The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The point is that money did not create this team. We've just been blessed with what is an unbeliable team and manager that came together at the right time.

There's a desperate attempt going on here to discredit this teams achievements. End of!!!"
Of course not.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/06/2019 19:31:10    2201839

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "I know this topic has been done to death but this is an article the owl lad wrote so just thought I'd throw it on here...

The Dubs, The Monies and the Prejudices.
The Dublin football team's quest for five in a row is causing a lot of angst among commentators and journalists alike. Fearing that no team can stop them they are getting their retaliation in first before their worst nightmares are realised.
The Sunday Game programme last Sunday provided the live coverage of the Leinster football final between Dublin and Meath. The programme opened up with a 'Prime Time Special' which could have been titled "Oh My God, How Has It Come To This" in relation to Dublin's football success. It honed in on the amount of monies that Dublin GAA receive from headquarters to run their business and one was left in no doubt that it was this factor that was the real reason for Dublin's success. Back to the studio and despite Ciaran Whelan's gallant protestations that this present Dublin team could in no way be impacted by Dublin's general increase in funding and that they and their Manager are of exceptional talent, the host, Joanne Cantwell kept coming back with "But what about the money?"
The hope, seemingly, is that if you keep throwing the mud, it will stick..
Is it plausible that in any other sport across the world when TV coverage of the final of a competition between two teams that it would include the finances of one of those teams for nearly half of that match's playing time?
And before we lose all reality altogether, all these players are amateurs!!
Other commentators and journalists alike play to their base by acting the bull in the Dublin football china shop.
Diarmuid Connolly was one of the finest pieces of china around. He is gone now. Before the false narrative of the money came into play he filled their column inches and us Dubs feel that a genuine injustice was done to an amateur genius like him.
-But what about the money?

If you are going to equate funding and Dublin GAA success well let's just have a closer look.
In 2016, Mayo were the biggest spenders on their Inter county teams with €1.6m followed by Dublin, Cork, Galway, Tipperary and Roscommon respectively as those having spent over €1million.
In 2017 Cork were the biggest spenders on their intercounty teams with €1.7m expended followed by Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Limerick, Tipperary and Kerry respectively as those having expended over €1million.
While not having the breakdown for 2018 it is Galway who top the list with €1.8m
Kerry was going for five in a row in 1982. In their first final in 1979 they beat Dublin by 17 pts. In the following finals they beat Dublin again, by 11 pts, Roscommon by 3 pts and Offaly by 7 pts respectively, before succumbing to that famous last minute goal by Offaly's Seamus Darby in the 1982 final.
Dublin's present quest for five in a row started in 2015 when they beat Kerry by 3pts, Mayo by 1pt in 2016 (after a replay), Mayo again by 1pt in 2017 and Tyrone by 6pts in 2018. In the four finals combined Kerry won their finals by a collective margin of 38pts as against Dublin's 11pts.. Was there a collective scratching of heads as to what could be done about Kerry's dominance.. Was there an inquest into the type of grass that was growing in Kerry?, into what type of eggs that the Kerry hens were laying?
My recollection of that time is that all the talk was of how good this Kerry team and their Manager, Mick O'Dwyer were.
But what about the money?

Now let us look at some other facts that eh.. sort of exposes the not so extraordinary success of Dublin GAA.
In hurling, Kilkenny have won 11 senior Hurling titles since 2000. Was there an inquest into the type of magic that cats in Kilkenny were casting on their players? How many titles have Dublin Hurlers won in that period? How many finals have they competed in during that period.. The answer, sadly, is none to both of those questions. In fact it is 1938 since Dublin last won a senior hurling title. 81 long years and do you know what folks, there was only one Dublin man, Jim Byrne in the team.

Dublin have won one Minor football All Ireland since 1984. Kerry have won seven, including five in a row that they completed last year.. and it could go on.

Dublin last won a Minor Hurling All Ireland in 1965. Since then Kilkenny have won 14 titles, Galway 12, Cork 11 and Tipperary 8.

Dublin Camogie haven't won an All Ireland since 1984.
In the period since then Cork have won 14 titles, Kilkenny have won 9, Tipperary 5 and Wexford 4.
Dublin has not even contested a final since then.
- But what about the money?

