The Dublin Trinity

Replying To legendzxix:  "It will not be watered down. It's an evolution that has taken place. It's not a cheery future. Strong possibility of all Dublin finals. At least it'll be a fair contest. I've outlined a provincial solution to respect Dublin's heritage."
What's your proposal in Munster for the inequality between the various counties there? Cork has a very large population, is well funded, has more clubs than any other county yet there is tumble weed blowing through the trophy cabinet. What's your solution for Carlow, Leitrim, Longford, Fermanagh in their respective provinces.l? Whatever the plan it would need to address the inequalities nationally. It would effectively see the end of the old provincial competitions, a merging of some counties required perhaps. The political fallout would be enormous. The CBs are run like councils anyway with local politicians heavily involved in their CBs. Plenty of noses would be put out of joint, lots of acrimony over loss of heritage, tradition, county pride and honours. It would be a massive undertaking. To attempt to implement across codes would be even more challenging as hurling has long dispelled the myth that population + money = champs.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/09/2019 20:34:09    2237327

Replying To legendzxix:  "Congratulations to Dublin on what is a good achievement for them.

Limerick, Cork and Galway have had city and county councils. Dublin has 3 county councils and the capital city council. Dialogue needs to move in the direction of the 3 county sections of Dublin sharing a section of the city each. It will not happen overnight. It will probably have to happen after a three year period of three teams entering underage and possibly in the national league as well.

Sensible discussion is welcome. If people think this is a crackpot suggestion, please respectfully move on.

The suggestion:
North Dublin = Fingal County and a section of the city.
South Dublin = South Dublin County and a section of the city.
East Dublin or Mid Dublin = Dun Laoighaire-Rathdown and a section of the city.

May the capital winter well."
Now you're talking legend.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/09/2019 20:41:06    2237330

Replying To legendzxix:  "It will not be watered down. It's an evolution that has taken place. It's not a cheery future. Strong possibility of all Dublin finals. At least it'll be a fair contest. I've outlined a provincial solution to respect Dublin's heritage."
It mightn't be watered down for you but it would be for plenty.
It might be respectful for you but it wouldn't be for plenty.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 18/09/2019 20:42:22    2237332

Replying To Joxer:  "Agree but same in every county surely. Players on the fringe in Donegal playing in Sligo, players on the fringe of Kerry playing for Waterford or whatever. If a split did occur then the whole provincial and IC structure would unravel as somebody else has said. The current structure, by it's nature (geographical) has always been lop sided. To truly make it equitable would require that all geographical boundaries are broken across all counties."
A solution along with the establishment of the Dublin Trinity is for Longford and Westmeath to enter the Connaught Championship. Offaly and Laois can enter the Munster Championship. You'll have two provincial championships of 8 and two provincial championships of 9.

The GAA can have a Final 16 in 4 groups of 4. Solutions are there as part of a constructive discussion.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 18/09/2019 20:49:15    2237334

Replying To Donegalman:  "If players on the ground in Dublin are I tee county standard and don't make the Dublin squad, I can see a scenario where is they will nominate to play for other counties or play other sports"
Donegalman I read today that young Oisin Gallen is flying out to Oz that's a massive blow ye if he decides to stay,

With Dublins domination a lot more of the best young talent from the rest of the country are going to fly off to Oz and who can blame them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2019 20:51:50    2237336

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Donegalman I read today that young Oisin Gallen is flying out to Oz that's a massive blow ye if he decides to stay,

With Dublins domination a lot more of the best young talent from the rest of the country are going to fly off to Oz and who can blame them."
Wonder will any young lads from Kerry go also..?

O'Shea and Clifford will be big losses for ye...!!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 18/09/2019 21:31:41    2237351

Population is a massive advantage . Its really time to split New York in 10 teams

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 18/09/2019 22:00:49    2237358

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Donegalman I read today that young Oisin Gallen is flying out to Oz that's a massive blow ye if he decides to stay,

With Dublins domination a lot more of the best young talent from the rest of the country are going to fly off to Oz and who can blame them."
It wouldn't be because of the Dublin dominance, it would be opertunity on its own merit that the afl presents. We have 'lost' others to soccer as a result of better prospects. Can't blame them really it's human nature and freedom to choose. Good luck to him if he makes it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 18/09/2019 22:27:14    2237369

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "If you split Dublin, in a few years it would just be the equivalent of Rangers returning to being competitive with Celtic.

But the current Rangers are only 7 years old and have never been competitive with Celtic since they were formed so therefore cannot return to being competitive."
that's correct. the rangers we once knew went into liquidation and ceased trading. this new crowd called rangers is just the same as a business going bankrupt on Friday and starting up under another name on Monday!!

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 18/09/2019 22:27:47    2237370

Dublin seem to be able to fend off Australian interest? Is that down to resources? Are they shrewd in the development of young talent? Can Dublin afford to allow player get to 21 or so before developing them further. We've seen examples of players gaining strength over the winter months. Have they done so past the time of Australian interest?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 18/09/2019 22:40:20    2237376

Replying To legendzxix:  "A solution along with the establishment of the Dublin Trinity is for Longford and Westmeath to enter the Connaught Championship. Offaly and Laois can enter the Munster Championship. You'll have two provincial championships of 8 and two provincial championships of 9.

