Kerry V Donegal

Replying To TheUsername:  "Think this game will be won and lost in the kick out strategy, Patton isn't the easy target Clarke is on kick outs, in fact he is in line for an All Star in my opinion, he had developed a unique style of accuracy and speed at a low height and really evolved the kick out following on from Cluxton and Beggan.

Given that I can't see Kerry winning as much ball high up the field and midfield as they did yesterday. Without that foundation Kerry might struggle triggering their forwards, while their defense may be that bit more under pressure and will need to step up.

That said Donegal looked a bit shaken with the running game yesterday. So who can ever get the better of the kick outs, wins ball and can trigger their forwards and wins procession in the main comes home with the two points for me.

This game will hinge on those aspects.

Your all very welcome to the City, enjoy!! ;)"
You basically just wrote down what Tomás and joe said on the Sunday game last night :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/07/2019 15:33:09    2211409

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Yeah my thoughts too. Kerry will find it much harder next week. They still have enough to cause Donegal problems though. Donegal are not as solid defensively as they are being made out to be.

I'd put Donegal as slight favourites because of their strength in the middle will probably negate Moran. Really looking forward to this."
I watched them against them against Tyrone and they completely shifted systems, they played a far more contained game and system. Its been quite impressive how they can shift from defensive set up to an expansive one. The more defensive system has Rochford written all over it, very much like his Mayo teams.

The one thing i notice about Donegal is they leave goals beyond them i think they go for points when goals are on. They do have some very good long range kickers, Murphy, McBrearty and Thompson in particular.

I was a bit surprised Meath caused them so many problems yesterday. So Kerry can go into this optimistic, if they can trigger there forwards.

Yesterdays result though for Kerry was key, it would be a tough ask having to go into this and win. While going to Navan will be tough, i dont think it will leave many in Kerry with sleepless nights. So i expect to see Kerry in a Semi.

Be interesting to see how it pans out, if i was Kerry id nearly prefer Dublin in a semi rather then Tyrone - should we both qualify.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/07/2019 17:08:06    2211464

€30 and no concessions - is that not a bit greedy now for a ticket price?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/07/2019 17:34:41    2211480

Replying To TheUsername:  "I watched them against them against Tyrone and they completely shifted systems, they played a far more contained game and system. Its been quite impressive how they can shift from defensive set up to an expansive one. The more defensive system has Rochford written all over it, very much like his Mayo teams.

The one thing i notice about Donegal is they leave goals beyond them i think they go for points when goals are on. They do have some very good long range kickers, Murphy, McBrearty and Thompson in particular.

I was a bit surprised Meath caused them so many problems yesterday. So Kerry can go into this optimistic, if they can trigger there forwards.

Yesterdays result though for Kerry was key, it would be a tough ask having to go into this and win. While going to Navan will be tough, i dont think it will leave many in Kerry with sleepless nights. So i expect to see Kerry in a Semi.

Be interesting to see how it pans out, if i was Kerry id nearly prefer Dublin in a semi rather then Tyrone - should we both qualify."
Meath gave them a bit of trouble and Cavan ran up a nice score against them too. They will probably double up on Clifford but Kerry will have opportunities through Geaney, O'Brien and others. That said, Donegal appear to be outstanding from midfield up and Mcbrearty and Murphy can beat you on their own. I'd be nervous enough about this game tbh, a close defeat would not be the end of the world once we do the business against Meath, who will be looking to give their home fans a victory on the final day. It's in our own hands and once we qualify I don't care who we get in the semi.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 15/07/2019 20:29:38    2211583

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Meath gave them a bit of trouble and Cavan ran up a nice score against them too. They will probably double up on Clifford but Kerry will have opportunities through Geaney, O'Brien and others. That said, Donegal appear to be outstanding from midfield up and Mcbrearty and Murphy can beat you on their own. I'd be nervous enough about this game tbh, a close defeat would not be the end of the world once we do the business against Meath, who will be looking to give their home fans a victory on the final day. It's in our own hands and once we qualify I don't care who we get in the semi."
We probably will double up on Clifford or have someone sweep in front of him. We have a few extremely good man-markers too though who will have big jobs to do. Both forward lines are great so the defenses have their hands full. I think this game could be the best of the season. Two excellent coming teams.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1319 - 15/07/2019 21:00:53    2211608

