Where to next?

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was reading an article this morning in which Mikey Sheehy was saying our supporters are a disgrace that hardly any 1 turned up for the replay with mayo and where as that is true I did mention many times on here that since they shut the doors to the Kerry fans in Fitzgerald stadium for training sessions there was going to be a disconnect between the fans and the team.
Not to mention all the young Kerry fans who used to go to watch their hero's train and it could get a lot worse down the road with these young fellas deciding to follow the soccer and rugby instead.
Fitzmaurice and Mikey should have walked away after the disgraceful performance against Mayo in the replay."
That's a bit rich alright by Mikey. I was there and I'm sure 95% of the people who contribute to this forum were as well. Mayo have an unnaturally large following, any county will look poorly attended compared to them gluteens for punishment!

And in fairness, unlike yourself Kingdomboy and many others, I don't have to worry about the expense of bringing a car full of kids up to Dublin, paying for tickets for a family, petrol, food and drink and possibly overnight accommodation.

Like, what jobs are down home other than farming and the tourist industry? I'm stuck up in Dublin most of the year to keep a roof over my head and I'd love to have the option to life at home permanently but what work is there?

The amount of friends I have that work in something related to tourism and have to be there every weekend come April to October and don't have the option to get time off to attend Championship games let alone the money to spare traipsing up to Croke Park and dropping 100 quid before you even take your seat, between everything!

I think it's a pretty poor comment. Its easy to have 50,000 attending games when, for example, your a city of over a million and can jump on a luas or bus to get to a match. It's a lot harder when you have a 4 hour drive (and that's only from north Kerry!).

I've been going to League games a long time, and I always think that is a truer reflection of the support for any county side, and Kerry fans pack out Tralee and Killarney for home games as good as any county does theres. I've never seen too much difference also between the amount of Kerry fans traveling to away games and the ones from other counties coming down here.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2018 14:01:15    2068875

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's a bit rich alright by Mikey. I was there and I'm sure 95% of the people who contribute to this forum were as well. Mayo have an unnaturally large following, any county will look poorly attended compared to them gluteens for punishment!

And in fairness, unlike yourself Kingdomboy and many others, I don't have to worry about the expense of bringing a car full of kids up to Dublin, paying for tickets for a family, petrol, food and drink and possibly overnight accommodation.

Like, what jobs are down home other than farming and the tourist industry? I'm stuck up in Dublin most of the year to keep a roof over my head and I'd love to have the option to life at home permanently but what work is there?

The amount of friends I have that work in something related to tourism and have to be there every weekend come April to October and don't have the option to get time off to attend Championship games let alone the money to spare traipsing up to Croke Park and dropping 100 quid before you even take your seat, between everything!

I think it's a pretty poor comment. Its easy to have 50,000 attending games when, for example, your a city of over a million and can jump on a luas or bus to get to a match. It's a lot harder when you have a 4 hour drive (and that's only from north Kerry!).

I've been going to League games a long time, and I always think that is a truer reflection of the support for any county side, and Kerry fans pack out Tralee and Killarney for home games as good as any county does theres. I've never seen too much difference also between the amount of Kerry fans traveling to away games and the ones from other counties coming down here."
Exactly the hermit, my family spend thousands of euros every year following our club and county on average €3000 and you'd have a nice holiday abroad for that I can tell you , but we love football and our club and county so we support them at all levels as best we can and I can't wait for Sunday week for it all to start again, but to have Mikey coming out berating the fans using it as a reason as to why we lost against Mayo is a bit much, the team put out by fitz and Mikey against Mayo for the replay was totally conservative and reeked of fear and mayo made dust of us, also leaving Shane enright on Moran was a disgrace also only deciding the night before the game to implement a sweeper was ameture.
It's up to the management and team to give the supporters something to shout about so Mikey all the blame is on ye'r back .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2018 14:31:24    2068888

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Exactly the hermit, my family spend thousands of euros every year following our club and county on average €3000 and you'd have a nice holiday abroad for that I can tell you , but we love football and our club and county so we support them at all levels as best we can and I can't wait for Sunday week for it all to start again, but to have Mikey coming out berating the fans using it as a reason as to why we lost against Mayo is a bit much, the team put out by fitz and Mikey against Mayo for the replay was totally conservative and reeked of fear and mayo made dust of us, also leaving Shane enright on Moran was a disgrace also only deciding the night before the game to implement a sweeper was ameture.
It's up to the management and team to give the supporters something to shout about so Mikey all the blame is on ye'r back ."
Exactly, trying to imply they lost because there might have been 5,000 Kerry fans there instead of 10,000 is BS of the highest order.

I remember in 2009 against the Dubs our supporters were outnumbered 10 to 1, it didn't stop Kerry playing that day, or any other day!

