What do people think? For once, I agree with Joe; but I'm probably on the losing side of the argument. I only pose the question: how many All Ireland medals would Colm Cooper have won without his teammates? The people who trained him when he was a nipper? I'd be a lot happier if the proceeds were donated to Kerry GAA or his home club. essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 23/09/2017 19:31:07 2049686 Link 3 |
"The people who trained him when he was a nipper? " oh ffs, are you actually serious? No one in the world would be top of their sport without training from someone...
Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 23/09/2017 19:48:17 2049690 Link 0 |
Essmac. I am with you on this. It is not something I personally would be happy with. thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 23/09/2017 19:52:02 2049693 Link 0 |
My big issue with what Colm Cooper is doing is the charity angle attached to it to try and convince people this is something other than what it is. uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/09/2017 19:59:48 2049699 Link 2 |
Great player one of the best ever but I don't agree with this
runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 23/09/2017 20:05:20 2049703 Link 0 |
joe hasnt much issue with the money hes made from being a pundit and newspaper pundit
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 20:09:58 2049710 Link 0 |
Aren't the proceeds going to charity, if so I'm right behind it. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4503 - 23/09/2017 20:37:18 2049722 Link 0 |
I have no problem with this at all. Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/09/2017 20:54:59 2049727 Link 0 |
No only a percentage yo charity. Totally against it tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 334 - 23/09/2017 20:57:16 2049730 Link 0 |
They're jobs. Why would anyone have an issue with them? Cooper also works as a pundit and is paid for it. Nobody has an issue with that. This is a different scenario. I'd agree with the comment above that the fact that a percentage is going to charity and the rest to himself is a bit odd. Events like this are usually charity or not. It's almost as if it's been added to provide more justification. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2289 - 23/09/2017 21:43:07 2049741 Link 1 |
Lads what about the people who trained mark O'Connor Conor glass and the Hanleys ? Those guys took all the amateur coaches had to offer and went off to oz to play a professional sport. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/09/2017 21:52:29 2049743 Link 0 |
if its going to charity then whats the issue?..all i see is mr brolly launching attacks on amateur players while getting paid for it
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 23/09/2017 22:26:30 2049756 Link 1 |
Not comfortable with this - it is a first - in effect it's purpose is mainly to benefit Gooch. Appreciate there is a charity angle but this sounds very like it's a " percentage" ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 23/09/2017 23:07:05 2049774 Link 3 |
Only a portion is going to charity. The rest to Cooper himself. Your point about Brolly getting paid to make his comments has nothing to do with it. This issue isn't about Brolly, and it's irrelevant who made the comment. The issue is about Cooper charging a lot of money per head for a dinner, from which a lot of the proceeds will go into his own pocket. He's well entitled to do it, but people can rightly argue it's not typical of the GAA ethos. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2289 - 23/09/2017 23:27:48 2049781 Link 0 |
J am surprised it took 12 days to get a discussion going on this. A great little country for the nod and a wink. wonit1time (Westmeath) - Posts: 450 - 24/09/2017 09:33:37 2049814 Link 2 |
Totally against it but not in the slightest bit surprised. The whole ethos of the GAA has been changing in the last 15 or so years and steamrolling towards professionalism or semi-professionalism at least in the next 15. All about the money eh!!! How long till we see a split akin to Rugby between County and Club level? Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 24/09/2017 10:18:20 2049825 Link 0 |
This is wrong cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 24/09/2017 11:27:22 2049836 Link 0 |
Do you know what, i dont have a problem with it really and i say best of luck to him. TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4503 - 24/09/2017 11:38:11 2049840 Link 2 |
Im the words of another Cooper Johnny money would destroy the game . That's s fact . Don't know the ins and outs of this particular venture so will sit on the fence. Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/09/2017 12:13:14 2049847 Link 0 |
His business at the end of the day. The whole thing sounds a bit tacky and overpriced, a gig for the who's who. Personally I wouldn't go even if I got a free ticket but if he can fill the place at those prices fair play to him. Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 24/09/2017 12:52:28 2049858 Link 0 |