Where to next?

Replying To Horsebox77:  "They could talk about how dirty Mayo were and the reckless challenges that when punished today - and yes k'biy The selected team could be really changed due to to the sigerson cup fixtures, I'd be miffed if both Jack Barry and Barry Sull were impeded as I think they are a serious option from us, out it this way by all accounts Maher is gone, Brendan Sull is seen as a wing forward, Fitz has resisted in calling in Rob O'Se, I think our style of play or the st6le adopted over the last two weeks with speed of play and direct no delay offloads both Buckley and Moran would slow this down and would not fit the current bill if I'm being honest. This is why I would retain these two but like K'Boy said the college final could knock this on the head.

As for the match postponement simply not good enough not good enough by a county mile - the distance the expense the t8me taken - I'm sorry I know I wasn't traveling basically due to money, distance and work commitments but if I had and I'd be fair pissed off. Mikey preaches no5 enough support for his kingdom team, what will the county board of the Gaa in general do to the brave souls out of pocket. I firmly believe any rescheduled game should be at the very least be half price....."
Well said horse and that would be a nice sentiment although I'd say a fair few of the supporters would be season ticket holder and wouldn't benefit from it, like you say a lot of people put in a lot of time and effort and financial effort into making the game and the least that should be done is fitzmaurice goes on terrace talk and personally thanks the fans .

Horse you make some good points about our midfield they do speed things up and having Buckley and Moran in there would definitely slow things down, also big Brendan playing on the wing he did very well there against Mayo and got a lovely point plus it would be good to have another big man around the middle sector.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2018 00:00:30    2076066

No word on when our refixture with Monaghan will go ahead, in a way would we better off leaving it till the next break which is 3 weeks away I think.

We'd have our full panel of players back by then plus the players who were out injured.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2018 14:58:17    2076262

2:30pm, next Sunday, same venue.

That's another Kerry game that will be missed, hopefully Radio Kerry can keep me updated :(

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2018 15:52:38    2076297

Replying To TheHermit:  "2:30pm, next Sunday, same venue.

That's another Kerry game that will be missed, hopefully Radio Kerry can keep me updated :("
Ah balls it anyway the hermit, let's hope the weather improves a bit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2018 16:02:26    2076307

It will hardly be televised either due to hurling commitments

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/02/2018 16:31:53    2076314

Replying To Horsebox77:  "It will hardly be televised either due to hurling commitments"
No horse I can't see it being televised unless they live stream it on Facebook. I wonder will many make the journey next weekend!

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2018 17:10:30    2076335

I wonder would he pick the same 15 if certain players will become available with the extra weeks recovery - you'd feel for the likes Andrew Barry and I suppose Daithi considering last Sunday could have been the big chance to impress - Peter Crowley and Mikey Geaney were named on the bench they are now 7 days further down the line - Mikey could be a key link now if Barry Sullivan stays in the hunt - a Dingle axis from midfield up?

Just throwing it out there - anywsy a lot will devens on UCD's involvement which we will know Wednesday evening

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/02/2018 22:24:18    2076408

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I wonder would he pick the same 15 if certain players will become available with the extra weeks recovery - you'd feel for the likes Andrew Barry and I suppose Daithi considering last Sunday could have been the big chance to impress - Peter Crowley and Mikey Geaney were named on the bench they are now 7 days further down the line - Mikey could be a key link now if Barry Sullivan stays in the hunt - a Dingle axis from midfield up?

Just throwing it out there - anywsy a lot will devens on UCD's involvement which we will know Wednesday evening"
It would all depend on the Mikey that would turn up horse, on his day Mikey could rip any team apart or disappear into the background he is highly inconsistent but himself and O'Brien Could do a half each like the old days.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/02/2018 02:12:46    2076425

Well I hope he stays with the same 15 as much as possible. If your going to invite lads onto the panel then you have to give them a chance of game time to see can they cut it, or else what is the point? So hopefully Andrew Barry and Casey will start again on Sunday.
I was thinking of Kingdomboy's post a few days back about the Super 8's, this is going to be a serious battle for attrition with seriously competitive matches against the top 3-4 teams in the country. To get through it your going to need a big panel of players to be able to call on and that's why Eamon needs to give as much game time as possible to as many as possible.

I think if we play the League right, a county panel like Kerry's will suit the Super 8''s, ditto Dublin of course.
The likes of Mayo and Monaghan, counties which don't have a huge amount outside their starting 15 could be the ones who suffer.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 13/02/2018 10:58:07    2076465

For those not travelling you can listen to radio coverage on shannonside northern sound, it has all the Monaghan games with commentary and analysis by Nudie Hughes, you Should get up to speed with monaghanese language which is worth a look on you tube postman pat !!..enjoy the show

barroboys (Louth) - Posts: 101 - 13/02/2018 13:46:29    2076528

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well I hope he stays with the same 15 as much as possible. If your going to invite lads onto the panel then you have to give them a chance of game time to see can they cut it, or else what is the point? So hopefully Andrew Barry and Casey will start again on Sunday.
I was thinking of Kingdomboy's post a few days back about the Super 8's, this is going to be a serious battle for attrition with seriously competitive matches against the top 3-4 teams in the country. To get through it your going to need a big panel of players to be able to call on and that's why Eamon needs to give as much game time as possible to as many as possible.

