Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final

Congrats to Tipp. By far the better team. We needed all hands on deck to make it a contest, once we were down to 14 it was game over, this Tipp team are wizards with extra space.

Haven't seen a replay of the tackle but Richie has that in his locker. He was riled by getting a bloody nose earlier in the half (ps bloodying an opponent's nose through a faceguard, is that not a high tackle too?)

Was so disappointed with how loose we were at the start of the second. We had half time to come up with a plan to batten down the hatches but instead we were like headless chickens. Our use of the ball was shocking, catching practice for the spare Tipp defenders.

I've said it all championship that this was a mediocre Kilkenny team who did exceptionally well to get to the final, but we got found out today.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/08/2019 19:37:44    2227183

i think shefflin picked the wrong battle today.
as far as I know the rulebook says striking to the head is a red card.kilkenny don't like it when the game is refereed to the book.
in any case,i won't lose any sleep over richie,tj,brian,henry or their army of boo merchants in the stand.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/08/2019 19:43:12    2227187

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Well done Tipp great win pity about the red card but the ref had no choice , I don't think Richie ment to do him but it was high into the helmet. I thought the ref had a great game in very difficult conditions all Tipp's players played well but my motm was Heffernan at full back outstanding.

Hopefully the Dublin massive back room team slagging is put to bed after Seamie spent ten minutes thanking a million people on the back room team today , every big county has the same amount of back room team."
The bigger counties have the resources and Tipp are a big county.Look at what's happened to Offaly hurling.Too small to compete now having won 2 All-Irelands in the 80s and in the 90s.Congrats to Tipp today.They were excellent all over the pitch.I knew they had great forwards but Barry Heffernan and Seamus Kennedy in defence were outstanding.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 18/08/2019 19:43:16    2227188

The game was going towards Tipp before the sending off so I think they would have won it anyway. The Sending Off? My opinion is that he used the elbow. Some on here are saying that it was a shoulder, well let me remind all that the only legal use of the shoulder in Gaelic Games is 'shoulder to shoulder with at least one foot on the ground' so a shoulder to the head is still a foul and the referee deemed it to be dangerous. Mr Hogan can have no complaints.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 18/08/2019 19:43:32    2227189

I know few will agree but I didn't think it was a red card. Hogan was going in hard but I didn't think he was trying to injure him. In my opinion a yellow card was enough.

Tipp took over after that. Their first touch was superb. The goals were class.

Congratulations Tipperary very consistent in championship all year. Well done!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2019 19:52:28    2227192

Definite red card. Tipp had taken over anyway so scoreline but not the result only impact of red card.

shoulders (Kilkenny) - Posts: 23 - 18/08/2019 19:54:12    2227193

Replying To perfect10:  "i think shefflin picked the wrong battle today.
as far as I know the rulebook says striking to the head is a red card.kilkenny don't like it when the game is refereed to the book.
in any case,i won't lose any sleep over richie,tj,brian,henry or their army of boo merchants in the stand."
He definitely had the black n amber tinted glasses on for that one. Daly and Cusack called it and forget about the conditions excuse, attempted to take his head off with his shoulder. Very dangerous. Tipp were ferocious today. Thoroughly deserved it and fought like titans. Expected more from Kilkenny in the second half even with a man less but Tipp just had too much heart for them. Maybe time for Cody to step aside now and let some new blood in. It's not as though there isn't a queue of legends sitting in the wings.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 19:54:43    2227195

in any case,i won't lose any sleep over richie,tj,brian,henry or their army of boo merchants in the stand."
Clear contact with the head - had to be a red card, regardless of intent.
Everyone needs to get on board with the dangers of head blows, and commentators and pundits in particular need to stop the excuses. There are none when it is a player's health and life that is being protected.

Mayfair (Galway) - Posts: 65 - 18/08/2019 19:55:09    2227196

Yes a deserved red but I dont know how Barratt didn't get a yellow earlier for the rash swipe across Hogan. Also what's the ref doing checking on Barratt when he was making his decision. Weather a player is a small bit injured or has a broken nose doesnt matter a jot. It's either a red or it isnt. This checking to see how badly a player is injured is ridiculous and should not influence a decision.
Stinker of a second half. Tipp will always look like world beaters when going well and a man up. It isnt long since they downed tools against Limerick . I think Kilkenny could have still won with 15 men..could not would.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 18/08/2019 20:14:52    2227204

Thought on first viewing the sending off was harsh but having seen the replay can understand why it was given. In Hogan's defence I don't think he intended to catch him on the head but aimed to put him out over the line. Mistimed it and paid the price. What about the tackle by Barrett on Hogan earlier though that drew blood? Is catching a player on the face with a head high hurl any less dangerous than a shoulder to the head?