Between 2005 and 2016 Cork ladies football, have won 11 all Ireland titles, 5 in a row (2005 -2009) and 6 in a row (2011-2016) with only Dublin stopping them in 2010 from winning.. TWELVE IN A ROW.

Dublin GAA has many problems. Large Dublin areas have no GAA at all in them. Finglas, with a bigger population than Leitrim has only one GAA club, Erins Isle. Clondalkin, with a population of nearly 50,000 also has only one GAA club, Round Towers, the Club of Jim Gavin. Neither clubs have competed at the top level of Dublin GAA for many years now. GAA in all working class areas of Dublin is seriously under threat and it seems that the powers that be are silent on this and are prepared to concede these heavily populated areas to soccer. Over the years both Gaelic Games and Soccer have done a decent job in deprived areas of Dublin. For areas like these to lose an established body like the GAA will lead to serious social consequences for those same areas down the road.
These areas could do with massive GAA investment.. ah but you know yourself..

So what about the money?
Definitely look again at the distribution of monies but don't base it on the Dublin model because the Dublin model, if you were to base it on money, success, participation and retention has failed dramatically. No doubt, the investment deficits that I have outlined above in Dublin are badly needed across all counties.
And please Mr.& Mrs Croke Park when you are adding up your projected income for next year and beyond please drop the Sky package so that the 60 year-old man or woman all across Ireland who have probably spent all their lives looking after GAA teams can watch their county team play through the TV licence money that they pay to the National Broadcaster.
And finally back to this great Dublin Football team.
As the then club manager of Clanna Gael Fontenoy GAA club in Ringsend I witnessed first-hand the changes that were introduced in 2010 after Meath had beaten them in the Leinster semi-final and put five goals past them in doing so. They were so unlucky to lose out to Cork in the All Ireland semi-final later that summer. In the winter months that followed they gathered in our clubhouse at 8.00pm each Sunday night. Sunday night!!.. Down at the back pitch beside the beach and as cold a wind that would test the Russian Ice Hockey team, blowing in from the Irish Sea. When everyone else was winding down and heading for the leaba to prepare for the week ahead these guys were testing out the changes that Pat Gilroy and Mickey Whelan were trying to implement in an A v B match. This was probably their 5th or 6th gathering of the week. It was very much stop start. Mickey Whelan played bad Cop, screaming at players if they got it wrong and Pat Gilroy, the good Cop, putting a consoling hand on the offending player's back and whispering to him what he did wrong in the game plan..
I kicked the ball back to Stephen Cluxton a few times from behind the goal. Little did I know then that he was to change the face of Gaelic Football forever.
They usually pulled out of our Car Park at 10.00 each Sunday night. It was nights like these, I believe, as they tried to incorporate a defensive strategy , that the basis for the success of this football team's era was laid and by getting over that long 16 year wait the following September.
In came Jim Gavin and with all the polishing cloths of a Dublin nanny doing her brasses years ago, put the finishing shines to a steely exterior.
And running parallel to all of this were the likes of a man named Paddy Christie who with others and against all the odds were producing players from Ballymun, one of Dublin's most socially deprived areas. Ballymun Kickhams have produced the backbone of players throughout this reign and incredibly their players hold 26 All Ireland medals between them since 2011. What some of these players achieved in the face of such adversity is nothing short of incredible. Absolute Heroes!!
This achievement alone lays folly the notion that money is a contributor to this wonderful, incredible, fantastic and exhilarating Dublin Football team.
If other counties believe the fake news well then it will be longer still before they break their dominance.
Deep down they know what has to be done, and they know it has nothing to do with money.
Suck it up folks!!!!!
Shay Connolly"
Ah yeah senior team expenses listed and no mention of games development funding. How convenient

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 256 - 27/06/2019 19:44:00    2201844

Replying To Green_Gold:  "No offence intended but I couldn't even be bothered reading it as its another attempt to justify why Dublin get most of the funding and how it has absolutely no bearing on their success lol.

In other sports it it accepted that money brings success. Team GB invested millions and hey presto they are winning loads of Olympic gold medals. Nobody can deny that Dublin have the most talented group of players and to be honest they probably don't need the money but it does help. If money isn't important, then why not let the weaker counties have a larger share of it?"
You did read it , lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 19:48:22    2201846

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "I know this topic has been done to death but this is an article the owl lad wrote so just thought I'd throw it on here...

