Leinster Football Championship

Replying To royaldunne:  "No delusional, I'm not from Kerry. Ie dubs bit#hes for last number of years. We believe we have to earn the right to challenge unlike some in the south who think that cause they talk funny and send gombeens to the dail (yesterday prime example) they are the greatest football county of all time (a non biased system would have ensured Kerry wouldn't have half the all ire they have ). We will return to the top table and sure we might even have another ole ole sing song along the way"
Them ole oles in the last 10 minutes of the match and the arrogance and disrespect shown by Meath was the start of the downfall of Meath ever since according to your All star full back at the time. Kerry went on to reach 7 of the next 8 finals and less said about Meath the better ever since that game. No surprise you brought it up though.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 12/04/2019 12:32:37    2178562

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Them ole oles in the last 10 minutes of the match and the arrogance and disrespect shown by Meath was the start of the downfall of Meath ever since according to your All star full back at the time. Kerry went on to reach 7 of the next 8 finals and less said about Meath the better ever since that game. No surprise you brought it up though."
That defeat remains Kerry's heaviest ever championship loss. The only winners in this game were Galway. They were huge underdogs going in to the final against Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/04/2019 13:30:47    2178577

Replying To KildareKelly:  "The results weren't terrible but the performances were pretty bad. We just look like a team without a plan, without any real energy and the players look to go be going through the motions a bit. It was just very flat & hard to watch. Some of the u20s have seen action, Jimmy Hyland the most & has done well.
Dan Flynn is back but a) not too interested in coming back on board & b) there is a rumour he's done his cruciate anyway."
Is this pub/twitter chat that he isn't interested in coming back? its just I haven't seen a statement from Kildare CB or the player himself.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/04/2019 13:40:50    2178579

Replying To OLLIE:  "That defeat remains Kerry's heaviest ever championship loss. The only winners in this game were Galway. They were huge underdogs going in to the final against Meath."
Yes one of the worst performances by us. That Meath team did have some very good players not sure what happened them in the final but yes your right the manner of the semi final win didn't help them.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 12/04/2019 14:51:12    2178587

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "We have played Dublin 22 times in croker with 15 wins and one draw in championship football so we dont need to many tips on how to beat them. As you said all dominance comes to an end but im not pinning my hopes on Meath. Ye guys know more about state of football there so hopefully your right."
15 victories v Dubs for kerry looks good. But Meath have beaten Dublin 36 times in league and championship. So we know a few things in Meath about beating Dublin also. To put in Meaths extraordinay record v Dublin into perspective. Most teams in leinster havent beaten Dublin in 70 years in leinster championship and the rest of teams in leinster have beaten Dublin two or three times in 50 years. And remember Meath and Dublin is the most unequal rivalry in Irish sport. Cork and kerry, Tyrone and Armagh, Kilkenny and Tippearey , Galway and Mayo are all.similar enough counties. Dublin have had population, size , power, wealth and playing in Croke Park advantages over Meath for hundred years , yet this average midlands county called Meath went toe to toe with Dublin for generations and for many many many times in that period Dublin couldnt beat Meath for years.
So Meath and kerry have allot in common. They both have the best record in the country in beating Dublin. The one thing Dublin could never deal with was with a great Meath team or a great kerry team. Thats why the Dubs hate the Royals and the Kingdom. Kerry have given Dublin 15 reasons to for Dublin to hate them . Meath have given the Dublin 36 reasons for Dublin to hate them.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/04/2019 15:25:09    2178590

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Them ole oles in the last 10 minutes of the match and the arrogance and disrespect shown by Meath was the start of the downfall of Meath ever since according to your All star full back at the time. Kerry went on to reach 7 of the next 8 finals and less said about Meath the better ever since that game. No surprise you brought it up though."
I was at that game send was utterly disgusted by the behavior of a minority of our supporters that day as were Sean Boylan and the team. I know quite a lot of Meath fans that day nearly came to blows with others trying to get jeering stopped. It showed a complete lack of respect to the Kerry team. It sounded worse as the stadium had emptied out and it echoed around the ground but embarrassing was not the word. That year was the end of a great Meath side who I felt were on the wane that summer I was amazed we reached the AI final and the Galway result was not a surprise to me
As for this year getting to the Leinster final is going to take a huge effort we went out to Longford last year(no disrespect meant) as it's definitely not a foregone conclusion as some would like to think

