Does Anybody Give A S**T About Hurling Classic?

Replying To gilly1910:  "I actually didn't even know it was on, and yes bar it been a nice well deserved break for the players involved, it's a joke of a game. Have to laugh at the report on the homepage on Hoganstand of the game between Kilkenny and Tipperary, where it actually stated that Kilkenny gained some revenge for their All Ireland defeat by hammering Tipperary. Seriously how does winning a pointless meaningless game constitute any kind of revenge?"
I agree about the media coverage. It's just a fun friendly for some expats bit like the all Star series

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 18/11/2019 15:49:06    2250181

Replying To logger:  "Absolute load of nonsense - GAA should be ashamed of themselves... How come the likes of Laois, Westmeath, Offaly and Kerry don't get a chance to take part?"
I reckon the GAA high profile works better!

Did you ever hear of the "Davy Affect"?

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 18/11/2019 15:54:48    2250183

Replying To Ban:  "I reckon the GAA high profile works better!

Did you ever hear of the "Davy Affect"?"
Its a pity you cant edit posts..! Typo on the previous

"I reckon the GAA think high profile works better!

Did you ever hear of the "Davy Affect"?"

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 18/11/2019 16:11:17    2250187

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I think you should have said the GPA because it is actually a GPA inspired junket."
Yea I meant to say GPA

GalwayMan (Galway) - Posts: 91 - 18/11/2019 16:20:02    2250188

What a hurling classic? When was this? Did I miss something big?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 18/11/2019 16:47:48    2250194

any of ye see the boxing match that night on street including certain members of one of the panels.......

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 18/11/2019 17:06:45    2250201

Replying To therealtmo:  "any of ye see the boxing match that night on street including certain members of one of the panels......."
Surprised this is the first mention of it. That final punch was some haymaker...
Not very smart out of him though...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 18/11/2019 17:21:19    2250204

Replying To skillet:  "Surprised this is the first mention of it. That final punch was some haymaker...
Not very smart out of him though..."
Not very smart from the lad recording it, if I was his team mate I'd be fair annoyed over it. Nobody would ever of knowing about it.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 18/11/2019 17:42:49    2250206

Replying To Breezy:  "? I'm pretty sure they do already have a meaningful game between the top two for promotion to the McCarthy it's called the McDonagh cup final and it's very meaningful because it gets you promoted to McCarthy cup.

Or are you advocating moving the McDonagh cup final to NY in November?"
I am not degrading the McDonagh cup final. The opposite give these players recognition and reward while promoting the sport properly in the U.S. An appropriate time and venue can be found in the U.S., Canada or some where in the World to stage proper hurling. I am degrading this farce of a format in the name of promoting the sport. .

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 18/11/2019 22:22:47    2250249

I went to the "classic " in Ny. Very cold day and a lot of spectators watched the games on TV in the bars. Slightly entertaining I suppose, with some excellent saves by Eoin Murphy. It is what it is...a reward for reaching All Ireland semifinals. The game itself bears little resemblance to hurling. Eoin Murphy kept Kk in it, as Limerick were actually better! A lot of Americans have no idea what hurling is and usually confuse it with curling! So, no harm done..am sure the players enjoyed the trip!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 18/11/2019 22:31:57    2250250

In fact, the day was so cold, there were more spectators in the bars within the stadium watching on TV, than outside in the stands!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 18/11/2019 22:53:36    2250254

Replying To therealtmo:  "Not very smart from the lad recording it, if I was his team mate I'd be fair annoyed over it. Nobody would ever of knowing about it."
Yep - even more ridiculous given the recent history of recordings of members of the same county panel going viral

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 19/11/2019 08:41:54    2250277

Replying To Rockies:  "I went to the "classic " in Ny. Very cold day and a lot of spectators watched the games on TV in the bars. Slightly entertaining I suppose, with some excellent saves by Eoin Murphy. It is what it is...a reward for reaching All Ireland semifinals. The game itself bears little resemblance to hurling. Eoin Murphy kept Kk in it, as Limerick were actually better! A lot of Americans have no idea what hurling is and usually confuse it with curling! So, no harm done..am sure the players enjoyed the trip!"
In other words a farce and a junket

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 19/11/2019 12:22:55    2250317

Seems like the limerick lads are a wild bunch despite management's best efforts to convince us otherwise.
Can see their promising side unraveling now after what is at least the 3rd high profile incident which is a shame.

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 19/11/2019 14:10:31    2250329

Replying To lowballplease:  "Seems like the limerick lads are a wild bunch despite management's best efforts to convince us otherwise.
Can see their promising side unraveling now after what is at least the 3rd high profile incident which is a shame."
To be fair they could cull the main perpetrator alltogether and he'd be no loss.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1907 - 19/11/2019 18:53:21    2250380

Replying To lowballplease:  "Seems like the limerick lads are a wild bunch despite management's best efforts to convince us otherwise.
Can see their promising side unraveling now after what is at least the 3rd high profile incident which is a shame."
WTF are you talking about. Galway clubs can't agree enough to appoint a hom egrown, manager. Have you watched the Johnny Maher incident on you tube lately. "People who live in glass houses........"

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 19/11/2019 20:53:09    2250400

Jaysus the bitterness from Galway since we stopped her 2in a row is awful. Was always the second team for me and many in Limerick before but christ ye can go do one.

That post was so bitter I assumed it was the resurrection of the recently quiet former crazy mouthpiece Katzer

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 19/11/2019 21:40:42    2250409

Replying To PatOLogical:  "WTF are you talking about. Galway clubs can't agree enough to appoint a hom egrown, manager. Have you watched the Johnny Maher incident on you tube lately. "People who live in glass houses........""
The "Johnny Maher Incident" that happened seven years ago? Is that the one you're talking about? Quite apart from the fact that it happened SEVEN YEARS AGO, I'm not sure what it has to do with the two eejits getting sent home from NY this week after having a drunken brawl on a footpath. Knowing the fine men and women of the NYPD, they can be thankful they weren't lifted.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 19/11/2019 22:25:38    2250421

Don't know what the background to the brawl was but what IQ has the clown that recorded it!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 19/11/2019 22:38:32    2250423

In 1990 the All-Stars football and hurling teams played in the Skydome in Toronto. I was please to be involved. Over 30,000 showed up. The pitch was a little short for hurling and picking the ball was different off the artificial surface. However the players told us the size was deceiving looking at it and when you were out there it was much bigger. This promoted the game properly. In talking with the players who had been on other trips they said this was the best. The players were put up in hotels, not farmed out as used be and each player received a commemorative ring of the occasion.
A bit of trivia. Ger Cunningham went head to head with Kelly Gruber (Blue Gays slugger) and drove the ball further with the bat and hurley. Wendal Clarke the great Maple Leaf told us if he was not a professional hockey player this is the sport he would want to play.
A memory was Babs shouting out out Nicholas English "Nicky if your not interested in playing f---off out of here.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 19/11/2019 22:43:54    2250424