Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To jimbodub:  "Just back, bitter sweet victory with what looked like a bad injury to James and I fear a bit for him, huge irreplaceable loss if he's out. Terrible conditions there today.

We all know how Croke Park plays under such circumstances, it's an ice rink and unfortunately football standards drop. I'm delighted that Dublin turned on the style late enough on despite it all. Good to see they can adapt to any set of circumstances.

Meath put an impressive amount of energy into 1st half but unfortunately for them they hadn't much saved for the last 20 minutes

Meath defended very well in 1st half but Jaysus
they left behind 5-6pts. Free tasking is a vital part of the game.. I'll leave it at that

Overall went the way I thought it would. Expected Meath to get into double digits so 4 pts must be very disappointing for them.

They now know a lot more about playing Dublin.

Happy to see Philly/Cian back playing well, Jack was excellent, Con did so much right, Rock proves his class and so on..

Fingers crossed for James and Paddy"
Thanks jim, it's a hard loss as always, but look the Dubs are truly brilliant.

Honestly I don't think we did ourselves justice, we left a few too many points out there, but it wouldn't have made a difference, Dublin are amazing. Best ive ever seen, McCaffrey running up from 4 was a joy to behold (just to pick 1 player put), the man is pure class and he was only 1 of 15 brilliant players.

Look it will take an exceptional team to stop the 5 in a row, Donegal look like the best challengers at thia point.

But can I jusy say, I"m still proud of our lads, I hope they learned a hard lesson today and I'll be out to support them no matter where we have to go the next day, UP DA ROYALERS

Humbled but not defeated folks, UP DA ROYALS :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 22:43:44    2199504

Can I just say to Liamo, Jimbo, jackeen, wayno, realdub, joxer, clondalkindub, bad.monkey, snuf (if he's still here) and all the rest of the Dubs I'm forgetting (my sincere apologies for forgetting names), well done on your win. I know it was expected but respect where it's due, a truly unique team.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/06/2019 22:49:52    2199509

Replying To royaldunne:  "Anyway I'm off the drown my sorrows:( for the night, won't take much one pint I'd say as I haven't had a drink in 4 years .again well done to Dublin.
Hard luck to our lads. We have had a fantastic year so far, today we will forget about once we get into super 8s.
Hon the royal"
That's almost as many as Meath kicked in each half. 2 pints I think. Jays but ye were shown up today.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 23/06/2019 22:52:53    2199511

Replying To Joxer:  "Aha. Now I know you're joking. The backbone of this Dublin team panel, 11 players from 2011, were developing in the mid to late 90s. Are you saying that millions from the GAA was funding this back then? You're having a laugh lad. A sad excuse for your own county's mismanagement. Louth put up a much better fight and let's not talk about Meath's population and financial advantages over Louth."
Hey Joxer, in your rush to defend the Dublin team I think you are missing alot of the points other posters are making. 2019 and the successful drive for 5 will show this is the greatest football team in the GAA history but the Páraic Duffy vision (a strong Dublin leads to a strong GAA aka let's pump millions and millions into Dublin, and get the Dublin public on side) will prove to be very negative for the GAA in the long run. It's not a level playing field but that's not Dublins fault, they took advantage of what was offered. 1995 to 2011 was too long for the Dubs to go without an All Ireland but now it's gone to the other extreme.....and that's boring.

lowandhard (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 23/06/2019 22:59:25    2199517

Replying To qwerty368:  "Leitrim were very competitive in Connacht in the mid to late nineties, they even beat mayo in a provincial final in 1994. Easily known you don't have a clue about football coming from Kilkenny."
Ok, what about Dublin then? Was there ever a stage when Leitrim were expected to compete with them? Or is that just a recent development of the past 10 years?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/06/2019 23:05:02    2199520

Replying To GerryD:  "Dublin fan logic...
- it's not about the money
- it's not our fault we have a large population
- Leitrim should use their pitiful playing and financial resources to challenge us
- let's laugh and gloat at those less financially fortunate than us"
Dublin fans close ur eyes, relax and imagine
- longford county and city is the capital of ireland and has 1.2 million of population. Longfords county board are struggling, as longfords youth are playing rugby and more worryingly soccer after the success of the irish soccer team. Longford go the gaa hierarchy and stress their vision of a poor gaeic football team in 10 yrs. Longford arent worried about the hurling really, but get investment for gaa hierarchy all the same.