I think if we play the League right, a county panel like Kerry's will suit the Super 8''s, ditto Dublin of course.
The likes of Mayo and Monaghan, counties which don't have a huge amount outside their starting 15 could be the ones who suffer."
Absolutely the hermit and hopefully fitz will play the same team he picked for last Sunday.
like you say we're going to need a massive panel of 30-35 players that can hack it at the top level , when you consider that the teams that get to the final will have 5 hard games in 8 weeks 4 of which will be on the road and which at least 4 out of the 5 games will have to be won .

Like I said previously if mayo Kerry Dublin and Tyrone win the provinces which I'd expect the will then we'll have mayo in our group and possibly Donegal and Kildare that's a hard group to come out of also you could have Tyrone instead of Donegal if Tyrone won ulster , so if you get out of the depending whether you finish 1 or 2 you could be playing the dubs so when you take in to account injuries suspensions and maybe players going through a lack of form then you need a massive squad.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/02/2018 14:23:53    2076541

Replying To barroboys:  "For those not travelling you can listen to radio coverage on shannonside northern sound, it has all the Monaghan games with commentary and analysis by Nudie Hughes, you Should get up to speed with monaghanese language which is worth a look on you tube postman pat !!..enjoy the show"
Good man barroboys, I'd say radio Kerry will have their lads above commentating on it as well.
Let's hope the weather behaves it's self on Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/02/2018 20:38:07    2076638

Does anyone know if anyone is showing the sigurson semifinals tonight?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 18:44:28    2076883

Can't even find a score not to mind see the actual game

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/02/2018 21:01:38    2076914

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Can't even find a score not to mind see the actual game"
UCD won horse by 18 points to 1:13 after two bouts of extra time, that means we're missing or midfield for Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 21:30:24    2076922

It's a UCD v NUIG final lads...so McCarthy a big miss for Monaghan on Sunday !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 14/02/2018 21:37:38    2076926

Replying To Shelbourne:  "It's a UCD v NUIG final lads...so McCarthy a big miss for Monaghan on Sunday !"
Well we'll have no midfield!

What do you reckon lads? Is Griffith back could he be put in there, I suppose Brendan will be put in their for lack of options.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/02/2018 22:04:57    2076931

Ya that's the two Kerry midfielders out so for Sunday, pity but look they hopefully will be back in the centre for the next game - so who will be the likely duo for Monaghan: I'd imagine Brendan O'Sullivan and Daithi Casey or then again I suppose Adrian Spillane could get a look in or will Fitz throw a real curve ball and start someone like Enna O'Conner in the middle - personally I'd like to see Adrain get a shout either a midfield or on the wing. Being honest come dry sod think a brendan will be with the juniors but I know some of ye are fans of Daithi if he gets his start on Sunday he better take it with both hands - personally I think he will be a squad player come dry sod but that's only my opinion.

Who can ye see picked at midfield?

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/02/2018 22:24:06    2076937

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya that's the two Kerry midfielders out so for Sunday, pity but look they hopefully will be back in the centre for the next game - so who will be the likely duo for Monaghan: I'd imagine Brendan O'Sullivan and Daithi Casey or then again I suppose Adrian Spillane could get a look in or will Fitz throw a real curve ball and start someone like Enna O'Conner in the middle - personally I'd like to see Adrain get a shout either a midfield or on the wing. Being honest come dry sod think a brendan will be with the juniors but I know some of ye are fans of Daithi if he gets his start on Sunday he better take it with both hands - personally I think he will be a squad player come dry sod but that's only my opinion.

Who can ye see picked at midfield?"
Moran is back training horse and maher is playing for his club maybe theyl get the shout.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/02/2018 22:49:30    2076943

Both Maher and Moran are a backward step no coldly I'd cull both - at this stage ye know I'm a big fan of Barry Sull he has greatly impressed me of late and his stint for the college beside the Na Gaeil man has done him no harm at all... no he has greatly impressed me they both have and I think their progressive style and ball winning ability as well as they direct style of play is exactly what we have been lacking and need - I feel Maher to a degree and Moran most definitely do not process this critical and vital commodity, Moran in particular would slow up the play and return us to this lateral passing football that has gotten us no where.....

They both too are well able and won't shy away from the dark side of midfield play - they are well able to mix it, Mayo was a case and point here - last year Moran was horsed out of it, both he and Maher for big men are "afraid of it" this was not repeated in Castlebar.....

Ok this week we are missing the two but no I wouldn't pump for Moran/Maher I'd be happier to see Brendan Sull, Enna O'Conner or Daithi picked there, of the 3 mentioned I would put those 3 in a second bracket and Adrain Spillane in first..... this is now if I was picking.. of course last year against Donegal we had Tadgh Morley at Midfield, another option is of course a fit Peter Crowley at 6 and Andrew Barry in midfield - Jack O'Conner picked the Tralee man over Barry Sullivan last year at U21 level if my memory serves me right.

So we have plenty options I just hope it's a progressive and not a regressive choice for Sunday

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/02/2018 23:36:43    2076948