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 12/04/2019 15:33:47    2178591

Replying To waynoI:  "Meath get promoted to division 1 and all of a sudden they aren't far off Kerry ? hahahahahaha

Oooooooooooooooooooookay then"
Yes and ill say it again, meath arnt too far away from Kerry, whats wrong with saying that what have kerry done the last few years that puts them miles ahead of meath, kerry are a great gaa county but they warnt great last year and were ultimately lucky to escape playing dublin in the semi final as I think they would of suffered a heavy defeat, in 2019 so far Kerry look like they've improved they have a young team who should get better and knowing Kerry it won't be too long before they start winning all Ireland's again. But at the minute Kerry are beatable and a teams like meath could certainly take them roll on championship 2019.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/04/2019 15:39:05    2178592

Great to read positives post from Meath fans about their team!!! All going well it will be a Dublin V Meath final, be great to have that rivalry in football back.

logger (Wexford) - Posts: 296 - 12/04/2019 15:57:14    2178595

Replying To runnerin:  "I was at that game send was utterly disgusted by the behavior of a minority of our supporters that day as were Sean Boylan and the team. I know quite a lot of Meath fans that day nearly came to blows with others trying to get jeering stopped. It showed a complete lack of respect to the Kerry team. It sounded worse as the stadium had emptied out and it echoed around the ground but embarrassing was not the word. That year was the end of a great Meath side who I felt were on the wane that summer I was amazed we reached the AI final and the Galway result was not a surprise to me
As for this year getting to the Leinster final is going to take a huge effort we went out to Longford last year(no disrespect meant) as it's definitely not a foregone conclusion as some would like to think"
You've little to be worrying about if that disgusts ye runnerin it happens all the time these days, I remember the day fondly as one of the best displays from a meath team in my living memory, it was the end of a era from a great meath team.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/04/2019 15:58:17    2178596

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "You've little to be worrying about if that disgusts ye runnerin it happens all the time these days, I remember the day fondly as one of the best displays from a meath team in my living memory, it was the end of a era from a great meath team."
Well said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/04/2019 16:33:47    2178599

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "You've little to be worrying about if that disgusts ye runnerin it happens all the time these days, I remember the day fondly as one of the best displays from a meath team in my living memory, it was the end of a era from a great meath team."
I was disgusted that day with some of our supporters disrespecting the opposition as it is not the what the game or our association stands for if you think it's ok just cos others do it that's your business
The team were fantastic that day probably our best day on the pitch in croker but it was tainted by what went on in the stands

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 12/04/2019 16:33:55    2178600

Replying To runnerin:  "I was disgusted that day with some of our supporters disrespecting the opposition as it is not the what the game or our association stands for if you think it's ok just cos others do it that's your business
The team were fantastic that day probably our best day on the pitch in croker but it was tainted by what went on in the stands"
I think your over reacting runnerin, doubt the Kerry players were bothered about it.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/04/2019 17:18:39    2178603

As usual I am looking forward to this years Championship. From my own beloved Wee County wee had a good league campaign. Wee were favorites to be relegated and wee just missed out on promotion on the very last day. Louth have Wexford up first in the Leinster Championship down in Wexford Park. The Slaneysiders are a bogey side for Louth. The Wee County have not beaten Wexford in the Championship since 1980 and have lost four of the last five Championship meetings to the south-east men. The winners play the Dubs in the quarter-finals. Here I think is how this years Championship will go:

Preliminary Round:
Louth v Wexford...........Louth
Kildare v Wicklow..........Kildare
Meath v Offaly...............Meath

Quarter-Finals:
Dubs v Louth..................Dubs
Kildare v Longford.........Kildare
Meath v Carlow..............Meath
Westmeath v Laois........Westmeath

