MONEY

Replying To moc.dna:  "Tell us which poster is Ewan as you state you know. Amazing how you have this insight, you must be a moderator so. Interesting that you know, yet recently you were posting about privacy & GDPR rules on here with others but you now seem to be in contradiction mode with certain statements. Interesting to see will this post pass or will it be censored."
You're right he was awful upset over it , and then he also tell us where Kilkenny spends his summers and that mccaffery and another guy do be up and down to portlaois,

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2019 09:40:29    2240530

Replying To moc.dna:  "Tell us which poster is Ewan as you state you know. Amazing how you have this insight, you must be a moderator so. Interesting that you know, yet recently you were posting about privacy & GDPR rules on here with others but you now seem to be in contradiction mode with certain statements. Interesting to see will this post pass or will it be censored."
He doesn't know, it's just another way for the Dublin posters on here to shout down and ridicule anyone who dares question the funding they get.

Even Fenton's deflection tactics speak volumes. . .when asked about it he says "do people really think AIG pay my wages!?".

No, Brian, no normal thinking person is suggesting that. Why not answer the funding question directly instead of lining up a ridiculous theory just so you can shoot it down.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/10/2019 09:51:28    2240535

Replying To cavanman47:  "He doesn't know, it's just another way for the Dublin posters on here to shout down and ridicule anyone who dares question the funding they get.

Even Fenton's deflection tactics speak volumes. . .when asked about it he says "do people really think AIG pay my wages!?".

No, Brian, no normal thinking person is suggesting that. Why not answer the funding question directly instead of lining up a ridiculous theory just so you can shoot it down."
What was the finding question asked? Missed this.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 01/10/2019 10:15:18    2240541

All I will say is that this topic hasn't been debated enough.
Please keep this going

Ps Any update on the strike?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 01/10/2019 10:22:31    2240543

Ah shocking news isnt it, though i get a bit of craic out of it, there is a direct corraltion between many posts on here and other forums and what ends up in articles, many journalists use social media and twitter for copy research, its long been the suspicion around many national GAA formats and can people can decide themselves who on here relates to that, its fairly obvious. Lads even try to feed him stuff that ends up articles. It makes perfect sense when you think about it, you can float an aspect of an article, get rebuttal, develop counter points etc, its not breaking any law as far as i know, but then you have to ask the question, if what you are reading on paywall media format, is the bones of points made by lads on here and elsewhere then why bother. There is as insightful stuff on here as on anything you care to drop a few Euro on.

As for GDRP, i read the information i shared on articles by the lads in question so they self disclosed that information to the public, that is not a breach of GDRP. i think once i posted where Jack was doing a medical rotation down the country, but on reflection i probably should t have admittedly. So fair point.

Hopefully Jack doesn't sue me, id still love him though even if he did. Top Lad..

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/10/2019 10:22:32    2240544

Replying To keithlemon:  "All I will say is that this topic hasn't been debated enough.
Please keep this going

Ps Any update on the strike?"
Maybe ask with another one of your profiles

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 01/10/2019 11:12:09    2240562

Replying To Jackeen:  "What was the finding question asked? Missed this."
I'm still waiting for you answer the question on why you dismiss anyone who disagrees with you with a low post count but has no issues with it's the other way around?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 01/10/2019 11:13:31    2240563

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think its the height of stupidity counties spending half a million on Taxi's to and from Dublin to Mayo and half a million on Catering. I know some of the Dublin lads dont work in Dublin and if i thought the DCB were paying 1 mill on food and transport i would call them idiots. I have very little sympathy a fool and his money.

All that article says is they provide advise on nutrition plans to the county team not that they pay for their food. i ask because i happened to be eating in the same place as the Dublin team after a league game in Roscommon recently and the county delegate was paying for it from DCb funds, saw it myself."
How do you expect lads to get to training? Its obviously the cheapest way and easiest way to get lads down to Roscommon given nearly 2/3 of the panel live in Dublin.

Dublin lads if any of the work outside Dublin(Doubt it) still live at home in Dublin so they wouldnt need a taxi to training and as already said they live at home so little reason to feed them.

A Roscommon player for example could be in DCU. He might be in college until 6pm. They only way a county like Roscommon can keep players playing football is to make it as easy as possible for them so collecting him at college, driving him the hour and a half down. Training 8-10, Food and back up the road.Its something Dublin will never have to factor.

