NFL Division 2

If Kildare can get the win I think they will be promoted, they seem a little bit off the pace in navan in second half , lot of tiredness crept in, that is highly unusual for a Kildare team , have they been doing very little hard training or is it the opposite and have been doing too much? ,I've seen from Meath in previous years when we would blast teams for 20/30 minutes and then be dead on our feet for rest of the game, it wasn't that they weren't fit it was they were wrong kind of fit, if u get what I mean. Kildare two weeks ago reminded me of Meath under O'Dowd, plenty of pace early on but carrying lead in boots when a hour gone, now I'm open to correction as the weather that day was exceptional, but is that what it's been like all year or was that a one off? from a Kildare perspective??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/03/2019 20:16:53    2173799

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Can't argue with that juicy. Definitely lacking leaders in this Kildare team. We still have a huge problem defensively too : it is so, so easy to run through our defence. Eoin Doyle is a fine player but I don't know one Kildare supporter who thinks he's a no.6. We have to find one (I don't know who though) & move him out of there.....but said that last year too & hasn't happened.
Going forward we have regressed from last year : our play has been very ponderous. Our inside forwards have all threatened to run riot at various stages (Hyland, Flynn, McCormack) but the ball in has just been too slow and/or poor.
Even in losing in Division 1 last year, we played some good football but this year hasn't been great. (small spells aside)
The fact that our goalkeeper is our best player so far in this league says quite a lot !

We do have some seriously good players though & one big performance on Sunday & we could still (amazingly) get promoted. We go in hope more than expectation though that's for sure."
Think this could well be Cian o neills last year, I heard before that allot of players arnt happy with him, Newbridge or no where saved him last year,a new man would hopefully improve them, but as you said they could still get promoted the game next Sunday is a hard one to call. Donegal would be hard bet in ballybofay and with more players coming back I'm giving them the nod, meath and fermanagh will be tight too but can't see meath losing by ten, should be interesting to See how fermanagh approach this game with Donegal now having a better score difference then them, grinding out a 1 or 2 point win over meath might not be enough. I'll go for meath though as where finally grinding out the wins that used to be our trademark, so for me its a meath v donegal division 2 final. I can see Clare beating Tipp and armagh beating cork so for me its Tipp and cork relegated I'm afraid. All in all an exciting weekend of football with every team something to play for except armagh who are playing for pride.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 19/03/2019 20:32:41    2173802

Replying To seadog54:  "Put pessimism on hold for another week, until we actually get promoted."
Ah yiz are defo promoted .. relax and enjoy Sunday !

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 19/03/2019 22:50:15    2173826

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Goalkeeping howlers are part & parcel of the game not some anomaly.

The 2014 AI final is a constant reminder of this to Donegal people & this is no fault to Papa.

Such is life."
Donegal may not have been breaking even at midfield and he was probably instructed to go short but for someone capable of launching a 70m kick out to indulge in chipping it 20m in the vicinity of one of the most feared forwards was playing a very dangerous game. Felt gutted for him, a very good keeper otherwise.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 504 - 20/03/2019 01:56:45    2173841

I hope Meath obviously beat Fermanagh and Kildare beat Donegal. Three Leinster teams in division 1 in 2020 would be great for the province.

Selwyn (Meath) - Posts: 349 - 20/03/2019 07:41:52    2173848

Replying To KeshGFC:  "Ah yiz are defo promoted .. relax and enjoy Sunday !"
That's what I'm thinking. Just relax, I'm not been disrespectful but if we lose by 10 plus points on Sunday , we have no business been in division one. I still think Fermanagh might win but not be the 10 points

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2019 09:45:42    2173862

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's what I'm thinking. Just relax, I'm not been disrespectful but if we lose by 10 plus points on Sunday , we have no business been in division one. I still think Fermanagh might win but not be the 10 points"
Fermanagh wont even get 10 points never mind win by 10

credit_crunch (Armagh) - Posts: 57 - 20/03/2019 13:19:42    2173929

Replying To Donegalman:  "That is optimistic. We should have been beaten by meath at home. Tipp deserved their win against us with a strong finish. We were marginally better than Clare. Apparently, Cork finished the game at the weekend with 12 players so it is difficult to overlook this. If you were to be brutally honest, we could be on as little as 4 points. The only games we deserved to win on the balance of play was v Clare and Armagh. Possibly 6 if you include Cork at the weekend. But certainly not 10. We are lucky to be on 8.