The Dubs, The Monies and the Prejudices.
The Dublin football team's quest for five in a row is causing a lot of angst among commentators and journalists alike. Fearing that no team can stop them they are getting their retaliation in first before their worst nightmares are realised.
The Sunday Game programme last Sunday provided the live coverage of the Leinster football final between Dublin and Meath. The programme opened up with a 'Prime Time Special' which could have been titled "Oh My God, How Has It Come To This" in relation to Dublin's football success. It honed in on the amount of monies that Dublin GAA receive from headquarters to run their business and one was left in no doubt that it was this factor that was the real reason for Dublin's success. Back to the studio and despite Ciaran Whelan's gallant protestations that this present Dublin team could in no way be impacted by Dublin's general increase in funding and that they and their Manager are of exceptional talent, the host, Joanne Cantwell kept coming back with "But what about the money?"
The hope, seemingly, is that if you keep throwing the mud, it will stick..
Is it plausible that in any other sport across the world when TV coverage of the final of a competition between two teams that it would include the finances of one of those teams for nearly half of that match's playing time?
And before we lose all reality altogether, all these players are amateurs!!
Other commentators and journalists alike play to their base by acting the bull in the Dublin football china shop.
Diarmuid Connolly was one of the finest pieces of china around. He is gone now. Before the false narrative of the money came into play he filled their column inches and us Dubs feel that a genuine injustice was done to an amateur genius like him.
-But what about the money?

If you are going to equate funding and Dublin GAA success well let's just have a closer look.
In 2016, Mayo were the biggest spenders on their Inter county teams with €1.6m followed by Dublin, Cork, Galway, Tipperary and Roscommon respectively as those having spent over €1million.
In 2017 Cork were the biggest spenders on their intercounty teams with €1.7m expended followed by Dublin, Mayo, Galway, Limerick, Tipperary and Kerry respectively as those having expended over €1million.
While not having the breakdown for 2018 it is Galway who top the list with €1.8m
Kerry was going for five in a row in 1982. In their first final in 1979 they beat Dublin by 17 pts. In the following finals they beat Dublin again, by 11 pts, Roscommon by 3 pts and Offaly by 7 pts respectively, before succumbing to that famous last minute goal by Offaly's Seamus Darby in the 1982 final.
Dublin's present quest for five in a row started in 2015 when they beat Kerry by 3pts, Mayo by 1pt in 2016 (after a replay), Mayo again by 1pt in 2017 and Tyrone by 6pts in 2018. In the four finals combined Kerry won their finals by a collective margin of 38pts as against Dublin's 11pts.. Was there a collective scratching of heads as to what could be done about Kerry's dominance.. Was there an inquest into the type of grass that was growing in Kerry?, into what type of eggs that the Kerry hens were laying?
My recollection of that time is that all the talk was of how good this Kerry team and their Manager, Mick O'Dwyer were.

Now let us look at some other facts that eh.. sort of exposes the not so extraordinary success of Dublin GAA.
In hurling, Kilkenny have won 11 senior Hurling titles since 2000. Was there an inquest into the type of magic that cats in Kilkenny were casting on their players? How many titles have Dublin Hurlers won in that period? How many finals have they competed in during that period.. The answer, sadly, is none to both of those questions. In fact it is 1938 since Dublin last won a senior hurling title. 81 long years and do you know what folks, there was only one Dublin man, Jim Byrne in the team.

Dublin have won one Minor football All Ireland since 1984. Kerry have won seven, including five in a row that they completed last year.. and it could go on.

Dublin last won a Minor Hurling All Ireland in 1965. Since then Kilkenny have won 14 titles, Galway 12, Cork 11 and Tipperary 8.

Dublin Camogie haven't won an All Ireland since 1984.
In the period since then Cork have won 14 titles, Kilkenny have won 9, Tipperary 5 and Wexford 4.
Dublin has not even contested a final since then.

Between 2005 and 2016 Cork ladies football, have won 11 all Ireland titles, 5 in a row (2005 -2009) and 6 in a row (2011-2016) with only Dublin stopping them in 2010 from winning.. TWELVE IN A ROW.

