All Ireland Final - Who You Shouting For?

Galway in the minors and Dublin in the seniors. To win the 4 there were times they may have ridden their luck against my own county (maybe even ridden my own county some would say!), but it's a remarkable run of wins and the quality and consistency of their performances is unmatched in my experience, which goes back to the great Kerry team of the 70s/80s. The argument about consistency of selection can be countered by the number of games that need to be played now and having a good first 15 will only see you winning the first 50 minutes of most games, but not 70 (Mayo supporters ought to know!).

To counter that, I'd have to say I like the Kerry posters in here... very friendly, knowledgeable and fair, but I also have a thing about sides like Cork (football), Galway (football) and Kerry, who don't get the support of their own in Croker... it just makes me feel why should I support them if their own won't take the trouble (I still do support Galway in spite of that, mind!). I do appreciate that the Dubs have it easier than the rest of us, but they also bring good support with them on the occasions when they have to hit the road.... they don't just wait for THE FINAL!

So I'll be satisfied if history is made on Sunday, though I expect the Kerry lads to stick with the Dubs and make a very good game of it, and if there's any side motivated to derail the drive, well they're definitely going to be on the pitch come Sunday. Really looking forward to it....

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 29/08/2019 17:28:44    2230492

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'm gonna write House of Pain 2. Jump around!"
Hard to beat the Sawdoctors', The Green and Red of Mayo. They composed another song that you'd appreciate, 'To win just once'.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/08/2019 17:57:21    2230495

Replying To baire:  "Hard to beat the Sawdoctors', The Green and Red of Mayo. They composed another song that you'd appreciate, 'To win just once'."
Yeah I know it. I used to go and see them more than 30 years ago. You need to get better bait there son.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 29/08/2019 18:07:38    2230499

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Yeah I know it. I used to go and see them more than 30 years ago. You need to get better bait there son."
I wasn't fishing! We got enough 'bait' in Limerick this year!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/08/2019 20:04:54    2230519

Replying To TheHermit:  "Good God but that is some piece of writing!!!!! To think a supporter of a team that choke-holds players, and systematically drags down all their opponents on kick-outs is preaching against the dark arts of Kerry. A fishhook from 10 years ago and not a word of Philly or Johnny Cooper :D

Anyway, look this place is La La land. Never in all my years going to GAA games have I meet any hatred of Kerry except from the odd Mayo fan.
But this forum seems to be overrun with Kerry bashers and its due to a number of factors IMO:

Probably more Dubs on here than any other county and they hate being reminded by us of the unfair ways so much of their success has been achieved by. Someone called it 'bitter tripe', my friend all we are doing is telling you the truth that is out there in black and white if you choose to open your eyes to it. Money plus Home advantages = greater chance of winning, its not rocket science!!

You've got Dub posters masquerading as being from other counties for whatever joy or entertainment that gives them.

You've got your typical a$re kissers and people who just like to attract themselves to success who'll laud whoever is winning and at the minute its Dublin.

You've got the substantial we hate Kerry brigade on here embittered by years of defeat at the hands of Kerry teams.

Finally you've got the whole Stockholm syndrome - it's very easy for many people, particularly those in the rest of Leinster, to convince themselves Dublin are the greatest sports team of all time to cover up their own counties failures. It's a comforting thought to go 'sure look even if we were doing everything we could, this side is so brilliant it wouldn't make any difference' etc etc.

So threads like this come as no surprise.

For the good of the GAA and everything it was meant to stand for, Kerry need to win on Sunday. But my fear is, even if we do, the GAA will simply point to the result, say they'res no problem here and continue to pile money and advantages at Dublin's door."
You have completely missed my point Hermit. There once was a perception that Kerry team did not need to engage in
the dark arts - they won on sheer footballing ability. But I think there was a realisation in the last decade that along with a new emphasis on strength and conditioning and dogged/rigorous defensive systems that Kerry needed to toughen up if they were to stand u[ to the likes of Tyrone. A new, more abrasive quality characterised Kerry play. They had top get 'down and dirty' along with the rest of us if they were to compete. The 'aristocratic' tag became a bit of an anachronism.
I NEVER for one second intimated that Dublin were holier the thou. Far from it. They can be very cynical and clinical indeed.
Hope all Kerry fans have a safe trip up this weekend.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 29/08/2019 21:43:37    2230535

Dublin, not a hope i'll ever support that lot unless it's to Cork's advantage.

