Next Dublin Manager

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Are we playing ye in crokepark again so?"
Would it matter, seriously? Maybe David Moran would run faster in Killarney!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 10:35:24    2255296

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure we beat Mayo and Donegal and Tyrone in this supposed great period of Gaelic football and that was a poor Kerry team compared to our team of the 00s."
Jayzis in the 80s you would have won an AI with just those 3 wins coming out of Munster.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 10:39:08    2255297

Replying To cavanman47:  "Kerry beat (hammered in fact) one of the all time great Dublin teams.

Dublin didn't play against an all time great team this decade.

Were kerry as good as they were in the 00s?
Were Tyrone?
Have Mayo convinced anyone that they are capable of getting past that mental block in an all ireland final?
A donegal team who hadn't won an ulster championship game in 4 years won an all ireland, taking Dublin's crown, after 18months under a good manager. Beat them again 2 years later and lost to an average Kerry."
That's generally because you only get one all time great team in a decade. It has been Dublin in the 10s. I think you'll agree that the Mayo and Donegal teams of this decade have been the best Mayo and Donegal teams of all time. Check the Kerry line out for the 2011 final and tell us that this wasn't an excellent Kerry side. Arguably the best Monaghan team has been playing in this decade. The teams have been very high quality. It's just that one has been supreme. Some people can't accept that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 10:45:23    2255300

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's true we didn't beat Tyrone in the 00s and I have no problem with them being the team of that decade , we had great battles and were very evenly matched as were cork in the latter stages and Galway and Armagh in the early stages of the decade , there was lots of teams that could beat eachother including Derry and Monaghan had a few good years.

Monaghan could have beat us twice.

The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again."
The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

Because Kerry were regularly winning.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/12/2019 10:51:09    2255304

In addition, I would say what marks this Dublin side apart from all others and this will be bore out in the record books is the margins they have won their titles by and the consistency they have demonstrated over many years.
I don't think there has ever been a period where a team has had to overcome as many second bites at the cherry by a contender as in the past 5 years. This resilience is undoubtedly one of their greatest assets.
Also , Jim Gavin's managing of the group to complete the 5 in a row is remarkable and should not be looked at separately. We have indeed been very fortunate to follow this team and while Dessie Farrell has big shoes to fill I'm sure he'll bring his own qualities to the table.
Looking forward to a new chapter and whatever it holds I'm delighted to be able to say we done something special.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/12/2019 11:18:18    2255312

Replying To lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

Because Kerry were regularly winning."
Kerry were really poor for most of the 90's, the reason it was such a good time to follow football was because a different team won every year. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Galway, Cork and Kerry all won titles. Kildare, Mayo and a few others got very close

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 12:16:15    2255322

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "

Kerry were really poor for most of the 90's, the reason it was such a good time to follow football was because a different team won every year. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Galway, Cork and Kerry all won titles. Kildare, Mayo and a few others got very close"
You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 12:41:50    2255327

Replying To cavanman47:  "Why is it likely to never be surpassed??

Because this lull, from Kerry in transition, tyrone far past their best, mayo mentally weak, etc. is unlikely to be repeated?

Dublin have taken advantage of a poor era and fair play to them for it. But you simply can't dismiss the fact that they've peaked while all major rivals have troughed."
Mayo, Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone all "troughed" in the 10s? Be gone with you charlatan.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 12:45:21    2255329

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

Kerry were really poor for most of the 90's, the reason it was such a good time to follow football was because a different team won every year. Donegal, Derry, Down, Dublin, Meath, Galway, Cork and Kerry all won titles. Kildare, Mayo and a few others got very close"
You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side."]You wouldn't be biased now Joxer! lol You wouldn't be seeing Dublin as the one and only true apostolic church when it comes to gaelic football, considering the amount of culchie surnames on that beloved Dublin team of yours, beyond the Pale names, driven east by inequality and Tory type governance!
Have a happy Christmas, I'm out of here for now, enjoy the celebrations!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 17/12/2019 13:14:22    2255337

Replying To Joxer:  "That's generally because you only get one all time great team in a decade. It has been Dublin in the 10s. I think you'll agree that the Mayo and Donegal teams of this decade have been the best Mayo and Donegal teams of all time. Check the Kerry line out for the 2011 final and tell us that this wasn't an excellent Kerry side. Arguably the best Monaghan team has been playing in this decade. The teams have been very high quality. It's just that one has been supreme. Some people can't accept that."
The kerry 2011 side had. . .

Brendan Kealy in goals where Diarmuid Murphy had been a colossus for them in the 00s

Marc o'se at full back because they'd lost Tommy Griffin and hadn't a natural replacement

Killian Young at corner back having played all his career at wing back

Eoin Brosnan moved from the forwards to the half back line where in the 00s they has Seamus Moynihan

Bryan Sheehan, a corner forward, playing in midfield, replacing the retired Darragh O'Shea.

Kieran O'Leary at corner forward because Tommy Walsh was in Oz.

It was a better side than the 2014 and 2015 Kerry side but it was a long way short of the 00s side who made 6 finals in a row and won 4 of them.

You could say the exact same of Tyrone in this decade vs 00s.

Yes, this decade has seen Monaghan's greatest ever team, but that team won 2 ulster titles and lost to average Tyrone sides in 1/4 and semi finals.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/12/2019 13:27:30    2255338

Replying To Joxer:  "Mayo, Donegal, Monaghan, Tyrone all "troughed" in the 10s? Be gone with you charlatan."
Tyrone certainly have.

Monaghan aren't one of Dublin's rivals.

Donegal were exceptional under Jim McGuinness but he left a big gap when he moved on.