Dublin GAA has many problems. Large Dublin areas have no GAA at all in them. Finglas, with a bigger population than Leitrim has only one GAA club, Erins Isle. Clondalkin, with a population of nearly 50,000 also has only one GAA club, Round Towers, the Club of Jim Gavin. Neither clubs have competed at the top level of Dublin GAA for many years now. GAA in all working class areas of Dublin is seriously under threat and it seems that the powers that be are silent on this and are prepared to concede these heavily populated areas to soccer. Over the years both Gaelic Games and Soccer have done a decent job in deprived areas of Dublin. For areas like these to lose an established body like the GAA will lead to serious social consequences for those same areas down the road.
These areas could do with massive GAA investment.. ah but you know yourself..

So what about the money?
Definitely look again at the distribution of monies but don't base it on the Dublin model because the Dublin model, if you were to base it on money, success, participation and retention has failed dramatically. No doubt, the investment deficits that I have outlined above in Dublin are badly needed across all counties.
And please Mr.& Mrs Croke Park when you are adding up your projected income for next year and beyond please drop the Sky package so that the 60 year-old man or woman all across Ireland who have probably spent all their lives looking after GAA teams can watch their county team play through the TV licence money that they pay to the National Broadcaster.
And finally back to this great Dublin Football team.
As the then club manager of Clanna Gael Fontenoy GAA club in Ringsend I witnessed first-hand the changes that were introduced in 2010 after Meath had beaten them in the Leinster semi-final and put five goals past them in doing so. They were so unlucky to lose out to Cork in the All Ireland semi-final later that summer. In the winter months that followed they gathered in our clubhouse at 8.00pm each Sunday night. Sunday night!!.. Down at the back pitch beside the beach and as cold a wind that would test the Russian Ice Hockey team, blowing in from the Irish Sea. When everyone else was winding down and heading for the leaba to prepare for the week ahead these guys were testing out the changes that Pat Gilroy and Mickey Whelan were trying to implement in an A v B match. This was probably their 5th or 6th gathering of the week. It was very much stop start. Mickey Whelan played bad Cop, screaming at players if they got it wrong and Pat Gilroy, the good Cop, putting a consoling hand on the offending player's back and whispering to him what he did wrong in the game plan..
I kicked the ball back to Stephen Cluxton a few times from behind the goal. Little did I know then that he was to change the face of Gaelic Football forever.
They usually pulled out of our Car Park at 10.00 each Sunday night. It was nights like these, I believe, as they tried to incorporate a defensive strategy , that the basis for the success of this football team's era was laid and by getting over that long 16 year wait the following September.
In came Jim Gavin and with all the polishing cloths of a Dublin nanny doing her brasses years ago, put the finishing shines to a steely exterior.
And running parallel to all of this were the likes of a man named Paddy Christie who with others and against all the odds were producing players from Ballymun, one of Dublin's most socially deprived areas. Ballymun Kickhams have produced the backbone of players throughout this reign and incredibly their players hold 26 All Ireland medals between them since 2011. What some of these players achieved in the face of such adversity is nothing short of incredible. Absolute Heroes!!
This achievement alone lays folly the notion that money is a contributor to this wonderful, incredible, fantastic and exhilarating Dublin Football team.
If other counties believe the fake news well then it will be longer still before they break their dominance.
Deep down they know what has to be done, and they know it has nothing to do with money.
Suck it up folks!!!!!
Shay Connolly"
Good piece lad. Exceptional team. Best Dublin team since the 70s. I ve always hoped Dublin lose any time I watch them play. And for most of that time since the 1980s Ive been lucky! Some of that because Ive alot of friends from Dublin who are insufferable when they dont lose! But I agree 100% with your Dad. I dont think this team's success is down to money. You ve a once in a lifetime collection of driven talented players with a hunger to win more and managed by a great motivator. Like Kilkenny in the noughties, Kerry in the late 70s. I think more relevant to Dublins success this decade apart from that isnt money. Its playing population. Kilkenny, Cork and Tipp have the largest playing populations at hurling and unsurprisingly have won around 3/4 of the AIHCs. This means your chances of producing a golden generation of players is increased.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16424 - 27/06/2019 19:50:51    2201847

Replying To cavanman47:  "He calls any notion that money has helped Dublin "fake news".