- longfords county ground, in their eyes, is not fit to hold longford gaelic football games. They again agree with the gaa, that for now,longford will play all their gaelic football matches at the national gaa stadium, which is also in the capital.

-by the 2000s the fruits of the investment are now beginning to show. In 2006, the have to play a little known dublin team, in dublin. Dublin has a population of 35k at the time while drumlish in longford has 40k people. Luckily longford scrape by by 2 pts, and dont play outside longford again for another 10yrs approx in leinster.

÷longford are now winning leinster titles. From nowhere, supporters come out of the woodwork. Ticket sales are going through the roof. Santa is bringing longford jerseys instead of ireland jerseys. Gaa revenue is going through the roof also. Businesses see an opportunity with longford and tbey too want a piece of the pie.

÷longford make the breakthrough and win an all ireland title after a barren spell. Eddie valentine asks the players to go to his bar. He also provides sponsorship and gets a mention from the longford players on the sunday game. Gaa now have a cash cow. The national stadium is hosting 50k odd longford supporters on their own. Ticket sales are like never before, and longfords sponsors are queuing up. Longford gaa team is now an business in all but name. A former great, is invited to coach u14s in ballinalee. He is amazed when 600 u14s turn up fot the session.

÷ dublin are in longfords province. They have a county ground to maintain, 12 senior clubs to pick from and very little sponsorship. However, dublin are making steady progress, with a name now, of being very hard to beat at their home ground. In 2018, they beat a former leinster piwerhouse, meath in the leinster quarter final, and now have to play longford in longford. Longford are going for their 8th leinster and 4th all ireland in a row.

÷some dublin players have never played in the bational stadium before. Longford supporters think itll be a geeat experience for little dublin,to play them in the national stadium in longford. Dublin go a man down after 14 mins and lose by 19pts. Longford supporters still think it was a great experience for the dublin players, management and supporters. Dublin players and supporters feel like shite.

÷longford walk the leinster championship and all Ireland championship. They're now playing their national league and championship games in the national stadium. Theyre getting unprecedented media coverage, sponsorship of approx a millions, and are now a business in all but name. Gaa now rely on longford going on in the championship as far as possible in order that the revenue is acceptable. Longford have still not developed their county ground, pearse park, which longford hurlers now use for their games. Their now a div1 hurling side, and have also made great progress.

÷dublin and other so calkweaker county supporters feel the treatment of longford is extremely unfair. Their playing numbers, their sponsorship, their media coverage, the advantages longford appear to get from gaa hierarchy, begin to irritate. On top of this a new competition is put in place. Super 8s. Teams will play one home, away and neutral game in this competition. However as longford are playing in the national stadium as their home venue, they will now have 2 home games in this competition. This occurred en route to their 4th all ireland title in a row.

÷longford supporters are sick to the teeth of these whingers. Dublin, with their population now 40k people, should be striving to have players like longford. They should be striving for sponsorship deals like longford even though dublin play in div 3. Its not longfords fault, that theres 1.2 million people in the place, or that drumlish has the population of co dublin, or that lads cant take days off work for recovery after games, or that dublin cant get 50k supporters in to generate funding or that dublin have to pay out to maintain their county ground, or that dublin cant afford proper dietations, physios, drs, etc. Why cant dublin be ran like a corporate business just like longford.

÷longford supperters watch the sunday game, on the national broadcaster, and hear what they believe....that 40k people dublin should be striving to be like 1.2 million longford, having footballers of the skill of longford, spending to be as professional as longford and treating themselvez as professional athletes, even though all the dublin players cant afford to miss work on days of or after matches as their sponsorship isnt up to scrtach.

÷feckin weaker counties like dublin should jyst shut up and put up......for godsake....give longford the credit they deserve....begrudger!!!!

