Replying To KingdomBoy1: "Well lads I don't know where to start regarding yesterday's game, I thought we were going to lose before the game then we started brightly and they had Mullins sent off and I thought we'll win now but we never took advantage of having the extra man, I had no idea where foley was playing, our midfield were well beat, I thought our backs were hung out to dry and when our backs were being beat fitz made two changes in the forwards, I was in the stand and I was looking down and there was fitz standing with his hands in his pockets, a few Tralee lads in the crowd were letting a few roars at him to do something.
In fairness the players managed to work it out them selves and daithi Casey made a massive impact when he came on not just with the winning point but his ball carrying skills are brilliant he almost reminds me of Declan o'Sullivan, our young lads did well and will have learned a lot from that game.
I think mayo will beat us on Saturday as they are pretty much at full strength, but hopefully fitzs will play the young lads again just throw them in and let them sink or swim." Pretty much at full strength! Missing Higgins, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Seamie O Shea, Parsons, Doc and Cillian the last day and Andy and Aido at walking pace. And you're coming up with all these young bucks, like suck calves let out after the winter, and them rarin to go. And since when did you think Mayo would beat Kerry at anything? KingdomBoy you're some buck!!!
Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 30/01/2018 20:13:45
We have on our books several forwards, Mossie Fitz, Mikey Sheehy, Liam Hassett, even Fitzmaurice himself played on the 40. Fitz himself was a centre back how can he not see where things are going glaringly obviously wrong. Should he cull one of his back room forward like Hassett or Mikey for a exerienced and willing or knowledgeable defender willing to step into the breach. Ok I'm not plumping for Seamus i'd go along the stephen stack or Barry Shea route..... thoughts....
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/01/2018 20:21:42
Replying To Llaw_Gyffes: "Pretty much at full strength! Missing Higgins, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Seamie O Shea, Parsons, Doc and Cillian the last day and Andy and Aido at walking pace. And you're coming up with all these young bucks, like suck calves let out after the winter, and them rarin to go. And since when did you think Mayo would beat Kerry at anything? KingdomBoy you're some buck!!!" Ah ya but you have to admit your fringe players are not compete greenhorns or rookies like ours and yours are a year or two further down the track Senior conditioned wise than ours - I think the majority of Kerry supporters would be happy with a more improved defensive display and a bit more blooding of players anything else is a bonus
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/01/2018 21:18:23
Welcome to Mayo to whoever is traveling up on Sat. Many of Ye making a weekend of it? There will be a massive home support in MacHale with hopefully a good Kerry following too.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11734 - 30/01/2018 21:52:19
Replying To Llaw_Gyffes: "Pretty much at full strength! Missing Higgins, Barrett, Keegan, Vaughan, Seamie O Shea, Parsons, Doc and Cillian the last day and Andy and Aido at walking pace. And you're coming up with all these young bucks, like suck calves let out after the winter, and them rarin to go. And since when did you think Mayo would beat Kerry at anything? KingdomBoy you're some buck!!!" Go on out of that llaw boy ye'L give us an awful beating I'd say :-) ye have our number now and ye won't want to take yer foot of our throats :-)
In fairness I'm looking forward to heading up on Saturday and I look forward to seeing how both teams setup.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2018 21:53:20
Replying To yew_tree: "Welcome to Mayo to whoever is traveling up on Sat. Many of Ye making a weekend of it? There will be a massive home support in MacHale with hopefully a good Kerry following too." Ya I'm heading up and down on the one day yew, I love Mchale park, its a fine stadium and well run.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2018 22:26:43
Replying To GeniusGerry: "I've been a defender of Eamons on here since I joined HS but the lack of any sort of coherent plan in defence is really worrying. How can he not have learned anything from last year?
I believe the players are good enough with the right system but on Sundays evidence we are not going to find out for sure. Leaving Enright and Coffey man v man the last day when we had an extra man was madness. We could have won well if we weren't so porous at the back." Like a poster on the Kerry GAA forum said, Donegal did to us on Sunday what we did to them in the final in 2014 by mcnillias dragging foley out the field leaving mcbrearty the run of the place. Like you I think we have players to win an allireland but our management worries me, and it makes me think was cian o'neill The brains behind our 2014 win.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2018 22:33:48
Replying To Horsebox77: "Well a lot to ponder depending on ones outlook on life, if one is an optimist ah new blood, good win, great start etc, if one is a pessimist conceding 3-14 at home and could have been 5-14.
Anyway on the team itself, Keeper his kick outs were top notch but he cannot he happy with his defence leaving him exposed for first 2 goals felt he could have done better with third, full back line were very exposed which is frightening considering the history and Mayo in Croker felt that maybe Foley should have stayed inside for his pace with Enright with Coffey between the 21 and 45. Paul Murphy as well unreal, I was glad to see a Shanahan get another stint but as good as he was he should have been in the corner imo, Gavin is a class act but not a centre man and here was where we were exposed. As ye know I am a huge fan of Barry Sullivan and think of the 2 on Sunday he was the pick - his kick passing and ball control was good, Brendan sorry I know I'll be shot here but think he is kerry junior standard but not a starter.
