Limerick V Kilkenny

Replying To katser:  "Where are the All Ireland Champions now!! How did you like Saturday!!"
Excellent Post Katser, looking for a start in Duffy's Circus are we?

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 29/07/2019 20:26:06    2218449

Replying To KK4Life:  "The ref signaled for Byrnes to move the free back. The linesman merely directed him where to return to. He still took it 5 yards too far forward. The Limerick player was being treated behind the 65 yard line and he took the free from in front. He even placed the ball for the free while the player was being treated. This happened perfectly in line with me so had a great view of it.

Incidents happen throughout matches that official don't pick up on, some result in scores, some don't. For example Hugh Lawlor and Gillane were running for a ball under the Cusack Stand in the second half. Whilst running, Gillane threw Lawlor's hurl back over his shoulder. Fortunately for Kilkenny, the ball ran out over the sideline but if it hadn't, it could have been very costly.

How much technology do we want in the game. The excitement of the games is helped by the speed it is played at. Having technology to check too many things would take the intensity out of games while decisions are reviewed. Now, quite possibly, I would have a different opinion if the shoe was on the other foot but I am just wary of it. The Luimerick penalty would have been reviewed and that might have gone either way, both men were fouling. Lawlor put his right arm, which he holds his hurl with around Gillane. Gillane had his hurl. Different frees would get reviewed and the match would lose any flow.

I acknowledge that it should have been a 65 but if that incident occurred 5 minutes in, it would probably never have been highlighted. We have all had the benefit of TV replays to determine that it was a 65. I didn't notice the deflection in real time. None of us had the view that the officials had. Just looked at it again there. I think the linesman was actually in a bad position. He was flat in line with Buckley. From his position, so flat, i'm not sure he could see a deviation in the ball direction , whereas if he was at an angle he would see it better. It doesn't make the decision correct but in real time from his position. The umpire did what all umpires do and stood beside his friend at the other side of the goal. If he was positioned on his side, he would have seen it."
Look the linesman is supposed to be viewing every ball for obvious reasons he could not but hut seen that deflection, as he was beside where DOD took the SC Buckley was also far too near where the line ball was been taken and that is why he was able to connect with the ball. The panel in the Sunday game placed the blame for this fiasco fair and square on the lines man's shoulders. As regards the penalty it was one of those no win situations. It seemed on replay that Lawlor was fouling him alright. Anyway he got away with two three blatant fouls on Gillane in the first half that went unpunished, but of course no Kilkenny man ever believes that any of his players ever fouled anybody.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2019 20:27:28    2218450

Replying To ballydalane:  "No, there would have been massive uproar from Kilkenny fans including myself. And I don't have a problem with Limerick fans' uproar about the 65. Part and parcel of supporting a team.

My point about there not being an uproar if Kilkenny were denied a 65 in the same circumstances relates to so-called "neutrals". If you're going to be oh-so concerned for "fair play" and "getting the calls right" then at least extend that concern to every team/county, even the ones you have a scarcely-concealed contempt for.

PS should have been a Kilkenny line ball anyway which would have killed this debate stone dead."
No. In the TV it was unclear, but the linesman gave it and he was nearer to it that any of us and you are now questioning him. As the great Donald might say 'give up your auld fake news'.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2019 20:32:34    2218454

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Where are Galway. A fine team and Katser I do mean that, and they only beat Carlow by six points. At least we won our provincial championship and League and deservedly got to the last four. Never any disgrace in been beaten at the death by KK. No real complaints nor should your team have them. You have a fine panel, many fine young minors and better years ahead if the that great potential is properly harnessed. Look ahead it is now time to wish Tipp and Kilkenny well in this years final and for both our counties to look forward with renewed hope and give up looking back in anger. The best things in life are still ahead of us"
I come across as very blunt but there was nothing wrong with the goals LK got in last years Final.
I firmly believe only for last years loss without a doubt Galway would be going for the 3 in a row this year.
A fully focused Galway team on song would have beaten all 4 teams in this years Semi Finals.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 29/07/2019 20:35:46    2218458

Replying To Oldtourman:  "God you are myopic. Gilland was fouled on several occasions while legitmately trying to run out to an incoming ball and his opponent was not penalised."
Very true, the Kilkenny player had his arm around his neck as he was racing in order to gain possession. I certainly hope
they do not win the All-Ireland with that horrible play.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 29/07/2019 20:39:26    2218461

Replying To ballydalane:  "No, there would have been massive uproar from Kilkenny fans including myself. And I don't have a problem with Limerick fans' uproar about the 65. Part and parcel of supporting a team.

My point about there not being an uproar if Kilkenny were denied a 65 in the same circumstances relates to so-called "neutrals". If you're going to be oh-so concerned for "fair play" and "getting the calls right" then at least extend that concern to every team/county, even the ones you have a scarcely-concealed contempt for.

