All Stars 2019

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Had to give cluxton an all star as they had him lined up for footballer if the year...didn't matter that Patton was exceptional all year..looks like that's the last we have seen of cluxton...big hint that he won't be back!"
Wouldn't be so sure. Maybe 1 more year.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 01/11/2019 22:10:18    2247133

Replying To yew_tree:  "Can you not just savior the moment wothout having a dig it belitteling a Mayo players all star? Seriously is that much to ask? Nearly every Dublin fan forum has constant jibes at Mayo and yeah some are funny but the same aul crap every week wears thin...."
Wasn't having a dig at Mayo really, though I do think that decision was a bit on the wacky side from a footballing observation perspective. It was funny, the decision and reaction from Dublin and Mayo lads and I was more having a laugh and ripping that at that to be honest. If your offended I apologize.

I don't really have much time for the All Stars to be honest or care enough to take seriously, I watch it for the laugh more then anything, it's like up for the match, has zero relevance to the actual game, awards are given and not won on the field of play.

I'd be disappointed if the Dublin lads did anything more then stir their sugar on their cornflakes with them.

I'd have a bit of time for the POTY gong mind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/11/2019 22:23:18    2247136

Replying To culmore:  "Howard and Murphy should not be on the list , who to replace them with a big question for me Boyle and Kilkenny"
Howard was the best half forward in the country and my some distance.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/11/2019 22:26:59    2247137

Murphy was brilliant all year. He was our only player against mayo, played "poor" by some peoples standards and scored 1-5.
Stephen O'brien plays in a poor munster competition and had arguably 2 good games at most all year (terrible in both finals) so stop whining about Murphy.
Did he play at 12? No but he 100% deserves an all star.
System is flawed but no doubt he was one of the best 15 players all year.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 01/11/2019 22:29:54    2247138

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Howard getting an all star for center half back is what's wrong the all stars giving players an all star for positions they don't play just to accommodate them ,Howard deserved an all star for a position in the half forward line instead of Murphy and not taking an all star away from Boyle or keoghan"
Keoghan who lost 3 games in a row?

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 01/11/2019 22:30:58    2247139

Replying To royaldunne:  "The all stars can take a run and jump , twice in 10 years Meath have been shafted. Once when graham Reilly was clearly the best half forward in country and now donal keoghan been shafted for durcan. Load of @@@@"
what are you smoking? Meath had a poor year. Embarrassed by everyone in the super 8s.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 01/11/2019 22:32:27    2247140

Replying To Richieq:  "I don't feel clueless and I don't think Murphy was All Star material this year, that's called an opinion not being clueless."
Suppose someone from Meath was though in his position?

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 4 - 01/11/2019 22:37:57    2247143

Clifford was lucky. He was good but it's very competitive up front

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 01/11/2019 23:04:02    2247148

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Howard getting an all star for center half back is what's wrong the all stars giving players an all star for positions they don't play just to accommodate them ,Howard deserved an all star for a position in the half forward line instead of Murphy and not taking an all star away from Boyle or keoghan"
Nonsense. Murphy did more by far this year than Brian Howard. And in three less games. There are few as complete players playing today.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 01/11/2019 23:16:09    2247150

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "what are you smoking? Meath had a poor year. Embarrassed by everyone in the super 8s."
Donegal won one more game than Meath in Super 8's so I'd get down off your high horse before you embarrass yourself

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/11/2019 23:17:26    2247151

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "And you are spot on my friend..one Mr Murphy walks away with an all star!"
Why not? Performed superbly against you guys in Ulster, in the Ulster final and each of the three Super 8s games. What's your problem so? He is easily worth his place on that team and had as good a year as any save for some of the Kerry and Dublin guys, and only some of them at that. Yes, pity he's getting involved in that crap shop GPA.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 01/11/2019 23:22:41    2247152

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Murphy was brilliant all year. He was our only player against mayo, played "poor" by some peoples standards and scored 1-5.
Stephen O'brien plays in a poor munster competition and had arguably 2 good games at most all year (terrible in both finals) so stop whining about Murphy.
Did he play at 12? No but he 100% deserves an all star.
System is flawed but no doubt he was one of the best 15 players all year."
If youre going down the scoring route to make comparisons then:

O'Brien and Murphy scored the same in the Donegal/Kerry game and O'Brien scored more against Mayo than Murphy did.