Semi-Finals:
Dubs v Kildare.................Dubs
Meath v Westmeath.......Meath

Final:
Dubs v Meath..................Dubs

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 12/04/2019 17:56:09    2178609

Replying To OLLIE:  "As usual I am looking forward to this years Championship. From my own beloved Wee County wee had a good league campaign. Wee were favorites to be relegated and wee just missed out on promotion on the very last day. Louth have Wexford up first in the Leinster Championship down in Wexford Park. The Slaneysiders are a bogey side for Louth. The Wee County have not beaten Wexford in the Championship since 1980 and have lost four of the last five Championship meetings to the south-east men. The winners play the Dubs in the quarter-finals. Here I think is how this years Championship will go:

Preliminary Round:
Louth v Wexford...........Louth
Kildare v Wicklow..........Kildare
Meath v Offaly...............Meath

Quarter-Finals:
Dubs v Louth..................Dubs
Kildare v Longford.........Kildare
Meath v Carlow..............Meath
Westmeath v Laois........Westmeath

Semi-Finals:
Dubs v Kildare.................Dubs
Meath v Westmeath.......Meath

Final:
Dubs v Meath..................Dubs"
I'd say that is very accurate. Although I think Louth will get a run in back door

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/04/2019 18:36:05    2178611

I think Westmeath or Laois will give Meath a battle and a half, nothing guaranteed there!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 12/04/2019 19:48:11    2178616

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Yes and ill say it again, meath arnt too far away from Kerry, whats wrong with saying that what have kerry done the last few years that puts them miles ahead of meath, kerry are a great gaa county but they warnt great last year and were ultimately lucky to escape playing dublin in the semi final as I think they would of suffered a heavy defeat, in 2019 so far Kerry look like they've improved they have a young team who should get better and knowing Kerry it won't be too long before they start winning all Ireland's again. But at the minute Kerry are beatable and a teams like meath could certainly take them roll on championship 2019."
The Meath hype is here..they won't come near Kerry this year and in coming years the gap will get even bigger. Maybe a Leinster final but Dublin in second gear will probaly stroll through that. Well done on getting to div 1 but div 2 is on the way very soon. Try to think about it in a sensible way!!

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 12/04/2019 20:34:28    2178620

Firstly I wouldn't judge Meath this year.Judge Meath next year at end of 2020 season. See how they do in divsion 1 next year. It will be hard for Meath to peak twice in this year. There are so many examples of teams having good league then a poor championship. From Loais in 1986 winning the league and then losing to Wicklow in first round. And in this decade Cork kildare Derry Roscommon all had great leagues and had poor championship in the same years. So the odds on Meath having a good championship are low. Personally I think we will get leinster final and perform well v Dublin. But we r looking after at qualifier game after v Donegal ot Tyrone possibly. Both teams again will find it hard to beat Meath and game will be decided in injury time but Donegal and Tyrone wud have to be favourites to win. Until Meath beat a Tyrone or Donegal Meath have to be underdog in those games.

( Just regards Meath v Dublin. Remeber if Meath get to leinster final and dont play semi final in Croker. Meath would be a team who have never won a match in Croke Park going up against Dublin team that has probaly won up to 100 league and championship matchs in Croke Park. A Dublin team that have won 4 All Irelands in a row in Croke Park, A Dublin team that have won 8 leinster in a row in Croke Park and Meath would have no wins in Croker. Remeber the obstacles Meath face if they reach the Leinster final. Basically they wud be playing possibly greatest team ever. So judging Meath on the leinster final performance this year. Seems unfair and will not tell us how good Meath are. See how Meath do if they play Dublin in Navan and how they do if play Dublin in next years championship. Then we will have a truer and proper idea of Meaths ability and worth. )

Secondly it looks possible we will have Meath v Westmeath semi final. That will be 50 50 game in many ways. Westmeath r flying, the only county to win two trophies this spring. Westmeath in the last 20 years always throw the kitchen sink at Meath in the championship. So that is tough game for Meath. But I would be very hopeful Meath will.win. But a loss and run through back door could do this Meath a world of good. In last few years we have been very unlucky in that in our first game in the backdoor has been against Tyrone in 2013 2015 2018 and Donegal in 2017. If we aviod a top team in our first game in backdoor we could on a good run in the backdoor. That cud be our best bet to get super 8.

