Replying To hurlingexpert: "I hope you're right! I am quietly optimistic that we can so something in this game. However even if we do win against tipp, we'd have no chance against your boys!" A Clare Limerick final would be great. Sick of hearing people banging on about traditional Munster finals being Tipp and Cork!
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 29/06/2021 21:19:51
Replying To Shocs07: "A Clare Limerick final would be great. Sick of hearing people banging on about traditional Munster finals being Tipp and Cork!" I think Cork will bring a big performance on Saturday night. Limerick will have to be ready. People take for granted the level Limerick play at in Championship. Its very impressive. Can they stay hungry and keep this run going? I'm really looking forward to this game.
Regarding Clare and Tipp. I just hope Clare go at it in the same manner as last Sunday. If so, we're in for a great weekend of hurling
Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 30/06/2021 13:39:15
So we have gone with the same team again, not a huge surprise i suppose seen as it appears shane o'donnell is unavailable again, although not confirmed as the subs list hasnt been released. I wouldve like to have seen david mac get in but to be fair to paidi fitz he did fairly well against waterford.
Tipp have gone with a more attacking team than expected, with 5 proper scoring forwards and noel mcgrath also at midfield. I do think though that the balance of their forward line is a bit off. The 5 scoring forwards i have mentioned are all natural inside forwards. I wouldnt think jason forde will be too happy to be out on the wing for a start. He may not play there but whichever of the 5 of those is out there will be out of position and uncomfortable. It is easier for an inside forward at 11, but the wing is far different to 11 in modern hurling.
From looking at their team i think i would put kelly midfield as i dont see michael breen as a marker. Cathal malone and ryan taylor then dropping into midfield and the half backline from the wing forward positions. That would people leave ian galvin inside and we would need a lot more from him in that case.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 03/07/2021 09:49:28
Replying To clooney: "I am delighted personally for Paul Flanagan always rated him I know he might not be fastest if turned but he is very cute rarely gets exposed.
Jack Browne is not the favourite at moment maybe they think he might concede penalties Lohan himself of course always knew what limits he could get away with so perhaps that's the reason, Jack is a fine hurler though and can do a job all over the backline id say at midfield too if needed. Tipp could give you a thumping if they get a run on you but little enough new talent this year and might struggle with pace Fair play to Lohan starting Paudi Fitz he looks a real akward hurler but did a job yesterday.
Spirit is good but we need to kill off teams when on top KK were masters at that some of the wides & decision making not good enough." Jack Browne is indeed a fine hurler, but where would you play him on the county team?
I don't think that he's crisp or sharp enough for the full-back line. And does he have the pace for further out the field? He reminds me a bit of his uncle Donie. He won an intermediate AI with Limk and was consistently one of the finest club hurlers in the county, during a very long career. However, there was just that something missing, whereby a senior inter-county career never materialized.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2202 - 03/07/2021 13:52:42
Obviously a joke of a decision for the penalty which won the game essentially for tipp.
Im pretty disgusted with the soft analysis of it on the sunday game, just a quick mention to say it was a mistake. It was nothing short of disgraceful. Then to not even compare to the free given for the foul on shanager which was probably more of a goal scoring chance and also not to show the blatant pull down of shanagher by heffernan which was a definite penalty.
Very poor from donal og, thought he had more about him than than soft approach.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 04/07/2021 22:40:20
Unfortunately yesterdays game will be remembered for the Referee rather than the Game.
How James Owens gave a penalty against Aidan McCarthy & not one to TK when Barret was booked or the last one to Aron Shanagher.
There is always controversy when he reff's Clare 2018 in Ennis David Reidy last year as AR David Mc Inerney
That 10 Minute son binning cost Clare 2.04 to 0.02 enough said.
Quilligan cost us 1.01 I have never rated him compared to Quaid & E Murphy nowhere near as good as D Touhy either.
Our backs overall did ok P Fitzpatrick too slow to cut off Breen ground strike he will give way to D Mac.
Midfield very patchy Malone had his worst game for a long time & C Galvin a pale shadow of his former self.
Taylor Ian Galvin Reidy & McCarthy superb in first half Taylor fades out badly in 2nd Half Tony K was pulled & dragged but still got 1.01 from play never gave up. Aron Shanagher has got lost of chances hasent improved his technical ability one iota all off his left too static on dropping ball give somebody else a chance now Donal McMahon deserves a go.
Logan was fuming at end great spirit in team and they did Clare proud despite James Owens
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 05/07/2021 08:13:44
Replying To hurlingexpert: "Obviously a joke of a decision for the penalty which won the game essentially for tipp.
Im pretty disgusted with the soft analysis of it on the sunday game, just a quick mention to say it was a mistake. It was nothing short of disgraceful. Then to not even compare to the free given for the foul on shanager which was probably more of a goal scoring chance and also not to show the blatant pull down of shanagher by heffernan which was a definite penalty.