Up front 6 scoring forwards that racked up 2-18 again ye know i'm a huge fan of Seanie Se and Sean O'Seanachian, Seanie has the dream debut wow his control passing and movement is the exact trait we have been lacking since Declan he controlled the game when the ball was played through him but for some reason we stopped for a bit in the second half, also when he gets the ball his instinct is attack attack attack with very ball going forward that's was we need direct play not this side to side lateral rubbish quick fast crisp ball in - of Sunday's starting forwards how many are 2 footed and comfortable off both feet. Stephen was poor in patches but when needed was very preductive, Burns can be happy but we really need to win breaking ball totally cleaned out here totally totally cleaned out. Inside Clifford understandably nervous but I always like his unselfishness always looks for the man better positioned. Paul has become a real leader now for us but feel BJ Keane is a backward step at one stage yesterday he had the ball , Foley on the shoulder but took the Selfish option and ballooned wide...... not good enough
For next Saturday I wouldn't rotate keepers leave Murphy in., hopefully Brian O'Beagleacht is available - Clifford and Crowley have to be managed recovery wise, in the middle I'd plum for Barry Sull and Jack Barry and up front would rather see Killian for Bj Keane. So Murphy, Shanahan, Foley, Enright, O'Beagleacht, Crowley, Murphy, Barry Sull & Jack Barry, Burns, O'Se, O'Brien, Killian Spillane, Geaney, Clifford.
With more game time for Flaherty, O'Seanachain, Daithi, Coffey - would Rob O'Se get a look in- there will be a lot more big ball to the middle but the win allows us breathing space" Great post as always horse, and I like your team for Saturday night although I'd like to see daithi get a start.
On another note the IT had a great win today against queens and Clifford got 1:04 of their 2:08 tally. Seanie and killian had a great games for UCC as well.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2018 22:40:22
I was at the new terracing end of the stand on Sunday so I was a good bit away from the Kerry forward line in the first half, but looking at a recording of the game after, Clifford was certainly frequently "welcomed" to senior county football by the Donegal backs. Given that, and then a long journey to Belfast the next day, the staring role he played in the IT's game yesterday and then another long journey home, will Fitzy throw him in again for what is sure to be a very physical encounter with the Mayo backs! That's three very tough games in six days, with a lot of traveling on top for a young fella. I wouldn't be surprised if he was rested. Who would replace him? Savage, Spillane or maybe moving O'Brien into FF line.
Horse you may be right about the backroom team balance, they probably could do with a voice from someone who toiled in the backs themselves. If it was up to me I'd ditch Hasset because I honestly can't see in the last year what he has brought to the team, only making a fool of himself and his county by his antics last August. But as you said, how a man that played center back with such distinction as Fitz can seem all at sea about putting in place a proper defence for Kerry is a mystery.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/01/2018 13:28:46
Replying To TheHermit: "I was at the new terracing end of the stand on Sunday so I was a good bit away from the Kerry forward line in the first half, but looking at a recording of the game after, Clifford was certainly frequently "welcomed" to senior county football by the Donegal backs. Given that, and then a long journey to Belfast the next day, the staring role he played in the IT's game yesterday and then another long journey home, will Fitzy throw him in again for what is sure to be a very physical encounter with the Mayo backs! That's three very tough games in six days, with a lot of traveling on top for a young fella. I wouldn't be surprised if he was rested. Who would replace him? Savage, Spillane or maybe moving O'Brien into FF line.
Horse you may be right about the backroom team balance, they probably could do with a voice from someone who toiled in the backs themselves. If it was up to me I'd ditch Hasset because I honestly can't see in the last year what he has brought to the team, only making a fool of himself and his county by his antics last August. But as you said, how a man that played center back with such distinction as Fitz can seem all at sea about putting in place a proper defence for Kerry is a mystery." Ya it's going to be interesting to see the team picked for Saturday the hermit , I take it we'll hear it on Friday night, I take it fitz will have to replace jod in the squad so maybe tomás o'sé, could we see eanna o'conicuir? Also o'beaglaoih and Cathal o'luing in the backs as we're tight in that area and maybe rob o'se into midfield, or will Eamon give those lads a weeks break until the Monaghan game! Also will fitz target the mayo game over the Monaghan one or vice versa.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 14:21:00
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "Ya it's going to be interesting to see the team picked for Saturday the hermit , I take it we'll hear it on Friday night, I take it fitz will have to replace jod in the squad so maybe tomás o'sé, could we see eanna o'conicuir? Also o'beaglaoih and Cathal o'luing in the backs as we're tight in that area and maybe rob o'se into midfield, or will Eamon give those lads a weeks break until the Monaghan game! Also will fitz target the mayo game over the Monaghan one or vice versa." To be fair our record against either in recent League's isn't great and considering they are both away games it much of muchness. However, in an ideal world I'd like us to stick with more or less the same team as Sunday, get two decent performances and hopefully one win to ease any fears about staying up, and then target the Dublin match for a really big performance when some of the senior players will be coming on stream.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/01/2018 15:17:56
Replying To TheHermit: "To be fair our record against either in recent League's isn't great and considering they are both away games it much of muchness. However, in an ideal world I'd like us to stick with more or less the same team as Sunday, get two decent performances and hopefully one win to ease any fears about staying up, and then target the Dublin match for a really big performance when some of the senior players will be coming on stream." Ya that sounds good the hermit, we'l Need one win on the road and two more home wins if we can.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 17:39:55
Replying To TheHermit: "To be fair our record against either in recent League's isn't great and considering they are both away games it much of muchness. However, in an ideal world I'd like us to stick with more or less the same team as Sunday, get two decent performances and hopefully one win to ease any fears about staying up, and then target the Dublin match for a really big performance when some of the senior players will be coming on stream." Also I wouldn't like to be heading to Tyrone in our last game having to get 2 points to stay up.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 17:42:15
Lads any talk of who may be back for a Saturday's game - I take it James I'd out does anyone know what Jack Barry's story is - Good too to see that all our players kicking collage ball yesterday not only came through ok but by all accounts give good displays and enhanced the reputation
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 31/01/2018 18:39:39
Replying To Horsebox77: "Lads any talk of who may be back for a Saturday's game - I take it James I'd out does anyone know what Jack Barry's story is - Good too to see that all our players kicking collage ball yesterday not only came through ok but by all accounts give good displays and enhanced the reputation" Will the West Kerry boys be back I wonder?