Thirdly over and over again people on this forum have got it completely wrong about Meath over and over again and allot of people in gaa world have also. Meath are always downgraded and underated even when we won All Irelands. On this forum there was comments before Tyrone game last year , Tyrone wud beat Meath by 10 points or more. We all know how for a point in 7th min of injury time, Tyrone would have been knocked out of championship. Before Donegal game in div 2 final there was comments on this forum that Meath would lose by 10 points. And start of the league 99% people on this forum and gaa world gave Meath no chance of promotion. And many people predicted Meath would get relegated .

It was pretty obvious that if u examined closely that Meath wud put it up Tyrone and Donegal and before the league there was obvious signs Meath would be strong contenders for promotion. I am a bogman from the backwoods of Meath but for me it was pretty obvious Meath would improve this year. I said three years ago Meath wud improve in McEntees third year on this forum. I said last year on this forum we would improve this year and I predicted at the start of the league we wud get promoted on this forum. I gave a number of reasons. why. It wasnt some sort of amazing hindsight to predict that. It was very obvious that Meath wud improve this year.

Regards next year everyone seems to have completely ruled out Meath will survive in div 1. For me I would be very surprised if Meath dont survive in div 1 next year . That is not blind faith. If Meath went up to div 1 anytime in last 7 years to divsion 1, Meath wud be definitely relegated. Next year Meath are promoted at just the right time in this teams development. Meath players peaking , first wave of new talent from best talent Meath have produced since 90s , McEntees fourth year in charge , Navan is one toughest places to win in the country are all reasons why I believe Meath will survive in div 1.

Also the real concrete evidence that Meath would survive, Meath have played div 1 top 8 teams have played them 5 times v division 1 teams in last two years. This is a good way of predicting how Meath will do in divsion 1. If Meath lost and were comfortably beaten in all game v division 1 opposition then people wud have grounds to say Meath will not survive. Why cannot people see the obvious. Meath played 5 times v division 1 in last 2 years and every singles one of those games Meath played really well.and in every single one of those games v division 1 teams Meath were ahead or level in injury time v top teams in country. Surely Meaths excellent performances v Donegal three times Tyrone Roscommon and Galway are signs that Meath will be competitive v div 1 opposition.

People have referenced Cavan Roscommon and kildare failing to stay in div 1 ( Roscommon did stay for two years in a row ). But people are not mentioning that one county stayed in div 1. Galway were promoted to div 1 and stayed. And the county that has similar traits to Galway is Meath.

Both have same sort of sucess , both traditionaly play kicking game , both were the only counties to go toe to toe with kerry Dublin and Cork for 80 years or so and both have no inferior complex and would not be in awe of Dublins and kerrys. Galway feel like they belong in div 1. And yes Meath do feel like they belong in divsion 1. After kerry and Dublin only Meath have spent longer in div 1.

Look at the confidence of some lads here on this forum regards Meath. There. is an inner confidence , cockiness even a touch of arrogance to Meath football. When we are weak this a weakness. We think we r better then say Westmeath and longford . We r not and they beat us in 2015 and 2018. But when we r strong this is strenght. We have a great tradiation v top teams we have a great record v the top teams. This gives Meath and Galway an inner belief v the top teams. Look at Meath performances v Donegal this year and there performances v Tyrone last and results v Roscommon and Galway in the last two years. Are they not signs Meath will be competitive. But people ignore these performances. Meath lost very narrowly to Donegal and Tyrone and drew with Roscommon and defeated Galway. These are all good evidence to suggest Meath will do better then people think or want or need to do.