Very poor from donal og, thought he had more about him than than soft approach." not to Mention the Tony Kelly one when his marker got a yellow for persisent fouling
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 05/07/2021 09:46:08
I think it is also important to note the integrity of the tipp people in all this. They are not to blame at all, they went out and played what was in front of them and benefitted from the wrong call. But even they know they got a lucky call and i have seen nicky english come out and condemn the decision. So far play to them and best of luck to them in the final.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 05/07/2021 11:24:01
Replying To foreveryoung: "Jack Browne is indeed a fine hurler, but where would you play him on the county team?
I don't think that he's crisp or sharp enough for the full-back line. And does he have the pace for further out the field? He reminds me a bit of his uncle Donie. He won an intermediate AI with Limk and was consistently one of the finest club hurlers in the county, during a very long career. However, there was just that something missing, whereby a senior inter-county career never materialized." However his uncle Jimmy was pound for pound as good a hurler as ever pulled on a Limerick jersey.
Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4490 - 05/07/2021 13:47:01
Replying To clooney: "Unfortunately yesterdays game will be remembered for the Referee rather than the Game.
How James Owens gave a penalty against Aidan McCarthy & not one to TK when Barret was booked or the last one to Aron Shanagher.
There is always controversy when he reff's Clare 2018 in Ennis David Reidy last year as AR David Mc Inerney
That 10 Minute son binning cost Clare 2.04 to 0.02 enough said.
Quilligan cost us 1.01 I have never rated him compared to Quaid & E Murphy nowhere near as good as D Touhy either.
Our backs overall did ok P Fitzpatrick too slow to cut off Breen ground strike he will give way to D Mac.
Midfield very patchy Malone had his worst game for a long time & C Galvin a pale shadow of his former self.
Taylor Ian Galvin Reidy & McCarthy superb in first half Taylor fades out badly in 2nd Half Tony K was pulled & dragged but still got 1.01 from play never gave up. Aron Shanagher has got lost of chances hasent improved his technical ability one iota all off his left too static on dropping ball give somebody else a chance now Donal McMahon deserves a go.
Logan was fuming at end great spirit in team and they did Clare proud despite James Owens" I have to say hand on heart Clare should be in a Munster final v Limerick now. We have had issues with James Owen's too in the past.
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 05/07/2021 16:15:42
Just a shocking bad decision. I am 30 years plus going to hurling matches and it is the single worse call I have ever see. It totally distorted and ruined a good even game. I wouldn't mind if it was contentious, but the unfairness of it clearly rattled Clare, especially the younger players.
The other calls in the game are 50/50, you get some, you dont. That is hurling, no issue with that but the pen and sin bin was a total utter farce and to do it without consulting with his officials smacks of arrogance.
In short, a total utter disgrace and I am loath to ever go over the top post games but that was the pits.
Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 05/07/2021 16:54:25
Replying To Clareman: "Just a shocking bad decision. I am 30 years plus going to hurling matches and it is the single worse call I have ever see. It totally distorted and ruined a good even game. I wouldn't mind if it was contentious, but the unfairness of it clearly rattled Clare, especially the younger players.
The other calls in the game are 50/50, you get some, you dont. That is hurling, no issue with that but the pen and sin bin was a total utter farce and to do it without consulting with his officials smacks of arrogance.
In short, a total utter disgrace and I am loath to ever go over the top post games but that was the pits." The decision got to them all right but still after watching back game last night we should still have been in contention 6 points down I think when A McCarthy came back on it was a ball we should not have lost anyway P Flanagan should have taken the tackle & hand passed to Hayes and A McCarthy was very rash .
The very soft goal conceded was a killer & we got very loose around the middle for 15 minutes or so if only A Cunningham haden't left the panel a game like this would have really suited a good few diagonal balls went into the 13 spot his pace & eye for goal would have greatly helped.
The penalty that wasent at the end on Shanaher was hard to believe Heffernan had his back turned swinging off him a goal and who knows.
We need t move on plenty to work on hope we get Wexford
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 06/07/2021 09:00:36
I think for Monday's draw, personally anyway i am hoping we get a bye to the second qualifier round.
I think waterford have to be in round one, which is interesting as im assuming we cant play them. But given that i think they can get the winner of antrim & laois who would also have to be in round one thw first round could be tough as we could get one of the other 3, Wexford galway and cork. So a bye to the second round and a possible meeting with wexford is what i woukd like to see. I wouldnt mind playing cork either. But definitely want to avoid galway, as they were poor against dublin but will definitely be all guns blazing in their next game.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 09/07/2021 11:50:56
Replying To hurlingexpert: "I think for Monday's draw, personally anyway i am hoping we get a bye to the second qualifier round.
I think waterford have to be in round one, which is interesting as im assuming we cant play them. But given that i think they can get the winner of antrim & laois who would also have to be in round one thw first round could be tough as we could get one of the other 3, Wexford galway and cork. So a bye to the second round and a possible meeting with wexford is what i woukd like to see. I wouldnt mind playing cork either. But definitely want to avoid galway, as they were poor against dublin but will definitely be all guns blazing in their next game." I am not sure of the rules but ideally would like to draw Laois/Antrim then either Wexford or Cork in 2nd Round Having watched back the Game we were severally punished for our Mistakes we made, Teams like Tipperary don't have to work as hard for scores .
