Is Ashbourne The New Ballaghaderreen? :)

Replying To Htaem:  "Easy come back John, I thought of that one meself, I'd say most did in fairness, but you can't deny the point I made."
I am denying the point you made!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 19/09/2019 18:45:32    2237649

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "I am denying the point you made!"
Haha ok fair enough, whatever you say chief, the floor is yours.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/09/2019 19:46:49    2237664

Replying To Htaem:  "Haha ok fair enough, whatever you say chief, the floor is yours."
Once it's not a Meath floor. But they have no problem claiming Meath players :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/09/2019 20:05:38    2237666

Ashbourne well on the way to eventually been lost to Dublin, the Credit Union is just symptomatic. Dean Rock is not the only link with Ashbourne, the Brogans have the Pillo hotel there as well. Donaghmore/Ashbourne & clubs in Dunshauglin & Ratoath will eventually become GAA wastelands for Meath, they are full of Dublin flags & kids running around wearing Dublin jerseys & the more success they have the more people identify with them.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 19/09/2019 22:25:23    2237707

Ah lads, we gave you the great Snitchy Ferguson line, Des won a couple of All Ireland for yee. The great man even went on to win a Meath club championship. Great stories of Heffo driving down to Meath to convince Snitchy to come out of retirement and sure enough played in Croke Park the following day on his way winning another All Ireland

Snitchy remains a Dublin legend.

I think Jim brought Sam down to him in Meath last year.

Deano actually lived in Glasnevein before moving to County Dublin right on the border of Meath.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 20/09/2019 04:40:59    2237733

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah lads, we gave you the great Snitchy Ferguson line, Des won a couple of All Ireland for yee. The great man even went on to win a Meath club championship. Great stories of Heffo driving down to Meath to convince Snitchy to come out of retirement and sure enough played in Croke Park the following day on his way winning another All Ireland

Snitchy remains a Dublin legend.

I think Jim brought Sam down to him in Meath last year.

Deano actually lived in Glasnevein before moving to County Dublin right on the border of Meath."
I don't know a whole lot about Snitchy, did he move out Kells to take a teaching job or something to that effect?

It was well before my time, but I think Des Ferguson managed (or trained I suppose) Meath in the 70s/80s aswell. I always thought Boylan took over from Mick O'Brien but I think Des managed in between.

I'm very much open to correction on all that though.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/09/2019 14:05:02    2237828

Replying To royaldunne:  "Once it's not a Meath floor. But they have no problem claiming Meath players :)"
Ah it's scandolous royaldunne, have they no shame :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 20/09/2019 14:07:25    2237829

Replying To moc.dna:  "Ashbourne well on the way to eventually been lost to Dublin, the Credit Union is just symptomatic. Dean Rock is not the only link with Ashbourne, the Brogans have the Pillo hotel there as well. Donaghmore/Ashbourne & clubs in Dunshauglin & Ratoath will eventually become GAA wastelands for Meath, they are full of Dublin flags & kids running around wearing Dublin jerseys & the more success they have the more people identify with them."
No doubting this is a problem for Meath as well as other neighbouring counties and makes a mockery out of the argument that Meath and Kildare should be competing with the Dubs because of the population explosion in these counties.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2133 - 20/09/2019 16:40:28    2237867

Replying To Douglas_44:  "Do we? I'm quite happy to let them stay where they are to be honest"
Am i right in saying that Ballaghaderreen are the last north Roscommon team to win a county senior.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3336 - 20/09/2019 18:36:43    2237889

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah it's scandolous royaldunne, have they no shame :-)"
Totally agree I mean man city (sorry I mean dubs) jasus can they not buy enough players. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/09/2019 19:52:29    2237906

Replying To Htaem:  "I don't know a whole lot about Snitchy, did he move out Kells to take a teaching job or something to that effect?

It was well before my time, but I think Des Ferguson managed (or trained I suppose) Meath in the 70s/80s aswell. I always thought Boylan took over from Mick O'Brien but I think Des managed in between.

I'm very much open to correction on all that though."
Thought the same. Maybe furlong could help us out. I thought it was O'Brien who was in charge when my neighbor (albeit playing for walterstown) capt meath in the loss to longford with the most biased ref ever in Mullingar. I have a story about that particular ref that he told after the game but doubt it would get through.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/09/2019 19:57:10    2237908

Replying To Htaem:  "I don't know a whole lot about Snitchy, did he move out Kells to take a teaching job or something to that effect?

I'm very much open to correction on all that though."
Back in 1959 the great Irish Times GAA journalist Paddy Downey reported that Dessie 'Snitchy' Ferguson was about to leave the capital. Even more sensational, he was leaving Dublin to take up a teaching post in Oldcastle.