But I believe Meath will be stronger next year with players like J McEntee and Sullivan peaking , introduction of new talent eg Costello Dunshaughlin, return of players eg lenihan, Jones, Forde , Kennelly and kane. And Meaths record in Navan. Its pretty obvious there is a good chance Meath will do better then people think. Meath like Galway have the tradition and mentality to survive div 1. Look at the below how they are following each others path.

Both Meath and Galway declined after 2001 final. Both Meath and Galway saw their rivals prosper eg Mayo and Dublin
Galway under Walsh were very poor in his first seasons and had bad results
Meath under McEntee were very poor in his first two seasons and had bad results.
Galway under Walsh improved and got promoted in his third year
Meath under McEntee improved and got promoted in his 3rd year.
Galway under Walsh survived in div 1 in his 4th year
Meath under McEntee, will he survive in div 1 in his 4th year.

I believe if u really look closely put away any Meath bias and there allot of supporters here who need and want Meath to reamin down. But if you look at the evidence Meath are getting promoted just at the right time . And in terms stage of team development, returning players , new talent, managers 4th year , Meath inner belief and cockiness , Meath tradition , and Meaths performances v division 1 teams like Donegal in three games v Donegal and in excellent Meath performances v div 1 teams like Galway and Roscommon in last two years. There is evidence to suggest Meath will survive next year. The evidence they woulsnt ie usually people saying Cavan Roscommon and kildare failed to stay div 1 . My response to that is , what about Galway. Are this idea are crap team going nowhere .

If someone says that they havent a clue. Because they haven't seen Meath play with exception of 2 final. Since longford game Meath have changed players, changed coachs and changed tactics. Meath are a changed team. Since Tyrone game Meath have introduced 6 new players to the first 15. This is a very young team only months together. So how can u rate them when u didnt see the heroric performance v Tyrone , excellent first half v Donegal, the never say die spirit v kildare in second half , 65 mins of top class football by Meath v Donegal in Ballybofey and excellent performance v Armagh. Meath have improved. And all the signs in the next decade Meath will be much stronger then in this decade. The signs are there but its up you to ignore the bloody obvious or maybe ur Meath bias doesn't let u see the obvious. Just like when people said Tyrone would hammer Meath last year and people were predicting Meath would be relegated and had no chance of promotion this year. Again people are saying Meath wouldnt survive in divsion 1. I think quite few people will be surprised by Meaths performance in div 1 next year. But the truth is u shouldnt be surprised . The signs are there already that Meath can survive in div 1. Its up to u if u to choose to ignore them or recognise them.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 12/04/2019 21:15:33    2178624

Look I'm not putting down Meath, they have progressed and improved, and I welcome that. But to say there's not a lot between them and Kerry is a bit much.
We talk about Mayo having been our closest rivals over the decade, and they were, but it's a little unfair on Kerry when they pushed us to our limits in all our championship meetings over the last 8 years or so, bar the 2015 final and even that could have been snatched with the bounce of a ball.
If Kerry were to play Meath next Sunday in the championship, the kingdom would win by a country mile!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 12/04/2019 21:53:52    2178628

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Firstly I wouldn't judge Meath this year.Judge Meath next year at end of 2020 season. See how they do in divsion 1 next year. It will be hard for Meath to peak twice in this year. There are so many examples of teams having good league then a poor championship. From Loais in 1986 winning the league and then losing to Wicklow in first round. And in this decade Cork kildare Derry Roscommon all had great leagues and had poor championship in the same years. So the odds on Meath having a good championship are low. Personally I think we will get leinster final and perform well v Dublin. But we r looking after at qualifier game after v Donegal ot Tyrone possibly. Both teams again will find it hard to beat Meath and game will be decided in injury time but Donegal and Tyrone wud have to be favourites to win. Until Meath beat a Tyrone or Donegal Meath have to be underdog in those games.