PS should have been a Kilkenny line ball anyway which would have killed this debate stone dead."
As regards your contempt allegation, some us who have the height of respect for KK and especially for Brian Cody, are also unhappy with this decision. Do you honestly believe that a neutral should not have a say in this matter. Do you not think that having paid over 4 million in Croke Park this weekend that fans are not entitled to look for improved officiating, whatever team is involved. Should that referee have been appointed for such an important and high profile game after the fiasco he created in the Waterford/ Tipp match in Limerick last year. These are just questions, among, others that need to be looked at. It is funny but if Limerick were benefiting from a decision like that for me some of the sheen would be gone off the victory. But of course maybe that is only me.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2019 20:43:26    2218462

Replying To mooncat:  "it has been said here many times that the linesman got the call wrong,the wrong call was that it was KK line ball,if Limerick had equalized and won in extra time how many posters would be on here saying it was an injustice to KK,also Tj had a free given against him for throw ball which was a good handpass,Limerick got a point from the free,is that incident not every bit as important as the line ball?"
Two wrongs do not make a right or we would have a proper sh-t fest day in day out. I can not say with clarity that the ball was called wrong but can say for sure the resulting line ball was deflected. I would say the same if it was a Kilkenny side line. Too many of these mistakes that can be avoided.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 29/07/2019 20:48:00    2218464

Replying To ballydalane:  "I'd agree that it's one of the weaker teams of the Cody era, perhaps the weakest his had in terms of raw talent, but I've never ever seen one of his teams give up in matches the way Cork have done umpteen times this decade in Croke Park.

I tipped Cork to beat us, I seriously overrated your lot, we were so much better than ye I couldn't believe it."
Why did you tip Cork. Before you back them again in a major game in Croke Park you must realise that Cork have only won one game of note in Croke Park in this entire decade and they would not have won that if Ryan Dwyer had not got himself put off. They have been beaten in Croke Park by every single county in Munster this decade, at the business end of the Champioship, so it was no big deal for KK to beat them there. This would never have happened in any other decade of the association. I am saying this, conscious of the fact that my late father and all belonging to him were Cork people.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 29/07/2019 20:59:50    2218470

Replying To Oldtourman:  "God you are myopic. Gilland was fouled on several occasions while legitmately trying to run out to an incoming ball and his opponent was not penalised."
I'm not being short-sighted. You're actually kind of making my point for me. I completely agree that gillane was being fouled also. Both were fouling and both were being fouled often at the same time. How can a ref correctly adjudicate over these incidents when both are fouling? Could a video official definitively determine some of the calls when 2 players are fouling? I'm not so sure. An age can be spent analysing decisions that can't be decided with any certainty.

I don't think a video ref should be needed for the last call. The umpire was wrongly positioned.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 29/07/2019 21:01:05    2218471

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Excellent Post Katser, looking for a start in Duffy's Circus are we?"
Yes, the Mayo football team

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 29/07/2019 21:21:08    2218481

Replying To Oldtourman:  "No. In the TV it was unclear, but the linesman gave it and he was nearer to it that any of us and you are now questioning him. As the great Donald might say 'give up your auld fake news'."
well he was nearer to the deflection too and he didnt see that.

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 29/07/2019 21:45:28    2218494

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Why did you tip Cork. Before you back them again in a major game in Croke Park you must realise that Cork have only won one game of note in Croke Park in this entire decade and they would not have won that if Ryan Dwyer had not got himself put off. They have been beaten in Croke Park by every single county in Munster this decade, at the business end of the Champioship, so it was no big deal for KK to beat them there. This would never have happened in any other decade of the association. I am saying this, conscious of the fact that my late father and all belonging to him were Cork people."
I tipped Cork because I thought they'd have too much legs for us especially for our defence which is not blessed with pace to say the least. And I thought I was going to be right after Cork goaled in the first minute and cut us open a few times after that. But outside Horgan they had very little, I seriously overrated them. As blackrock I think said, they're still obsessed with the tippy tappy stuff, you need to be able to battle as well. Wasn't just me though, most people tipped Cork.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 29/07/2019 23:13:10    2218539

Replying To endgame:  "
Replying To slayer:  "[quote=Faithfull:  "[quote=endgame:  "[quote=Viking66:  "[quote=Faithfull:  "Team P W D L +/- Pts.
Tipperary 7 6 0 1 44 12
Kilkenny 7 4 1 2 22 9
Wexford 6 2 3 1 16 7
Limerick 6 3 0 3 38 6
Cork 6 3 0 3 25 6
Dublin 5 2 1 2 9 5
Galway 4 2 1 1 3 5
Clare 4 2 0 2 -25 4
Carlow 4 0 0 4 -47 0
Waterford 4 0 0 4 -52 0

There's the stats (facts) from the championship. Top two teams in the final!"
They are top because they played more games?"
He hadn't thought of that.Kilkenny are in the Final having lost two games and drawn one game.Galway were out after losing one game and drawing one game."]KK had the same stats as Galway. Won 2, lost 1 and drew 1. The second loss was in Leinster final. Can really compare that to Galway only losing 1."]Well done to Kilkenny.