- its ok dublin people. Dry the sweat from ur brow..its only a nightmare.!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 23/06/2019 23:18:55    2199530

Replying To Joxer:  "Aha. Now I know you're joking. The backbone of this Dublin team panel, 11 players from 2011, were developing in the mid to late 90s. Are you saying that millions from the GAA was funding this back then? You're having a laugh lad. A sad excuse for your own county's mismanagement. Louth put up a much better fight and let's not talk about Meath's population and financial advantages over Louth."
We don't have as many clubs as you. Less registered players. Receive ridiculously less money from the GAA to develop players underage and increase participation. Far less from the sports capital grants and obviously millions less from sponsorship. We also don't play most of our matches in navan. When you look at the bigger picture we should be losing by 15+ points as all other leinster counties do.

It's a fact that hurling participation in Dublin has increased 98% and I think football has gone up by 58%. Why can't the GAA look to do likewise in Meath and Kildare? Oh yeah because they don't "need" a strong meath or Kildare. Pity because we really need some of that money.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 23:56:56    2199541

Replying To galwayford:  "well done Dubs. Ba mhaith liom chomgardeas a dhéanamh. Dubs could nearly enter 2 teams. Maybe this is something the GAA could look at in the future. A "Blue Dubs" and a "White Dubs" team. Or a Dublin or a Baile Atha Cliatha team. I don't mean split Dublin into 2. I mean have like a Manchester city and a Manchester Utd. A Dublin City and Dublin county."
I like your thinking Galwayford, maybe we could just leave Dublin to the Dubs, they could have their own little Championship and the rest of the country could get back to enjoying proper competitive games.Seriously, who wants to go watch games in Dublin anyway???
Imagine no more Dublin football/Soccer fans (because I honestly don't think they know which game they're at)to endure.
Galwayford, I like it, I like it a lot.

Blackcardnot (USA) - Posts: 9 - 24/06/2019 00:10:59    2199548

Replying To galwayford:  "well done Dubs. Ba mhaith liom chomgardeas a dhéanamh. Dubs could nearly enter 2 teams. Maybe this is something the GAA could look at in the future. A "Blue Dubs" and a "White Dubs" team. Or a Dublin or a Baile Atha Cliatha team. I don't mean split Dublin into 2. I mean have like a Manchester city and a Manchester Utd. A Dublin City and Dublin county."
Dublin is one , its not for splitting ever

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/06/2019 00:23:11    2199552

Replying To royaldunne:  "Certainly not. He disposed a few dubs with ease and if the oldest player on Meath team can do that, imagine what the Kerry lads would do.
Missed 3 Newman missed 3 Brennan missed 4.osullivan only took one shot and sent it wide.
All had a bad day. Why pick out one player?"
You're right, there are several others bigged up by some on here who are clearly not up to it for Meath.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/06/2019 00:34:00    2199554

Absolutely not. We can't have the Lilywhites playing the Bluewhites!

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2989 - 24/06/2019 00:51:22    2199559

Same as the premiership now, except he GAA has only one professional team. The denying of it is so comical. You would think that they were better than anyone else the way they talk. It is all about being full time professional.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 24/06/2019 01:49:18    2199570

That was shocking stuff from meath.. they are a better team than that but it was as if they were afraid to go at Dublin.. still only one game away from the super 8s

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 24/06/2019 02:06:03    2199572

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "The fruits of the GAA investment. None of these meath players came up through a development system funded by millions. We just won the christy ring so we are indeed a duel county but again it's very hard to grow hurling in the county without the money.

Hurling participation in Dublin increased 98% since you started getting the underage millions. So why couldn't you do that before? Money helps and we need it more then you.

A good meath will bring in millions extra in ticket sales. Matches like today's would be packed. So the investment wouldn't go to waste."
A dual county????. Your football manager after you scored four points told a Meath journalist that he was ffin mad to even suggest that he would release players to play in the Meath senior hurling championship next week. If you are a dual county the Meath chairman will I presume be enlightening your big ball tactical genius of your reality this morning.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 24/06/2019 07:38:01    2199586

Replying To Joxer:  "You must be 6 years old. You do realise that counties were much less well off than Dublin in the 90s and 00s. Oh and it may have struck you that Dublin is the capital, a quarter of the population lives there. It has always been the population centre. Peope just didn't appear on trees in the last 10 years.