Replying To TheHermit:  "€30 and no concessions - is that not a bit greedy now for a ticket price?"
€30 for the double header is great value

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 15/07/2019 22:43:06    2211658

Come on donegal. Nothing personal to Kerry folk.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/07/2019 22:51:08    2211668

The one player that could cause us serious problems this weekend is Stephen O' Brien. We're struggle against strong fast runners and he's like Mc Hugh, almost impossible to stop without fouling him.
We certainly leave gaps at the back but have great options up front and there is no way that Kerry full backs will be as tight as Meaths were at the weekend. Meath full back line were immense!
We probably need the win slightly more than a Kerry with our last game away to Mayo so hopefully Donegal by a few!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 15/07/2019 23:01:36    2211675

If Kerry play like they did on Sunday I think we will be in bother, we need a big performance from everyone to be with a shout, looking forward to it,buzz is building nicely here in the northwest.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 15/07/2019 23:44:57    2211684

Slightly favour Donegal for this one. I don't think Kerry will be able to shut down Shaun Patton's kickouts, especially in Croke Park. Donegal are also very patient when they have the ball and won't give it back as easily as Mayo did. This will reduce the amount of possession Kerry get in comparison to the Mayo game considerably. Donegal will have no problem playing around the Kerry sweeper patiently and when the chance comes bursting through the middle. At the other end Kerry forwards will have to deal with more bodies sweeping up in front of them.

Kerry might also find it hard to get to the same mental level for the second week running. You could see how hyped they were for Mayo in Killarney. The atmosphere won't be the same in Croke Park, and they know they can lose and still beat Meath the following week to qualify.

So Donegal this week for me.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 16/07/2019 07:23:25    2211715

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "If Kerry play like they did on Sunday I think we will be in bother, we need a big performance from everyone to be with a shout, looking forward to it,buzz is building nicely here in the northwest."
If ye nullify midfield, something Mayo failed to do on Sunday, the Kerry forwards won't have the same launchpad to run riot. Surely ye won't play as poorly as Mayo? Killarney provided a perfect storm for Kerry and they just didn't look back while Mayo had one of those days where nothing went right. It's hard to imagine that they'll have the same freedom against Donegal. After all, ye've been given fair warning of what could happen if ye're not on ye're game. If they do brush ye aside the way they did with Mayo, then we'll all sit up and take note. But until then an element of doubt remains.

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 16/07/2019 09:23:13    2211725

Thoroughly looking forward to this. I think we will give Kerry chances, we've given every team all year plenty of chances. But it'll be about winning primary possession and taking our own chances. If we can win midfield and are ruthless with our own score-taking, then I think we will win. I would absolutely love to see Murphy rotated inside quite a bit to test that Kerry full-back line but after Moran's performance in Killarney I don't think we will see it at all.

Hopefully Paddy McGrath is back for this one as we will need him.

McBrearty seems to be back to full sharpness after the last day. I also think Eoin McHugh will start in the half-forwards, possibly in for Niall O'Donnell who hasn't come alive just yet (although I think Croke Park would suit Niall). Ciaran Thompson may also be someone who may drop to the bench although again, with midfield being such a key battle his size and fielding ability would be an asset in between the 45s.

Very excited now to test ourselves against one of our main rivals in a huge championship match.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/07/2019 09:42:54    2211730

I gather Donie Buckley, from Casteisland, was instrumental in getting Kerry to crack the Mayo knockouts. In the second half, Mayo returned the favour. Can Kerry pull it off again with Donegal?

