on turnovers he needs to let fly on a few dropping balls as well and break a few hurleys.

I have seen Jack Browne play the sweeper very well for Ballyea and does it well but Ii think for Saturday I would go with Hayes in that role he has too much hurling IMO for corner back he is a very very good striker off ball could get you 3 points for distance.

They will target Tony Kelly no doubt so others will have to up the ante.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 10/11/2020 11:37:17    2307158

Very disappointed that David Mac cant play tomorrow. The liseman must be sure he saw something that the cameras didnt pick up.
Very hard to see us win now as our team is decimated.
Probably missing 4 of our 5 best players!

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 13/11/2020 13:25:35    2308337

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Very disappointed that David Mac cant play tomorrow. The liseman must be sure he saw something that the cameras didnt pick up.
Very hard to see us win now as our team is decimated.
Probably missing 4 of our 5 best players!"
Only the big Counties appear to have the clout to overturn match officials he is a huge loss maybe an opportunity for Jason McCarthy

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 13/11/2020 16:09:11    2308398

Replying To clooney:  "Only the big Counties appear to have the clout to overturn match officials he is a huge loss maybe an opportunity for Jason McCarthy"
I'd like to see J. Mccarthy start aswel. He's a physical player so tomorrow's game might suit him.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 13/11/2020 19:32:42    2308475

Is Jason still on panel if so can't figure why he's not playing today?what has happened with diarmaid Ryan?to me he looked like a really good hurler..I also think pat o Connor would be well suited to Wexford today..finally what is gone wrong for cunningham..I know I've asked questions but I still feel ye have a super chance of dumping Wexford..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 14/11/2020 12:42:11    2308656

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Is Jason still on panel if so can't figure why he's not playing today?what has happened with diarmaid Ryan?to me he looked like a really good hurler..I also think pat o Connor would be well suited to Wexford today..finally what is gone wrong for cunningham..I know I've asked questions but I still feel ye have a super chance of dumping Wexford.."
I think all your questions got answered today. Good call as well.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 14/11/2020 15:55:09    2308734

Replying To Dec82:  "I think all your questions got answered today. Good call as well."
ThSnks dec82..it's a huge result for ye..my god Kelly is having some year..can I just congratulate the backs again on a very good display..I wouldn't like to meet ye again..only pity about today,I didn't go to bookies..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2506 - 14/11/2020 16:51:44    2308764

Tony Kelly had his All Star in the bag already. He outscored Wexford by a point today. We are reliant on him but his teammates are working very hard to give him the ball to finish scores. SOD was the making for Kelly's goal today. We are blessed to have them both.

Today was a massive win given we are missing Conlon, two Galvins and Duggan from injury and Davy Mc from suspension. That's 4 previous All stars unavailable today.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 14/11/2020 17:14:36    2308774

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Tony Kelly had his All Star in the bag already. He outscored Wexford by a point today. We are reliant on him but his teammates are working very hard to give him the ball to finish scores. SOD was the making for Kelly's goal today. We are blessed to have them both.

Today was a massive win given we are missing Conlon, two Galvins and Duggan from injury and Davy Mc from suspension. That's 4 previous All stars unavailable today."
Jack Browne missing yesterday as well, assuming he still wasnt fit enough to play.
Great win anyway, delighted for Lohan and the players.
I was particularly happy for jason McCarthy, he was well overdue a start in a championship match. He was really goos yesterday, giving us great strength in midfield and adding a couple of points.
He should definitely keep his place in the team next week when mcinerney will also come back in.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 15/11/2020 17:56:15    2309417

Lohan having a great first season. Congrats on a good win yesterday. As someone else pointed out there are a lot of injuries so Clare have had a good year now no matter what

welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 15/11/2020 19:14:08    2309521

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Tony Kelly had his All Star in the bag already. He outscored Wexford by a point today. We are reliant on him but his teammates are working very hard to give him the ball to finish scores. SOD was the making for Kelly's goal today. We are blessed to have them both.

