David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To catch22:  "Who would you have instead from ulster?"
I don't know but do you not think it makes sense to have the ref from a different province than the 2 finalists? or at least one that doesn't live and work in one of the counties, imagine if the ref lived in Tralee and worked along with some of the Kerry backroom team etc, it wouldn't look good, that's not saying the man himself isn't sound and a very good ref, just seems controversy could have been easily avoided.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 17/08/2019 22:12:01    2226864

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Gas how there was never an issue with the referees when we weren't winning or was it that the referee were just better back then. Yeah, that must it, silly me."
I could have sworn Dublin had 'an issue' with a referee in 2007 ? Or, maybe I'm somehow mistaken?

Hold on ! I've checked: Dublin actually had an appointed referee REMOVED in 2007.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 17/08/2019 22:14:59    2226865

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "To all here posting about the terrible slight it is to David Gough's character to question his appointment to ref the all ireland, i've one reply.

If you don't want to be a hypocrite never criticise a referee again. Because when you say Maurice Deegan 'gave' the semi final to Kerry you're questioning his integrity. He has a large extended family and some may read the comments here. Is it ok to question certain referees integrity but not others?

So the next time you question another refs performance/integrity ask yourself did you jump on the 'I'm offended for David Gough bandwagon for your own personal reasons."
Deegan was judged on his poor performance he gave kerry very soft frees he had a huge impact on the outcome.. Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 17/08/2019 22:25:08    2226867

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Would you be as concerned if he wasn't a ref from your own county? Pure parochialism on display from Meath posters."
It's nothing to do with being from Meath. He's by far and away the undisputed best ref in Ireland, which to be fair isn't difficult when you see standard of refereeing generally (especially the likes of Maurice Keegan whose impartiality and integrity many many GAA people would question).

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 17/08/2019 22:31:31    2226868

Replying To Aibrean:  "I could have sworn Dublin had 'an issue' with a referee in 2007 ? Or, maybe I'm somehow mistaken?

Hold on ! I've checked: Dublin actually had an appointed referee REMOVED in 2007."
I cannot remember clearly but I don't think the opposition were complaining throughout those 16 years.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/08/2019 22:50:49    2226871

Replying To Crinigan:  "It's nothing to do with being from Meath. He's by far and away the undisputed best ref in Ireland, which to be fair isn't difficult when you see standard of refereeing generally (especially the likes of Maurice Keegan whose impartiality and integrity many many GAA people would question)."
Really???? I would say there are quite a few that would dispute that.......

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 17/08/2019 22:54:21    2226872

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and all the while

Dubs quietly getting on with things."
And Kerry aren't? It might come as a surprise to you but there is actually a world outside of Hogan Stand...

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 17/08/2019 23:24:16    2226877

HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 18/08/2019 00:04:45    2226886

Replying To Crinigan:  "It's nothing to do with being from Meath. He's by far and away the undisputed best ref in Ireland, which to be fair isn't difficult when you see standard of refereeing generally (especially the likes of Maurice Keegan whose impartiality and integrity many many GAA people would question)."
Why did the far and away undisputed best referee in Ireland overrule his own handpicked umpire based on a player's word?

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 18/08/2019 00:53:23    2226893

Maurice Keegan whose impartiality and integrity many many GAA people would question

Deegan not Keegan for starters. Nice one. You make a claim that 'many, many' people question Maurice Deegan's integrity. That's a major, general, loose statement. So you're saying in effect Maurice Deegan deliberately tries to throw games?

What hypocrisy. Because a ref may be, in your opinion, a little better than another the one you deem poorer should have his integrity questioned. Gotcha.

So the school teacher who isn't as good as another.. her integrity is in question. The musician who is poorer in concert etc. Basically if you're not as good atyour job,or perceived to be, it's down to integrity.

Tyrone got plenty of frees and breaks last Sunday. It wasn't Maurice Deegan's fault they were overly reliant on McShane and didn't push on in general.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/08/2019 07:04:24    2226903

Replying To brisbane:  "Deegan was judged on his poor performance he gave kerry very soft frees he had a huge impact on the outcome.. Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media"
Who has questioned his personal life?

