Morning lads, I haven't posted on here in a while, hope ye are all doing well. KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 04/02/2018 11:35:29 2073798 Link 2 |
Hope Clifford is ok, I said during the week it was tough going on a young lads to play 3 hard games in 6 days, we have to mind him and the others or they'll all be on the physios table by Easter TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/02/2018 12:33:12 2073812 Link 1 |
it will be Easter probably before we know what's wrong with Clifford or James. Sorry I've been away off site too for a while but its great to be back watching football again especially after the way we bowed out last year. Its great to see the young lads playing and doing so well so far. I know its only the league but I like what I see and I hope fitzy will stick with these for a while and give a few more a run as well. Early days yet but I like the look of some of these young lads they are mad for road as they say. Even though the game has changed I have said it here a few time if I was starting a team I would have a strong line down the middle and I think Foley looks the real deal and gavin Crowley also has impressed me and with Sean oshea at center forward and Geaney full I would build around those four lads. I agree with Horsebox the likes of moran Darren walsh buckley can walk and thanks for the memories and also I will say this one time we don't need donnaghy or barry john either anywhere near that team. We won the league last year without him and Fitzmaurice had to bring him back and to me he's only slowing down the process, they play way nicer brand of football without him. That's my opinion I could be wrong but what do I know maybe he helps inside training maybe they think he's a leader but that is what I see.
chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 04/02/2018 18:28:47 2073952 Link 2 |
I see Monaghan have put the game on in Inniskeen instead of Clones. I hear its a much smaller pitch, so their obviously looking to contain our attack. TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/02/2018 17:24:41 2074374 Link 1 |
Ah well the hermit it'l be good preparation for our home games in Tralee. Plus our boys are good shooters so hopefully we can pick them off from outside the D.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/02/2018 18:31:07 2074398 Link 1 |
I don't think I was every up in that ground before Kingdomboy, but I'm looking forward to the trip. There is a real buzz and bit of excitement about now because of these young guys, so I'm fascinated to see how they negotiate this next challenge. If we get a win here on Sunday it's defending our title and not preserving our Division 1 status that should become the focus. Winning breeds winning. Did you get to see much of the rugby before the Mayo game? TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/02/2018 19:02:33 2074410 Link 1 |
Lads there are only positives to take from this game, ok looking at the team our keeping position is still unconvincing, ok kick outs are much improved but though we could have done better for the 1st goal maybe I'm being too critical maybe. Anyway Brian O'Beagleach was outstanding as was Jason Foley, Enright spilled one or two but his block on the line more than made up for it. No much improved and tighter than the Donegal game. Outside them I though Murphy was again outstanding as was Ronan Shanahan, text book defending in first half, out in front win the ball straight - won the 50/50, as for Shanahans 2 yellows I blame sideline he was booked, fouled 2 minutes later & the ref checked the notebook it was obvious then that next foul he was gone, Fitz should have introduced Coffey or Flaherty then - ten minutes later was no good. Crowley played O'Shea perfectly right in his face and attack therefore putting O'Shea on the back foot, Crowley scored a goal and set up Burns and BJ Keane for 2 first half points excellent excellent play. Unfort the 2 reds means he will miss the Monaghan Game. midfield was my preferred pairing and boy did they deliver, I have always been a fan of Barry Sull there is a streak of Darragh in him the pup streak that is required for intercounty midfield that Moran, Buckely and Maher are missing we lacked that in Croker vs Mayo but by god it wasn't lacking Saturday night, both Jack Barry and Barry Sull more than held their own so very content here. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/02/2018 20:54:32 2074443 Link 2 |
Lads the jersey only one word to describe the episode - anti-climatic was expecting any variation of 81 or 82.. was i got was a variation of a wet Listowel Emmetts jersey. If the black was replaced by green, then yes maybe - instead of the black then you'd have dark goldm green trims and shorts and dark gold and green socks... would be way nicer.... as it stands won't be rushing to the store to buy this one... Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/02/2018 21:04:28 2074444 Link 2 |