( Just regards Meath v Dublin. Remeber if Meath get to leinster final and dont play semi final in Croker. Meath would be a team who have never won a match in Croke Park going up against Dublin team that has probaly won up to 100 league and championship matchs in Croke Park. A Dublin team that have won 4 All Irelands in a row in Croke Park, A Dublin team that have won 8 leinster in a row in Croke Park and Meath would have no wins in Croker. Remeber the obstacles Meath face if they reach the Leinster final. Basically they wud be playing possibly greatest team ever. So judging Meath on the leinster final performance this year. Seems unfair and will not tell us how good Meath are. See how Meath do if they play Dublin in Navan and how they do if play Dublin in next years championship. Then we will have a truer and proper idea of Meaths ability and worth. )

Secondly it looks possible we will have Meath v Westmeath semi final. That will be 50 50 game in many ways. Westmeath r flying, the only county to win two trophies this spring. Westmeath in the last 20 years always throw the kitchen sink at Meath in the championship. So that is tough game for Meath. But I would be very hopeful Meath will.win. But a loss and run through back door could do this Meath a world of good. In last few years we have been very unlucky in that in our first game in the backdoor has been against Tyrone in 2013 2015 2018 and Donegal in 2017. If we aviod a top team in our first game in backdoor we could on a good run in the backdoor. That cud be our best bet to get super 8.

Thirdly over and over again people on this forum have got it completely wrong about Meath over and over again and allot of people in gaa world have also. Meath are always downgraded and underated even when we won All Irelands. On this forum there was comments before Tyrone game last year , Tyrone wud beat Meath by 10 points or more. We all know how for a point in 7th min of injury time, Tyrone would have been knocked out of championship. Before Donegal game in div 2 final there was comments on this forum that Meath would lose by 10 points. And start of the league 99% people on this forum and gaa world gave Meath no chance of promotion. And many people predicted Meath would get relegated .

It was pretty obvious that if u examined closely that Meath wud put it up Tyrone and Donegal and before the league there was obvious signs Meath would be strong contenders for promotion. I am a bogman from the backwoods of Meath but for me it was pretty obvious Meath would improve this year. I said three years ago Meath wud improve in McEntees third year on this forum. I said last year on this forum we would improve this year and I predicted at the start of the league we wud get promoted on this forum. I gave a number of reasons. why. It wasnt some sort of amazing hindsight to predict that. It was very obvious that Meath wud improve this year.

Regards next year everyone seems to have completely ruled out Meath will survive in div 1. For me I would be very surprised if Meath dont survive in div 1 next year . That is not blind faith. If Meath went up to div 1 anytime in last 7 years to divsion 1, Meath wud be definitely relegated. Next year Meath are promoted at just the right time in this teams development. Meath players peaking , first wave of new talent from best talent Meath have produced since 90s , McEntees fourth year in charge , Navan is one toughest places to win in the country are all reasons why I believe Meath will survive in div 1.

Also the real concrete evidence that Meath would survive, Meath have played div 1 top 8 teams have played them 5 times v division 1 teams in last two years. This is a good way of predicting how Meath will do in divsion 1. If Meath lost and were comfortably beaten in all game v division 1 opposition then people wud have grounds to say Meath will not survive. Why cannot people see the obvious. Meath played 5 times v division 1 in last 2 years and every singles one of those games Meath played really well.and in every single one of those games v division 1 teams Meath were ahead or level in injury time v top teams in country. Surely Meaths excellent performances v Donegal three times Tyrone Roscommon and Galway are signs that Meath will be competitive v div 1 opposition.

People have referenced Cavan Roscommon and kildare failing to stay in div 1 ( Roscommon did stay for two years in a row ). But people are not mentioning that one county stayed in div 1. Galway were promoted to div 1 and stayed. And the county that has similar traits to Galway is Meath.

Both have same sort of sucess , both traditionaly play kicking game , both were the only counties to go toe to toe with kerry Dublin and Cork for 80 years or so and both have no inferior complex and would not be in awe of Dublins and kerrys. Galway feel like they belong in div 1. And yes Meath do feel like they belong in divsion 1. After kerry and Dublin only Meath have spent longer in div 1.

