When Will Dublin Knock Kerry Off Their Perch?

Replying To cavanman47:  "Are you actually serious??

Pot. Kettle. Black!

There's a man still on the Dublin panel who benefitted from a management cover-up! (I should clarify, not the current management. Or the one before that)"
or the one before the one before that?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 19:42:29    2236790

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh at least we purchased ours. You just stole a Leinster title off poor wee Louth.
The services of plenty of Meath men were 'purchased ' can I tell you. A former Meatn great had a house builtt for him in order to inveigle him back to the IC team. Now there's purchasing power."
Don't forget a certain time player was flown by helicopter to a game in their hay day.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 17/09/2019 19:54:09    2236795

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So jack Barry marked Fenton out of it again for the 5th or 6th time in a row, so it's not all bad.

I see Kevin McStay hasn't a good article in the indo even he's starting to question how viable dublin financial doping thing is , and he loves the dubs.

Also Dublin losing one of their 2 home super 8s games, pity that couldn't have been done straight away but I suppose they couldn't upset ye while ye were going for the 5."
To all the older posters on here - have Kerry folk always whinged so much or is it just now because the Dubs are winning again. ???

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 17/09/2019 19:57:49    2236796

Replying To avonali:  "or the one before the one before that?"
It was that one. He was in a position of serious influence, remember. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 17/09/2019 20:04:18    2236797

Replying To Fionn:  "To all the older posters on here - have Kerry folk always whinged so much or is it just now because the Dubs are winning again. ???"
No. I don't believe even MooMoo was as bad as some of the current crop although I suspect he moves amongst us still! However, Dublin weren't winning much back then so they were happy being top dogs and the team to beat so all was rosy in the garden.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/09/2019 20:20:21    2236805

Replying To catch22:  "And all ye have are past glories to rattle on about.
You're only a laugh like.
Going up against the Dubs and the " oh we're confident" and all that aul rubbish. Making an eejit of yourself.
14 men and ye couldn't beat them the first day and bottled it at the end. Couldn't do it the second day either and Lane holding yeer hand. God almighty will ya ever cop on boyo. Bottled it in 82 as well. People talking about Mayo bottling it should look at ye lads. The biggest bottlers of the lot."
Ah here! Nonsense. Tyrone had Kerry on the ropes in 86 and they dug deep to win it. Fight back led by P Spillane. Great never say die attitude.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 17/09/2019 20:58:40    2236834

Replying To Fionn:  "Don't forget a certain time player was flown by helicopter to a game in their hay day."
Was that the bowld GG?

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 21:00:27    2236837

Replying To avonali:  "Kingdomboy, you're losing your sh*t. A bit of decorum my good man."
I was just addressing a WUM, Its my own fault I know I shouldn't engage him/her.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/09/2019 21:07:16    2236843

Playing 2 games in Croke Park in Super 8 was a big advantage the last couple of seasons, I wonder does it take the sheen off the 5 in a row? sort of deligitimises it a bit. The GAA have taken this away for next season to redress the balance, so there must be something to it. I dunno.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 17/09/2019 21:19:48    2236849

Replying To Fionn:  "To all the older posters on here - have Kerry folk always whinged so much or is it just now because the Dubs are winning again. ???"
Nah sure when Tyrone, Donegal and Armagh were winning AI's it was puke football and not done the 'right way' etc. Taking a beating graciously seems to be a task for many from the kingdom unfortunately.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 17/09/2019 21:36:15    2236860

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was just addressing a WUM, Its my own fault I know I shouldn't engage him/her."
It's only natural for feelings to be running high Kingdomboy. I know it's cold comfort now but you know well that Kerry are a young coming team and I hope you get to see the likes of Clifford and young O'Se walk up those steps to collect Sam. I don't know exactly when it will happen but it surely will. They are incredible talents of whom you guys should be extremely proud. We all engage in a bit of Wummery in here but I guess we underestimate the hurt a loss can inflict. I guess we are lucky that our respective IC teams have enjoyed varying degrees of success. It must be hard for other counties and their fans who will never know the thrill and pageantry of an All-Ireland day.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2019 21:43:30    2236862

Replying To essmac:  "Ah here! Nonsense. Tyrone had Kerry on the ropes in 86 and they dug deep to win it. Fight back led by P Spillane. Great never say die attitude."
Yah, was it a Cork ref that day too. Did ye get any free at all or was it just that they were great in the tackle back then also.
That aul puke football annoyed them a lot in fairness. I think that was the excuse back then anyway.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 17/09/2019 22:12:26    2236874

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "I think it may happen, but it won't be a while"
Watch you own Rebels Cian O Neill is a major acquisition I was very impressed by your U 20s both gameas against Kerry ,you demolished them in Munster final, Jack took to the hills or should I say plains after that chastening experience . What Kerry would not give for your centre back ! Great talent strength and speed Full forward was player of championship, how they gave it to Archer of Dublin is beyond me. I'd say Cork will emerge sooner rather than later Kerry need a challenge in Munster if present format is persevered with .

