Tyrone flag

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhqlqlmhauau/rss2/

Interesting to hear what people make of this - I think it's political correctness at it's worst. In fairness, it's sport, and the person was just supporting their team.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/09/2008 11:56:08    98707

Political correctness gone mad
Whats next, not allowing people to wear Gaelic football jerseys for fear that it might affect people's neutrality?

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 12/09/2008 12:47:03    98742

the person who made the complainant is pathetic. I cant believe it was upheld. Political correctness at its very worst

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 12/09/2008 12:47:43    98744

its a *"$^&* joke. union jacks flying from government builings all the time and someone cannot have a sporting flag on their own car. errrrrrrrrrrr

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 12/09/2008 12:47:48    98745

That's just filthy news that..... always grates my teeth when I hear news like this!!...PC lunacy...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 12/09/2008 12:52:09    98752

Thats pathetic, would they have complained if it had been a rugby or soccer flag.. I doubt it..

Dingle08 (Kerry) - Posts: 128 - 12/09/2008 13:19:10    98791

Sure it's happening in Dublin as well. Property management companies forcing residents to take down flags. I could say a lot more but it wouldn't be posted.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 12/09/2008 13:23:02    98796

I read this this morning, It really comes as no surprise. some people in the the North (both sides) can't see the other half having anything. We put up with red, white and blue over the 12th and all year round and some woman with a small red and white flag on her car is made to take it down. Really thought authorities would have more sense than this considering it is a sports flag - just makes you wonder how far we really have moved on!!! Pathetic

Tir_Na_nOg (Antrim) - Posts: 210 - 12/09/2008 13:26:12    98799

Samin10 is right, where is the neutral environment when the Union flag is flown above the same benefits office/ Big pile of balls.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 12/09/2008 13:29:00    98802

Unbelieveable ...!! Just disgustingly pathetic how anally PC some people can be.

That counts Antrim in too.

Next thing they'll be saying donegals flags are not secular enough.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 12/09/2008 14:05:19    98851

She should've claimed that it was a Polish national flag and threaten them with a racism charge when they asked her to remove it.

Everyone in Tyrone, get some flags on your cars and be proud of your county reaching the AI final.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 12/09/2008 14:19:32    98875

Its a problem we have to live with up here.

A good example was when Fermanagh was in their first Ulster Final in 25years people were writing in to the local papers complaining that the council was going to fund buntings and put up flags.

They also complained when one of the pubs was painted green and white for the occasion.

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 12/09/2008 14:25:24    98884

The Social Security Agency said it had a legal duty to maintain a neutral workplace this is the bit which annoys me most as the GAA is non-exclusive. i doubt the person reporting the flag knows that the cup up for grabs is named after a protestant

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 12/09/2008 14:27:40    98886

Completely true samin10, why should union jacks be stuck to every post in some areas while a single gaa flag in support of a team in the final makes such a big deal.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 12/09/2008 14:37:56    98902

Lads lads lads!
Ye all need a dose of Snuffy style reality here!
Snuffy style sometimes consists of thinking with yer fists, but some tact is needed here!

The social security agency says it has a legal obligation to maintain a neutral environment, but let this woman ask to see where the law is written on this.
Tell them she will not remove it and see what they will do about it.
They wont do anything!.....One word!....Discrimination!
Where is the precedent for this taking down flags thing?.....There is none!

If this went to court, d'ya know what would happen?.....It would be thrown out!!, with a word from the judge to the social security agency not to be wasting court time ever again and bringing the govt agencies into disrepute and wasting taxpayers money with trivial cases against a private citizen!!

Case closed, get out of my sight!.....Thank you judge!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/09/2008 14:55:53    98930

If I was working up there and had a Kerry flag on my car and they asked me to take it down I would feel a victim of rascism and prejudice. Just because I'm from the Republic/from Kerry doesn't mean I have to hide it for the sake of "neutrality".

There's no way I'd take it down.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/09/2008 14:56:54    98933

snuf, 3inarow, i love how simple you'se make it but the reality is nobody is going to risk losing their job or start getting a rebel name for themselves over a flag. the likelyhood is if the woman made a big issue out of it she would only be inviting trouble onto herself. unfortunately thats the way things are up here.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 12/09/2008 15:19:07    98974

And I'd like to add, if they tried to take it down they'd have the Galvinator to deal with!

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 12/09/2008 15:23:35    98983

There are a few meath lads that are lookin for jobs taking down flags!.....but dont pay them by the hour, it took about six minutes for four of them to take down just one Dublin flag on Clonliffe Road!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 12/09/2008 15:34:09    99002

There is a lot of narrow minded people in the North.

There were christians protesting outside a soccer match because it was played on a sunday.

I know a lot of people I work with from the other half are very interested in the GAA sports when I tell them I play hurling.

The trouble is you have narrow minded people all over our wee country up here and thats on both halves of the population.

I'm away to try and show someone from easy belfast to play hurling this could be interesting

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 12/09/2008 15:42:28    99020