Gerry will fitzmaurice listen to all these new coaches? By all accounts he's a very stubborn man and won't listen to anyone.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2017 17:47:34 2064682 Link 1 |
Lads how do he see us lining out next year in the early stages of the league - can ye see many new players or can he see on form or ex minors staking a claim to a starting jersey come Donegal in Killarney in the end of January. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/12/2017 22:30:58 2064712 Link 2 |
Oh god knows horse, I'd say fitz will play a lot of young fellas for the league to keep us happy but then go back to the ould lads for the championship. Who would ye like to see in midfield now that Moran is out for a few months? KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2017 23:26:00 2064716 Link 1 |
I am certain that we will start to see meaningful change next year. The appointment of a properly qualified fitness coach alone is a step forward. Kerry looked over trained in recent years and I expect this will be addressed with O'Connor on board. As for Eamon not listening to others, he is a shrewd guy and he knows a repeat of 2017 will be totally unacceptable in Kerry. I believe he is involved in these backroom decisions and will run with some new ideas. The young players will be available right throughout the league in 2018 as there is no U21 competition clashing so let's see what happens when they get their chance. GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 09/12/2017 02:06:22 2064724 Link 2 |
The big man from Valentia to partner Barry in midfield anyway. I'd expect a much changed half forward line for each of the first few games along with a new keeper and FB being used. I'd also suspect we will see a few lads being tried in FF to see how they work with Paul and James. Will Clifford be thrown in just to see how he fares? TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/12/2017 11:29:17 2064732 Link 1 |
God I hope so because if we start the championship with the same old players il go off my head. It looks like we'll have no more retirements which is unfortunate. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/12/2017 11:53:53 2064735 Link 1 |
Hi lads, I've seen a good bit of Ballydonoghue's Sean O Séanachain in the north Kerry championship, he is one very impressive player, well able to win independent ball, very strong when on the ball and rarely appears to waste possession. Do you know when you see a player on the ball they just appear to have all the time in the world, very comfortable and very hard to dispossess. I think he is worth a serious look in the early league stages in a wing forward role. Ok I'm not saying he is the next Declan but he had that on the ball capabilities. I've seen too when the chips are down at club level he had that leader ship trait to grab a game. Some players are great to play well when the team is winning , but this lad is a game changer at club level… Would love to see he and Seanie o'Se from Kenmare tried in the half forward line with the south Kerry man taking the forty yard jersey for a prolonged stint. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 11/12/2017 15:55:21 2064854 Link 2 |
By all accounts 5 Kerry players attending the "Tadgh" experience but none of them (thank god) made the cut.... did anyone here the 5 names? I would take it they would be ex minors.... Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 12/12/2017 08:25:47 2064913 Link 2 |
I heard Adam Donaghue castleisland Chris o'donaghue firies and Barry mahony st senans as 3 I don't know the rest, Did anyone hear if Stefan okunbar made it? he was a good bit down the line and a few Aussies clubs were looking at him. Come home mark o'Connor please. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2017 11:49:49 2064936 Link 1 |
I heard diarmuid o'Connor is another one of the young lads at the combine, that our two minor midfielders from this year.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/12/2017 22:41:49 2065043 Link 1 |
Ah Mark is gone for the foreseeable so wouldn't get too hung up he may return a better player - I see from previous posts that few are touting Mark Griffin as a potential Midfielder, what care people basing this assessment on? The man has ever only played at full back for Kerry through through ranks and even with south kerry was at the edge of the square sure even at club level he rarely plause beyond the number 6 Jersey. Still think we should be gIving the likes of Barry Sullivan game time
Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 13/12/2017 12:02:56 2065081 Link 2 |
Ya Barry o'Sullivan is a very good midfielder horse but doesn't really have that explosive pace he'd have been well suited to the game the way it was 10/15 years ago , like I've said many times in the past mark o'Connor has it all and would put Brian Fenton in his pocket if he were at home. I think Patrick O'sullivan dropped the ball big time by not fighting to keep mark at home like Tim Murphy did with Clifford. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/12/2017 12:14:54 2065083 Link 1 |
I think Patrick O'Sullivan dropped the ball big time by not fighting to keep mark at home like Tim Murphy did with Clifford. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 13/12/2017 13:56:26 2065091 Link 2 |
Absolutely horse fair play to Tim Murphy .
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/12/2017 15:33:40 2065102 Link 1 |
Some interesting comments from the Kerry Convention, good to hear Murphy is planning on making that ad-hoc Committee that got Clifford to stay a permanent thing. TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/12/2017 09:57:12 2065150 Link 1 |
Ya that's great news the hermit and again fair play to Tim Murphy. And ya I read the report that Costello released it was a good laugh for sure, they must think we're thick or something trying to pedal that crap and I love the way they are trying build up a siege mentality. KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/12/2017 11:34:53 2065160 Link 1 |
Any of you read Sylvester Hennessy's article in the Kerry's Eye this week he earmarks the six players that could or should break into the Kerry panel next year, Shane Murphy, Jason Foley, Brian O'Beagleacht, Gavin White, Seanie O'Shea and David Clifford. Now in all honesty I often disagree or I suppose wouldn't agree with a lot of Mr Hennessy's vie but in fairness to him I think he is spot on in this regard, he has highlighted areas we are lacking in, Keeper, pace at the back, a forty yard and a scoring forward,. Th wonky position he hasn't nailed as midfield however in saying that Seanie Shea gave Maher enough of it in Kenmares game with Feale Rangers. Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 14/12/2017 21:14:44 2065208 Link 2 |
No horse I didn't read Sylvester's piece in the Kerry's eye yet but it's hard to argue with him like you say, I suppose Tom o'Sullivan , Barry o'Sullivan , gavin Crowley , Shane Ryan , Robert Wharton, Andrew Barry , Brian sugrue eanna o'conicuir tomás o'sé killian Spillane , Conor geaney , Cathal o'luing and robaird o'sé and Liam Kearney if fit should all get a good look in as well.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/12/2017 11:17:18 2065240 Link 1 |
Only heard about this today but seriously tempted to sign up TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 15/12/2017 16:25:00 2065269 Link 1 |
Sounds really good the hermit and if I wasn't already signed up to the season tickets I'd have considered it.
KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/12/2017 17:20:38 2065274 Link 1 |