Disingenuous, Disgusting, Odious, Nasty!!

Replying To keithlemon:  "I notice that he seems to delete quite a lot of his more sensational tweets. Apparently he got burned for comments he made over a radio interview around the cricket last week. The presenter of said radio show put him on the spot and asked for the evidence, when he couldn't provide it, he just deleted all his tweets
I also spotted that he was the number 1 Irish sports journalist that tweets in terms of volume, on average he tweets 94 times a day!!! 94!!! Too much time on his hands.

According to some on twitter, he monitors message boards like this one to pick up on things being discussed, takes up all the best points and regurgitates them. He even was supposedly caught using multiple identities on another message board and got caught when responding.

So no doubt he's probably having a read of this thread"
Indeed he was. He is also among us this very day here on HS.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/07/2019 16:57:49    2214834

Just had a quick look on his latest ramblings on twitter, someone just put up a text from him saying he'd be delighted if Trump was made president!!!
Fantastic

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/07/2019 17:00:28    2214836

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "McKenna is a polarising figure.

On the one hand, his work on Dublin GAA and their finances is incredible. Well researched. Meticulous detail. Articulate. And of course, spot on. I challenge any Dub fan on here to read one of his many articles about your finances and dispute what he says. Hint - you won't be able to.

However he also comes across as a sensationalist attention seeker on other issues, namely rugby. And now of course, this tweet about Lowry."
hahahaha
nice try Ewan

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/07/2019 17:14:26    2214845

He always gets nasty in my view he is a very poor journalist looking for attention

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/07/2019 17:25:50    2214850

Replying To Htaem:  "First I've ever heard of Ewan McKenna, will probably have forgotten his name before the sun sets this evening."
Looks like he didn't like your comment very much ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2019 17:39:36    2214855

I thought this was a thread about Cillian O'Connor, had to check , never head of this journo and if he is tweeting this kind of rubbish I don't care if I ever do either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 22/07/2019 17:56:56    2214865

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very poor from Ewan.

But shows his level and true form.

The fact he took it down says it all...

I've met Jim Gavin a number of times and to see such words used to describe him is actually laughable and so unfitting that its really not worth giving this any sort of energy whatsoever.

Yep.. whatever you say Ewan lol"
Well said totally agree here

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 22/07/2019 17:59:14    2214867

Replying To keithlemon:  "Just had a quick look on his latest ramblings on twitter, someone just put up a text from him saying he'd be delighted if Trump was made president!!!
Fantastic"
Pfffhh

Gas. It's alright for him to become President but god forbid you play golf with him aye...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2019 18:03:14    2214872

Replying To ta32:  "Well said totally agree here"
Good to hear from you

See you soon ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2019 18:06:01    2214874

Replying To waynoI:  "Just some of the words Ewan McKenna placed ina tweet about Jim Gavin over the weekend.

I think that's very harsh if you dont know the man personally. Totally uncalled for in my view.

If people want to talk about Dublin playing two games in croke park, their finances, population etc then fine I respect that, and if people feel jim gavin comes across as a bit patronizing and boring, fine, I accept that too, but surely McKenna went over the line in describing jim as disgusting, nasty and odious..

Or maybe he didnt?

Am I just reading too much into it ? Seems very personal to me. No need for it."
Waynol you answered your question with the 6th and 7th words you used in this post. He's just seeking attention, looking for clicks. Jim Gavin cares about 1 thing that's Dublin football & as Dublin manager that's what he should be thinking about. Would he say the same thing about Brian Cody.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 22/07/2019 18:20:41    2214878

Just seen he's now having a go at Shane Lowry, what an attention seeking man (can't use the word i want to use)

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 22/07/2019 18:24:35    2214880

I don't bother with the Twitter myself and now I'm kinda glad. I'd say that place is an absolute dung house and ideal for every gobsh*te with an opinion. Tis a bit unfortunate that these platforms are the main outlets for so much anger and stupidity and the needy people in society. I don't know Gavin or your man but I wouldn't pay much attention to most of the sports journalists that are purely trying to make the news. There seems to be a trend toward kicking the winners with a lot of these cowboys and I'd say Shane Lowry couldn't give a hoot about that stuff either.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 22/07/2019 19:10:22    2214908

Replying To Cavan_Shambles:  "McKenna is a polarising figure.

On the one hand, his work on Dublin GAA and their finances is incredible. Well researched. Meticulous detail. Articulate. And of course, spot on. I challenge any Dub fan on here to read one of his many articles about your finances and dispute what he says. Hint - you won't be able to.

However he also comes across as a sensationalist attention seeker on other issues, namely rugby. And now of course, this tweet about Lowry."
They are not, he cherry picks, takes what he wants out of context and feeds the begrugdery that is festering out there. Most of what he writes on Dublin is just factually incorrect he hasn't even a clue what the basic funding is even for but he is not alone on that. Anyone who can say those things about someone doesn't deserve to have a voice.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 22/07/2019 19:11:35    2214909

I never really paid the slightest bit of attention to what he has to say. Sledge Katie Taylor, laugh and sneer at Morgan and his well wishers, spread old news (from 2011) about Dublin and rehash as news. But I thank this comment for one thing, if you look at his miserable headline comments I understand now where some around here get their so callef "facts". Yeah brilliantly researched lol.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 22/07/2019 19:29:52    2214921

He's done some excellent work highlighting the disgusting situation regarding the GAA and Dublin. He even won journalist of the year at one point.

But he comes out with stuff like this from time to time and it really isn't on. As a person I'm sure Gavin's a gent. As a manager he's embraced this new professional GAA PR era and I hate that about the modern game. Mckenna should cop himself on and stick to what he's good at.

I've heard Mckenna so much recently and it's usually from Dubs giving out online. I'd imagine this is his tactic, wind you lot up and get as many clicks/attention as possible.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2019 21:36:31    2214986

Plenty of snowflakes on this forum. Hilarious!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 22/07/2019 22:02:38    2215006

What would Jim Gavin do?

Ignore, smile wryly, and let it go straight over his head.

We should do the same. It is meant to bother people. Not letting it is the best response.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 22/07/2019 22:11:16    2215013

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Plenty of snowflakes on this forum. Hilarious!"
Then do one!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/07/2019 22:15:28    2215015

When Gavin said that the game against Roscommon was a tough test (or words to that effect) he was being disingenuous. But then, I think every GAA manager in the history of the game is disingenuous, because they all say the same bloody thing! "Tough game.... Scoreline not a fair reflection on the game..... We got the breaks at the right time..... Bla bla bla". I've yet to hear one manager say, "actually, that was just as easy as I thought it'd be".

The other comments about him, if true (I haven't read the tweet), were scurrilous.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 22/07/2019 22:25:33    2215023

Replying To CornAghais91:  "What would Jim Gavin do?

Ignore, smile wryly, and let it go straight over his head.

We should do the same. It is meant to bother people. Not letting it is the best response."
"We expected a tough battle from Ewan, he's worked really really hard this year and has some top class stats to back it up. I'm just happy we managed to survive the onslaught, we'll go back to our clubs and our jobs on Monday and we'll prepare as well as we can for our next twitter battle".

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 22/07/2019 22:57:57    2215034