#HonTheDubs

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 29/08/2019 23:13:28    2230558

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Pike, I can assure you, next to no one I know in Newcastle West, Abbeyfeale, Glin, Templegaltine, Athea etc is wishing ye well!!
That's not to say that no one wants ye to win, but no one I have met does, that's for sure! Especially GAA people.
Ever since "flag gate" with Garvey's Centra in NCW 10 or so years back, West limerick is no friend of Kerry, I can promise you that!"
Thanks for your interest. I grew up looking at as much of Limerick out the front door as I did of Kerry. There's more between us than a kick of a ball. Like next door neighbours everywhere, we often irritate the hell out of each other BUT I can honestly say I got almost as much of a kick out of their winning Liam last year as I will out of our borrowing Sam from the blue machine this year.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 29/08/2019 23:15:37    2230559

A little bit of me wants Dublin to win by a huge score in many ways to save the game.

If Dublin lose then it will be the usual see we didnt do 5 in a row! all the funding in the world makes no difference, nothing to see here we really arent completely dominating the game, Dublin John or sorry mr when i say us i mean Dublin, sorry no our GAA President will continue to tell us nothing to see here on you go now.

Maybe just maybe the powers that be will sit up and take notice if the Dubs win by a huge margin against the only team really capable of putting it up to them, the team thats been talked about as the one capable of breaking the Dublin stranglehold, imagine that team being dismantled, might it actually shake GAA HQ in to seeing something aint right here.

Or then again probably nothing will happen no matter what the result. I do like this Dublin team, i like how they play the game, how they carry themselves, i love watching the ability of their players i just cant stand what the power that be at GAA HQ are doing to our organisation.

Im not really shouting for anyone in all honesty, doing a club fundraiser for the kids this sunday to raise money for a daytrip for one our underage teams, much more important to me than the way the GAA at the highest level is now, will turn it on when i get home, if theres an actual game where theres a chance of either team winning ill watch.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 30/08/2019 08:31:30    2230588

Replying To avonali:  "You have completely missed my point Hermit. There once was a perception that Kerry team did not need to engage in
the dark arts - they won on sheer footballing ability. But I think there was a realisation in the last decade that along with a new emphasis on strength and conditioning and dogged/rigorous defensive systems that Kerry needed to toughen up if they were to stand u[ to the likes of Tyrone. A new, more abrasive quality characterised Kerry play. They had top get 'down and dirty' along with the rest of us if they were to compete. The 'aristocratic' tag became a bit of an anachronism.
I NEVER for one second intimated that Dublin were holier the thou. Far from it. They can be very cynical and clinical indeed.
Hope all Kerry fans have a safe trip up this weekend."
I understood the point you were making, I'm more addressing the fact that this place seems top go bananas whenever there is a hint of of a controversial incident with a game involving Kerry.
Look Kerry have always had enforcers, particularly the North Kerry contingent on the great teams that could stand up for themselves. But Tyrone in the last decade took cynicism to a whole new level and yeah Kerry had to learn some lessons the hard way, when forced to Kerry do tread that fine line between the meaning and spirit of the rules.

But Kerry teams go out to play football first and foremost and why wouldn't we? That's where our strength lies in our skill set, in our foot passing and kicking ability.

But if teams don't allow us to express ourselves than yes Kerry teams have to adapt to that on the day.
A classic example was the 2014 final, people around here love to throw it out as some illustration that we are some defense, cynical team. We had top go horses for courses because of how Donegal set up. If we tried to play our natural game we would probably have lost. People seem to forget the pretty epic footballing performances we put in against Cork and Mayo that year, all they see is a dull final and blame Kerry for doing what they had to to win!

Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin - all of them in the past ten years have all shown various examples of great cynicism, of the co-ordinated pulling down of opponents on kickouts, of cynically blocking the runs of opponents off the ball, of wrestling opponents onto the ground, choke-holding, diving, feigning injury etc etc.
Yet it seems only when there is such an incident involving Kerry that this stuff leads to this faux moral outrage. What about yer own teams lads?!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/08/2019 10:02:34    2230609

I do find people holding up 2014 as some proof that Kerry are the dirtiest of the lot a bit weird. We were naive that day and let them beat us at our own game. O'Mahony on Murphy was annoying of course but no worse than what Murphy endured against McMahon for years. It's frustrating but are we surprised.

