Picking a team at this stage is hard because we don't know who will be given a rest during the early rounds, who is carrying injuries and who is going well in training. I think we can consider it a good league campaign if we avoid relegation while giving some of the best young players in the county an extended run in the team. I'd like to see a largely U23 team picked initially and see how they go.
I firmly believe that 2018 is the year we will see 2-4 of our former minor winners claim a starting spot for the championship. We have lacked pace in several areas for a couple of years now and it absolutely must be addressed this year. It may mean flirting with relegation during the league while lads are tried out but so be it.
There have been some interesting backroom changes over the winter so I am very excited to see how this will impact on the team. Eamon has a tricky job on his hands. 2018 has the look of a transitional year to me, but there will be a lynch mob looking for his head if we don't win Sam. Once we see clear progress I'd be happy enough personally, but many others won't.
GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 30/12/2017 14:28:59
Replying To GeniusGerry: "Picking a team at this stage is hard because we don't know who will be given a rest during the early rounds, who is carrying injuries and who is going well in training. I think we can consider it a good league campaign if we avoid relegation while giving some of the best young players in the county an extended run in the team. I'd like to see a largely U23 team picked initially and see how they go.
I firmly believe that 2018 is the year we will see 2-4 of our former minor winners claim a starting spot for the championship. We have lacked pace in several areas for a couple of years now and it absolutely must be addressed this year. It may mean flirting with relegation during the league while lads are tried out but so be it.
There have been some interesting backroom changes over the winter so I am very excited to see how this will impact on the team. Eamon has a tricky job on his hands. 2018 has the look of a transitional year to me, but there will be a lynch mob looking for his head if we don't win Sam. Once we see clear progress I'd be happy enough personally, but many others won't." Gerry I'd be just happy if fitzmaurice stops making the same mistakes and plays to our strengths and let our footballers play without his fear.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/12/2017 16:18:16
Replying To KingdomBoy1: "Horse that's a good team you picked although I'd probably swap Crowley and Morley as I've never seen Crowley play fullback.
That's strange that Murphy is out for the league opener is he injured?
We need to win our home games against Donegal Kildare and Galway as we have very hard away games against Tyrone Monaghan dubs and mayo." Seen Crawley play there for UCC the year they got to the munster final against Crokes - he played great ball at the edge of the square that year he has that initial burst of pace required in my opinion and what people don't realise is he us over 6 feet and quiet good in the air - personally I think he would be an ideal fit inside
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/12/2017 17:50:37
Replying To Horsebox77: "Seen Crawley play there for UCC the year they got to the munster final against Crokes - he played great ball at the edge of the square that year he has that initial burst of pace required in my opinion and what people don't realise is he us over 6 feet and quiet good in the air - personally I think he would be an ideal fit inside" I didn't see any of the UCC games that year horse but if you say he could cut it at fullback I won't argue with you.
I seen Morley play fullback for templnoe and he was very impressive from what I saw, although he's a handy midfielder as well I believe.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/12/2017 18:26:49
He lined out at midfield in one of the league games last year and yes he acquitted himself quite well on the day in question - does anyone know are Kerry only playing in house games in the runext up to the league last few years we had the McGrath Cup to judge form and emerging talent
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 30/12/2017 23:20:37
Replying To Horsebox77: "He lined out at midfield in one of the league games last year and yes he acquitted himself quite well on the day in question - does anyone know are Kerry only playing in house games in the runext up to the league last few years we had the McGrath Cup to judge form and emerging talent" I didn't hear horse but I would be thinking they are behind closed doors , it would be nice if they'd just announce who's inside with the panel at the moment but it's like the CIA , I think the disconnect between the team and the fans will hit a crucial point at some stage and it'll be interesting to see how many of our fans will turn up at games this year.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 31/12/2017 12:54:59
Ya would love to know the numbers inside and more importantly who is in and who had been omitted
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 01/01/2018 19:55:51
Replying To Horsebox77: "Ya would love to know the numbers inside and more importantly who is in and who had been omitted" As pat Spillane said it would be easier to find out the third secret of fatama then find out what's happening inside in the Kerry camp.
We should have played the McGrath cup as games are surely better than training.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/01/2018 11:32:53
Well lads, happy new year to ye all. Hope everyone had a nice Christmas, jays but it flew! Can't believe it's back to work and the humdrum now again already.
Ah well, only 3 weeks till the League opener. We're in Killarney against Donegal first day out, then two tough trips to Mayo and Monaghan, Galway in Tralee, the Dubs in Croker, Kildare on Patrick's Day in Tralee and a trip to Omagh to face Tyrone in the final round.