Today was a massive win given we are missing Conlon, two Galvins and Duggan from injury and Davy Mc from suspension. That's 4 previous All stars unavailable today."
Duggan is in Australia.

Pepper1 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 16/11/2020 01:08:42    2309748

Great draw for Clare and Waterford. Both have a great chance of getting to an All Ireland semi final. Id give the winners a 50/50 chance v Kilkenny. Both would cause them some problems. The beat part about the draw is that Tipperary or Galway will be out next week. And from a selfish Limerick point of view..thats great.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/11/2020 09:07:12    2309781

Waterford next. In fairness if you told us at the start of the year we would have to beat Waterford to get to the All Ireland semi final we would have been delighted. Nothing against Waterford but I am bemused they can be odds on favorites for this (we are 2-1 with the bookies) given they have won one championship game since 2017.

Remember that despite the doom and gloom around us, we have still only lost 1 competitive match this year and that was against the raging hot favorites for the All Ireland. Injuries aside, I think we have more than enough to beat Waterford and with McInerney and hopefully Shanagher back we will be stronger than the last day.

That being said, Waterford appear to be playing at a higher level than previous seasons but I think this is a great opportunity for us.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/11/2020 09:15:47    2309785

Replying To hurlingexpert:  "Jack Browne missing yesterday as well, assuming he still wasnt fit enough to play.
Great win anyway, delighted for Lohan and the players.
I was particularly happy for jason McCarthy, he was well overdue a start in a championship match. He was really goos yesterday, giving us great strength in midfield and adding a couple of points.
He should definitely keep his place in the team next week when mcinerney will also come back in."
With David Mac Shanagher & Browne hopefully all available for Saturday we will have plenty of options.

It was a great win at weekend but Wexford were very poor coulden't hurl off the cuff cant think for themselves and a master class from TK best hurler in championship at moment, hurler of year, but we are unlikely to progress far enough for him to get it.
The recall of Pat O Connor who had a bad day V Limerick worked really well he is a lovely hurler & warrior to boot David Fitz also brought heft & skill to forwards & Jason McCarthy who showed once again what a fine hurler he is like he did V Cork last year he has not got enough game time he must start next week.

I still remain unconvinced on E Quiligan the full back line did ok Seanha Morey is a fine hurler can do a job sometimes in half back line like he did V Clooney in replayed County Final in 2017 but he is lacking heft is much better at corner back Rory Hayes is IMO an all star nominee at least and Cleary despite one silly free did ok.

Halfback line did ok but Diarmuid Ryan needs to start here for Saturday David Reidy is a pale shadow of the player he was in 2018.

Ryan Taylor had a good first half should have scored he started well in 2nd Half but was lost thereafter Cunningham must be sickened in only getting a few cameo moments he is a finisher out & out maybe he dosen't work hard enough in this new GPS & Heat stats that they are now obsessed with but he is a huge goal threat with a target man inside with him.

Touhy

Hayes
Cleary
Morey

Ryan
O Connor
Browne ( If Fit)

Jason McCarthy
David Fitzgerald

Malone
D Fitzgerald
S O Donnell

Kelly { roaming where ever he wants}
Shanaher { Hopefully fit }
A Cunningham

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 16/11/2020 09:38:34    2309796

Agree with a lot but a word for Conor Cleary. Often written off by many I think he has been super this year.

Exact same comments for Malone. He too has been super.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/11/2020 10:22:14    2309824

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Agree with a lot but a word for Conor Cleary. Often written off by many I think he has been super this year.

Exact same comments for Malone. He too has been super."
No doubt about that and TK went straight to Conor at end of game to congratulate him it was not my intention to knock him but thee are always things to improve on a cheap free could be difference.

No doubt about Malone 8/10 every day now it seems you would have to be genuinely pleased for Brian in his first year the wagons were beginning to circle a bit.

Personally i was disappointed to hear abuse was thrown at Davy from the Stands I know he is no angel himself but that was out of order great to see the Clare Players go over to him at full time bit of class that.