I don't know to sum up the Mayo team of the 10s. They lost 3 finals to Dublin, but they also lost connaught championship games to Galway and Roscommon, and were taken to extra time by Derry and Cork.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/12/2019 13:31:50    2255339

Replying To Canuck:  "Teams that are hugely successful are always envied and vilified. It is Dublin now and was Kilkenny. If Limerick had won again this year it was coming also. Signs of it were to see. In fairness to Dublin I believe they handle themselves with diploma. Disappointedly Kilkenny let themselves down this year after the game and then continuing on to appeal a blatant red card.
The best teams win because they have the best players and play the best. Dublin and Kilkenny are the best history has given us. I do agree that resources help. Like money and this should be addressed. Either the same funding is available for all teams or else blow the lid off it and go pro where the the richest are strongest. Talking up amateurism while allowing money influence success is typical of the talk (and action) we get from both sides of the mouth from Gaa brass."
I don't think it's the teams themselves that are vilified, it's the arrogance of some of their supporters, their demand for genuflection and glorification that annoys the defeated - unsporting behaviour.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 17/12/2019 13:33:22    2255340

Replying To Joxer:  "
Replying To GeniusGerry:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side."]Down, Meath and Galway were great teams and the pick of the bunch imo but nobody could sustain success because there were so many good sides around and it was knockout football.

The kind of utter domination we are seeing now is very unusual, and much of the core of Dublin's team is still in their mid twenties, we are in uncharted waters. If Dublin do not drop off a bit soon it'll be interesting to see how the GAA handle it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 17/12/2019 13:39:57    2255341

We won 1 allireland in the 90s and 4/5 in the 00s that's hardly regular.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 14:27:04    2255352

Replying To Joxer:  "That's generally because you only get one all time great team in a decade. It has been Dublin in the 10s. I think you'll agree that the Mayo and Donegal teams of this decade have been the best Mayo and Donegal teams of all time. Check the Kerry line out for the 2011 final and tell us that this wasn't an excellent Kerry side. Arguably the best Monaghan team has been playing in this decade. The teams have been very high quality. It's just that one has been supreme. Some people can't accept that."
In the 00s there was 2 great teams and 8 great teams in the 90s.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/12/2019 14:29:35    2255353

Replying To baire:  "I don't think it's the teams themselves that are vilified, it's the arrogance of some of their supporters, their demand for genuflection and glorification that annoys the defeated - unsporting behaviour."
You are literally describing Kerry supporters.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/12/2019 15:12:35    2255358

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "
Replying To Joxer:  "[quote=GeniusGerry:  "[quote=lilylanger:  "The 00s were a great decade and the 90s better again.

You're right there Gerry. Several very good sides but no one great side."]Down, Meath and Galway were great teams and the pick of the bunch imo but nobody could sustain success because there were so many good sides around and it was knockout football.

The kind of utter domination we are seeing now is very unusual, and much of the core of Dublin's team is still in their mid twenties, we are in uncharted waters. If Dublin do not drop off a bit soon it'll be interesting to see how the GAA handle it."]Handle it?

Kerry missed out on 5 by a kick of a ball

Then went onto win another 3 in a row...

Dubs still have plenty to accomplish

This sort of domination has been seen and Dublin have a bit to go to mirror what Kerry did

You may have just narrowly lost out on 5 but again win 3 on the bounce after it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/12/2019 15:26:39    2255360

Back to topic, Dublin's next manager, I think Dessie's success or otherwise will hinge on how he introduces a few new players into the team and still keeps the team at or near the top. Players like Bugler, Archer, McGarry(forwards), Darren Gavin and O'Cofaigh-Byrne, mid-field, Murchan to nail down a half-back slot, Comerford has the makings of a top-class keeper, and maybe more game-time for the likes of Cormac Costello (still only 25), Luke Swan, only 17, too early for him this year but is some prospect, football or hurling. If Dessie can bring in the new blood and stay competitive, happy days for the Dubs, if he can gradually remould the team and win Sam 2020, the outlook is bleak for everyone else.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 676 - 17/12/2019 15:53:47    2255365

Replying To sligo joe:  "Back to topic, Dublin's next manager, I think Dessie's success or otherwise will hinge on how he introduces a few new players into the team and still keeps the team at or near the top. Players like Bugler, Archer, McGarry(forwards), Darren Gavin and O'Cofaigh-Byrne, mid-field, Murchan to nail down a half-back slot, Comerford has the makings of a top-class keeper, and maybe more game-time for the likes of Cormac Costello (still only 25), Luke Swan, only 17, too early for him this year but is some prospect, football or hurling. If Dessie can bring in the new blood and stay competitive, happy days for the Dubs, if he can gradually remould the team and win Sam 2020, the outlook is bleak for everyone else."
Ciaran Archer as well of course. I'm really looking forward to next year. It's going to be interesting to see how Dessie manages the transition. POCB and Gavin both have huge potential. Lowndes will have a chance to nail down a wing back spot also I believe. Comerford should see more action. A lot of experimentation no doubt.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 17/12/2019 16:39:41    2255379

Replying To Joxer:  "Ciaran Archer as well of course. I'm really looking forward to next year. It's going to be interesting to see how Dessie manages the transition. POCB and Gavin both have huge potential. Lowndes will have a chance to nail down a wing back spot also I believe. Comerford should see more action. A lot of experimentation no doubt."
That's all the league should be about

Hopefully see the makings of 2-3 new players and give plenty of opportunity to anyone that deserves the chance

For me that's all Dessie will be looking at for 2020

He won't be making looking to reinvent the wheel.. no need for that yet

Exciting times and IMO Gavins last master stroke as manager is deciding to walk away.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/12/2019 17:09:41    2255385