Pity we didn't have Galway away now that their back in Division 1, it would have been a nice option to make a weekend of it.
We also seem to have a lot of Saturday night games, Mayo, Dublin and Kildare
Only 3 home games will make it tough, I think this League is about survival in Division 1 and uncovering as many options as possible in every position going into the unknown of the Super 8 era Championship!!!
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/01/2018 22:48:57
Lads don't bite the bait on the main forum the Kerry way no longer works in the historical other ancestral history meaning yes our minors have won 4 with blinding beautiful football but in this day on age at senior lead I think it's horses for courses -
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 04/01/2018 23:36:08
Forget to say great insight and excellent post GeniusGerry on main forum - really hit the nail on the head totally totally agree with the opinion
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 04/01/2018 23:40:52
Replying To Horsebox77: "Lads don't bite the bait on the main forum the Kerry way no longer works in the historical other ancestral history meaning yes our minors have won 4 with blinding beautiful football but in this day on age at senior lead I think it's horses for courses -" The usual shower are beginning the Kerry bashing early this year alright Horse, usually they wait until after our first League game!!!
I wonder, reading between the lines, if they are all deathly afraid of a Kerry revival in 2018 that might derail their adored Dubs' 4 in a row bid.
Anyway, let those fools post their usual guff, they'll be plenty more moronic tirades by them before the summer is through.
Back to the League, what are the hopes/ expectations? Now that the decision has been made for Clifford to go into the seniors, I'm fascinated to see how he will fare .
Do you think with the new Super 8 format, we might not see the same fitness levels and quality from teams in Division 1 this year? Will many counties be more pragmatic and have tailored their training with much more emphasis on being Championship ready?
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/01/2018 12:07:32
Replying To Horsebox77: "Forget to say great insight and excellent post GeniusGerry on main forum - really hit the nail on the head totally totally agree with the opinion" You'd be shaking your head at some of the stuff on there, can't believe some of the crap people come out with. I try to stay away from it but can't help myself at times.
Absolutely cannot wait for the league to start. There is no U21 competition overlapping this year which is great, meaning we can get a good look at the younger lads. Foley, O'Beaglaoich, O'Sullivan and one or two others were going well last spring before Jack took them away for the U21's which was a real pity.
By my reckoning there are only four or five championship starting places nailed down at this stage, namely Crowley, Murphy, Moran, Geaney and probably Morley, add JOD if he can ever get fit. Everyone else has something to prove during the league.
GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 05/01/2018 18:31:24
Happy new year lads. still no word on who is inside at training, I wonder is Conor Keane Conor cox Kevin McCarty all out of the reckoning?
Reading on the Kerry GAA forum that Shane Ryan is not being considered as an option in goals as he wants to play out the field for his club, so that leaves Brian Kelly and Shane Murphy fighting it out for number 1 and number 16 positions.
We could do with foley making the number 3 jersey his own as we need a natural fullback with pace. O'beaglaoih and white in the wingback positions maybe Crowley at centre back with maybe enright and Murphy in the corners.
In the midfield Morley and Barry.
Jack savage seanie Shea Kevin Mac Jod paul geaney D Clifford.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2018 20:38:03
K'boy and GenusGerry: Ya looking forward now too to the new season, I think we'll tell a lot regarding the managements approach to the new year by the first team announcement against Donegal, its the first time in years that our national league preparations and panel in general is not hindered by the all Ireland club championship or U21 championship. The only players really are O'Beagleach which in my opinion is a definite starter come dry sod and maybe Tomas & Rob Se who both maybe due a look at.
Crokes non involvement means both Murphy and Whyte will be given ample time to bed in, I think a half back line of Paul Murphy, Crowley and Gavin White is very exciting and firmly believe players like O'Beagleach will really slot in nicely in defence beside the likes of Morley and Enright, The lack of an U21 pull mid league means Foley and Tom Sullivan can be given game time. I think in all honesty if Eamon boots for Murphy in Goals for our first game than he is admitting change is required and is taking steps to make amends.
When I pick my 15 I have plenty new comers but am lacking in the forwards slightly, K,boy I like the look of the 15 you suggested but don,t think Kevin Mac will re emurge - I,m a fan of Jack Savage but would really love to see James on the 40 to be the play maker and a def for me is Seanie Se. I think we will struggle in the centre Barry should be give serious starting time and persist with him, we need mobility so for me sorry Moran is out - Brendan Sullivan is due a look a starting look he was only a bit player 20 minutes at the end of the game give him a start, I see k'boy you have thrown in Morley there.? Interesting personally I'd leave him at 6 or even try a 3 I thought he was very good there against Mayo in drawn game when he went back in, being honest I think he is the type of player that can go anywhere so ya why not at midfield?