Well that's me convinced!"
Theres a surprise !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 19:50:56    2201848

No county player current or ex will come out and criticise the money issue itll be interpreted as sour grapes.
Everyone outside of Dublin can see whats happening, The GAA has created something that is destroying the game proof is in front of their eyes in the falling attendances.
To quote the majority of Dubs ive heard "Money didnt make these lads" thats true ofcourse what it has done however is money create the environment for sustainability and success.
How many rich franchises are unsuccessful?

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/06/2019 19:51:06    2201849

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Stopped reading after you said in 2016 mayo were the biggest spenders followed by Dublin ,seen as mayo had to pay massive hotel costs many times ,pay their players massive travel expenses to travel from Dublin and other places to mayo for training and matches 2 or 3 times a week for a few months something that Dublin didn't have to do either of and yet ye were still 2nd biggest spenders ahead of other counties who had to do the same as mayo makes me wonder what ye spent the money on for the team.
Also think mayo and other counties had to raise That money themselves.
Saying that I don't think Dublin's success is down to the money they got from gaa ya it helped but there a fantastic team just don't go on about what counties spend on the team when Dublin don't have to spend money on things other counties have to"
I very much doubt you stopped reading !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 19:52:43    2201850

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Absolutely ridiculous piece. Tribe in the highest order.

Few things.....you say mayo etc were the biggest spenders in 15,16 etc. Do you know how much it costs to put up 35 odd players and maybe 15 backroom team in a hotel in Dublin? Or travel expenses in general, something the Dubs don't really have to worry about.

Also the last line....about knowing what other counties have to do. I presume you mean other counties have to work harder etc. Bull.
What about when Dublin weren't as successful as they are now. Were you told to suck it up? NO!!! You were given millions to improve.

Also what about Bertie and the rest of them giving ye millions?? Should that not have been shared out?"
What about Bertie lol , what about taking the queens pound ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 19:55:04    2201851

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "The point is that money did not create this team. We've just been blessed with what is an unbeliable team and manager that came together at the right time.

There's a desperate attempt going on here to discredit this teams achievements. End of!!!"
Tell your Da to stay in out of the heat bud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/06/2019 20:01:28    2201853

Replying To legendzxix:  "The GAA want to be strong in the capital. They want to fend off competition from rugby and soccer. It's hard to see them reversing the trend of investment into GAA.

The inter provincial championship does offer a fair solution. Aside from Gaelic Games, Dublin has essentially become a province. It's nothing unusual in Irish history. Once upon a time there were 7 provinces in Ireland.

Picture the following inter provincial championship:
Dublin
Leinster
Munster
Connaught
Ulster

It'll be a fair level of competition. It offers an opportunity to embrace the evolution of the game in the capital and to provide them with a meaningful level of competition."
Pure nonsense

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 20:03:11    2201854

There are 31 GAA counties in Ireland that aren't Dublin. Plus a few overseas boards. Stop talking about the GAA like it's some sort of detached entity that is somehow controlled by one county.

Dublin County Board will keep pumping money into getting children to play GAA. That's not going to stop. Money that comes both centrally and internally.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13833 - 27/06/2019 20:03:45    2201855

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tom has a cushy gig with RTÉ and you don't bite the hand that feeds you."
I always liked Tomás :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8808 - 27/06/2019 20:10:25    2201859

The Dublin lads have convinced me that the central funding difference has nothing to do with Dublin's run of success.
So surely it makes sense to bring their total down to €0 for a few years and give it to a county who might invest it more prudently?

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 27/06/2019 20:11:04    2201862

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Tell your Da to stay in out of the heat bud."
Leave it out Kid .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2847 - 27/06/2019 20:56:44    2201879

Replying To westkerry:  "No county player current or ex will come out and criticise the money issue itll be interpreted as sour grapes.
Everyone outside of Dublin can see whats happening, The GAA has created something that is destroying the game proof is in front of their eyes in the falling attendances.
To quote the majority of Dubs ive heard "Money didnt make these lads" thats true ofcourse what it has done however is money create the environment for sustainability and success.
How many rich franchises are unsuccessful?"
Yeah it's real Irish alright. "Everyone outside Dublin can see what's happening". So you mean central council and the governing bodies that are composed of non-Dubs in the majority. It's like the Croke Park home issue. Dublin is dictated to by Central Council, non-Dubs for the most part. Lobby your county board if you have a problem with funding and/or where Dublin play their games.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4747 - 27/06/2019 21:09:24    2201884

