Kerry V Tyrone

Replying To kevin03:  "You resigning to defeat already. It's not a defeat you will receive it's a deserved hammering. Young kerry team my hole, between non frees, faking head injuries, black card and constant booing by the few kerry fans the final will be a massive wake up call for you. Your totally out of luck as deegan wont be there for you again and I for one will enjoy it"
Dry your eyes lad.
I'll tell ye something Tyrone wrote the book about off the ball messing.
We learned over 2000s just ask Gooch about his eye injury in 05.
Kerry got a few soft frees in the second half maybe that's the gods paying us back for some of decisions that went at against us over the years.
Tyrone are a better team than they are a allowed to be by the conservative approach of Mickey Harte.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 12/08/2019 21:44:28    2224918

Replying To TheHermit:  "Your fascinated by Kerry, I think you might have to be sent to Looney Bin if we manage the impossible in 3 weeks ;D"
You won't manage to do it but aside from that not one Kerry poster can address the off the wall theories in my original post.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 12/08/2019 21:55:46    2224923

Replying To TheHermit:  " We have all seen far worse.

Yep, 2011, 2015 and 2016 spring to mind ;D"
And the All-Ireland semi-final replay in Limerick 2014 was pretty awful too, no? It's swings and roundabouts.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/08/2019 22:13:38    2224936

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I'm not the first to point anything out. I was responding to several pages of howling and whingeing about the ref, who wasn't great but wasn't terrible either. Most of it coming from posters of non competing counties it should be said, including your own.

No idea what your first sentence is about?"
No , your not the first to point this out and that's just it. When ye loose it's a case of he wasn't great but he wasn't terrible either.
I was up at the Dublin Kerry final a few years ago and you should see the clowns near by with their eyes bulging and they throwing programs and the abuse coming out of them towards the ref after ye lost.
Look, what I'm saying is Kerry are great when they're winning but not so great and sporting when not.
Enjoy the build up and game.
I live in Kilkenny now that's what I was on about in my first sentence.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 08:25:45    2225001

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "No , your not the first to point this out and that's just it. When ye loose it's a case of he wasn't great but he wasn't terrible either.
I was up at the Dublin Kerry final a few years ago and you should see the clowns near by with their eyes bulging and they throwing programs and the abuse coming out of them towards the ref after ye lost.
Look, what I'm saying is Kerry are great when they're winning but not so great and sporting when not.
I live in Kilkenny now that's what I was on about in my first sentence."

Spot on!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 13/08/2019 10:04:43    2225032

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "No , your not the first to point this out and that's just it. When ye loose it's a case of he wasn't great but he wasn't terrible either.
I live in Kilkenny now that's what I was on about in my first sentence."
Dubh_linn please point out any posts I have made giving out about referees. I generally try to remember they are human and mistakes happen. It's absolutely endemic with fans after every game and you are simply delusional if you think it's just a Kerry thing. Read this thread in full if you want an example.

I think the game you are referring to above was the 2016 semi rather than a final where Gough botched a huge call at the end to secure Dublin's win and he even admitted as much afterwards. I don't condone fellas throwing programmes or shouting abuse at referees but surely you can understand fans getting frustrated when this sort of thing happens.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/08/2019 10:23:26    2225038

I notice a lot of anti kerry sentiment here why is this?? Some petty stuff been thrown about .I'm a cork man so no great friend of kerry but I can admit that when they get it right there a sight to behold and always try to play the game the way it should be played before the northern team dragged it into the mud

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 13/08/2019 11:01:42    2225055

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "I notice a lot of anti kerry sentiment here why is this?? Some petty stuff been thrown about .I'm a cork man so no great friend of kerry but I can admit that when they get it right there a sight to behold and always try to play the game the way it should be played before the northern team dragged it into the mud"
Wow, that's a sweeping comment - not the 'northern' puke football scapegoat again!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/08/2019 11:15:47    2225062

Scapegoat from what I'm entitled to my opinion and I respect ur total opposition to it I'll sleep well tonite either way:)

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 13/08/2019 11:21:46    2225065

I don't know why people are giving out about the "treatment" of Peter Harte. I was at the game and he got zero "treatment" from Tom O'Sullivan, no pulling no dragging or anything else. Tom O'Sullivan is just very tight and Harte failed to get into the game. Just because he failed to get into the game you can't assume it was because of any "treatment" dished out to him.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 13/08/2019 11:41:49    2225070