That replay was the worst Kerry performance I've seen in Croke Park in a long long time, we didn't even die with our boots on and that is a minimum requirement for me in Croke Park, regardless of injuries or playing talent!

He'd do well to mull on the failings of the management team in every one of the 3 major Championships defeats we have had since the 15 final rather than pointing the finger at people who can't justify another big expense day out in Dublin, 6 days after the last!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2018 15:26:03    2068896

Replying To TheHermit:  "Exactly, trying to imply they lost because there might have been 5,000 Kerry fans there instead of 10,000 is BS of the highest order.

I remember in 2009 against the Dubs our supporters were outnumbered 10 to 1, it didn't stop Kerry playing that day, or any other day!

That replay was the worst Kerry performance I've seen in Croke Park in a long long time, we didn't even die with our boots on and that is a minimum requirement for me in Croke Park, regardless of injuries or playing talent!

He'd do well to mull on the failings of the management team in every one of the 3 major Championships defeats we have had since the 15 final rather than pointing the finger at people who can't justify another big expense day out in Dublin, 6 days after the last!!!"
Exactly the hermit spot on. I wonder who does Mikey blame for missing the penalty in 82? I mean there was a sizable Kerry crowd in crokepark that day by the looks of it.
In fairness Mikey should be embarrassed for making a comment like that.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2018 15:46:50    2068909

Ok lads easy up a small bit, some quotes could be taken out of context - in fairness he held his hand up and admitted that they got the calls wrong both on and off the field last year agains Mayo - he's man enough to admit that means that they understand what happened and can make amends and rectify going forward.

I will say one thing there is a disengagement or late between the panel players and general public and this is partly down to the behind closed doors sessions - I do agree with behind closed doors as why would you devise a new system and allow it to be looked at studies and broken down before its hits the field of play, I do think a compromise say once a month where the doors are in shackled and the masses allowed in.

Leave 1982 where it is, I watched it recently on eir sport they showed it - it was a cracking game hard fought and we were just unlucky and didn't get the rub and the green.

Heard on Kerry radio that about 15 regulars are unavailable for Sunday week looks like we will see a very young and untested team out so but thing is the young ones are not used to losing that's. A good habit I would like to see continuing.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/01/2018 20:52:14    2068978

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ok lads easy up a small bit, some quotes could be taken out of context - in fairness he held his hand up and admitted that they got the calls wrong both on and off the field last year agains Mayo - he's man enough to admit that means that they understand what happened and can make amends and rectify going forward.

I will say one thing there is a disengagement or late between the panel players and general public and this is partly down to the behind closed doors sessions - I do agree with behind closed doors as why would you devise a new system and allow it to be looked at studies and broken down before its hits the field of play, I do think a compromise say once a month where the doors are in shackled and the masses allowed in.

Leave 1982 where it is, I watched it recently on eir sport they showed it - it was a cracking game hard fought and we were just unlucky and didn't get the rub and the green.

Heard on Kerry radio that about 15 regulars are unavailable for Sunday week looks like we will see a very young and untested team out so but thing is the young ones are not used to losing that's. A good habit I would like to see continuing."
"I felt it was embarrassing, there were so few Kerry people there, particularly for the replay. Jesus, they didn't travel, whether it was because it was a Saturday afternoon or not".

That's a direct quote from Sheehy Horse, I think its a little cheeky to be giving out to supporters, games are won on the sideline and it's let us down badly in recent years.

Agree about the closed door, you need the supporters goodwill and it's stupid not to open up even one training session every few weeks.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/01/2018 21:59:12    2068996

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ok lads easy up a small bit, some quotes could be taken out of context - in fairness he held his hand up and admitted that they got the calls wrong both on and off the field last year agains Mayo - he's man enough to admit that means that they understand what happened and can make amends and rectify going forward.

Heard on Kerry radio that about 15 regulars are unavailable for Sunday week looks like we will see a very young and untested team out so but thing is the young ones are not used to losing that's. A good habit I would like to see continuing."
Ya I'd say fitz will rest the ould lads for the championship horse, I read that Kevin Mac is in the panel so that's good.
I haven't spoken to one Kerry fan that's happy that fitz and Mikey stayed on.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/01/2018 22:00:10    2068997

Ya look I see where ye are coming from but truth be told I'm happy fitz is staying on mind you I would have rattled the back room selectors I wouldn't have rattified Hassett or Mikey but that's only a personal opinion. i do think the addition of Weldon and O'Connor will enhance our fitness peak use and positional sense and distribution.