Poor final. Always looked like a Tipp victory once they got momentum from the first goal. KK's tactics in the second half were bizarre.

lady_gaagaa (Westmeath) - Posts: 97 - 18/08/2019 20:17:06    2227205

If striking to the head is a red card how come there was none for the blow to Richie Hogan's face which bloodied his nose? Where's the consistency? It would have had to be reckless and/or dangerous to inflict such an injury.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/08/2019 20:24:49    2227208

Listen only speaking as a neutral

It was a damn shame we didn't get much of a 15 v 15 final

Although it's to Tipps credit that they tactically got it spot on using the same xtra man brilliantly

We offer see teams not having a clue how to play against 14 to their advantage

But it did look like a mismatch in 2nd half and fair play to Kilkenny they tried but long ball in after long ball in was largely mopped up.. all a bit predictable but again Kilkenny did look like a team playing with 14 men

Congrats to Tipp but a disappointment spectacle for the neutral

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 20:29:42    2227211

Replying To MesAmis:  "It was a red card. 100% correct decision, the ref handled it very well, he went to his linesman to discuss it, took their time and got the right decision. Well done all.

Instead of being praised for some excellent officiating he's being castigated.

Who'd be a referee?"
Couldn't agree with this more. Cody saying if it was a clear red why did he have to consult the lineman, ridiculous. It was a red card in an AI final he didn't rush the decision he got someone else's perspective as well as his own. Right decision and I have a lot of sympathy for Hogan as it was a split second decision that he himself will know was foolish.

If your county is playing in the game I dont think you should be allowed be a commentator. They cant be unbiased. That isnt knocking them as I actually like all the hurling panelists but its impossible to be neutral when you know the lads

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 18/08/2019 20:40:25    2227223

A lot of nonsense here saying tipp would have won anyways.how do we know that ? Everything that happened after the red card is skewed.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 18/08/2019 20:41:42    2227225

Replying To ballydalane:  "If striking to the head is a red card how come there was none for the blow to Richie Hogan's face which bloodied his nose? Where's the consistency? It would have had to be reckless and/or dangerous to inflict such an injury."
Your right. Conor Cleary got suspended this year for a dangerous strike to the head and it was a loose swing behind him. There was no malice in it just clumsy. But a strike to head should be the same result for everyone.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 18/08/2019 20:46:28    2227231

Replying To ballydalane:  "If striking to the head is a red card how come there was none for the blow to Richie Hogan's face which bloodied his nose? Where's the consistency? It would have had to be reckless and/or dangerous to inflict such an injury."
One was going for the ball the other for revenge

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 18/08/2019 20:47:16    2227232

Saw a replay of both incidents. Hogan can't complain about his red but Barrett should technically have gone before it, he swung across Hogan's face from behind and caught him right across the nose. Where's the consistency? Did Barrett even get booked, I'm not sure?

I think Hogan was trying to extract his own revenge which for such an intelligent hurler was stupid, he got played by Barrett.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 18/08/2019 20:51:42    2227234

Replying To moc.dna:  "His shoulder makes contact not his elbow, terrible decision. Frustrating for Kilkenny as Barrett's Ronaldo dive to the ground was an embarrassment, added to the fact that Barrett burst Hogan's nose & no card. Terrible disappointing final ruined by a very harsh sending off."
Especially when john McG should've seen straight red. It's less the quality of officiating that's got every team om 1/4's - Final disgusted, it's the complete inconsistency. Throughout the league blow for every spare hand tackle. Games would be terrible but I'd bet by championship came along the spare hand tackle would essentially be gone. Gotta punishis every offense & stick w/it. Players would get used to it fast. That applies to all non enforced or championed tactics that are not permitted. At present, why have refs.
Congrats to both finalists & 2019 champs, Tipp.
TJ = HOTY
Noel McG = RU
Seamus = 2nd RU

Pa Horgan = RU if 1/4-finalists were given more credit

Gowran_Yank (Kilkenny) - Posts: 96 - 18/08/2019 20:53:36    2227236

I would agree with you and say that hitting on the head with a hurley has to be more dangerous than with an elbow. A lot of pulling and dragging been allowed in the game- it appears to be now called letting the game flow. I do think that Tipperary would have still won but the game would have been very close and close games can go either way.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/08/2019 20:55:45    2227237

Congrats to Tipp. I don't understand how anybody could argue against the red card for Hogan. Tipp were good but Kilkenny were awful in the second half - completely clueless. I hope the football final is a bit more competitive.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/08/2019 20:59:27    2227238