I struggle to see any better alternative unless the county board buy a helicopter

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 01/10/2019 11:25:58    2240568

Replying To oneoff:  "Maybe ask with another one of your profiles"
This is my one off profile oneoff

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 01/10/2019 11:30:04    2240570

Replying To sourmilk93:  "How do you expect lads to get to training? Its obviously the cheapest way and easiest way to get lads down to Roscommon given nearly 2/3 of the panel live in Dublin.

Dublin lads if any of the work outside Dublin(Doubt it) still live at home in Dublin so they wouldnt need a taxi to training and as already said they live at home so little reason to feed them.

A Roscommon player for example could be in DCU. He might be in college until 6pm. They only way a county like Roscommon can keep players playing football is to make it as easy as possible for them so collecting him at college, driving him the hour and a half down. Training 8-10, Food and back up the road.Its something Dublin will never have to factor.

I struggle to see any better alternative unless the county board buy a helicopter"
If 75% of those involved are in Dublin, then train in Dublin, makes total sense practically and likely financially, even outside of Dublin, i think of perfectly brilliant facilities (better then Dublins) in between Dublin and Roscommon that would cut down the exertion either way. One of a lot of outside the box thinking. I get there is a lot of pride of doing things inside your own county etc, but the juice has to be worth the squeeze and the impact holistically considered.

My point being counties are making choices, to facilitate players lifestyle choices, thats fine, its their own business, there is clearly a logistical and financial impact to that, if they dogmatically want to keep everything within the county borders, they know the impact, but it is a choice, no one is making them do it, nor forcing them to consider more practical mitigation choices, to logistics and more financial viable approaches.

Id be very critical of our county board if we doing this and pushing alternatives. If Galway or Belfast for example was the economic center and 75% of our team was living up there, id want our county board to be training up there and id be pushing for it. Just makes sense.

What Mayo or Roscommon choose to do is up to them, but crying poor mouth, when they want their cake and it when they are choosing to do things a certain way, when there is choice just isn't doesnt make sense. Clearly in that context accepting things like figures like 600k and 500k in transport and food fees comes with a level of personal responsibility, before looking at how other counties do it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/10/2019 13:13:57    2240612

Replying To TheUsername:  "If 75% of those involved are in Dublin, then train in Dublin, makes total sense practically and likely financially, even outside of Dublin, i think of perfectly brilliant facilities (better then Dublins) in between Dublin and Roscommon that would cut down the exertion either way. One of a lot of outside the box thinking. I get there is a lot of pride of doing things inside your own county etc, but the juice has to be worth the squeeze and the impact holistically considered.

My point being counties are making choices, to facilitate players lifestyle choices, thats fine, its their own business, there is clearly a logistical and financial impact to that, if they dogmatically want to keep everything within the county borders, they know the impact, but it is a choice, no one is making them do it, nor forcing them to consider more practical mitigation choices, to logistics and more financial viable approaches.

Id be very critical of our county board if we doing this and pushing alternatives. If Galway or Belfast for example was the economic center and 75% of our team was living up there, id want our county board to be training up there and id be pushing for it. Just makes sense.

What Mayo or Roscommon choose to do is up to them, but crying poor mouth, when they want their cake and it when they are choosing to do things a certain way, when there is choice just isn't doesnt make sense. Clearly in that context accepting things like figures like 600k and 500k in transport and food fees comes with a level of personal responsibility, before looking at how other counties do it."
Not just as easy as that. There are also costs involved with this renting pitches, Transporting the remaining members up, Transporting all the gear up. There could also be panel members based in Limerick, Galway ,Sligo Etc so Dublin wont suit them for training.
I think your last sentence is of bad taste about counties "crying poor mouth" its something Dubs will never have to face having panel members outside the county. Also counties like Roscommon dont get everything handed to them on a plate like Dublin do. Counties outside of Dublin actually have to pay some money towards their home stadiums upkeep too which Dublin dont now that the gaa basically handed over the keys of Croke Park.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 01/10/2019 14:14:05    2240644

Replying To TheUsername:  "If 75% of those involved are in Dublin, then train in Dublin, makes total sense practically and likely financially, even outside of Dublin, i think of perfectly brilliant facilities (better then Dublins) in between Dublin and Roscommon that would cut down the exertion either way. One of a lot of outside the box thinking. I get there is a lot of pride of doing things inside your own county etc, but the juice has to be worth the squeeze and the impact holistically considered.

What Mayo or Roscommon choose to do is up to them, but crying poor mouth, when they want their cake and it when they are choosing to do things a certain way, when there is choice just isn't doesnt make sense. Clearly in that context accepting things like figures like 600k and 500k in transport and food fees comes with a level of personal responsibility, before looking at how other counties do it."
So working and having a job in Dublin is a lifestyle choice now is it?