GeniusGerry ya I avoid the main page some of the begrudgery is embarrassing and just crass and not by genuine Gaa souls in my opinion.
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/01/2018 22:44:37
Actually are ya not supposed by the lack of retirements I thought the likes of Darren Sullivan, Donnachadh Walsh and some of the the 'panel players like BJ Keane etc ok we lost Lynn and Sheehan early doors and by all accounts young Ryan the keeper is gone, I'm glad Donaghy is staying on as think he has something to offer but though a few more would make room would he hold onto young .
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/01/2018 22:53:10
Replying To Horsebox77: "K'boy and GenusGerry: Ya looking forward now too to the new season, I think we'll tell a lot regarding the managements approach to the new year by the first team announcement against Donegal, its the first time in years that our national league preparations and panel in general is not hindered by the all Ireland club championship or U21 championship. The only players really are O'Beagleach which in my opinion is a definite starter come dry sod and maybe Tomas & Rob Se who both maybe due a look at.
Crokes non involvement means both Murphy and Whyte will be given ample time to bed in, I think a half back line of Paul Murphy, Crowley and Gavin White is very exciting and firmly believe players like O'Beagleach will really slot in nicely in defence beside the likes of Morley and Enright, The lack of an U21 pull mid league means Foley and Tom Sullivan can be given game time. I think in all honesty if Eamon boots for Murphy in Goals for our first game than he is admitting change is required and is taking steps to make amends.
When I pick my 15 I have plenty new comers but am lacking in the forwards slightly, K,boy I like the look of the 15 you suggested but don,t think Kevin Mac will re emurge - I,m a fan of Jack Savage but would really love to see James on the 40 to be the play maker and a def for me is Seanie Se. I think we will struggle in the centre Barry should be give serious starting time and persist with him, we need mobility so for me sorry Moran is out - Brendan Sullivan is due a look a starting look he was only a bit player 20 minutes at the end of the game give him a start, I see k'boy you have thrown in Morley there.? Interesting personally I'd leave him at 6 or even try a 3 I thought he was very good there against Mayo in drawn game when he went back in, being honest I think he is the type of player that can go anywhere so ya why not at midfield?
GeniusGerry ya I avoid the main page some of the begrudgery is embarrassing and just crass and not by genuine Gaa souls in my opinion." Ya horse I suppose gavin Crowley Adrian Spillane killian Spillane and Greg Horan could all make an appearance, and your right eanna o'connicuir and rob and tomás o'sé as well. And let's hope they all put their hands up and give fitz a good headache.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/01/2018 23:28:04
Possible team assuming no injuries and Gaeltacht players unavailable. I think the senior men like Geaney and Crowley may be given an extended break but we will see.
Murphy J Foley, T Morley, S Enright G White, P Crowley, T O'Sullivan B O'Sullivan, J Barry M Burns, P. Murphy, S O'Shea D Clifford, P Geaney, JOD
Nice blend of youth and experience
Not sure about Morley at full back long term as I haven't seen much of him there but he is very versatile. If Griffen could up his game and get a bit of help from his teammates with the runners coming from deep he is still very much in the running of course.
Also, David Moran is a leader and automatic starter come championship but one of the two lads above can claim the other spot.
We have so many options at wing back that I put Paul Murphy at 11. I know this has been the subject of much debate in the past and I myself have advocated playing him in his best position at wing back, but the fact is that he is quite effective at 11 and it's a problem position now more than ever. I presume Mikey Geaney and Buckley are there or therabouts for the CF spot but they have both lacked consistency in the past and you know what you are getting at this stage with them.
I would also try Matthew Flaherty at wing forward as well as Burns and O'Shea. Stephen O'Brien is also a good option but he is a victim of his effectiveness from the bench and I would expect that he will be an impact sub during the summer as well.
All guesswork of course, it'll come down to what is happening in training at the end of the day.
GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 06/01/2018 00:25:32
Forgot the two Spillanes ya Adrain really impressed me last year locally but didn't really make an impression when introduced in league last year, I rem the league game in Tralee vs Mayo ok he came on at a stage when we were under the cosh a bit but he didn't bring the club step up as I expected, his direct running that he showed with the juniors was badly needed but lacking last year, now Killian is a different animal inr lal6 like t( cut ofthis young lad
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/01/2018 01:53:51
Will Kevin McCarthy be back this year lads? I think I said on here before that I thought he was a huge loss when he dropped/was dropped off the panel. I thought he was excellent in the Munster final and that was the best football we played all summer.
TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/01/2018 11:16:30