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/01/2018 20:34:21
Replying To TheHermit: "Will the West Kerry boys be back I wonder?" Ya that's what I was thinking my self, they'd be flying fit as well.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 20:45:57
Ya I can see O'Beagleacht starting 2 more could be added to the bench, there are also talks of an 'away'' jersey but not the traditional Munster blue buts a variation of the 81/82 style but keeping to the good more than green variation - if the current offering is anything to go by it promises to be a popular option.
Back to your question about anyone west of blennerville bridge let the native K'boy enlighten us, me I'd love to Se Sean O'Seanachain get an extended run next Saturday night, I think he is a fine fine player and a serious ball player has the potential if harnessed right - talk too up north the Maher is gone gone on medical advise, hip issues that he has had with years just keeps manifesting and recurring due to overplay training etc... a loss rate him over Moran and still stand by my comments that both Moran/Sheehan won all stars due to their partner ship with him .
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 31/01/2018 20:50:25
Replying To Horsebox77: "Ya I can see O'Beagleacht starting 2 more could be added to the bench, there are also talks of an 'away'' jersey but not the traditional Munster blue buts a variation of the 81/82 style but keeping to the good more than green variation - if the current offering is anything to go by it promises to be a popular option.
Back to your question about anyone west of blennerville bridge let the native K'boy enlighten us, me I'd love to Se Sean O'Seanachain get an extended run next Saturday night, I think he is a fine fine player and a serious ball player has the potential if harnessed right - talk too up north the Maher is gone gone on medical advise, hip issues that he has had with years just keeps manifesting and recurring due to overplay training etc... a loss rate him over Moran and still stand by my comments that both Moran/Sheehan won all stars due to their partner ship with him ." I look forward to seeing that jersey horse, and the Gaeltacht lads will be ready and willing I'm sure if they get the call, I'd also be a big fan of o'seanachain he's a serious grafter and like you say a great baller, also I'd like to see Kevin McCarthy get a shout.
It's a pity about Maher if it's true coz like you I believe he got Moran and Sheehan their all stars I'm just delighted he got one himself.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/01/2018 23:03:22
The big Duagh man will be greatly missed if that is true Horse, an often unsung hero but I have to slightly disagree - I was once the biggest critic of Sheehan and in particular I put our lose in 2008 on his shoulders, but he bloomed into a mighty player, particularly in 2011, and full deserved that All-Star. How many All-Ireland's did Maher have in the end? 09/14, was he on the panel in 06/07?
Yes I've heard Galvin state the new jersey is coming. Personally I have also liked our away strips, I loved the Munster blue we had around 2001, we also had a really nice white and blue around 2006, the 2015-2017 blue jersey was really nice as well, but I think my favorite was the lovely navy kit we had around 2008. So I'll be sad to see the blue/navy trim go.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/02/2018 09:58:15
Replying To TheHermit: "The big Duagh man will be greatly missed if that is true Horse, an often unsung hero but I have to slightly disagree - I was once the biggest critic of Sheehan and in particular I put our lose in 2008 on his shoulders, but he bloomed into a mighty player, particularly in 2011, and full deserved that All-Star. How many All-Ireland's did Maher have in the end? 09/14, was he on the panel in 06/07?
Yes I've heard Galvin state the new jersey is coming. Personally I have also liked our away strips, I loved the Munster blue we had around 2001, we also had a really nice white and blue around 2006, the 2015-2017 blue jersey was really nice as well, but I think my favorite was the lovely navy kit we had around 2008. So I'll be sad to see the blue/navy trim go." Jays I have an away jersey from around 1999-2000 and it was practically the tipp Jersey without the gold hoop and it was so baggy.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/02/2018 10:20:27