Is Now The Time For Mickey Harte To Step Down?

Don't really see how any amateur manager having a year left on his contract would make any difference. Unless ??
Will go down as a great manager but it's hard to see where he can take the squad from here. Got played off the park at the top level playing a defensive style over last few years. Tried a more attacking style but then abandoned it so what will change next year . Imo the u21 mgmt team deserve a chance as even the players must feel a slight apathy coming back to the same unsuccessful setup year after year.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 12/08/2019 14:16:07    2224653

Sean cavanagh licking up to RTE again looking to be like brolly

Harte should go when he feels he can't give anymore . And Sean attacked Harte before with tactics but when he was Captain he said nothing

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 12/08/2019 14:32:56    2224663

Lost 3 times in this year's championship and failed to beat any of the contending teams. No trophies in 2019 and players leaving the panel midway through the season. This all doesn't bode well for the management team and wouldn't be surprising in any other county for that management to be replaced but MH has a massive pull with the county board so unless he packs it in I'm sure we'll be seeing him again in 2020!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 13/08/2019 01:10:24    2224980

Since 2008 tyrone have won a division 2 final, played in an all ireland final and won 4 ulster titles.

Not a great record by any stretch considering in the last few years donegal were building a new team in Ulster.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 13/08/2019 07:05:12    2224992

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Sean cavanagh licking up to RTE again looking to be like brolly

Harte should go when he feels he can't give anymore . And Sean attacked Harte before with tactics but when he was Captain he said nothing"
Is Sean not allowed to have an opinion without being accused of like up to RTE.

Why do some people think that Mickey has the right to stay as long as he wants, yes I acknowledge he did bring us to a new level and status in football but the longer he stays to faster we are regressing.

The facts are there to be seen that we have falling short to the other team that we consider ourselves to be at the same level,
And a lot of the time it was down to the system of play and wrong player selection,

also our sideline are to slow to act when things are not going right Donegal match and Sunday are perfect example of this when the long ball was been turned over and Kerry where getting on top why didn't we change to our running game and keep the ball for a while and try and take the sting out of Kerry and tag on a couple of points.

Instead we did what we always do and that is play the same way the whole match even when teams figure our system out, be it the plays or the management not making the call we need to mix it up a bit.

Kerry changed the style of play at half time and we let them play their way back into the match before we made any changes.

Mickey got the chance to bring his team from Minor to Senior and we will always be great full for the goods day he and team give us but the long he stays without success the faster that memory fades

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 13/08/2019 08:26:19    2225002

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Would Malachy O'Rourke be the favourite for the job if Mickey did leave, even though he's from Fermanagh?"
After 17 seasons and counting with one manager, there is no way they will look outside the county. Whenever Harte goes, it will be a Tyrone man taking over. No doubt about it.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 13/08/2019 09:46:23    2225025

Replying To redbomb:  "Is Sean not allowed to have an opinion without being accused of like up to RTE.

Why do some people think that Mickey has the right to stay as long as he wants, yes I acknowledge he did bring us to a new level and status in football but the longer he stays to faster we are regressing.

The facts are there to be seen that we have falling short to the other team that we consider ourselves to be at the same level,
And a lot of the time it was down to the system of play and wrong player selection,

also our sideline are to slow to act when things are not going right Donegal match and Sunday are perfect example of this when the long ball was been turned over and Kerry where getting on top why didn't we change to our running game and keep the ball for a while and try and take the sting out of Kerry and tag on a couple of points.

Instead we did what we always do and that is play the same way the whole match even when teams figure our system out, be it the plays or the management not making the call we need to mix it up a bit.

Kerry changed the style of play at half time and we let them play their way back into the match before we made any changes.

Mickey got the chance to bring his team from Minor to Senior and we will always be great full for the goods day he and team give us but the long he stays without success the faster that memory fades"
Spot on. Whatever the talk about no longer having the players in the donegal and kerry game it was management that caused us those games. Far too slow to react then makes stupid substitutions when he finally does.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 13/08/2019 10:29:06    2225043

Thought owen Mulligan was spot on about Sean Kavanagh remarks on the Sunday game. Mickey Harte deserves a lot more respect than that. Malachy o rourke looked embarrassed to be listening to it.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 13/08/2019 10:35:02    2225046

It's not about respect everyone's time is up eventually and what I understand it's been suggested to him in private in past Cavanagh was giving his point of view of which her entitled we always give out about pundits throwing out sound bites and sticking to the script ...I think if we had a straw poll here that most would suggest Mickey time is up but he needs to see that for himself before it becomes embarrassing