Back to an earlier post regarding the cost of following the team - I remember my wife and I sitting down and adding up the cost of being a kerry support that year, between league games and the unexpected trips to mullingar and tullamore and back then there was only the 2 of us nowadays the number has doubled with two smallies now in toe.... it is costly but still enjoyable often it isn't the match or the win or lost but more they journey the familiar faces - I remember 2000 meeting the same girl at 3 matches in a row and it became a half superstitious trend were we would seek ourselves out and once we'd meet sure we knew we'd win..... funny now looking back at it... total stranger....

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 17/01/2018 22:16:23    2069000

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya look I see where ye are coming from but truth be told I'm happy fitz is staying on mind you I would have rattled the back room selectors I wouldn't have rattified Hassett or Mikey but that's only a personal opinion. i do think the addition of Weldon and O'Connor will enhance our fitness peak use and positional sense and distribution.

Back to an earlier post regarding the cost of following the team - I remember my wife and I sitting down and adding up the cost of being a kerry support that year, between league games and the unexpected trips to mullingar and tullamore and back then there was only the 2 of us nowadays the number has doubled with two smallies now in toe.... it is costly but still enjoyable often it isn't the match or the win or lost but more they journey the familiar faces - I remember 2000 meeting the same girl at 3 matches in a row and it became a half superstitious trend were we would seek ourselves out and once we'd meet sure we knew we'd win..... funny now looking back at it... total stranger...."
Ah yeah, look I'd never question or think it was money down the drain spent traveling around the country watching Kerry.
It's my passion and for me it's also a way to keep the link with home strong and personal.

But there are a lot of factors which negate the attendance of Kerry supporters for games up in Dublin, and Sheehy should know that. Dublin and some of the other cities might be getting back on their feet after the recession, it will be a long time before any of that recovery trickles down to Kerry.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2018 10:35:08    2069041

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ya look I see where ye are coming from but truth be told I'm happy fitz is staying on mind you I would have rattled the back room selectors I wouldn't have rattified Hassett or Mikey but that's only a personal opinion. i do think the addition of Weldon and O'Connor will enhance our fitness peak use and positional sense and distribution.

Back to an earlier post regarding the cost of following the team - I remember my wife and I sitting down and adding up the cost of being a kerry support that year, between league games and the unexpected trips to mullingar and tullamore and back then there was only the 2 of us nowadays the number has doubled with two smallies now in toe.... it is costly but still enjoyable often it isn't the match or the win or lost but more they journey the familiar faces - I remember 2000 meeting the same girl at 3 matches in a row and it became a half superstitious trend were we would seek ourselves out and once we'd meet sure we knew we'd win..... funny now looking back at it... total stranger...."
Horse for a second there I thought you were going to say you ended up marrying the girl you used to meet at the matches now that would have been some story. ;-)

And ya I've made some good friends with people from other parts of the county going to the matches which is brilliant.

And like you say hopefully Weldon and o'Connor make a big difference, I suppose it can't hurt except maybe in the pocket.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 13:23:51    2069078

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah yeah, look I'd never question or think it was money down the drain spent traveling around the country watching Kerry.
It's my passion and for me it's also a way to keep the link with home strong and personal.

But there are a lot of factors which negate the attendance of Kerry supporters for games up in Dublin, and Sheehy should know that. Dublin and some of the other cities might be getting back on their feet after the recession, it will be a long time before any of that recovery trickles down to Kerry."
The hermit have you any chance of moving home in the future? I'd hate to have to live somewhere else and I'm blessed I don't have to but the hard thing for us is we know our young fella will have to leave someday as their is nothing here for him unfortunately unless the government start sending work down this way which they won't :-(

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 13:29:17    2069080

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit have you any chance of moving home in the future? I'd hate to have to live somewhere else and I'm blessed I don't have to but the hard thing for us is we know our young fella will have to leave someday as their is nothing here for him unfortunately unless the government start sending work down this way which they won't :-("
I'll probably be home this time next year to go back on the dole ;D

Ah look its grand, I get home loads and my job means I can work from anywhere a lot of the time. I'm not looking to settle down or buy a house or anything at this stage of my life either, but when I'm in my 40s I'd defo be looking to move home somehow, someway.

Anyway, jesus have you seen the amount of lads not available for the Donegal game? It's going to be all new faces next Sunday it seems!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2018 14:38:24    2069089

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'll probably be home this time next year to go back on the dole ;D

Ah look its grand, I get home loads and my job means I can work from anywhere a lot of the time. I'm not looking to settle down or buy a house or anything at this stage of my life either, but when I'm in my 40s I'd defo be looking to move home somehow, someway.

Anyway, jesus have you seen the amount of lads not available for the Donegal game? It's going to be all new faces next Sunday it seems!"
Ah good stuff , you're in no panic if you can stick it out up there and make a few quid.