The GAA can have a Final 16 in 4 groups of 4. Solutions are there as part of a constructive discussion."
I can't for the life of me understand why Longford or Westmeath don't want to join connaught. Or why louth don't want to join ulster. Even my own meath would be better off.

Obviously rotating Dublin to a different province annually solves every issue but they'll sooner disband the competition.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 18/09/2019 23:56:34    2237398

Replying To jonjon:  "No. Splitting Dublin is clearly what the OP suggests. It is what this thread is about.

How could you enter this thread, read the original post, and then think the OP was suggesting to take funding away?

And your post had 3 upvotes, is everyone on this site blind?"
The person who started this thread stated in original post if anyone thinks this is a crackpot solution to respectfully move along. But what if it is just that a crackpot solution? How will you all advocating it know? Talk about a debate!! You really think someone in the GAA is actually even looking at this crackpot solution? I can tell most of them in HQ over morning coffee have a good laugh. As for funding, this annual nonsense swings between funding, population etc. It only applies to Gaelic football because those advocating this rubbish only see football. They don't see the GAA because their miserable counties are part time members of the GAA, they have tokenism towards hurling, towards the ladies GAA sports. They present themselves as trail blazing revolutionaries and they just come across as backward begrugders hurling cow dung from the ditch. Ye haven't a clue

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 19/09/2019 00:27:13    2237406

Replying To arock:  "The person who started this thread stated in original post if anyone thinks this is a crackpot solution to respectfully move along. But what if it is just that a crackpot solution? How will you all advocating it know? Talk about a debate!! You really think someone in the GAA is actually even looking at this crackpot solution? I can tell most of them in HQ over morning coffee have a good laugh. As for funding, this annual nonsense swings between funding, population etc. It only applies to Gaelic football because those advocating this rubbish only see football. They don't see the GAA because their miserable counties are part time members of the GAA, they have tokenism towards hurling, towards the ladies GAA sports. They present themselves as trail blazing revolutionaries and they just come across as backward begrugders hurling cow dung from the ditch. Ye haven't a clue"
This thread was set up about splitting Dublin.

You replied saying that taking funding from Dublin is a bad idea.

I replied to you pointing out that your reply is pointless because this thread is not about taking funding from Dublin.

You replied now with some waffle. What's going through your head when you're writing posts? You can't seem to stay on topic at all.

jonjon (Mayo) - Posts: 99 - 19/09/2019 10:36:28    2237483

County populations of Leinster excluding Dublin City:
1. Fingal - 296,020
2. South Dublin - 278,767
3. Kildare - 222,504
4. Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown - 218,018
5. Meath - 195,044
6. Wexford - 149,722

The 3 counties of Dublin designated a section of Dublin City each will see all have nearly double the population of Kildare.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 20/09/2019 18:45:15    2237891

Would you also split Cork to address their population advantage? Into how many parts?

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 20/09/2019 19:24:34    2237903

Dublin applied for funding of provincial status. That should bring provincial responsibilities. 3 counties in Dublin is a sustainable solution for the longterm future of the game.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 20/09/2019 20:15:17    2237913

Replying To legendzxix:  "Dublin applied for funding of provincial status. That should bring provincial responsibilities. 3 counties in Dublin is a sustainable solution for the longterm future of the game."
Whats your solution for Tipp , Clare , Limerick and Waterford ? Kerrys total domination of Munster 81 titles and 37 All Irelands has got to be sorted once and for all .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 20/09/2019 20:38:05    2237920

Replying To legendzxix:  "Dublin applied for funding of provincial status. That should bring provincial responsibilities. 3 counties in Dublin is a sustainable solution for the longterm future of the game."
Did you copy and paste that from your post of 12 months ago, 12 weeks ago or 12 days ago? They're all the same so it's difficult to tell. How are those 81 Munster trophies doing anyway? You must use more silver polish than Buckingham Palace keeping those yokes sparkling. At least you have the swanky multi million euro Kerry Group funded centre of excellence to store them in. We've just got an aul shed in the Neller.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 20/09/2019 20:49:42    2237923

Replying To jonjon:  "This thread was set up about splitting Dublin.

You replied saying that taking funding from Dublin is a bad idea.

I replied to you pointing out that your reply is pointless because this thread is not about taking funding from Dublin.

You replied now with some waffle. What's going through your head when you're writing posts? You can't seem to stay on topic at all."
I'll worry when these threads aren't started to be honest.

They are as predictable around this time of year as the evenings drawing in, there is a kind of reassuring glow to them with Dublin Sam in the back pocket again, I'll miss them when we don't win and they are not around any more.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 20/09/2019 21:04:05    2237927

Replying To TheUsername:  "I'll worry when these threads aren't started to be honest.

They are as predictable around this time of year as the evenings drawing in, there is a kind of reassuring glow to them with Dublin Sam in the back pocket again, I'll miss them when we don't win and they are not around any more."
The argument was valid in 2001 and still is today.

Kerry have seen two young prospects depart for Australia. Dublin are able to fend off the lure of Australian dollars. Tommy Walsh left after our '09 win.

Congratulations on a good achievement for Dublin and winter well.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7823 - 20/09/2019 21:54:43    2237942