With Kerry form is temporary, class is permanent. They always seem to produce class players. They arent a team that you want to be messing with on a regular basis unless you are the current invincible Dublin team!!!! That's why we in Down have fought a guerilla war against them down the years. Play them lots when you have a great team like in the 1960s, hit and run. Then reemerge in 1991 when they are at a low ebb and beat them again. Then disappear in the 2000s when they are going really well. Then in the ultimate rope a dope lull them into a false sense of security and stun them again in 2010. Disappear and don't push your luck you have now made them angry!!! Avoid them at all costs and be contented with your 5-0 record against the greatest county in GAA history.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 13/08/2019 11:52:12    2225074

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "With Kerry form is temporary, class is permanent. They always seem to produce class players. They arent a team that you want to be messing with on a regular basis unless you are the current invincible Dublin team!!!! That's why we in Down have fought a guerilla war against them down the years. Play them lots when you have a great team like in the 1960s, hit and run. Then reemerge in 1991 when they are at a low ebb and beat them again. Then disappear in the 2000s when they are going really well. Then in the ultimate rope a dope lull them into a false sense of security and stun them again in 2010. Disappear and don't push your luck you have now made them angry!!! Avoid them at all costs and be contented with your 5-0 record against the greatest county in GAA history."
Having been present at that latest ambush in 2010 (and a long afternoon that was too), I do hope I live to see a Kerry team that can lower the black and red standard in Championship football.
It is a remarkable record Down have over Kerry and I suppose every sport has examples of these kind of things, it all adds another layer of mythology to a game.
Sure Dublin couldn't beat us in Championship football for 34 years and now we are approaching 10 years since out last win! It's mad when you think about it given where both counties were a decade ago.
Hopefully the 1 Sept will see the next turning of the tide :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2019 12:55:31    2225100

Replying To Kerry15:  "I don't know why people are giving out about the "treatment" of Peter Harte. I was at the game and he got zero "treatment" from Tom O'Sullivan, no pulling no dragging or anything else. Tom O'Sullivan is just very tight and Harte failed to get into the game. Just because he failed to get into the game you can't assume it was because of any "treatment" dished out to him."
Ya a lot of the comments on here are being made by lads who weren't at the match and that watched it on telly where Dessie and Ger (who are totally anti Kerry) make up their own commentary, canning can't even get the players names right at times.

If ye were at the game ye would what was really happening and ye might not be given out so much.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/08/2019 12:57:47    2225101

Replying To TheHermit:  "Having been present at that latest ambush in 2010 (and a long afternoon that was too), I do hope I live to see a Kerry team that can lower the black and red standard in Championship football.
It is a remarkable record Down have over Kerry and I suppose every sport has examples of these kind of things, it all adds another layer of mythology to a game.
Sure Dublin couldn't beat us in Championship football for 34 years and now we are approaching 10 years since out last win! It's mad when you think about it given where both counties were a decade ago.
Hopefully the 1 Sept will see the next turning of the tide :)"
Yeah all the best for the final. With the underage success the last few years Kerry are on the rise again. If you did beat Dublin in the final, and its a huge ask, do you think it would be your best ever All Ireland victory??

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 13/08/2019 13:06:06    2225105

Replying To Kerry15:  "I don't know why people are giving out about the "treatment" of Peter Harte. I was at the game and he got zero "treatment" from Tom O'Sullivan, no pulling no dragging or anything else. Tom O'Sullivan is just very tight and Harte failed to get into the game. Just because he failed to get into the game you can't assume it was because of any "treatment" dished out to him."
Prob because you're from Kerry and you only see incidents where Kerry players are getting fouled off the ball. I've no great love of Tyrone and truth be told was quite happy they lost (sorry Tyrone followers) but Kerry played it to the limit and crossed the line a number of times and I don't blame them. If it's not being pulled up then why stop?

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 13/08/2019 13:06:27    2225106

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Dubh_linn please point out any posts I have made giving out about referees. I generally try to remember they are human and mistakes happen. It's absolutely endemic with fans after every game and you are simply delusional if you think it's just a Kerry thing. Read this thread in full if you want an example.