Ya we' Gona have plenty of new faces it seems and hopefully they will equip themselves well and do our county proud.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 15:26:17    2069099

Replying To TheHermit:  "I'll probably be home this time next year to go back on the dole ;D

Anyway, jesus have you seen the amount of lads not available for the Donegal game? It's going to be all new faces next Sunday it seems!"
The hermit if you get a chance go onto the Kerry GAA forum general boards and go down to page 6 on the winter talk thread and go to an article by a poster called realman and see what you think of his post.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 20:06:22    2069165

Ah good in a way, I'm glad the hand is forced and they selectors have no choice but to give the new played their iron, the best thing is these players have a swagger and air of confidence about them do to a winning habit which in my opinion is great - give them the jerseys and then it s up to the seasoned players to fight to win it back.

Roll on Donegal cos lads this will be a serious test for an inexperienced senior aide against a team that has had 4 hard McKenna Cup games in hard conditions behind them.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/01/2018 20:53:34    2069174

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The hermit if you get a chance go onto the Kerry GAA forum general boards and go down to page 6 on the winter talk thread and go to an article by a poster called realman and see what you think of his post."
Thanks for reminding me Kingdomboy, I had come across that a few weeks ago but forgot all about it.

Not that any of the Dubs mafia on the main forum will read it, uncomfortable reading.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/01/2018 11:06:12    2069237

Replying To TheHermit:  "Thanks for reminding me Kingdomboy, I had come across that a few weeks ago but forgot all about it.

Not that any of the Dubs mafia on the main forum will read it, uncomfortable reading."
Sound the hermit I'm not allowed to mention anything about Dublins finances so I thought you might be allowed to post it.

It makes interesting reading in fairness, I mean it's a big help having full time administration and a PR company all paid for by the GAA.

In fairness the sheep on the main page would want to go away and do their own research but for a lot of them they hate us so much that they don't mind what the dubs do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/01/2018 12:13:02    2069256

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound the hermit I'm not allowed to mention anything about Dublins finances so I thought you might be allowed to post it.

It makes interesting reading in fairness, I mean it's a big help having full time administration and a PR company all paid for by the GAA.

In fairness the sheep on the main page would want to go away and do their own research but for a lot of them they hate us so much that they don't mind what the dubs do."
Ah to heck with them, I've said my piece and we'll leave it for another few weeks ;D

Only one week to go now, as Horse said it will be exciting to see what team is named and how they go. I really hope the young guns acquit themselves well.

A win might be a big ask but if they get it they'll have a cushion against been drawn into any relegation battle. I just hope the weather will be kind next Sunday, Killarney in January is a cold old spot without the rain sheeting in too!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/01/2018 12:35:24    2069264

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah to heck with them, I've said my piece and we'll leave it for another few weeks ;D

Only one week to go now, as Horse said it will be exciting to see what team is named and how they go. I really hope the young guns acquit themselves well.

A win might be a big ask but if they get it they'll have a cushion against been drawn into any relegation battle. I just hope the weather will be kind next Sunday, Killarney in January is a cold old spot without the rain sheeting in too!!"
Ya and I'd say username definitely works for Dublin's PR company or administration you never really see him unless dubs finance is being discussed.
I would love if every county's financial records could be accessed for fairness.

Ya getting back to next week we should know the team next Friday evening so that'll give us something to chow on, it's a game thay could go anyway really we're an unknown quantity and Donegal are missing a few of their main men as well, like you say let's hope we get the win and the weather is good.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/01/2018 14:39:04    2069290

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya and I'd say username definitely works for Dublin's PR company or administration you never really see him unless dubs finance is being discussed.
I would love if every county's financial records could be accessed for fairness.

Ya getting back to next week we should know the team next Friday evening so that'll give us something to chow on, it's a game thay could go anyway really we're an unknown quantity and Donegal are missing a few of their main men as well, like you say let's hope we get the win and the weather is good."
Lads I'm trying to pick 6 backs and I'm struggling - I'd imagine Murphy in goals Jack Barry and Brendan Sullivan in the middle - guessing Jack Savage on the 40 flanked by Micheal Burns and Seanie Se inside guessing James, Paul Geaney and Killian Spillane. back wise struggling here a bit - Enright, Foley next maybe Shanahan again with looking a injuries absence should look again at Gavin Crowley who impressed me last year other wing Paul Murphy could even see Jacks younger brother Andrew at 6 was very impressed by him at U21 level and with St Brendan's - I have the feeling we won't see Clifford at the first home game it'll be away with less eyes I know a few clubs had tried Clifford for medal presentations etc and Fitz has put a cap on it till the break in the league with all fuctions having to be ok'd by Fitz first - agree he need to have the feet let on the ground - wha5 would ye throw out there I suppose Rob Wrorthan I suppose if Moy win tmw id say or should i say will see Begley in defence and maybe even rob Se on the bench.....

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 20/01/2018 20:20:16    2069517