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah it's real Irish alright. "Everyone outside Dublin can see what's happening". So you mean central council and the governing bodies that are composed of non-Dubs in the majority. It's like the Croke Park home issue. Dublin is dictated to by Central Council, non-Dubs for the most part. Lobby your county board if you have a problem with funding and/or where Dublin play their games."
Joxer the dogs in the street know what's going on. If your involved in your local club you'll know rightly how disconnected the county board are from the members and their views. ( If they listened to its members the clubs fixture mess would be long sorted )
Dublin will win 5 in a row and while celebrated in the capital outside of the M50 it'll be met with a shrug, Great team playing in a flawed system.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/06/2019 21:36:45    2201892

Knew the culchies would be upset by this ;)

Anyway one thing I've noticed on here is the amount of kerry posters that constantly moan and try to discredit this teams achievements.

The big bad dubs are here to stay lads the GAA is finished bla bla bla... Doomsday merchants.

You can just tell they are hurting big time. They can't stand this Dublin teams success!! Wasn't a peep out of them when we were winning nothing. Sure they loved us... And why wouldn't they... Considering we are their biggest rival in GAA yet failed to beat them in championship football in 30 years. Along comes a golden generation of Dublin footballers and they haven't beaten us this decade... So of course it must be the money. Just like the excuses they rolled out when they couldn't get a win over Tyrone in the noughties, too rough that Tyrone side they said. Very sore losers that lot ;)

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 27/06/2019 21:38:13    2201893

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Absolutely ridiculous piece. Tribe in the highest order.

Few things.....you say mayo etc were the biggest spenders in 15,16 etc. Do you know how much it costs to put up 35 odd players and maybe 15 backroom team in a hotel in Dublin? Or travel expenses in general, something the Dubs don't really have to worry about.

Also the last line....about knowing what other counties have to do. I presume you mean other counties have to work harder etc. Bull.
What about when Dublin weren't as successful as they are now. Were you told to suck it up? NO!!! You were given millions to improve.

Also what about Bertie and the rest of them giving ye millions?? Should that not have been shared out?"
The point you and others just don't get at all is that Dublins money is not spent on the Dublin Senior football team. It is spent on developing the games, you know all four GAA games, that is two codes more than your county has to worry about. And because you and your like place gaelic inter-County above everything else you are incapable of an understanding. Urban myth (well rural myth) has replaced reality and perspective. My club Na Fianna has more fixtures in a given week than a lot of counties have. The point is what would you prefer hordes of Dublins playing the games or not? I believe you and your like couldn't care less. This is just another petty whinge, monumental begrugdery because most counties are simply NOT senior Inter County standard. Hurling is a true'er reflection of the game standards. So people want Dublin to be capped because they doing things right and the Dubs money due gets chucked at developing hurling in Tyrone? You are away with the fairies

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4955 - 27/06/2019 21:38:49    2201894

Replying To Joxer:  "Yeah it's real Irish alright. "Everyone outside Dublin can see what's happening". So you mean central council and the governing bodies that are composed of non-Dubs in the majority. It's like the Croke Park home issue. Dublin is dictated to by Central Council, non-Dubs for the most part. Lobby your county board if you have a problem with funding and/or where Dublin play their games."
So are dublin taking the money under duress?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/06/2019 21:56:18    2201900

Replying To arock:  "The point you and others just don't get at all is that Dublins money is not spent on the Dublin Senior football team. It is spent on developing the games, you know all four GAA games, that is two codes more than your county has to worry about. And because you and your like place gaelic inter-County above everything else you are incapable of an understanding. Urban myth (well rural myth) has replaced reality and perspective. My club Na Fianna has more fixtures in a given week than a lot of counties have. The point is what would you prefer hordes of Dublins playing the games or not? I believe you and your like couldn't care less. This is just another petty whinge, monumental begrugdery because most counties are simply NOT senior Inter County standard. Hurling is a true'er reflection of the game standards. So people want Dublin to be capped because they doing things right and the Dubs money due gets chucked at developing hurling in Tyrone? You are away with the fairies"
As a matter of interest why shouldn't it be invested in Tyrone hurling?
National Games development funding.
Mask is slipping.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 27/06/2019 22:19:09    2201915