Whingers logic...
- Dublin couldn't have gotten their act together in 2011 due to great organisation, hard work and shrewd appointments. It must have been all money
- Dublin have a large population. How can this be fair when every other county has exactly the same population and there is no disparity between them?
- money wins you Sam Maguire. It can't be explained by great grassroots work and organisation. The Brogans, Connollys, Cluxtons of this world were all manufactured when they were 8 and 9 back in 1996 when the GAA were throwing billions at Dublin. Oh wait!
- Dublin couldn't have just put together a golden generation of players. I mean it's not possible. It has to be the money and the population. I mean, doesn't it. You need 1.6m to find 20 decent players. Ask Kerry. Oh wait!
- our poor performance is all down to Dublin's money and population. I mean it's nothing to do with us. Dublin are great in Leinster so that explains why we're crap in Ulster, doesn't it?"
So good you posted it twice...
You've just proven all 5 points - well done you !

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 335 - 24/06/2019 07:50:29    2199590

Replying To GerryD:  "So good you posted it twice...
You've just proven all 5 points - well done you !"
Some things are worth repeating. I think Monaghan should be more concerned about where their next manager is going to come from to be honest. Their exit from Ulster and then the backdoor has nothing to do with Dublin.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/06/2019 08:43:06    2199603

I think some perspective is needed. Forwards had an off day, 12 wides, handy frees missed, 2 or 3 into Cuxtons hands, doesn't instantly make them bad forwards. They put up some decent tallys in a great league campaign. Didn't happen for them yesterday, would be worse if they didn't get the chances in the first place.

Still miles off Dublin, doesn't mean we haven't progressed or can't improve between now and playing the top teams in the league next year.

It was a harsh lesson yesterday but it doesn't mean all the hard work put in earlier in the year is undone.

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 24/06/2019 08:54:29    2199608

Replying To lowandhard:  "Hey Joxer, in your rush to defend the Dublin team I think you are missing alot of the points other posters are making. 2019 and the successful drive for 5 will show this is the greatest football team in the GAA history but the Páraic Duffy vision (a strong Dublin leads to a strong GAA aka let's pump millions and millions into Dublin, and get the Dublin public on side) will prove to be very negative for the GAA in the long run. It's not a level playing field but that's not Dublins fault, they took advantage of what was offered. 1995 to 2011 was too long for the Dubs to go without an All Ireland but now it's gone to the other extreme.....and that's boring."
I've always said that funding should be more balanced. Do you seriously thinking pumping millions into Meath, Galway, Laois, Offaly is going to manufacture AI winning teams in those counties? It's not that simple unfortunately. It helps but this Dublin team has been 20-25 years in the making, long before a conveyor belt of cash was flowing into the DCB. Jack is crying out for millions for Meath as this will somehow magically transform that shambles from yesterday into an AI winning panel. Meath has spent millions on a centre of excellence, have a large population, are single code, are positioned right next to the capital, have healthy 6 figure sum sponsors from Devenish who cover the costs of the senior footballers. It's not like they are in a bad place yet look at yesterday. Somehow money will solve that lack of heart and skill. If the GAA gambles and throws millions at these counties and nothing happens, then what? The product is poor at the moment. €35 into a game yesterday to see both teams plant 15 players inside their 45 and play rugby passing with the ball for spells around the halfway was disheartening.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/06/2019 08:57:21    2199609

I'm not going to defend Meath. They deserved to lose. However, Dublin's funding is an issue. The Dubs will point at Kerry and Kilkenny. Both of those counties are rolling in agri money. The other top counties have their own wealthy sponsors. Donegal has the KN Group. Mayo has Elverys. It's not unique to Dublin but the GAA can't justify the amount of money which they have pumped into the capital whether you divide it by the number of registered players or population.

Hawkeye9212 (Donegal) - Posts: 266 - 24/06/2019 08:58:28    2199611

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "Same as the premiership now, except he GAA has only one professional team. The denying of it is so comical. You would think that they were better than anyone else the way they talk. It is all about being full time professional."
That's "BULL" -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/06/2019 09:11:34    2199624