The draws are falling slightly in our favour no disrespect to Wateford or Wexford could go another step at least

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 16/11/2020 10:59:53    2309877

Replying To clooney:  "No doubt about that and TK went straight to Conor at end of game to congratulate him it was not my intention to knock him but thee are always things to improve on a cheap free could be difference.

No doubt about Malone 8/10 every day now it seems you would have to be genuinely pleased for Brian in his first year the wagons were beginning to circle a bit.

Personally i was disappointed to hear abuse was thrown at Davy from the Stands I know he is no angel himself but that was out of order great to see the Clare Players go over to him at full time bit of class that.

The draws are falling slightly in our favour no disrespect to Wateford or Wexford could go another step at least"
Id tend to take what Davy said with a pinch of salt. He is well able to give it himself and I think it was more of a diversionary tactic to take the heat and attention away from his team performance and indeed his own tactical performance. The Clare lads showed real glass going over to him after the game though.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/11/2020 11:57:34    2309946

Davy staying on at Wexford anyway. Im surprised to be honest

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 16/11/2020 14:46:32    2310111

Replying To clooney:  "With David Mac Shanagher & Browne hopefully all available for Saturday we will have plenty of options.

It was a great win at weekend but Wexford were very poor coulden't hurl off the cuff cant think for themselves and a master class from TK best hurler in championship at moment, hurler of year, but we are unlikely to progress far enough for him to get it.
The recall of Pat O Connor who had a bad day V Limerick worked really well he is a lovely hurler & warrior to boot David Fitz also brought heft & skill to forwards & Jason McCarthy who showed once again what a fine hurler he is like he did V Cork last year he has not got enough game time he must start next week.

I still remain unconvinced on E Quiligan the full back line did ok Seanha Morey is a fine hurler can do a job sometimes in half back line like he did V Clooney in replayed County Final in 2017 but he is lacking heft is much better at corner back Rory Hayes is IMO an all star nominee at least and Cleary despite one silly free did ok.

Halfback line did ok but Diarmuid Ryan needs to start here for Saturday David Reidy is a pale shadow of the player he was in 2018.

Ryan Taylor had a good first half should have scored he started well in 2nd Half but was lost thereafter Cunningham must be sickened in only getting a few cameo moments he is a finisher out & out maybe he dosen't work hard enough in this new GPS & Heat stats that they are now obsessed with but he is a huge goal threat with a target man inside with him.

Touhy

Hayes
Cleary
Morey

Ryan
O Connor
Browne ( If Fit)

Jason McCarthy
David Fitzgerald

Malone
D Fitzgerald
S O Donnell

Kelly { roaming where ever he wants}
Shanaher { Hopefully fit }
A Cunningham"
While i agree with some of the team you have selected, there is no way quilligan will be dropped now. Also highly unlikely o'halloran will be dropped for ryan to go to wing back.
I think the team might be
1 Quilligan
2 Hayes
3 Cleary
4 Browne
5 O'Halloran
6 O'Connor
7 A. McCarthy
8 J. McCarthy
9 McInerney
10 Malone
11 Kelly
12 Fitzgerald
13 O'Donnell
14 Shanagher
15 Taylor

Obviously assuming browne and shanagher are fit. It would be great to have shanagher's presence at 14. I think McInerney has to come back in. Seadna morey was our spare man most of the time on saturday but i dont think he did enough to keep his place. I think aidan mccarthy may just edge him. Although if not i wouldnt mind having mccarthy as a sub forward option. Diarmuid ryan has been making a good impact off the bench so a similar role might be lined up for him again. However i would have no issue if he started. I think david reidy has tried hard but i cant see him retaining his place.
3 changes might be a bit much to make to a winning team. So maybe jack browne might not come in. I certainly think shanagher (if fit) and McInerney should come in for guilfoyle and reidy.

hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 16/11/2020 14:59:26    2310130

just curious what ye think if liam cahill puts a man marker on tony kely and he is kept quiet where are the clare scores going o come from.....

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1139 - 16/11/2020 15:01:09    2310134