Where you work and live are not your personal life when it comes to appointing a referee for an all-ireland. Are you suggesting something else?

Come on this is all just anti Kerry stuff. Many Dublin posters aren't even posting on it as they are fair minded people. You just have a few die hards, their sychophants and Kerry begrudgers.

I have commented on Dublin advantages that exist, you can't deny them. However at the same time I want to acknowledge the excellence of their team. Greatest football team ever. If they win the 5 in a row I will sincerely congratulate them. It would be petty not to.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 18/08/2019 07:10:24    2226904

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't know but do you not think it makes sense to have the ref from a different province than the 2 finalists? or at least one that doesn't live and work in one of the counties, imagine if the ref lived in Tralee and worked along with some of the Kerry backroom team etc, it wouldn't look good, that's not saying the man himself isn't sound and a very good ref, just seems controversy could have been easily avoided."
Ah, look, I just think this oul thing is a smoke screen to put unnecessary pressure on the man.
Apparently, there's no issue now with him from the County board but EF has an issue and so have all these other lunatics looking to arrange a protest. I just think it's all a farce.
You'd have plenty of professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job even if it's in conflict with individuals they would regularly bump into.
I honestly think , Kerry are afraid of their sh1te they'll lose and are looking for excuses and anything they can grab on to.
It wouldn't be the first time they had an issue with a referee you see.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/08/2019 08:34:55    2226909

Can I just ask something IF the problem is that David is now seen as a dub, does this mean that he can ref the Kerry Meath league match next year?? As he would be a neutral.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2019 09:05:58    2226913

Replying To Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/08/2019 09:37:12    2226916

Replying To royaldunne:  "Can I just ask something IF the problem is that David is now seen as a dub, does this mean that he can ref the Kerry Meath league match next year?? As he would be a neutral."
He can, but Meath better not win.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/08/2019 09:39:29    2226918

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Daft post again.

Damaging to Gough's reputation?? It's not personal. Refs should not be appointed to games when they live and work in one participating county. That's a universal law that should be applied. Universal for everyone, not personal.

Can you not grasp this concept Joxer? It's not questioning an individual's integrity, just putting proper procedure in place. Transparency, eliminating any risk of bias."
For a supposed Laois man you have an awful lot of interest in this Kerry circus. Anyway this is about the process and the person. You're talking about the appointment process. I'm not. I'm talking about the person. It shouldn't be that hard to grasp. Gough has been appointed. His family, friends, relatives....are all aware and delighted for him. Eamo, Aido and another group of Kerry men have questioned his impartiality on the basis that he works in Dublin and are calling for his removal, in the case of the Kerry Supporters Club . For some reason you seem to think that if he was now removed it would not be damaging to him. That's just bizarre. 30% of the state's workforce works in Dublin. Good luck to Kerry and their supporters in finding a referee as good as Gough with no connection to the capital!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 09:54:06    2226921

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "I cannot remember clearly but I don't think the opposition were complaining throughout those 16 years."
Again it was Dublin who were complaining about it. How many more times are you going to have to be told this?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/08/2019 09:57:22    2226923

Replying To brisbane:  "Deegan was judged on his poor performance he gave kerry very soft frees he had a huge impact on the outcome.. Gough is being judged on his personnal life by the kerry media"
Thats an excellent post and very true.

is the man being judged on his referee performance or his personal life, you have to say the latter. Its frightening and worrying how much certain protagonists have delved into his personal life.

Play the ball not the man etc.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 10:10:38    2226925

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and all the while

Dubs quietly getting on with things."
Kerry county board support Goughs appointment, fans clearly in open revolt, a house divided.........!

I believe we are in conclave at the moment, not even in Leinster, i better not say to much unless the lads are in a 200 mile radius of anyone who could potentially officiate one of our games.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 10:18:48    2226926

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny."
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 18/08/2019 10:57:16    2226932