But I believe we are better than Kildare and we should get over the line at the weekend."
Like I said I was not at the Meath game so not in a position to give a full opinion. However I was at the Tipp game and the strong finish u allude to largely came from Donegal's poor play including scoring 2-2 from silly mistakes. Yes 1-2 of that had to be finished and fair play to Tipp they took that opportunities given. The game should have been in the bag after 40-45 mins. I was fairly strong in my opinion of the 2nd half performance in that game at the time if u read back. In terms of the points total you did not factor the red card in the Fermanagh game which really changed the tide and still a bit of a mystery as to what for. But in all honesty we have only been average and probably lucky to still have faith in our own hands to a degree no matter what arguments you make over points gained or lost. Though with a win on Sunday it will be a case of job done with lots of our younger lads getting plenty of experience under their belts which was the aim at the start.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 20/03/2019 15:54:25    2173985

Replying To totalrecall:  "i have been to all Donegal's league games bar Tipp, where by all accounts Tipp's win was fully merited, regarding the meath game , meath were better than us up until the goal, but they capitulated after that and died, Donegal took the initiative and were the stronger side in the last 10, the game is 70 mins. a big incentive for them if we do meet again in the div 2 final. we deserved to beat Clare, Armagh and Cork. we lost to a Fermanagh team that is already at championship fitness so i wouldn't be too worried about that (they fully merited their win). we have had some greta battles with kildare over the last number of years and the games are always close, I expect sunday to be no different. I expect us to win, just."
Similar lines to my response to DLman I was at the Tipp game. Played some nice stuff in the 1st half without hitting the lights. Largely controlled the 2nd half but our play was predictable and unimaginative at times. Despite this the game should have been out of Tipp's reaches after 40-45 mins. Tipp took the chances given to them in the last 10 mins and in the case of their 2nd goal they did not even have to as we done it for them. Anyways its long done and moved on from. It is all about Sunday and hopefully getting a win against Kildare. Lets hope we are tighter up the middle than in the same game last year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 20/03/2019 16:00:35    2173987

I think the Cork game has swung things a bit in our favour. Not going to elaborate on the past 6 games other than we are where we need to be now despite looking very unlikely this time last week. I believe that we will get the result we need in Ballyshannon by the fact that Kildare are struggling to find any consistency.

Those who have pointed out that we are not in the peak of our fitness yet, nor should we be at this time of year, are right. But younger players must show more. Relying on guys, some of whom are coming into their 15th year playing for the county, is not where we should be at.

Time will tell.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 20/03/2019 19:01:20    2174023

Replying To royaldunne:  "That's what I'm thinking. Just relax, I'm not been disrespectful but if we lose by 10 plus points on Sunday , we have no business been in division one. I still think Fermanagh might win but not be the 10 points"
True and I know you are the man for scenarios so here's another .. if we beat you on Sunday and it's a major if .. it would be very tight ... and Donegal win too .. we would be on equal points with two teams that we'd have beaten both away from home but still rank 3rd and not go up ... now that WOULD be a bitter pill

KeshGFC (Fermanagh) - Posts: 334 - 20/03/2019 20:22:14    2174040

Replying To KeshGFC:  "True and I know you are the man for scenarios so here's another .. if we beat you on Sunday and it's a major if .. it would be very tight ... and Donegal win too .. we would be on equal points with two teams that we'd have beaten both away from home but still rank 3rd and not go up ... now that WOULD be a bitter pill"
Now that would be hard to take.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/03/2019 21:04:16    2174053