It's one we left behind us which I think hurts Donegal people more than any supposed dirty play from Kerry.

Anyway, half of the nonsense in here is just confirmation bias where posters are looking for any excuse to say this or that. Same culprits for the most part as well.

As I said I'll be shouting for Kerry because I've always had a soft spot for them. But I won't be too cut up if Dublin do it, they've been incredible champions.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/08/2019 10:43:34    2230624

Replying To TheHermit:  "I understood the point you were making, I'm more addressing the fact that this place seems top go bananas whenever there is a hint of of a controversial incident with a game involving Kerry.
Look Kerry have always had enforcers, particularly the North Kerry contingent on the great teams that could stand up for themselves. But Tyrone in the last decade took cynicism to a whole new level and yeah Kerry had to learn some lessons the hard way, when forced to Kerry do tread that fine line between the meaning and spirit of the rules.

But Kerry teams go out to play football first and foremost and why wouldn't we? That's where our strength lies in our skill set, in our foot passing and kicking ability.

But if teams don't allow us to express ourselves than yes Kerry teams have to adapt to that on the day.
A classic example was the 2014 final, people around here love to throw it out as some illustration that we are some defense, cynical team. We had top go horses for courses because of how Donegal set up. If we tried to play our natural game we would probably have lost. People seem to forget the pretty epic footballing performances we put in against Cork and Mayo that year, all they see is a dull final and blame Kerry for doing what they had to to win!

Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin - all of them in the past ten years have all shown various examples of great cynicism, of the co-ordinated pulling down of opponents on kickouts, of cynically blocking the runs of opponents off the ball, of wrestling opponents onto the ground, choke-holding, diving, feigning injury etc etc.
Yet it seems only when there is such an incident involving Kerry that this stuff leads to this faux moral outrage. What about yer own teams lads?!!"
Look at the free count in that 2014 Final and you will see where the cynicism lies.Donegal were naieve in not being prepared for what Kerry would throw at them.Fair play to Kerry on the day ,they had a smarter game plan.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 30/08/2019 11:15:47    2230637

Replying To gunman:  "Look at the free count in that 2014 Final and you will see where the cynicism lies.Donegal were naieve in not being prepared for what Kerry would throw at them.Fair play to Kerry on the day ,they had a smarter game plan."
I find this very strange. The 2014 final was the least dirty final I remember. Boring for sure. But Bar a tackle on Leo McCloone in the first 5 minutes that went uncarded, u couldn't say it was dirty.

I kind of would like to see Kerry win v Dublin. I am more hoping for a good close game for a change. If dublin hammer Kerry it will be disappointing. If either team win by a narrow margin and the ref is not mentioned after the game or on here, I will be happy enough.

The field have a lot of work to do to reach the standard of either dublin or kerry so the 2 best teams in the country are in action this weekend.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 30/08/2019 12:43:24    2230668

Kerry...for the sake of rural ireland

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 30/08/2019 12:54:10    2230669

Have to say I enjoyed that one!

Sometimes it doesn't have to be beautiful slowing sport to be enthralling. Like, I think the 1983 final was one of the best I've seen ......

I find this very strange. The 2014 final was the least dirty final I remember. Boring for sure. But Bar a tackle on Leo McCloone in the first 5 minutes that went uncarded, u couldn't say it was dirty.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/08/2019 12:54:12    2230670

I won't be shouting for either team but will just be hoping for a good, competitive and high scoring match. The worst thing that could happen is for Dublin to produce a blitzkrieg opening 10 or 15 minutes to put the game to bed. Then spend the remainder of the match just holding Kerry at arm's length and picking off scores at their leisure. That conceivably could happen, but I think Kerry will do their utmost to ensure they're still in with a shout after 50-60 minutes.

Who knows, if they're still there or thereabouts coming to the home strait then maybe, just maybe the weight of the hand of destiny might spook the Dubs. But it's hard to see.

For me, I can see Kerry giving Dublin a right good rattle but will end up losing by about 5-7 points. Dublin just have that ability to mercilessly tack on scores near the end of matches.

They will have fully deserved the 5 in a row.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 30/08/2019 12:57:33    2230671

also i can honestly say too if Dublin were in the Hurling Final playing Kilkenny with the most all irelands id probably shout for kilkenny too...