A long day today at work and the Munster League cannot come around fast enough.

Hats off to Cody. What a man."]Limerick have far more to look forward to than the Munster League.A talented young team who will learn a lot from the bitter pill of last Saturday's one point defeat.Don't think though that John Kiely is the man to bring that team forward .Limerick are a better team than Kilkenny at the moment and they shouldn't have lost that match.Credit to Cody of course .Swap Managers last Saturday and Limerick would be preparing for an All-Ireland Final."]Brian Cody is without doubt the greatest ever manager in the history of the hurling championship.
John Kiely is in the 3rd year of his inter county management career. JK is already the most successful Limerick manager in nearly 50 years.
Maybe you should look up Brian Cody's record for his first 3 years with Kilkenny.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 944 - 29/07/2019 23:40:14    2218548

Replying To KK4Life:  "I'm not being short-sighted. You're actually kind of making my point for me. I completely agree that gillane was being fouled also. Both were fouling and both were being fouled often at the same time. How can a ref correctly adjudicate over these incidents when both are fouling? Could a video official definitively determine some of the calls when 2 players are fouling? I'm not so sure. An age can be spent analysing decisions that can't be decided with any certainty.

I don't think a video ref should be needed for the last call. The umpire was wrongly positioned."
I think you're a fair poster for what it's worth it was no way near a penalty if the last 5 yrs are taking into consideration. Of course every county has them but I never heard moaning and whinging as i did last Sat plus thurles last yr. I was trying to be fair saying we got away with this or that but the kk boys around me anyway couldn't see anything other than what favoured kk.

By the way the better team won on the day but beidh la eile ann

someday (Limerick) - Posts: 1104 - 30/07/2019 00:35:24    2218554

Replying To KK4Life:  "I'm not being short-sighted. You're actually kind of making my point for me. I completely agree that gillane was being fouled also. Both were fouling and both were being fouled often at the same time. How can a ref correctly adjudicate over these incidents when both are fouling? Could a video official definitively determine some of the calls when 2 players are fouling? I'm not so sure. An age can be spent analysing decisions that can't be decided with any certainty.

I don't think a video ref should be needed for the last call. The umpire was wrongly positioned."
Fair play, good points. Although when Gillane was running for a ball it is hard to see why he would be hanging off the defender. I feel at the last call the linesman was the main culprit and Cusack made the same point on the TV.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/07/2019 07:47:22    2218570

Replying To mooncat:  "well he was nearer to the deflection too and he didnt see that."
Yes, but there was a tangle of players involved in the first incident and even now no one can give clear evidence that he was wrong. It is clear to see he was wrong in the second case. Different argument. Any way both the referee and himself could not but have seen Buckley was standing too near the sideline cut as it was been taken. If this situation was reversed Allan Kelly would have the same future in refereeing as his namesake Barry, a far better referee.
Anyway after the diabolical performance of himself and his officials in Limerick (Tipp/Waterford) last year this man should never have been appointed to referee a game of this importance, as Babs Keating has already said. I doubt if he will be chosen to referee the final, which be a racing certainty, in normal circumstances, as Sean Cleere cannot be appointed.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/07/2019 07:57:18    2218571