Malone has been very consistent for us but on Sunday mad a number of mistakes lost possession got turned over led to scores Quilligan made a silly error in throwing up ball and then catching as well Callinans goal was a disaster and after that he whales a long distance free wide all them mattered.
I read Darach Honans piece in the Echo and it was a very insightful piece he calls for the Possibility of John Conlon back to the brow of the Square as a full forward now that Davy Mac is fit again and I would personally agree with that as Aron Shanagher brings no where near the threat not enough control or work rate I would have him at 13 all right but not main Fulcrum of attack. Taylor needs to put in full shift as well
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 09/07/2021 14:10:54
Replying To johnocarroll17: "I have to say hand on heart Clare should be in a Munster final v Limerick now. We have had issues with James Owen's too in the past." You'd find a better referee in a lucky bag! On a serious note, he clearly cost Clare the match. Although Conlon did ok at 6, I still think there would be a better balance to the team if he went up front with a fit again McInerney to 6. Then bring Shanagher off the bench
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 09/07/2021 17:05:29
Replying To clooney: "I am not sure of the rules but ideally would like to draw Laois/Antrim then either Wexford or Cork in 2nd Round Having watched back the Game we were severally punished for our Mistakes we made, Teams like Tipperary don't have to work as hard for scores .
Malone has been very consistent for us but on Sunday mad a number of mistakes lost possession got turned over led to scores Quilligan made a silly error in throwing up ball and then catching as well Callinans goal was a disaster and after that he whales a long distance free wide all them mattered.
I read Darach Honans piece in the Echo and it was a very insightful piece he calls for the Possibility of John Conlon back to the brow of the Square as a full forward now that Davy Mac is fit again and I would personally agree with that as Aron Shanagher brings no where near the threat not enough control or work rate I would have him at 13 all right but not main Fulcrum of attack. Taylor needs to put in full shift as well" There is less than zero chance of conlon going back to the forward line this year. McInerney will slot in on the wing. I 100% think we have to persist with Shanagher as the focal point of our attack. He is quick, strong and excellent in the air. His decision making and general hurling ability will only improve if ye gets a proper run of games. His striking off his right has improved this year for the first time in as long as ive seen him playing. Not good enough yet, but if he continues to work on it by next year he should be at a level where he can score off that side regularly. It is quiet baffling that he got to this stage without coaches working on it with him.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 09/07/2021 22:56:21
Replying To hurlingexpert: "There is less than zero chance of conlon going back to the forward line this year. McInerney will slot in on the wing. I 100% think we have to persist with Shanagher as the focal point of our attack. He is quick, strong and excellent in the air. His decision making and general hurling ability will only improve if ye gets a proper run of games. His striking off his right has improved this year for the first time in as long as ive seen him playing. Not good enough yet, but if he continues to work on it by next year he should be at a level where he can score off that side regularly. It is quiet baffling that he got to this stage without coaches working on it with him." I am sure you are right about John C although it could be a plan B remember when B Whelahan went into Forwards in 1998 what a difference he made. Hopefully Aron Shanaher does deliver big, i also wonder how he has progressed through all underage at County without addressing his outright preference for striking off left.
Wexford now what a challenge do or die will be nothing in it win and a round 2 against Galway or Cork?
Now is Time for our Hurlers to respond a bit of spite after Game with Tipp
I would imagine that having played Waterford we wont be drawn against them if they beat Laois
clooney (Clare) - Posts: 984 - 12/07/2021 09:04:48
So Wexford it is! This is going to be one hell of a build up for the week. Could be last chance saloon for Davy and his boys. While lohan will be as fired up as imaginable, considering the wexford referees decision last weekend and the covid anomalies from the league against the same opposition. Not to mention their existing rivalry. Neither will want to lose and especially to the opposite manager.
Funny enough the players will probably come in a bit under the radar this week! From our point of view id imagine we will only see one change, with mcinerney coming in for paidi fitzpatrick. I dont know what the situation is with shane O'Donnell, but even if he is available i dont think he would come straight in from the start in a game like this, particularly with how ian galvin played against tipp.
hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 12/07/2021 09:18:59
Replying To hurlingexpert: "So Wexford it is! This is going to be one hell of a build up for the week. Could be last chance saloon for Davy and his boys. While lohan will be as fired up as imaginable, considering the wexford referees decision last weekend and the covid anomalies from the league against the same opposition. Not to mention their existing rivalry. Neither will want to lose and especially to the opposite manager.
Funny enough the players will probably come in a bit under the radar this week! From our point of view id imagine we will only see one change, with mcinerney coming in for paidi fitzpatrick. I dont know what the situation is with shane O'Donnell, but even if he is available i dont think he would come straight in from the start in a game like this, particularly with how ian galvin played against tipp." If SOD is fit and ready he is one of the first names on the team sheet and would certainly come back in.
I dont think we will see him for the rest of the year though.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 12/07/2021 10:44:44
There is one concern I have with this Clare team and that is how they deal with setbacks. We saw it in the league V Wexford when we went a man down we fell apart. Same against Tipp, the sinbin shell shocked us and we lost 2-4 to 0-2 in that period. We need to get better at managing those situations irrespective of how bad the call was against us.
LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2697 - 12/07/2021 10:47:34