Do you really think people from the country want to be in Dublin?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2019 14:32:34    2240650

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Not just as easy as that. There are also costs involved with this renting pitches, Transporting the remaining members up, Transporting all the gear up. There could also be panel members based in Limerick, Galway ,Sligo Etc so Dublin wont suit them for training.
I think your last sentence is of bad taste about counties "crying poor mouth" its something Dubs will never have to face having panel members outside the county. Also counties like Roscommon dont get everything handed to them on a plate like Dublin do. Counties outside of Dublin actually have to pay some money towards their home stadiums upkeep too which Dublin dont now that the gaa basically handed over the keys of Croke Park."
There will be costs involved for sure, but figures of 1.1 million on transport and food need to be looked at, they are Mayo and not Roscommon figures to be sure. Its not sustainable and forgetting about Dublin, counties need to look at exactly what they are doing and is there a better way of doing it. Dublin rent there training pitches as well.

I think its an assumption, that all Dublin county members work in Dublin, i can think of three in the starting 15 the last day who have worked outside of Dublin at points. Would you be on board with Dublin getting an extra allowance to transport those players.

We want for nothing certainly, but we have good corporate governance and transparency in our financial affairs whatever you think of how we make that money. Though there are aspects id be critical of with DCB on, we can always improve. That is my point really, their is no questioning, reflection or analysis being made of the Roscommon and Mayo conuty boards and is there a better holistic way of doing things, they make the same dogmatic choices, year after year then bemoan the consequences of those decisions and say its not fair, there has to be personal culpability to decision making before anything else, the spends are ridiculous whatever context and should be audited as to the valuse vs grassroots development and other needs etc. 1.1 mill on food and transport - im sorry, a fool and their money.

One of the areas i would be critical on is our stadium spend, so you are right to criticize, we pay for the upkeep of Parnell and playing in Croke Park, so that a double load, particularly as it suits the GAA for Dublin to be Corke Park i think we have leverage for a better deal there, so i like you woul d be critical of that arrangement.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/10/2019 14:41:49    2240654

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Not just as easy as that. There are also costs involved with this renting pitches, Transporting the remaining members up, Transporting all the gear up. There could also be panel members based in Limerick, Galway ,Sligo Etc so Dublin wont suit them for training.
I think your last sentence is of bad taste about counties "crying poor mouth" its something Dubs will never have to face having panel members outside the county. Also counties like Roscommon dont get everything handed to them on a plate like Dublin do. Counties outside of Dublin actually have to pay some money towards their home stadiums upkeep too which Dublin dont now that the gaa basically handed over the keys of Croke Park."
Apologies for the poor mouth comment, wasnt intended to offend, so apologies if it did.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/10/2019 14:47:13    2240656

Lads you are getting away from the point of the money thread are dublin full time pros in comparison to the other 31 counties of course they are

traleegerry (Kerry) - Posts: 738 - 01/10/2019 15:04:02    2240661

Replying To TheUsername:  "There will be costs involved for sure, but figures of 1.1 million on transport and food need to be looked at, they are Mayo and not Roscommon figures to be sure. Its not sustainable and forgetting about Dublin, counties need to look at exactly what they are doing and is there a better way of doing it. Dublin rent there training pitches as well.

I think its an assumption, that all Dublin county members work in Dublin, i can think of three in the starting 15 the last day who have worked outside of Dublin at points. Would you be on board with Dublin getting an extra allowance to transport those players.

We want for nothing certainly, but we have good corporate governance and transparency in our financial affairs whatever you think of how we make that money. Though there are aspects id be critical of with DCB on, we can always improve. That is my point really, their is no questioning, reflection or analysis being made of the Roscommon and Mayo conuty boards and is there a better holistic way of doing things, they make the same dogmatic choices, year after year then bemoan the consequences of those decisions and say its not fair, there has to be personal culpability to decision making before anything else, the spends are ridiculous whatever context and should be audited as to the valuse vs grassroots development and other needs etc. 1.1 mill on food and transport - im sorry, a fool and their money.

One of the areas i would be critical on is our stadium spend, so you are right to criticize, we pay for the upkeep of Parnell and playing in Croke Park, so that a double load, particularly as it suits the GAA for Dublin to be Corke Park i think we have leverage for a better deal there, so i like you woul d be critical of that arrangement."
The year Mayo spent 1.1M the minors got to the Q-final, the juniors the All Ireland final, the seniors played until October due to the All Ireland final replay, and the u21s won the All Ireland. Then you have to include the other underage football teams and the underage hurlers and the senior team.