Eanna would be 6'2 horse, he is a big young fella but he's quick and has good feet and vision, he didn't look out of place when he came on the the last night and showed no sign of nerves and got on a world of ball . I'd expect a good few changes like your self for the Monaghan clash, the came down to Killarney last year and bullied us off the pitch, I couldn't understand how doogan didn't get the line that day with all the late hits. As for the jersey, I hated it with a passion on Saturday night on Sunday I felt a bit indifferent towards it but yesterday I started to like it , the black and gold go well together and goalies jersey is all black on the away strip and looked class so Santa might get me that this Christmas. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2018 09:21:32 2074498 Link 1 |
I got to see the first half of the rugby in the club house the hermit, but the place got very busy then and people were hoping off us with drink so we said we head away into the ground and get good seats which we did. I was in inniskeene a few years back and it's a tight enough ground and it will impact us a bit I suppose but it might effect them as well hopefully. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2018 09:29:08 2074499 Link 1 |
Any news on Clifford, IT are playing today I assume he won't be playing, the college must be raging. TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/02/2018 12:13:37 2074549 Link 1 |
Aye the sigurson cup is killing us at the minute hermit, it would be nice if the could find a window for it that doesn't cross over the league.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2018 13:22:07 2074570 Link 1 |
Jaysus lads look at the main forum. They are still commenting on the mayo game. People are obsessed with kerry football. Mind u most of it is just having a go at us over one thing or another aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 670 - 06/02/2018 21:32:31 2074667 Link 2 |
Ah I ignore the main page, I've always maintained that the main page is just a bunch of keyboard warriors or just simply ignorant Gaa plebs - I'll usually read the oppositions main page leading up to a game and did so last week on the Mayo forum and will do so on the Monaghan page before the week is out - Don't bite the bate 31 counties agains is on the main page so hey on a hiding to nothing before you start...... all your short now is someone like old snuff to raise his arogant head, tell us all we're great while still look down her nose at us all.. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/02/2018 21:53:52 2074676 Link 2 |
True, but sure what else is new? The amount of people on there that have a serious Kerry shaped stick up their arse is mind blowing. Anyway what's the point in dwelling on League games, win or lose it's move on to the next one - big picture is having a team and panel ready by the end that can take a serious crack at the Championship. But as I said if results keep going our way, we should do our best to keep it up and retain our League title. On to Monaghan, looks like they'll be a few changes. Clifford didn't start for IT tonight (so doubt we will see him) and Crowley was apparently withdrawn early. Lots of other Kerry lads playing for Colleges too this week so can't see some of them being expected to play another game on Sunday. TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/02/2018 22:07:42 2074682 Link 1 |
Crowley will be suspended - two yellows/reds within 48 weeks thing now is his record will still not be cleared
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/02/2018 22:53:30 2074694 Link 2 |
Ah old snuffy with his capital cumuppance lol, ya in fairness the main page is gone to pot and there is very little spoken about football but it's hard not to get sucked in, in a way we'd probably be better off not rising to the bate and giving the trolls the oxygen they crave but it's tough tryIng To turn the other cheek at times. Would fitz be better off fielding a team without the college players against Monaghan lads? After this weekend there is a break for 2 weeks and the sigurson will be done before we play Galway at home. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/02/2018 00:39:56 2074712 Link 1 |
Just read in examiner thst Liam Brosnan withdrew Crowley at HT as he knew the game was gone and there was no point in him playing on as he had enough ball played recently - Liam is quoted as saying player welfare first - hi fair play to him it is a pity more coaches don't share the same ethos - well done Liam Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/02/2018 08:38:47 2074728 Link 2 |
No I'd go for the jugular if we could get a result up north and maintain the momentum it would be more beneficial - he has to change Clifford and Crowley regardless and Stephen O'Brien may be under pressure also those 3 are the only change I can see with Morley if fit O'Connor/Casey at 10 and either Jack Savage or Killian Spillane in at 13 - If Morley isn't fit the number 6 selection will be interesting
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/02/2018 09:50:02 2074742 Link 2 |
I agree with you horse give the young lads a break this week and bring them back in for the Galway game in two weeks time and let them of the leash against a young Galway team. I have a funny feeling the older lads will be in a bit of a panic to come back now and you'd never know maybe some of them might be inspired to call it a day. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/02/2018 12:55:43 2074791 Link 1 |