Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

4 above Cluxton Royaldunne will be sick with that one.

To be fair to Meath if they'd taken half their chances it would of been a much closer game , you can't be missing that many chances against anyone nevermind Dublin.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 24/06/2019 22:53:23    2200362

I was fairly impressed with Meath as a work in progress. Onwards and upwards for them. On the funding I think people are being harsh on the GAA they wanted to get kids from non traditional GAA areas (which was a lot of Dublin not long ago) playing GAA and put in a lot of money to do this. It was probably more successful than they ever thought possible. The same should be done for other urban areas - Antrim , Cork, Limerick

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 24/06/2019 23:15:03    2200368

Replying To Young_gael:  "Poetic, no doubt. And yes you have a point. Meath pre-milenium were rough, they could mix rough-housing with skill, and the Boylan era was lightning in a bottle. It was a different time. The 2010 Leinster championship was disgraceful yes, and the fallout still has a certain resonance. But this team isn't from 1987, or 2010. This Meath is nothing like the Meath of years past. Its a young team that simply crumbled yesterday. You could cut these lads some slack and the Meath posters as well and ease up on the sneering man, its not necessary."
Meath have nothing to apologise for over 2010.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 25/06/2019 00:26:55    2200386

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "We don't have as many clubs as you. Less registered players. Receive ridiculously less money from the GAA to develop players underage and increase participation. Far less from the sports capital grants and obviously millions less from sponsorship. We also don't play most of our matches in navan. When you look at the bigger picture we should be losing by 15+ points as all other leinster counties do.

It's a fact that hurling participation in Dublin has increased 98% and I think football has gone up by 58%. Why can't the GAA look to do likewise in Meath and Kildare? Oh yeah because they don't "need" a strong meath or Kildare. Pity because we really need some of that money."
And what kind of money do you need? 1 million, 2 million? I bet no one in Meath or Kildare has even a plan never mind a notion of what to do. If the GAA declares Dublin is self-financing it just means Dublin can (and will have to) go out and earn more money - for itself. And the Dublin sum used to support GDO's say 1.5 million gets divided up by 31 counties you should have enough to just about afford the diesel to cut the grass. The issue is way way bigger than any of that. Unfortunately most counties are going to have to self-finance just like most Dublin clubs without any kind of financial support. Kildare for example should have renovated their county ground or better still invested in their GDO schools system, but no, instead they spent it on a stupid costly centre of Excellence which practically bankrupted them. A plan, a budget, financial support and some targets of their money that is what is needed, begging bowls need to be kicked right off the table.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 25/06/2019 08:46:30    2200422

Replying To bad.monkey:  "I was fairly impressed with Meath as a work in progress. Onwards and upwards for them. On the funding I think people are being harsh on the GAA they wanted to get kids from non traditional GAA areas (which was a lot of Dublin not long ago) playing GAA and put in a lot of money to do this. It was probably more successful than they ever thought possible. The same should be done for other urban areas - Antrim , Cork, Limerick"
Agreed.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 09:19:05    2200430

Replying To Jackeen:  "Agreed."
It would be more progressive for the sport and the organisation as a whole if the narrative of the funding issue also looks at why these county are not receiving development grants rather than why dublin is.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 25/06/2019 10:01:39    2200456

Replying To ctowers:  "It would be more progressive for the sport and the organisation as a whole if the narrative of the funding issue also looks at why these county are not receiving development grants rather than why dublin is."
I think it would be beneficial for the sport if there was more transparency across the board. So many figures being bandied about with no context behind them. Why are Dublin getting so much? How is it decided? What are the guidelines for deciding who gets grants and who doesn't? County boards need to be held accountable for where their funding is going but most importantly your county board represents you. Ask the questions. Why are county boards voting against sending Dublin out of Croke Park? Why aren't they doing what most of you want which is to challenge the funding Dublin are getting?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 10:14:31    2200466

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think it would be beneficial for the sport if there was more transparency across the board. So many figures being bandied about with no context behind them. Why are Dublin getting so much? How is it decided? What are the guidelines for deciding who gets grants and who doesn't? County boards need to be held accountable for where their funding is going but most importantly your county board represents you. Ask the questions. Why are county boards voting against sending Dublin out of Croke Park? Why aren't they doing what most of you want which is to challenge the funding Dublin are getting?"
Isn't it obvious? Counties like Meath, Louth and Kildare are coming cap in hand to the GAA begging for funds to redevelop our crumbling stadiums. Or in Louths case a crumbling grass bank. Louth and Meath cash strapped from building their centres of excellence over the last 10 years.