Replying To katser:  "I come across as very blunt but there was nothing wrong with the goals LK got in last years Final.
I firmly believe only for last years loss without a doubt Galway would be going for the 3 in a row this year.
A fully focused Galway team on song would have beaten all 4 teams in this years Semi Finals."
Whats a fully focussed team. How many times over the year have both our teams- yes both of them-, failed to follow up brilliant performances with equally good ones. If there is a thing called a Miadh, it sure as hell seems to follow both our teams. You could say if Declan Hannon was fully fit last Saturday we MIGHT have beaten Kilkenny, but it is all conjecture now. I firmly believe that if Galway were, as you say focussed, they would have won the finals on 85 and 86 and could have won '89, if there had not got totally obsessed with a perceived wrong in the late Tony Keady case. That would have five in a row, not two in a row. Can you imagine Cody not getting that five in a row out of that team. Can you imagine them, as you say, not been focused.
Limeick on the other hand were equally profligate back in thirties. They lost no match, except one from the All Ireland Final of 33 to the Munster Final of 37. They gave such a display in the 1935 Munster Final v Tipp when at their absolute zenith that it was said they would easily have beaten the pick of KK and Tipp. However on final day in a downpour Kilkenny, as so often before wore down the favourites and were ahead by a single with a minute to go in the game when Limerick were awarded a free. Timmy Ryan the captain was the usual free taker but Mick Mackey, of all players, decided to tap over the 'simple' free. In the awful conditions the ball slipped off his hurley and fell short. KK cleared their lines and against the odds were champions. Shades of last Saturday all over again. The following year LK did an American tour, returned and absolutely destroyed Tipp and Kilkenny, one by eleven points and the other by thirteen and of course won the All Ireland. However the three in a row was gone and yes as you would where was the focus. That team won four Munster in a row, something no Tipp team has ever done, and five National Leagues, a record unequalled, but the prospect of real history making had died on the wet in 35, possibly due to lack of focus. KK in that position would never have let it slip. You just have to admire their utter attention to detail and their savage dedication to the game, to the exclusion BTW of every other sporting code. Last Saturday they celebrated their victory as if they had never qualified for a final before and behind us in the stand, during the interval a few old KK men were still giving out about their 'misfortune' at having come off second best in the '73 to old Shannon side. They have won eighteen finals since but they still bitterly rue the one that got away. You cannot but admire them. They are are splendid old hurlingcurmudgeons and men after my own heart.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 30/07/2019 08:40:16    2218578

Replying To someday:  "I think you're a fair poster for what it's worth it was no way near a penalty if the last 5 yrs are taking into consideration. Of course every county has them but I never heard moaning and whinging as i did last Sat plus thurles last yr. I was trying to be fair saying we got away with this or that but the kk boys around me anyway couldn't see anything other than what favoured kk.

By the way the better team won on the day but beidh la eile ann"
Every county does have them. I suppose those who crow the loudest are always heard the most.

We're all blinded by our own team though. They do little wrong in our eyes. Then the fans in the stand have tunnel vision which is increased by the intensity and excitement of the match. And by intensity I don't mean the argument of Leinster intensity and Munster free flowing hurling, I just mean the speed and non-stop go of the match by both sides. We don't see our own supporters as whinging because most of the time we agree with them, rightly or wrongly.

I saw Kilkenny supporters giving out during the match on Sunday but just a few. They were complaining that Limerick were getting frees for nothing. I disagreed with them on the basis that I thought a lot of Limerick's frees were frees but I agreed in some ways because I felt Kilkenny just weren't getting frees for very similar instances. Then coming out of the match I heard some Limerick supporters giving out stink about the sideline / 65 (fair enough) and that all the frees that Kilkenny got but Limerick didn't. Kilkenny got 2 scoreable fress in the second half (scored one early and missed a late one). Itdefies logic that 35 minutes hurling at that intensity and physicality could only concede 2 fouls.

I'm sure the vast majority of Limerick fans walked out of Croke Park saying ye were beaten by the better team on the day but we didn't hear them. Likewise, the majority of Kilkenny fans walked out saying, 'we were the better team, we could easily have lost, we go again the next day' but again, we weren't heard saying that.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 30/07/2019 11:11:27    2218656

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Fair play, good points. Although when Gillane was running for a ball it is hard to see why he would be hanging off the defender. I feel at the last call the linesman was the main culprit and Cusack made the same point on the TV."
I agree the linesman should have seen it had he been better positioned. I just feel it would be very difficult to definitively say the ball deviated when he was flat on with it. It would be much easier from an angle. The umpire could have seen it though had he not been standing behind the goal near the opposite side. The other umpire could easily have stood back to cover the angle for the point if it had gone in,. Definitely no need for him to stand where he did with hawk-eye.

Re. Gillane and Lawlor, it is all guesswork on my part as to why Gillane had his hurl but the fact is Gillane threw it away. If Lawlor was standing on that side of Gillane, he would have had a headstart and naturally Gillane tried to gain back the advantage. Lawlor is fast so there was no guarantee that Gillane would have burned him for pace. There is every chance that Lawlor was holding Gillane too by the way. My point was that you could use technology to make these decisions but you slow the game down and possibly not be in a position to determine who was fouling who. In my opinion, if the penalty decision was reviewed, it could easily have been a clash ball on the 21 rather than a penalty because both of them were pulling and dragging.

KK4Life (Kilkenny) - Posts: 56 - 30/07/2019 11:20:04    2218664

Am i correct guys that because Buckley wasnt 13m away from the cut, that it should have been a limerick frees 13m closer in or on the 20m line, instead of a 65. Both of these were clear to me watching the game naked eye.
Think myself it was a Limerick line ball.

Champions2018 (Limerick) - Posts: 4 - 30/07/2019 11:27:28    2218670