Tyrone flag

Nationalists hate the Republic of Ireland (Free State) more than Unionists.

Bit of an unfair statement. I don't hate ROI. Actully have a lot of friends in it. I just see us all the same, Irish.

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 17/09/2008 14:45:08    101752

as a Southerner living and working in the north I would probably have an appreciation of what Northern Gaels have had to endure over the years. Where I work there are people from both sides of the fence although the Nationalist side are in the majority ( considering Derry is a majority nationalist city that's not a surprise.)
Not long ago , when Derry were playing in the final of the national league , a workmate of mine happened to have a Derry flag on his car. After a fairly heavy night shift he returned to his car to go home and seen his flag ripped and loyalist slogans on his paintwork. So despite the peace process and the calmness of recent years there is still a nasty undercurrent in certain places.

What does irritate me sometimes is the attitude of SOME nationalists/'republicans' who have a paranoia that all Southerners 'sold them out.' I wasn't long letting them know that some of us came from families who most definitley did NOT sell them or any other Irish person out and were to the forefront in things long after 1922. In many ways that saddened me as my late Uncle used to say , Southerners who tried to free Ireland had to face their own government forces as well as those of a foreign occupying power in the North.

Incidentally , went through Strabane the other day and the statues at the Lifford rd roundabout are done up well in the Tyrone jersies. If you put Kerry jersies on them they'd be life size models of Walsh & Donaghy though!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 17/09/2008 15:23:02    101797

Does anyone remember all the Argentinian flags along the South Armagh border during the Falklands War in 1982. This was a peculiar time. They were put there overnight to taunt the British Army in the observation posts. Got to them too!

The above is typical of small-mindedness republicanism.

derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 17/09/2008 15:32:49    101813

Ah Patrique it took you long enough to come out with the Antrim year book, what does this mean? Your more entitle to express yourself than me? I liked the article if you are the real patrique but the writings had an under tone of optimism for the future your writings on this do not. Maybe something has changed you opinion, in Antrim a lot gets you down but you gotta stay up.

As for the Stoop down low party idealism of we have more in common with each other in the north eastern occupied six counties than we do with our 26 county counter parts or on the other side their british counter parts, NONSENSE. I have family family in all areas and strongly disagree sorry, we are Irish its educating the other side that they are now too is whats important, i have very little in common with the people who live beyond the 30foot fence around the corner from my house, If i did surely the fence wouldnt be there, surely the GAA club in glengormlet would not have been singled out on many occaision by fellows whom you cliam have so much in common. Maybe you a "new" stooper though are you?

Oh yeah and as for the hatred in the 6 county v england games ? What dont make me laugh they all sing the same songs thats just to start.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 17/09/2008 15:34:11    101814

I've heard that a size five looks like a golf ball in Donaghy's hand.

nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 17/09/2008 15:38:06    101821

well isnt it just great gettin lessons on history and small mindedness from you guys down mexico way. when im sure when you were all away on hols in spain and the like you were all big brave irishmen of the northern variety yet i have often been referred to as a black **** from the north at matches and on the field of play from ye boyos. thanks for your support on all things gaelic. i was always never in favour of a support ulster mentality but i can see now why northern lads on this site and in general cant help but feel a bit victimised with this nonesense. no wonder the european union thinks you are a bunch of whingeing pipe smoking shilleagh waving greyhound racers. the north is the north yous didnt bother your **** in 1921 and yous arent bothering your **** now. get a history lesson and then talk.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 17/09/2008 15:43:38    101829

reddoctor stop throwing your toys out of the pram, good lad

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 17/09/2008 15:48:23    101843

lads, just wondering, would u be safe going to watch soccer in the oval sporting an Antrim jersey, and would u be safe going to casement part in a Glens shirt? which situation would be more dangerous, and be honest not biased ok? I have no idea, i am curios is all. I am led to believe the Glens and Crus are not as "bad" as the Blues? Mick Deegan used to play for Crus!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 17/09/2008 15:52:42    101850

i was always never in favour of a support ulster mentality but i can see now why northern lads on this site and in general cant help but feel a bit victimised with this nonesense.