Dublin don't have this issue. The GAA were able to fund croke park and pay off its debt. As soon as that was done the priority should have been building a 10k stadium in Louth, 25k in Meath and 20k in Kildare. A 40k stadium in Dublin too.

So we these counties relying on Croker to fund the stadiums they won't dare tow the party line. It's a sad day we live in. The GAA revolves around Dublin. At least I am old enough to enjoy the days when the playing field was far more equal. We'll never see that day again.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 12:19:44    2200548

4 points though in a provincial final lads , that's fair poor now. Has that ever been done before ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/06/2019 12:32:16    2200560

Replying To arock:  "And what kind of money do you need? 1 million, 2 million? I bet no one in Meath or Kildare has even a plan never mind a notion of what to do. If the GAA declares Dublin is self-financing it just means Dublin can (and will have to) go out and earn more money - for itself. And the Dublin sum used to support GDO's say 1.5 million gets divided up by 31 counties you should have enough to just about afford the diesel to cut the grass. The issue is way way bigger than any of that. Unfortunately most counties are going to have to self-finance just like most Dublin clubs without any kind of financial support. Kildare for example should have renovated their county ground or better still invested in their GDO schools system, but no, instead they spent it on a stupid costly centre of Excellence which practically bankrupted them. A plan, a budget, financial support and some targets of their money that is what is needed, begging bowls need to be kicked right off the table."
What are you talking about lad? Kildare has one of the best GDO schools and underage systems in the country. Hence why we are one of the strongest counties at underage and best u20 team in the country. This is despite funding our own facilities. Something Dublin, with Leinster council bent over a barrel, never have to worry about.
A little research will save you regularly making a fool of yourself.

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 25/06/2019 16:17:27    2200713

Replying To arock:  "And what kind of money do you need? 1 million, 2 million? I bet no one in Meath or Kildare has even a plan never mind a notion of what to do. If the GAA declares Dublin is self-financing it just means Dublin can (and will have to) go out and earn more money - for itself. And the Dublin sum used to support GDO's say 1.5 million gets divided up by 31 counties you should have enough to just about afford the diesel to cut the grass. The issue is way way bigger than any of that. Unfortunately most counties are going to have to self-finance just like most Dublin clubs without any kind of financial support. Kildare for example should have renovated their county ground or better still invested in their GDO schools system, but no, instead they spent it on a stupid costly centre of Excellence which practically bankrupted them. A plan, a budget, financial support and some targets of their money that is what is needed, begging bowls need to be kicked right off the table."
It's a wild assumption that county boards around the country have no plans. That is a typical counter argument that does not stand up any more. It never did in the first place. But for some strange reason, county boards around Ireland simply must not have been trying hard enough, nor had the right plans, nor knocked on the correct doors, nor at the right times, to keep up with the merry go round that is GAA funding.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/06/2019 16:38:18    2200725

I feel bad for the Meath backs. The end score does not reflect their performance and its harsh that they have to be associated with that score. We all know the statistics at this stage, how many wides and missed chances our forwards had, so Im not gonna repeat them. But what stood out for me was the inability to show composure and good decision making.

How many times were hand passess delivered to the feet or shins of our forwards, to the point where they had to slip and slide to try collect them. Look at the pin point perfect hand pass that Rock gave Con for the goal perfectly INTO HIS HANDS - clinical.

Any time the Dub forwards got the ball on the 45 the put they head down and came running at our backs saying 'COME AND GET ME'. Any time we got the ball on the 45 we stood still solo'ing the ball looking at their backs waiting for them to 'COME AND GET ME'. Often times at the 45 the ball went sideways or backwards - the Jordan Henderson of Gaelic football.

How was Brennan aloud to take so many (relatively easy) frees having missed the first couple of times? Look at what happened Costello when he missed the relatively easy free, he got the boot more or less straight away - cut throat by Gavin. No messing.