I think the game you are referring to above was the 2016 semi rather than a final where Gough botched a huge call at the end to secure Dublin's win and he even admitted as much afterwards. I don't condone fellas throwing programmes or shouting abuse at referees but surely you can understand fans getting frustrated when this sort of thing happens."
Again, thanks for making my point. It's the refs fault .
Kerry benefit as much and more in the bigger scheme of things than anyone else.
That's your blind spot here and that's the same whenever ye lose. I cannot remember another team who blame everyone else when they lose as much as Kerry. You have referees and don't forget Mr Spillane and he almost rabid taking about " puke football ". Everythings rosey in the garden until a loss and then the mask slips.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 13:41:15    2225121

Replying To Mobot:  "Prob because you're from Kerry and you only see incidents where Kerry players are getting fouled off the ball. I've no great love of Tyrone and truth be told was quite happy they lost (sorry Tyrone followers) but Kerry played it to the limit and crossed the line a number of times and I don't blame them. If it's not being pulled up then why stop?"
I know Kerry aren't angels and they don't stick rigidly to the rule book just like any team. But our inside backs don't do any off the ball fouling. People are saying Tom O'Sullivan absolutely blackguarded Peter Harte when it is anything further from the truth. To be fair to Tyrone they weren't doing anything off the ball either which was a bit surprising especially with Clifford.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 958 - 13/08/2019 14:38:37    2225142

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Again, thanks for making my point. It's the refs fault .
Kerry benefit as much and more in the bigger scheme of things than anyone else.
That's your blind spot here and that's the same whenever ye lose. I cannot remember another team who blame everyone else when they lose as much as Kerry. You have referees and don't forget Mr Spillane and he almost rabid taking about " puke football ". Everythings rosey in the garden until a loss and then the mask slips."
Will leave it there Dubl_Linn. You are only reading what you want to read so no point engaging further

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/08/2019 14:38:47    2225143

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Yeah all the best for the final. With the underage success the last few years Kerry are on the rise again. If you did beat Dublin in the final, and its a huge ask, do you think it would be your best ever All Ireland victory??"
I don't know. I tend to take a long term view of these things, perhaps it's the history student in me.
The media and many supporters are great at building up whatever is the narrative of one particular year or even one particular decade to be the most important thing ever in the sport etc etc
In the 2000s how much guff was written about Kerry never being able to beat Ulster opposition despite all the evidence to the contrary. How much paper was wasted arguing who was the team of the decade too. At this remove, Kerry winning 5 titles and getting to 6 finals in a row last decade was incredibly impressive stuff. It would have been nice to beat Tyrone in one of those finals and maybe do a 3/4 in a row but look I don't think it's really taken too much away from the legacy of what was a great Kerry team.

Looking back to 2007 and realizing that we were facing Cork in a first ever final meeting, what was at stake if we lost that day was unimaginable for Kerry people. You could say our whole tradition was one the line against our greatest rival and a damn good current incarnation of them.
People, and certainly the media, will make similar comparisons now with what's ahead in 3 weeks but given this is very much a new Kerry side in year 1 of their development and given Dublin's dominance and all the advantages they've been given etc I'm not sure it's fair.
At the end of the day how could Dublin not be in this position with what has gone on for the last 15 years?
Look if we pull off a miracle it will certainly be celebrated as one of our greatest victories, whether it will be the greatest I'm not sure.

1903 started it all off
1932 saw us claim our first four in a row
In 1955 Kerry football was seen as canon fodder for the Dubs 'machine' but catch and kick won out.
Going into 1969, Kerry football was declared obsolete and dead after what Down had done to us. Joe Lennon wrote a coaching manual the year before and declared Kerry would never win another title for 30 years, within half that time years we had won 10 more!
1997 ended the famine
2007 saw us crush Cork
2014 was very special to, one that came from nowhere

Like I said, taking the long view it's hard to be definitive on which would be the greatest but for me 2007 was certainly up there.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/08/2019 14:38:49    2225144

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Will leave it there Dubl_Linn. You are only reading what you want to read so no point engaging further"
Look GeniusGerry,
I'm reading what I want and seeing what I see for a good number of years so I'm not down in the last shower.
All teams get bad breaks against them but Kerry seem to always get a bad ref when they lose. If that's the case ye must have got plenty of good ones.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/08/2019 14:52:31    2225149