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 17/09/2019 23:33:17    2236915

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya yer way is the money way , and that's definitely not Kerry's way or any of the other counties outside the pales way."
Ya yer really hurting kid -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/09/2019 00:24:03    2236933

Replying To avonali:  "Kingdomboy, you're losing your sh*t. A bit of decorum my good man."
It's the hope that kills you! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/09/2019 07:14:48    2236948

Replying To avonali:  "It's only natural for feelings to be running high Kingdomboy. I know it's cold comfort now but you know well that Kerry are a young coming team and I hope you get to see the likes of Clifford and young O'Se walk up those steps to collect Sam. I don't know exactly when it will happen but it surely will. They are incredible talents of whom you guys should be extremely proud. We all engage in a bit of Wummery in here but I guess we underestimate the hurt a loss can inflict. I guess we are lucky that our respective IC teams have enjoyed varying degrees of success. It must be hard for other counties and their fans who will never know the thrill and pageantry of an All-Ireland day."
I don't know will our lads ever get to climb the steps Avonali as nothing is gaurenteed in sport even for us to get back to the final again will be tough, I reckon Donegal are a bit ahead of us to be honest but they had an awful run of injuries this year,

I think if Tyrone change their management they'd be as good as us if not better.

Mayo will need to replace a few fantastic players so might be a year or 2 away.

Cork Roscommon Meath Monaghan will be trickier to get over if we should meet, but the big one is trying to get to a final unscathed to have a pop at yer selves and that looks like a mountain too high for us at this stage,

Although I still think if ye have a few retirements and Jim Gavin walks away it'll open up in to a decent championship.

The strange thing this year is I'm not as disappointed as ai thought I'd be, I really thought if we got out of the super 8s this year I'd have been happy so to get to the final and draw it was a massive bonus and great experience for the young Kerry lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/09/2019 10:33:59    2236991

Replying To superbluedub:  "Ya yer really hurting kid -:)"
Talk of Dublin's success being attributed to money alone is what an American would term Baloney I'm 100% Kerry in my outlook and hoped since 2011 that Kerry would lower the colours on the 'hill' fact Of the matter Dublin are /were that shade better in all the encounters The we could/should have won will never mask the reality we did not win Dublin win because they are a fantastic bunch of sportsmen just as other great teams from other counties were , Down and Galway in the 60s ,Tyrone in the '00s Galway were in a position to match Dublin Kerry and Wexford just missing out in 63 and 67 One Fact is no matter who are on top Kerry are a constant, there or thereabouts I feel sorry for those who cannot accept the other side of competition some you lose and being gracious in defeat is the mark of a true sports person I have no difficulty in accepting Dubli as one of the best teams I have seen I find arguments as to who is MOTM POTY GOAT (funny terms) to be spurious as it is all a matter of conjecture your opinion is as valid as mine . Dublin you are great the best around at the minute . Enjoy it Kerry will be back and when the do I hope you attribute it to ability and not to the sponsorship of Kerry Group and other moguls that are making inroads int our sport Sour grapes leave a bad taste !

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 18/09/2019 10:49:08    2236994

Replying To catch22:  "Ya , you're man is fair sick alright. You can sense it.
It'll only get worse as the weeks go by sure.
I wonder what the fair and decent Kerry folk would make of these lads and all their aul waffle. Embarrassing himself like that all the time."
Lol you seem jealous. How proud and great does it feel to be from the best football county there ever was. Btw we've lost more all Ireland's than any other county has got to put together. Football royalty. We still won an all ireland in our last 5 years of transistion. Jealous gets you no where boy. The kingdom are coming. Again.

Kerrymanlegend (Kerry) - Posts: 31 - 18/09/2019 15:02:44    2237165

Replying To keithlemon:  "Dublin will always be there or thereabouts in the title frame for the next 10 years at least, but I do think their dominance is coming to an end, which will slow their catchup somewhat. Cluxton, O'Sullivan, McCauley, McMahon, Andrews, McMennamon, Brogan and Connolly will either finish up now or in the next year or so. Although Dublin still have a strong panel, players of that caliber are not there automatically for all that people talk about Dublins bench. When games are going against them and they're not able to bring in the same caliber, the difference will be there for all to see. The loss of Cluxton alone will be huge.
This is a relatively young Kerry team with players coming through. But most importantly, with Clifford and O'Shea in the forwards, they have enough to beat most teams in terms of firepower. Its imperative that they keep Keane at the helm now, he has the faith of the locker room. Its inevitable that they're going to win one soon enough"
I agree all things come to an end has to and Dublins run will end.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 19/09/2019 00:39:27    2237411

Replying To Kerrymanlegend:  "Lol you seem jealous. How proud and great does it feel to be from the best football county there ever was. Btw we've lost more all Ireland's than any other county has got to put together. Football royalty. We still won an all ireland in our last 5 years of transistion. Jealous gets you no where boy. The kingdom are coming. Again."
True, Kerry have lost more finals than anyone else. Nothing to be jealous of really.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/09/2019 07:33:58    2237429