How is it our forwards can't score yet P McMahon comes barrelling up the pitch and shows us how to kick a point? I can't exactly remember who it was (I think Menton) but why would you you nail the ball with the outside of your foot to try score a point from so far out - poor decision making.

Let's nail the ball high into the sky into our smallest and newest forward (Conlon) who is basically in there on his own - poor decision making.

We fanny'd about with the ball too many times and lost possession, especially at the sidelines. - panicky and poor decision making.

The number of wides and balls into Cluxton's hands was not purely down to poor decision making, but more so pressure. And I'm not talking about pressure from the Dub's backs because often times it wasn't there, but mental/psychological pressure. I don't think this is something you can teach or train players, unfortunately I think this is something you learn how to handle from experience of playing in big games, big stadiums, big crowds - something the Dubs unfortunately have a lot more experience in than our guys because of how successful they are, and fair dues to them. However, I do believe if you are an inter-county level footballer, no matter how "human" you are you should not be missing that many scores!!

It was so hard to watch, especially after a promising 1st half. Dean Rock coming off the bench and scoring some sweet points (and almost scoring a goal) really added salt to our forward's wounds. And the more and more our forwards missed the more deflated and tired our backs got, resulting in the Dubs running away with the game.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/06/2019 17:14:01    2200750

Replying To pati:  "I feel bad for the Meath backs. The end score does not reflect their performance and its harsh that they have to be associated with that score. We all know the statistics at this stage, how many wides and missed chances our forwards had, so Im not gonna repeat them. But what stood out for me was the inability to show composure and good decision making.

How many times were hand passess delivered to the feet or shins of our forwards, to the point where they had to slip and slide to try collect them. Look at the pin point perfect hand pass that Rock gave Con for the goal perfectly INTO HIS HANDS - clinical.

Any time the Dub forwards got the ball on the 45 the put they head down and came running at our backs saying 'COME AND GET ME'. Any time we got the ball on the 45 we stood still solo'ing the ball looking at their backs waiting for them to 'COME AND GET ME'. Often times at the 45 the ball went sideways or backwards - the Jordan Henderson of Gaelic football.

How was Brennan aloud to take so many (relatively easy) frees having missed the first couple of times? Look at what happened Costello when he missed the relatively easy free, he got the boot more or less straight away - cut throat by Gavin. No messing.

How is it our forwards can't score yet P McMahon comes barrelling up the pitch and shows us how to kick a point? I can't exactly remember who it was (I think Menton) but why would you you nail the ball with the outside of your foot to try score a point from so far out - poor decision making.

Let's nail the ball high into the sky into our smallest and newest forward (Conlon) who is basically in there on his own - poor decision making.

We fanny'd about with the ball too many times and lost possession, especially at the sidelines. - panicky and poor decision making.

The number of wides and balls into Cluxton's hands was not purely down to poor decision making, but more so pressure. And I'm not talking about pressure from the Dub's backs because often times it wasn't there, but mental/psychological pressure. I don't think this is something you can teach or train players, unfortunately I think this is something you learn how to handle from experience of playing in big games, big stadiums, big crowds - something the Dubs unfortunately have a lot more experience in than our guys because of how successful they are, and fair dues to them. However, I do believe if you are an inter-county level footballer, no matter how "human" you are you should not be missing that many scores!!

It was so hard to watch, especially after a promising 1st half. Dean Rock coming off the bench and scoring some sweet points (and almost scoring a goal) really added salt to our forward's wounds. And the more and more our forwards missed the more deflated and tired our backs got, resulting in the Dubs running away with the game."
Very good analysis of the match. I have to admit I was worried in the first half. Ok I never believed we would lose but I definitely wasnt expecting to be held to 5 points. It was a let off for us psychologically that Meath missed so many going into half time. I hope there is a backlash and you get through your next qualifier.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 17:32:18    2200761

Replying To pati:  "I feel bad for the Meath backs. The end score does not reflect their performance and its harsh that they have to be associated with that score. We all know the statistics at this stage, how many wides and missed chances our forwards had, so Im not gonna repeat them. But what stood out for me was the inability to show composure and good decision making.