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 13/08/2019 10:56:58    2225054

Mickey will surely stay on. There's a couple of class forwards coming on to their senior panel next year including Peter Canavan's son. Could be the missing piece of the puzzle!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/08/2019 11:02:40    2225056

You know tyrone are in a great position right now
Forget about Dublin for a min
They have a really good senior team lot lads are only mid 20s
Their minor and u 20 teams reached all Ireland semi finals
and they were beaten by two very good cork teams
they are almost certain to get some good players off those 2 teams
so the future is very bright for tyrone just need to be more positive

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 13/08/2019 11:57:58    2225076

Replying To rhudson:  "You know tyrone are in a great position right now
Forget about Dublin for a min
They have a really good senior team lot lads are only mid 20s
Their minor and u 20 teams reached all Ireland semi finals
and they were beaten by two very good cork teams
they are almost certain to get some good players off those 2 teams
so the future is very bright for tyrone just need to be more positive"
Tyrone could well have beaten Cork in the u20 semi final. They were leading by a few points in the second half and looking comfortable when their midfielder got a second yellow for pushing a Cork lad, who was trying to stop him taking a quick free, in the face. The free was overturned and Cork took over from then on. Small margins.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/08/2019 12:22:50    2225085

Look Sean Cavanagh is entitled to his opinion
like all the other posters have ye heard of free
speech in my opinion Sean was dead right its
time for a new voice in Tyrone just like Peter Keane
in Kerry if Fitzy was still there we would be in the AI
he would still be playing an older team

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 13/08/2019 12:32:18    2225091

Tyrone are in the same category as Donegal Down Cork
they come with a burst now and again and win the Ai
they cant produce the players to be knocking at the door
year in year out thats the reality of it

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 13/08/2019 12:37:49    2225095

He should have left 10 years ago. Keeps good players too long past their sell by date, slow to change and picks his favourites. He certainly has grudges against certain clubs in Tyrone. I cant wait to a fresh start. If your name is Harte, your starting and you wont be taken off. There has been a few top scorers in Tyrone told him to run and jump. So is Mickey special? He followed one special team. Sprinkled with the seasoned players of Art Mc Crory days like Canavan, Dooher and Cavlan, he got to the promised land. He shouldn't take the credit because many men got them there. Tally? All he seems to produce now are robots that cant kick a ball over the bar right in front of the posts.

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 13/08/2019 13:24:41    2225116

Replying To wfkerry:  "Tyrone are in the same category as Donegal Down Cork
they come with a burst now and again and win the Ai
they cant produce the players to be knocking at the door
year in year out thats the reality of it"
Down?

I still laugh when people mention them in the same category as other successful counties.

At least Cork were winning their provincial title not too long ago and won an all ireland in 2010.

Down on the other hand have been mediocre at best for over a generation now.

They have not won a provincial title or an all ireland in 25 years and the last time they won a national league was in 1983!!

Seriously please please stop suggesting they are even close to Tyrone, Donegal or even Cork.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 13/08/2019 13:37:22    2225119

Sean C. should put his hand up to be next manager... instead of trying to sell headlines! Undermining a great, dedicated server of Tyrone & gaa.

MADMAX1975 (Sligo) - Posts: 10 - 13/08/2019 13:44:06    2225122

Mickey has been and probably always will be Tyrone's best ever manager.

Just as players have their peak after which manager's won't pick them, manager's also can have a peak after which they aren't as sharp.

I'd agree with most of what Muggsy wrote during the week and the logical flow from it for me is that Mickey should see out his current contract but Tyrone should then have a new manager.

The obvious thing to do with Peter Harte being pulled constantly was to move him into the full forward line and win some scoreable frees but that wasn't tried. As someone else here said Tyrone are now too slow to act on the sideline during a game and will stick to the same game plan throughout the game which makes it too easy for the opposition's management. Think Dublin Semi Final 2 years ago also.

Some will say we just don't have the same players as during the 00s but in the decade now gone our record is the same as it was in the 80s namely 3 Ulster Titles and 1 All Ireland Final appearance.

So I'd say we should get a new manager for 2021.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 13/08/2019 14:00:18    2225128

I hope he stays.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 13/08/2019 16:58:49    2225186

Tomas o'shea wrote an article which highlights that in 11 years Tyrone have played mayo, kerry and dublin a total of 11 times and havent won 1 of them. That says it all l.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 13/08/2019 17:20:03    2225190