He scored 1-2 against Tyrone and Murphy scored 0-2. He didnt get an All Star because he wasnt at his best in the two finals. If they lost the semi he'd have been nailed on which is a bit ridiculous.

If McShane for example got to the final(s) and played poorly in both he wouldnt have got one either. It's a silly system.

The simplest and fairest way for the all stars to be decided is that every players gets rating out of 10 for every game and the average decides who gets them - with possibly a system where the bigger the game the more weight is attached to a rating. It would take away most of this BS

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 01/11/2019 23:29:38    2247155

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Keoghan who lost 3 games in a row?"
Actually Meath lost those games not Keoghan

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/11/2019 23:44:56    2247160

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Suppose someone from Meath was though in his position?"
No, the only one of the 3 nominees we had that I thought would get one was Keoghan, a fight between him and Colm Boyle, I certainly did not expect a Dublin forward to beat him to the position and its unfair on all nominees for those positions that it happened, and not for the first time either.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 01/11/2019 23:47:32    2247162

Very opinionated Eddie after only 4 posts. Good man.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 02/11/2019 00:30:00    2247166

In picking my team, I did exactly what the All-Star selectors did, I put Howard back in my half-back line. It was a no-brainer really. In the AIFs, he covered back and did some mighty defending, especially in the 2nd half on the drawn game when he was immense around center-back when the Dubs were down to 14 men.

Overall, a team which I can't really complain about. Perhaps Steven O'Brien in for Clifford, and Mannion into the corner. But it's not a major issue for me as O'Brien's final displays weren't quite what we know he can do. In any event, it'd only be replacing one Kerry player with another. So overall, no qualms really with that team or the POTY, young and not so young, in either football and hurling.

Indeed, I'm delighted for Cluxton, an inspirational player. And long overdue!

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 02/11/2019 02:40:59    2247170

If Murphy didn't deserve it this year he possibly never did as this year was possibly one of his finest ever. I kind of scratch my head and bite my lip when i hear people say Murphy wasn't allstar material....

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 02/11/2019 02:44:36    2247171

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Delighted Cluxton got the POTY and we'll deserved. Up there with his best ever years for Dublin and first Goalkeeper to win the award I think."
A POTY has been named since 1958, with Jim McKeever of Derry being the inaugural recipient. It was called the Texaco POTY award and continued until 2012. On two occasions a goalkeeper won it: Billy Morgan of Cork in 1973, and Martin Furlong of Offaly in 1982 (remember that one Kerry lads?).

I realize that it was a distinct award from the All-Stars POTY which came in in 1995.

Just a bit of historical perspective on goalies who have won POTY.

shoulderghost (Limerick) - Posts: 863 - 02/11/2019 02:53:27    2247172

2 All Stars for Tyrone, fair play lads is that what yous were keeping the powder dry for after being beaten in Ulster? Just trying to keep up with what the standard for success is with you boys ;)

Absolutely delighted for Murphy he was sensational all year long, very much deserved

Sincere congrats to Cluxton, the man epitomises everything great about this legendary Dublin team. POTY is well deserved and well overdue, maith thú

A word on YPOTY as well, what a player we have on our hands in SOS. Much more to come in future!

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/11/2019 04:36:27    2247173

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "what are you smoking? Meath had a poor year. Embarrassed by everyone in the super 8s."
Meath fans are the Most dilusional fans in the country

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 02/11/2019 05:22:25    2247174