Caterers had to be paid for every single session those teams trained. You're literally paying for catering almost, if not every day of the week, for the majority of the year.

You also have to pay mileage for all the teams for the year. Even players who live in Mayo might have a 100 mile round trip to training. Hotel costs and food in hotels for all the teams. Match day buses for all teams. Mileage for doctors, physios etc.

I brought up the point that Dublin don't have to pay most of these costs. Which is a completely fair and factual point. All you've done in your replies is try and make as many accusatory statements about other counties boards and their management of money as you can. What's more is you're making these accusations without having a clue yourself about the breakdown of the costs.

You've also tried to make the point that I shouldn't be allowed to point out that Dublin are advantaged in this area until I take personal responsibility (lol) for Mayo's management of money.

On top of it all you tried to make out that it's other county boards fault they have to pay these costs, implying they should not select players who live in other counties in order to cut costs. You also called the economic necessity of moving away for employment 'a lifestyle choice', which is completely ignorant.

All of this arguing is just a deflection from the original point. Dublin don't face these difficulties and the costs associated with them. It's as simple as that.

You've literally tried everything but just saying; 'fair enough point. Dublin actually don't face those difficulties.'

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 01/10/2019 15:23:12    2240671

Replying To jonjon:  "The year Mayo spent 1.1M the minors got to the Q-final, the juniors the All Ireland final, the seniors played until October due to the All Ireland final replay, and the u21s won the All Ireland. Then you have to include the other underage football teams and the underage hurlers and the senior team.

Caterers had to be paid for every single session those teams trained. You're literally paying for catering almost, if not every day of the week, for the majority of the year.

You also have to pay mileage for all the teams for the year. Even players who live in Mayo might have a 100 mile round trip to training. Hotel costs and food in hotels for all the teams. Match day buses for all teams. Mileage for doctors, physios etc.

I brought up the point that Dublin don't have to pay most of these costs. Which is a completely fair and factual point. All you've done in your replies is try and make as many accusatory statements about other counties boards and their management of money as you can. What's more is you're making these accusations without having a clue yourself about the breakdown of the costs.

You've also tried to make the point that I shouldn't be allowed to point out that Dublin are advantaged in this area until I take personal responsibility (lol) for Mayo's management of money.

On top of it all you tried to make out that it's other county boards fault they have to pay these costs, implying they should not select players who live in other counties in order to cut costs. You also called the economic necessity of moving away for employment 'a lifestyle choice', which is completely ignorant.

All of this arguing is just a deflection from the original point. Dublin don't face these difficulties and the costs associated with them. It's as simple as that.

You've literally tried everything but just saying; 'fair enough point. Dublin actually don't face those difficulties.'"
Its no skin of my nose really if yee are content to pay it, do. Your system is your system and if you think it works, fair play, its Mayos choice after all, no one is holding a gun to your heads.

I'm pretty content with what i wrote, we clearly have a different opinion, but i can live with that.

Rinse and repeat at your own peril.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/10/2019 17:01:47    2240705

Replying To TheUsername:  "There will be costs involved for sure, but figures of 1.1 million on transport and food need to be looked at, they are Mayo and not Roscommon figures to be sure. Its not sustainable and forgetting about Dublin, counties need to look at exactly what they are doing and is there a better way of doing it. Dublin rent there training pitches as well.

One of the areas i would be critical on is our stadium spend, so you are right to criticize, we pay for the upkeep of Parnell and playing in Croke Park, so that a double load, particularly as it suits the GAA for Dublin to be Corke Park i think we have leverage for a better deal there, so i like you woul d be critical of that arrangement."
Dublin have a PR company something all the other counties don't have, is this a waste of money for the dublin county board?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2019 17:31:08    2240716

Replying To jonjon:  "The year Mayo spent 1.1M the minors got to the Q-final, the juniors the All Ireland final, the seniors played until October due to the All Ireland final replay, and the u21s won the All Ireland. Then you have to include the other underage football teams and the underage hurlers and the senior team.

You've literally tried everything but just saying; 'fair enough point. Dublin actually don't face those difficulties.'"
You're right dublin are spending more money than the rest of us yet they don't have the same out going's which begs the question where is their money going?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/10/2019 17:34:28    2240717

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Dublin have a PR company something all the other counties don't have, is this a waste of money for the dublin county board?"
5 in a row , 7 in 9 years nah its money well spent -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/10/2019 01:04:30    2240828