Look at the confidence of some lads here on this forum regards Meath. There. is an inner confidence , cockiness even a touch of arrogance to Meath football. When we are weak this a weakness. We think we r better then say Westmeath and longford . We r not and they beat us in 2015 and 2018. But when we r strong this is strenght. We have a great tradiation v top teams we have a great record v the top teams. This gives Meath and Galway an inner belief v the top teams. Look at Meath performances v Donegal this year and there performances v Tyrone last and results v Roscommon and Galway in the last two years. Are they not signs Meath will be competitive. But people ignore these performances. Meath lost very narrowly to Donegal and Tyrone and drew with Roscommon and defeated Galway. These are all good evidence to suggest Meath will do better then people think or want or need to do.

But I believe Meath will be stronger next year with players like J McEntee and Sullivan peaking , introduction of new talent eg Costello Dunshaughlin, return of players eg lenihan, Jones, Forde , Kennelly and kane. And Meaths record in Navan. Its pretty obvious there is a good chance Meath will do better then people think. Meath like Galway have the tradition and mentality to survive div 1. Look at the below how they are following each others path.

Both Meath and Galway declined after 2001 final. Both Meath and Galway saw their rivals prosper eg Mayo and Dublin
Galway under Walsh were very poor in his first seasons and had bad results
Meath under McEntee were very poor in his first two seasons and had bad results.
Galway under Walsh improved and got promoted in his third year
Meath under McEntee improved and got promoted in his 3rd year.
Galway under Walsh survived in div 1 in his 4th year
Meath under McEntee, will he survive in div 1 in his 4th year.

I believe if u really look closely put away any Meath bias and there allot of supporters here who need and want Meath to reamin down. But if you look at the evidence Meath are getting promoted just at the right time . And in terms stage of team development, returning players , new talent, managers 4th year , Meath inner belief and cockiness , Meath tradition , and Meaths performances v division 1 teams like Donegal in three games v Donegal and in excellent Meath performances v div 1 teams like Galway and Roscommon in last two years. There is evidence to suggest Meath will survive next year. The evidence they woulsnt ie usually people saying Cavan Roscommon and kildare failed to stay div 1 . My response to that is , what about Galway. Are this idea are crap team going nowhere .

If someone says that they havent a clue. Because they haven't seen Meath play with exception of 2 final. Since longford game Meath have changed players, changed coachs and changed tactics. Meath are a changed team. Since Tyrone game Meath have introduced 6 new players to the first 15. This is a very young team only months together. So how can u rate them when u didnt see the heroric performance v Tyrone , excellent first half v Donegal, the never say die spirit v kildare in second half , 65 mins of top class football by Meath v Donegal in Ballybofey and excellent performance v Armagh. Meath have improved. And all the signs in the next decade Meath will be much stronger then in this decade. The signs are there but its up you to ignore the bloody obvious or maybe ur Meath bias doesn't let u see the obvious. Just like when people said Tyrone would hammer Meath last year and people were predicting Meath would be relegated and had no chance of promotion this year. Again people are saying Meath wouldnt survive in divsion 1. I think quite few people will be surprised by Meaths performance in div 1 next year. But the truth is u shouldnt be surprised . The signs are there already that Meath can survive in div 1. Its up to u if u to choose to ignore them or recognise them."
In fairness you're probably right about playing Meath in Navan. Dublin would still win but not by a cricket score. I'm not denying that. The great Kerry team wouldn't have hammered teams in finals and semis if those games were not in Croke park either, they were used to it, just like we are.
Whatever about beating Dublin, it'll be a good few years before Meath land the big one, maybe many years. Because when we bite the dust, there's a good few teams waiting in the wings to battle it out, that's the level Meath need to shoot for, they're the teams they will be battling with in a couple of years time.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 12/04/2019 22:13:01    2178629

Replying To superdub:  "The Meath hype is here..they won't come near Kerry this year and in coming years the gap will get even bigger. Maybe a Leinster final but Dublin in second gear will probaly stroll through that. Well done on getting to div 1 but div 2 is on the way very soon. Try to think about it in a sensible way!!"
Dublin and meath have to reach the final first and if both do then second gear wont do it for ye bud.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 12/04/2019 22:32:19    2178633