Replying To royaldunne:  "If Kildare can get the win I think they will be promoted, they seem a little bit off the pace in navan in second half , lot of tiredness crept in, that is highly unusual for a Kildare team , have they been doing very little hard training or is it the opposite and have been doing too much? ,I've seen from Meath in previous years when we would blast teams for 20/30 minutes and then be dead on our feet for rest of the game, it wasn't that they weren't fit it was they were wrong kind of fit, if u get what I mean. Kildare two weeks ago reminded me of Meath under O'Dowd, plenty of pace early on but carrying lead in boots when a hour gone, now I'm open to correction as the weather that day was exceptional, but is that what it's been like all year or was that a one off? from a Kildare perspective??"
Shocking nonsense Mr Dunne

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 20/03/2019 22:24:14    2174076

This weekend I will go with wins for Armagh, Donegal, Meath and Tipp.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/03/2019 22:37:20    2174085

Replying To Donegalman:  "I think the Cork game has swung things a bit in our favour. Not going to elaborate on the past 6 games other than we are where we need to be now despite looking very unlikely this time last week. I believe that we will get the result we need in Ballyshannon by the fact that Kildare are struggling to find any consistency.

Those who have pointed out that we are not in the peak of our fitness yet, nor should we be at this time of year, are right. But younger players must show more. Relying on guys, some of whom are coming into their 15th year playing for the county, is not where we should be at.

Time will tell."
Who in their 15th year are we relying on ?????

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 20/03/2019 23:39:42    2174092

Replying To KeshGFC:  "True and I know you are the man for scenarios so here's another .. if we beat you on Sunday and it's a major if .. it would be very tight ... and Donegal win too .. we would be on equal points with two teams that we'd have beaten both away from home but still rank 3rd and not go up ... now that WOULD be a bitter pill"
Pity Rory Gallagher doesn't get his teams to score more then.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 21/03/2019 08:07:47    2174107

Replying To meath1977:  "Shocking nonsense Mr Dunne"
First off thank you for addressing me in those terms really appreciate it.
Secondly, perhaps a elaboration??

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/03/2019 09:12:03    2174117

I'll take a chance on wins for Armagh, Donegal, Fermanagh and Clare!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 21/03/2019 12:56:19    2174172

I think Kildare will beat Donegal so it won't then matter if Meath win. I'd prefer Fermanagh in the final so I'm hoping for a draw in Navan. Considering how defensive they are I'd imagine their aim will be to keep it as low scoring as possible and either draw or win narrowly and hope donegal don't win. Very exciting going into the last day.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 21/03/2019 14:46:15    2174208

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "I think Kildare will beat Donegal so it won't then matter if Meath win. I'd prefer Fermanagh in the final so I'm hoping for a draw in Navan. Considering how defensive they are I'd imagine their aim will be to keep it as low scoring as possible and either draw or win narrowly and hope donegal don't win. Very exciting going into the last day."
I know I'm risking having egg on my face come sunday evening but i think Donegal will win on Sunday with a bit to spare. The reasons being that we are starting to get the personal back and our matchday 26 now looks a lot stronger than it was in earlier rounds of the league. I can see Daire O'Baoil and Paddy McGrath getting a start this weekend after good displays off the bench last week and they could be joined by a few others like McFadden Ferry and Neil McGee. I would also expect to see Frank McGlynn play some part and we will have Jason McGee back from suspension. Not sure if Michael Langan will be available after missing last weeks game through injury. This will be our strongest team to feature in the league this year and with Kildare missing a number of last years star players I really think we will see our first big performance of the season and if I'm right we should be at least 5 point winners.

I also think Meath will overcome Fermanagh in Navan. I'd imagine there will be a big home support and while I expect Fermanagh to make it tough for them I'd expect Meath to end up winning by 3 or 4 at the end.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 21/03/2019 16:20:34    2174226