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 30/08/2019 13:53:21    2230685

Replying To preddan:  "also i can honestly say too if Dublin were in the Hurling Final playing Kilkenny with the most all irelands id probably shout for kilkenny too..."
Fair play to ya!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/08/2019 14:02:28    2230692

Replying To pidge:  "As a cork man and suffering at the hands of kerry on numerous occasions and listening to the select few of their supporters before during and after those games i can never bring myself to even consider shouting for them..i had this debate on the way up to limerick to the hurling under 20 final with a couple lads and we came to the conclucion that every cork person should be shouting for dublin on sunday and if not...they have not been to enough cork v kerry football games down through the years...dublin can win the next 10 all irelands and id still be shouting for them if they were going for 15 in a row should they be playing kerry in the final...nothing against our lovely neighbours tho..COYBIB"
That's one of the reasons I am shouting for Dublin, their fans are very hard to take. I remember a game in Thurles where in a sequence of play two hits were put in on Tipp players that looked like blatant fouls were let go by the referee, Kerry turned over possession, after that one of our boys put in a hit that was nowhere near as bad. The screams that came from the Kerry fans for a free would have woken the dead. It was pure tunnel vision to conveniently ignore what had gone before and feel aggrieved by any infringement on their player.

The worst was 2011 All Ireland final, I was 50/50 for who I would cheer for in the senior game but after the minor game I never I was going to be cheering for Dublin. After Tipp pickpocketed Dublin in the minor not one Kerry fan offer congratulations and they didn't even get behind Tipp during the game. The Kerry fans around me didn't even seem all that bothered by the minor match, too busy reading the match programme. All the Dublin fans around me congratulated me including a guy in front of me who must have been sick of listening to my hysteria after our third goal right through to the final whistle.

I always find Dublin fans to be good craic before, during, and after games. Before I go, speaking of Cork, I find their fans to be extremely sporting too and good fun to hang out with. Tipp and Cork hate losing to each other but that is parked to one side as soon as the final whistle goes. There must be something in the air or water of successful counties beginning with K.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/08/2019 14:12:09    2230695

The odds of 5/1 on a Kerry win are a bit extreme... it's just one game and it's between the champions and the No 1 contender. Kerry also have the benefit of Donie Buckley, who was there for Mayo in 2016 and 17, and who knows what it takes to make life relatively difficult for the Dublin attack. The Kerry of a decade ago would have a definite strategy for dealing with Fenton at midfield (the old Nicholas Murphy plan), so the question is will this Kerry midfield be cynical and physically capable enough to curtail the influence of Fenton? Will Dublin risk MDMcA from the start given that his tackling technique involves a fair amount of short arm and elbow (going on the evidence of the last game) which could see Gough having to show him a red when he finally makes meaningful contact? Would a drop to 14 by Dublin make much of a difference? 5/1 in the context of what might happen is certainly well out there....

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/08/2019 14:17:05    2230698

Replying To Killarney.87:  "That's one of the reasons I am shouting for Dublin, their fans are very hard to take. I remember a game in Thurles where in a sequence of play two hits were put in on Tipp players that looked like blatant fouls were let go by the referee, Kerry turned over possession, after that one of our boys put in a hit that was nowhere near as bad. The screams that came from the Kerry fans for a free would have woken the dead. It was pure tunnel vision to conveniently ignore what had gone before and feel aggrieved by any infringement on their player.

The worst was 2011 All Ireland final, I was 50/50 for who I would cheer for in the senior game but after the minor game I never I was going to be cheering for Dublin. After Tipp pickpocketed Dublin in the minor not one Kerry fan offer congratulations and they didn't even get behind Tipp during the game. The Kerry fans around me didn't even seem all that bothered by the minor match, too busy reading the match programme. All the Dublin fans around me congratulated me including a guy in front of me who must have been sick of listening to my hysteria after our third goal right through to the final whistle.

I always find Dublin fans to be good craic before, during, and after games. Before I go, speaking of Cork, I find their fans to be extremely sporting too and good fun to hang out with. Tipp and Cork hate losing to each other but that is parked to one side as soon as the final whistle goes. There must be something in the air or water of successful counties beginning with K."
i didnt realise that....that sounds unsporting

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 30/08/2019 14:23:34    2230702