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/07/2019 11:04:28    2211772

Replying To offyertrolley:  "If ye nullify midfield, something Mayo failed to do on Sunday, the Kerry forwards won't have the same launchpad to run riot. Surely ye won't play as poorly as Mayo? Killarney provided a perfect storm for Kerry and they just didn't look back while Mayo had one of those days where nothing went right. It's hard to imagine that they'll have the same freedom against Donegal. After all, ye've been given fair warning of what could happen if ye're not on ye're game. If they do brush ye aside the way they did with Mayo, then we'll all sit up and take note. But until then an element of doubt remains."
Which team will be more reliable and adapt better under pressure? It will be won and lost on the sideline!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/07/2019 11:12:12    2211781

Replying To eunans4ever:  "€30 for the double header is great value"
But why no concessions for these tickets it was same for match last weekend - surely it's a bit unfair to people of my fathers age who normally would get €5/€10 off as OAPs.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/07/2019 11:14:01    2211782

Replying To HighKings:  "Slightly favour Donegal for this one. I don't think Kerry will be able to shut down Shaun Patton's kickouts, especially in Croke Park. Donegal are also very patient when they have the ball and won't give it back as easily as Mayo did. This will reduce the amount of possession Kerry get in comparison to the Mayo game considerably. Donegal will have no problem playing around the Kerry sweeper patiently and when the chance comes bursting through the middle. At the other end Kerry forwards will have to deal with more bodies sweeping up in front of them.

Kerry might also find it hard to get to the same mental level for the second week running. You could see how hyped they were for Mayo in Killarney. The atmosphere won't be the same in Croke Park, and they know they can lose and still beat Meath the following week to qualify.

So Donegal this week for me."
I doubt that. The famine is up to five years, if we're not careful. Where they might lack is in street smarts and brawn. We'll see!

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/07/2019 11:23:14    2211786

A tight game in store for sure. We look vulnerable at times against Meath but the encouraging thing was that when needed, we were able to lift it a gear or two and won fairly comfortably in the end with the scoreline flattering us somewhat,

Were Kerry that good against Mayo? Or were Mayo just very poor on the day? I think a bit of both. We'll need to curb David Moran's influence around the middle that's for sure. If we can do that, it limits the quantity and quality of ball going into Clifford. Geaney and O'Donoghue are dangerous as well, but maybe don't carry the same sense of danger as a few years ago.

Stephen O'Brien and Seanie O'Shea are key men as well. I think O'Brien has really developed into a leader for Kerry. He was magnificent in the Munster final and he really led by example against Mayo the other day. He will need some close attention - I'm think Odhran McFadden-Ferry might be the man.

For ourselves it will be interesting to see how our younger lads can embrace the occasion. Playing Kerry in Croke Park has a certain aura about it. If it doesn't get the better of us and we play without fear I think we can really put it up to Kerry. Even at that we'll need a bit of luck, heart says a Donegal win by 2 points.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9115 - 16/07/2019 11:47:12    2211803

Replying To westkerry:  "Ive a sneaky feeling Donegal will win this one.
We haven't won a big game in croke park since 2015.
Should be a fascinating game really looking forward to it."
Neither have we, if you exclude round 4 of the back door in 2015/16, won in Croke park championship matches, since beating Dublin in 2014. Both teams are due a big win here.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 16/07/2019 12:02:29    2211809

Replying To PyatPree:  "Pity it's not up in Donegal or Killarney, will many travel to croke park"
Cant see too much of a crowd my self. First half of game 1 will be fairly empty and I wouldn't expect more than 20,000 in the ground for 2nd half of Donegal v Kerry (13,000 Donegal, 5,000 Kerry and 2,000 left from Meath v Mayo).

13,000 thousand Donegal fans is probably a bit optimistic as our home game at the weekend only attracted just over 15,000. From what I'm hearing a lot of fans are giving this game a miss with a view to heading down to Castlebar in a few weeks.

Antifa (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 16/07/2019 13:03:28    2211838

Replying To Antifa:  "Cant see too much of a crowd my self. First half of game 1 will be fairly empty and I wouldn't expect more than 20,000 in the ground for 2nd half of Donegal v Kerry (13,000 Donegal, 5,000 Kerry and 2,000 left from Meath v Mayo).

13,000 thousand Donegal fans is probably a bit optimistic as our home game at the weekend only attracted just over 15,000. From what I'm hearing a lot of fans are giving this game a miss with a view to heading down to Castlebar in a few weeks."
If Mayo win they will stick around to shout us on as they need us to win to have any real hope. We may need the extra support but im sure some from mayo might not be too fond of kerry so it may not be the most vocal of support.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 16/07/2019 13:41:39    2211856