You were always never reddoc - I'd say you were always never alright or never always maybe but certainly always always but never never. Nice to see such bile on All Ireland week with Tyrone and Kerry getting ready to rumble - really helps matters

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 17/09/2008 15:54:22    101854

wise_guy

Nationalists hate the Republic of Ireland (Free State) more than Unionists.

Bit of an unfair statement. I don't hate ROI. Actully have a lot of friends in it. I just see us all the same, Irish.

Totally agree with you here wise_guy - We're all the same - IRISH, My passport is Irish, my address is Tyrone, Ireland. I support our International gaelic team, olympians, rugby and international soccer team managed presently by the Italian fella Trappatoni and have loads of relatives and friends all over Ireland. I'm nearly as Irish as St Patrick himself.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 17/09/2008 15:54:38    101855

I know I've already had my rant but I've calmed down since then.

Reddoctor: it's not fair to generalise. The lads here know the craic. Its not an us an them environment, it a small minority who get their kicks out of mixing politics and football.

It's so easy to blow this whole thing out of proportion.

On the main the banter is good craic.

nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 17/09/2008 15:57:31    101858

bad monkey correct having a bad day in the office must be prematch nerves, but some of the rubbishm talked on this thread is beyond me.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 17/09/2008 15:57:50    101860

jayocluxton obviously being one of the godfathers of this great site your very statements must always always be revered, but bile is a very appropriate word for some of the rubbish that comes from you boys, take a good hard look at yourselves maybe thats why your all deluded into thinking you are all on the righteous funny crusade when it comes to the nordies. mugsy id rather buy a season ticket at linfield than go to croker to watch trappatonails and his army of green midgets.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 17/09/2008 16:06:11    101864

For what its worth id say most people in the 32 counties will be supporting tyrone

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 17/09/2008 16:08:57    101870

I think that the only real change up the north is that ye have stopped killin each other!.....all the rest is still the same only with a nice 'Monaghan Lace' veil over it to mask the same old difference that are still there when ya pull the fancy veil away!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 17/09/2008 16:09:18    101872

Here, I'll try again (but a little tip reddoc - don't generalise me - I don't generalise you!)

reddoc and nialldo - big deep breaths lads! Sunday is nearly here and tension is high. Tis a very privileged position to be in (as far as I can remember) and enjoy the craic and banter it brings! The majority on this board will enhance your enjoyment leading up to the game - ignore the rest. Put your feet back as we take ye there .........

Ding! dong!

For your comfort and safety their is a mask above your head. If you feel a loss in blood pressure get some Arthur in - its on tap there at your arm. Feel free to light up as well. On your left is a reading lamp and some glossy magazines and in your safety manual are two tickets for the centre of the Hogan Stand. There is also a whistle and an inflatable woman should you get lonely. Our in flight crew will shortly attend to your every need and apologise that their uniforms have somehow been misplaced at the laundrette. We will be arriving in Croker in 4 days - please enjoy your plight! ..Ah the ould Carlsberg ads!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 17/09/2008 16:19:46    101890

Jayo_cluxton: I have since established that my previous comments on this thread were not intended to be generalised. I have also stated that I have calmed my rant and I've attempted to get red_doctor to do the same. The gripe is not with you, I've already stated this.

nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 17/09/2008 16:32:49    101912

Narrow-minded people everywhere. And by the way, she'd be a busy woman in that office... Strabane has the largest unemployment levels of any town per head of population, in what is known as the UK, over 25 percent unemployment.

Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 17/09/2008 16:47:34    101933

Noted that and appreciate it nialldo - fair play!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 17/09/2008 16:52:07    101939

mugsy... i thought you where smarter, st.patrick was english or scottish(alot of conflicting stories) but definatly not irish

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 17/09/2008 17:05:32    101959