In an extensive piece Downey wrote that this was a "bombshell" that hit Dublin football and hurling with all the force of an exocet missile.

The shock news left those involved with Gaelic games in the captial wondering if they had lost one of their most gifted sons to the wilds of north Meath.

What would be the fall-out for the game in Dublin?

Could it be true that one of the most talented footballers and hurlers in the country was about to swap the light blue of his native county for the green and gold of their great rivals?

It was and it wasn't - true.

While Ferguson did indeed make the change from Dublin to Oldcastle before finally settling in Kells, he continued to play for St Vincent's and Dublin for a time.

When Dublin won the 1963 All-Ireland with Ferguson on the team he was already very familiar with the highways and by-ways of the Royal County.

He did go on to finish out his playing career with Gaeil Colmcille although by then his best days as a footballer were behind him.

Downey's piece was among the many other reports that festooned the walls of the Kells GAA centre on Saturday night.

As part of Ferguson's tribute event the organisers had gone to the trouble of exhibiting various journalistic pieces about the man who won two All-Ireland SFC medals in the sky blue.

There was plenty to read for those who took time out to have a look at how he performed in the 1958 and the 1963 All-Ireland SFC finals or the 1961 SHC decider which Dublin lost to Tipperary. Or, for that matter, any of the numerous other big games he took part in.

There were the usual encounters with Meath in Leinster championship games or NFL ties.

The man who did more than most to ensure Ferguson picked up his second Celtic Cross in '63 was also in attendance on Saturday night.

Kevin Heffernan had, even by the early 1960s, done much to transform the fortunes of Dublin football. He helped introduce a new style of play based on speed and motion rather than the more traditional catch and kick.

In 1955 - under Heffernan's guidance - Dublin used their new style to win the All-Ireland, shocking the GAA world in the process.

By '63 Heffernan was a selector. While Ferguson had retired by then Heffernan felt he had more to give. Heffo travelled to Kells to ask Ferguson to return.

Legend - fuelled by a story in Tom Humphries' book 'Dublin v Kerry: The Story of the Rivalry That Changed Irish Sport' - has it that Ferguson was asked to come back. Twenty four hours later he played against Kildare in the Leinster final.

On Saturday night Heffernan was adamant that the game was against Laois and it was considerably longer than the day beforehand.

"I asked him would he come back. There was no messing about it, he said 'Okay, I'll play.' Dessie was a great ball player, he had great hands and was very quick. As a forward he had the skill and the experience to bring young players into the game," Heffernan told the Meath Chronicle on Saturday night.

While the 300 guests at the GAA Centre sat down to dinner they could watch a video clip (put together by Frank Kerr) of big games that Ferguson took part in including that 1963 final victory.

There were a number of Dublin personalities also in attendance including Jimmy Gray who encouraged Heffernan to take over the Dublin team in the early 1970s. Heffo duly transformed them from no-hopers to All-Ireland champions in 1974.

All Dessie Ferguson's sons played Gaelic games, but it was Terry who made the biggest impact winning All-Ireland SFC medals in 1987 and '88 as well as an All Star award with Meath. In another county Terry could also have made a big name for himself in hurling, the game his father preferred the most.

"The GAA was something I grew up with, he never made any particular rule that we had to play hurling or football, it was just something that we took up," recalled Terry.

"There was always hurling sticks, sliotars and footballs around the garden at home, but mostly hurling, we were a hurling family even more than football. My preferred game would have been hurling."

There was a tragic touch to the Ferguson family story when one of the family, Ronan, passed away.

"That's 40 years ago now and they say that Ronan was more talented that any of the rest of us, he was a very gifted player," added Terry.

Because of his involvement with Sean Boylan's team Terry Ferguson had to make a choice and he opted for football.

One of Dessie Ferguson's former team mates present on Saturday night was Norman Allen who was on the great Dublin teams of the 1950s.

He described Dessie Ferguson as "a great talent." There was no-one around the Kells GAA Centre on Saturday night who was disagreeing.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 20/09/2019 21:15:04    2237931

Replying To royaldunne:  "Thought the same. Maybe furlong could help us out. I thought it was O'Brien who was in charge when my neighbor (albeit playing for walterstown) capt meath in the loss to longford with the most biased ref ever in Mullingar. I have a story about that particular ref that he told after the game but doubt it would get through."
Royal dunne , here are list of Meaths managers and Trainers.

1 Fr Packie Tully 1949 - 1969 3 All Ireland winning trainer 1949 1954 1967 , 7 leinster wins 1949 1951 1952 1954 1964 1966 1967. 1 National league div 1 win 1951. County board Chairman 1949 to 1969.
Under his tenure as County board Chairman Meath also won first Minor All Ireland title 1957.

