apologies dubmeath i didnt realise you were being so lateral in your analysis. well done reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 15/09/2008 18:11:53 100357 Link 0 |
North Side Gael, patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/09/2008 21:18:15 100427 Link 0 |
I was up in dungannon on friday night last and noticed one part of the town was red and white and the other half was the old red white and blue, it was the very same in armagh city in 2002 and 2003 with the colours up there. sdicndt (Louth) - Posts: 42 - 15/09/2008 23:00:57 100467 Link 0 |
In these tough times, here's a way to save money in Tyrone - two sets of bunting for every town and village. In support of the county GAA teams, the red and white bunting would go up, and when the men in sashes march, some blue bunting would be added! Even the Red Hand flags could be neutralised to satisfy both sides and peace and harmony would reign for a thousand years. Borderboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 16/09/2008 08:56:36 100527 Link 0 |
thykingdomcome, MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 16/09/2008 09:23:11 100539 Link 0 |
Its just too easy lads! Snuffy style on this issue is simple: Theres the flag!....I double dare any man to remove it!....Behold what will happen to ya! Done the same on the site in Australia when the Pope died and some were giving out about their newspaper being full of stories about him! Put up a centrespread picture of the Pope on the wall of the smoko shed not to be removed until the great man who singlehandedly brought down communism in Europe was in the ground!......The first man to complain about it would not live out the rest of the day!......Job done!....Get back to work lads! I had a lot of 'near misses' on the site that week! Regards, Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/09/2008 10:11:43 100578 Link 0 |
Its crazy one wee flag can start such a debate. oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 16/09/2008 10:26:54 100598 Link 0 |
Michael O, thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 16/09/2008 14:11:48 100842 Link 0 |
I'm from Omagh, its the county town of Tyrone. The support for our county team is as rabbid here as it is all over Ireland in the respective towns, in which Gaels make up the dominant portion of the population. Every year we watch the marching season come into bloom with the colours of red white and blue. We get blocked off our roads regularly in summer weekend evenings, the bunting and Unionist flags remain throughout the Nationalist town throughout the entire summer because our past has proven that a live and let live mentality is essential to peaceful living in this predominantly Nationalist town. This year much like 2005, 2003, 1995 and 1986 we have drowned the town in a sea of red and white, to support 2 teams who we are very proud of competing to represent the geographical area of Tyrone and its people regardless of creed or colour in All Ireland Finals on the same day. No sooner had we our flags flying proud than the complaints began to flood in from certain elements of the Unionist Community. Stand up and take note! specifically you GAA supporters who believe that you are more Irish than your Northern counterpart, and you have more right to be part of the greatest festival in the world than him/her. We support our county through thick and thin regardless of what the media have claimed this season. The Ulster Gael flies their flag all to often where it is not wanted, in an attempt to show pride in their team, yet our Irishness is often questioned by Southern Gaels who can fly their flags wherever and whenever they like. Whether we win or lose this Sunday in either the Minor or the Senior All Ireland Finals it will not have been brawn or Irishness we will have been lacking. Good Luck Tyrone Minors and Seniors. nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 16/09/2008 16:24:35 101009 Link 0 |
I want to add to my previous comment by stating that I seem to have generalised against all southern Gaels where it was not my intention. I'm fully aware that it is only an element of less intelligent southern Gaels who have the gall to state such claims, however a persistent niggle it remains. nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 16/09/2008 16:46:47 101054 Link 0 |
nialldo - hope you managed to get it all off your chest. Can't see how it helps though. Maybe stop giving a rats ass about what others think, remove the chip and getting on with it would be better. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/09/2008 17:07:44 101072 Link 0 |
Hey Dubinmeath, were here to comment on the issues facing Gaelic games supporters in the North. nialldo (Tyrone) - Posts: 81 - 16/09/2008 17:35:21 101098 Link 0 |
The fact that Sam Maguire was a Protestant is neither here nor there (as most Irish heroes could be so described) but he would have to be from Cork, wouldn't he? I mean to say that Kerry have had to win the cup named after him on a regular basis to overcome their natural aversion to all things from the big county. Maybe that is why winning Kerry captains give it a good shake on being presented with it; each time they do, they shake a little piece of Cork out of it. plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/09/2008 17:39:08 101102 Link 0 |
Well as you pointed out in your correction (before I posted) you weren't getting at everyone. However I don't think posts like this serve any purpose other than to cause a mass throwing of the eyes to heaven. There are minorities, bigots etc - in all walks of life. Have you seen some of the rubbish aimed at Dub fans on here? As for what the media write!!! I just wish you'd shed the 'victim' mentality and by all means be proud of your county and their achievements - rightly so. You don't need to go around looking for acceptance or approval from anyone else - in any county. If anyone things you are less Irish that is a bigger problem for them than for you - so don't let it bother you. Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/09/2008 17:50:12 101115 Link 0 |
nialldo. Excellent and true post. Looking forward to meeting the Tyrone fans again next weekend. Always had a great crack. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 16/09/2008 19:41:06 101183 Link 0 |
I have a question are unionist more non-irish than unionist or "british". (although it is no right to call them british because they are not) HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 16/09/2008 20:52:56 101222 Link 0 |
Does anyone remember all the Argentinian flags along the South Armagh border during the Falklands War in 1982. This was a peculiar time. They were put there overnight to taunt the British Army in the observation posts. Got to them too! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/09/2008 21:05:38 101228 Link 0 |
Unionists hate England and the English more than Nationalists. Nationalists hate the Republic of Ireland (Free State) more than Unionists. Amazing but mostly true, for a variety of reasons. You should go and watch Norn 'ireland V England at soccer, real, bitter hatred. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/09/2008 23:14:50 101295 Link 0 |
The BBC website has a picture gallery of Tyrone supporters flying their flags across the county (and in Donegal as well). Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 17/09/2008 13:01:12 101659 Link 0 |
Fair play to the GAA supporters in the 6 counties, prouder irish people you will never meet bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 17/09/2008 14:22:31 101726 Link 0 |