It was so hard to watch, especially after a promising 1st half. Dean Rock coming off the bench and scoring some sweet points (and almost scoring a goal) really added salt to our forward's wounds. And the more and more our forwards missed the more deflated and tired our backs got, resulting in the Dubs running away with the game."
Good analysis, hopefully we can come up with some answers to the questions you ask. Must have been very demoralizing for our backs, who put in a very good effort in first half before being overwhelmed for last 25 minutes. To add to your assessment our kickouts ( happening all season) handed possession back to Dublin again and again; as if they needed any help.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 25/06/2019 18:44:39    2200798

Replying To catch22:  "4 points though in a provincial final lads , that's fair poor now. Has that ever been done before ?"
1985 LFC Final
Dublin 0-10 0-4 Laois

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/06/2019 19:20:14    2200815

Is this a wind up? I'm sorry but maybe if Dublin had to fund a stadium and a centre of excellence while not receiving millions from all angles you'd have been bailed out too.

So disrespectful to Kildare to sit on your high horse regarding this. It's actually more financially viable for the GAA to invest in Kildare then your lot. Investing in Dublin has resulted in attendances plummeting and therefore millions in ticket sales lost.

Investing in Kildare would ensure the mobilisation of 20k+ Kildare fans, huge fanfare and the Dubs would turn out in big numbers when playing Kildare. It would bring in millions extra in ticket revenue.

It's why the GAA is a farce. Investing in the capital is fine but not doing everything to keep their biggest rivals up to standard is one of the biggest own goals in sporting history.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 20:12:14    2200856

Replying To realdub:  "A sound man, fair play to ye!"
And where's my sound man ??
Only joking, well done to all. But by jasus I would have scored more on Sunday than our forwards. The thing is the game was a lot closer than the score (last 20 mins excluding) but I think at that stage the whole team just collapsed, it had the makings of a great game right up to we shot. Everything worked to plan, man to man marking the runs the defending everything went to plan. Apart from putting the ball over the bar. Why I never will know. The really annoying thing is that they have been racking up big scores all year. And couldn't do it on Sunday , I'm genuinely not having a go at any of our players or dubs defense, but like was said a lot if not most of them chances were under no real pressure. I've never seen the likes of it before and hopefully never will again, I don't think we would have won , but it would have been a tight intense game if we had got them scores.
Again well done to dubs, fantastic team and will absolutely win the 5 in a row. I unfortunately can't see us meeting again until league. So until then I wish you all the best.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2019 20:37:18    2200875

Replying To royaldunne:  "And where's my sound man ??
Only joking, well done to all. But by jasus I would have scored more on Sunday than our forwards. The thing is the game was a lot closer than the score (last 20 mins excluding) but I think at that stage the whole team just collapsed, it had the makings of a great game right up to we shot. Everything worked to plan, man to man marking the runs the defending everything went to plan. Apart from putting the ball over the bar. Why I never will know. The really annoying thing is that they have been racking up big scores all year. And couldn't do it on Sunday , I'm genuinely not having a go at any of our players or dubs defense, but like was said a lot if not most of them chances were under no real pressure. I've never seen the likes of it before and hopefully never will again, I don't think we would have won , but it would have been a tight intense game if we had got them scores.
Again well done to dubs, fantastic team and will absolutely win the 5 in a row. I unfortunately can't see us meeting again until league. So until then I wish you all the best."
Giving it loads in the build up to be absolutely slaughtered and your 3 cilles mates the first 3 to be subbed. Bliss.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/06/2019 21:56:10    2200937

Replying To royaldunne:  "And where's my sound man ??
Again well done to dubs, fantastic team and will absolutely win the 5 in a row. I unfortunately can't see us meeting again until league. So until then I wish you all the best."
Ah I love your positivity and your willingness to leave your hand out to be slapped. Keep her lit me auld royal.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/06/2019 22:08:35    2200948

Replying To realdub:  "Ah I love your positivity and your willingness to leave your hand out to be slapped. Keep her lit me auld royal."
Hear, hear, I actually enjoyed, how much RD enjoyed the build up last week, regardless of the result RD you got monies worth. ;)

It's refreshing to see someone optimistic and passionate about their team and the sport regardless.

May we all be the same, when our turn comes out of the sun.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2019 22:15:56    2200958