2 Peter McDermont 1966 - 1968 All Ireland winning coach 1967

3 Michael Campbell 1970 - 1971. leinster and All Ireland winning Trainer 1970

4 Mick O Brien 1975 - 1977 National league div 1 Trainer 1975 . 63 % win percentage.

5 Dessie Ferguson 1978 - 1982 knocked out of championship by Wexford in 81 and longford in 82 . 33 % win percentage.

6 Sean Boylan 1983 - 2005 4 All Ireland wins 87 88 96 99 , 8 Leinster wins 86 87 88 90 91 96 99 01, 3 National league div 1 wins 88 90 94. 64 % win percentage.

7 Eamon Barry 2006 - 2006 Knocked out of championship by laois. 60% win percentage .

8 Colm Coyle 2007 - 2008 . Knocked out of championship by Cork in 2007 and limerick in 2008. 55 % win percentage .

9 Eamon O Brien 2009 - 2010 . 2010 leinster winning Manager . 69 % win percentage .

10 Seamus McEnaney 2011 - 2012 . 50% win percentage.

11 Mick O Dowd 2013 - 2016 43 % win percentage.

12 Andy McEntee 2017 - ? 55% win percentage.

Dessie Ferguson also managed the Meath hurlers for a while.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/09/2019 21:51:41    2237941

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Royal dunne , here are list of Meaths managers and Trainers.

1 Fr Packie Tully 1949 - 1969 3 All Ireland winning trainer 1949 1954 1967 , 7 leinster wins 1949 1951 1952 1954 1964 1966 1967. 1 National league div 1 win 1951. County board Chairman 1949 to 1969.
Under his tenure as County board Chairman Meath also won first Minor All Ireland title 1957.

4 Mick O Brien 1975 - 1977 National league div 1 Trainer 1975 . 63 % win percentage.

5 Dessie Ferguson 1978 - 1982 knocked out of championship by Wexford in 81 and longford in 82 . 33 % win percentage.

6 Sean Boylan 1983 - 2005 4 All Ireland wins 87 88 96 99 , 8 Leinster wins 86 87 88 90 91 96 99 01, 3 National league div 1 wins 88 90 94. 64 % win percentage.

7 Eamon Barry 2006 - 2006 Knocked out of championship by laois. 60% win percentage .

8 Colm Coyle 2007 - 2008 . Knocked out of championship by Cork in 2007 and limerick in 2008. 55 % win percentage .

9 Eamon O Brien 2009 - 2010 . 2010 leinster winning Manager . 69 % win percentage .

Dessie Ferguson also managed the Meath hurlers for a while."
Just a correction to the above. Sorry about this I should said that Michael Campbell was leinster winning Manager in 1970 and All Ireland runner up manager in 1970 . Not winning manager. Meath lost to kerry in 1970 All Ireland senior final.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 20/09/2019 22:04:06    2237943

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Royal dunne , here are list of Meaths managers and Trainers.

Dessie Ferguson also managed the Meath hurlers for a while."
Jasus your some man furlong. Fair play. So it was Ferguson. I was only young teen in 82, but there was fierce excitement around my parish as a certain jj McCormack was Meath capt, and hailed from the parish although he was playing for the waltersown club, people go on about Louth in 10, and other robberies, none has ever came close to the sham that was that day. Don't know if you were at it. But it was bloody disgraceful.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/09/2019 13:14:19    2238052

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jasus your some man furlong. Fair play. So it was Ferguson. I was only young teen in 82, but there was fierce excitement around my parish as a certain jj McCormack was Meath capt, and hailed from the parish although he was playing for the waltersown club, people go on about Louth in 10, and other robberies, none has ever came close to the sham that was that day. Don't know if you were at it. But it was bloody disgraceful."
Thanks for the comments Royaldunne. No it I wasnt at it , it was before , but I did hear about it. But if those losess didnt happen in 81 and 82 , Sean might not have been offered the Meath job and Meath football, leinster football and football in general in the country could have been so different and not in a good way . But yes that was a legendary game and not in a good way for us in Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/09/2019 17:01:43    2238087

Replying To royaldunne:  "Jasus your some man furlong. Fair play. So it was Ferguson. I was only young teen in 82, but there was fierce excitement around my parish as a certain jj McCormack was Meath capt, and hailed from the parish although he was playing for the waltersown club, people go on about Louth in 10, and other robberies, none has ever came close to the sham that was that day. Don't know if you were at it. But it was bloody disgraceful."
Thanks for the comments Royaldunne. No it I wasnt at it , it was before my time , but I did hear about it. But if those losess didnt happen in 81 and 82 , Sean might not have been offered the Meath job and Meath football, leinster football and football in general in the country could have been so different and not in a good way . But yes that was a legendary game and not in a good way for us in Meath.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 21/09/2019 17:02:06    2238088