Where to next?

Replying To TheHermit:  "https://www.balls.ie/gaa/sporting-grants-breakdown-show-massive-weighting-towards-dublin-gaa-clubs-378685?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=ballsdotie&utm_content=Sporting%20Grants%20Breakdown%20Show%20Massive%20Weighting%20Towards%20Dublin%20GAA%20Clubs

Jesus wept, they are intent on destroying our game"
That's great news about Donaghy lads he's a real leader so he is and he can do great work with Clifford and the other young forwards hopefully.

Ya the hermit the GAA has gone mad giving the dubs that kinda money it fecks the rest of us now the dubs are gone professional, and what was that ejit on the main page on about Kerry getting 7.5 millions where did he get those numbers?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2017 15:15:48    2064227

Replying To TheHermit:  "https://www.balls.ie/gaa/sporting-grants-breakdown-show-massive-weighting-towards-dublin-gaa-clubs-378685?utm_campaign=coschedule&utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=ballsdotie&utm_content=Sporting%20Grants%20Breakdown%20Show%20Massive%20Weighting%20Towards%20Dublin%20GAA%20Clubs

Jesus wept, they are intent on destroying our game"
Lads there blocking my posts again, this forum is a joke. The dubs can say what they want but we can't call them out on it.

The hermit where is username getting the figures of 7.5 million to Kerry?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/12/2017 21:19:22    2064250

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads there blocking my posts again, this forum is a joke. The dubs can say what they want but we can't call them out on it.

The hermit where is username getting the figures of 7.5 million to Kerry?"
Oh who knows or cares. God I hate these noveau riche Dub 'supporters' that have come out of the woodwork in recent years, the ones that think Gaelic football was invented in 2011 and are obsessed with English soccer and assume Gaelic games should be the same - get money get success etc.

Anyway its probably just as well your posts were stopped Kingdomboy do you really want to engage in a debate with a Dublin poster who wrote that Kerry are being 'financially doped' and that Dublin are 'slightly over resourced'. Man alive

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/12/2017 00:37:28    2064257

That's true the hermit, and your spot on about those new bandwagon dub supporters.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/12/2017 11:26:59    2064261

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads there blocking my posts again, this forum is a joke. The dubs can say what they want but we can't call them out on it.

The hermit where is username getting the figures of 7.5 million to Kerry?"
IT Tralee has been awarded 7.5 million for their sports facility, this money was committed years ago iirc. This will benefit the GAA without a doubt, but it's a bit of a stretch to say it's a grant to Kerry Football. I really don't see the big deal. What have the other third level institutions around the country received down through the years?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 03/12/2017 09:29:57    2064297

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "IT Tralee has been awarded 7.5 million for their sports facility, this money was committed years ago iirc. This will benefit the GAA without a doubt, but it's a bit of a stretch to say it's a grant to Kerry Football. I really don't see the big deal. What have the other third level institutions around the country received down through the years?"
Heaven forbid them fellas on the main page would do some research to double check the utter nonsense they take as gospel Gerry!

Hard luck to Dromoid today, must be a while since a Kerry side in the junior grade didn't come out of Munster!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/12/2017 17:56:22    2064335

Replying To TheHermit:  "Heaven forbid them fellas on the main page would do some research to double check the utter nonsense they take as gospel Gerry!

Hard luck to Dromoid today, must be a while since a Kerry side in the junior grade didn't come out of Munster!"
Yeah I assume they are confusing the new GAA centre of Excellence in currans with the IT Tralee sports facility.

I try to stay away from the main page where possible. Any sort of debate is impossible there as it's dragged into a childish spat by the usual suspects.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 03/12/2017 20:04:43    2064346

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "IT Tralee has been awarded 7.5 million for their sports facility, this money was committed years ago iirc. This will benefit the GAA without a doubt, but it's a bit of a stretch to say it's a grant to Kerry Football. I really don't see the big deal. What have the other third level institutions around the country received down through the years?"
Thanks for clearing that up for me Gerry as I couldn't find anything about it.
That's good money for the IT and hopefully our footballers might get some use out of it although they'll have currans up and running soon surely.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/12/2017 20:22:25    2064347

On a totally totally different topic - changed broadband as now as a bonus have the eir sports channels well they showed the full 70 minutes of Kerry and Clare from 92 today so I sat down and watched god I had forgotten how shocking we were back then. Our 6 forwards couldn't burn a ball or take a score we were totally enept at midfield and the sideline decisions were shocking, certain players mainly in defence in the lean years were class class players the likes of Breen, Flaherty and Stack and they got the reward in 97 but players like Connie Murphy, Morgan Nix and Anthony Gleeson who was a very very good full back really just fell in with the wrong generation

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/12/2017 22:17:39    2064350

Replying To Horsebox77:  "On a totally totally different topic - changed broadband as now as a bonus have the eir sports channels well they showed the full 70 minutes of Kerry and Clare from 92 today so I sat down and watched god I had forgotten how shocking we were back then. Our 6 forwards couldn't burn a ball or take a score we were totally enept at midfield and the sideline decisions were shocking, certain players mainly in defence in the lean years were class class players the likes of Breen, Flaherty and Stack and they got the reward in 97 but players like Connie Murphy, Morgan Nix and Anthony Gleeson who was a very very good full back really just fell in with the wrong generation"
My first Munster final Horse, I can still see the look of horror on my father's face at full-time as the Clare fans around us on the Clare end raced onto the field, one of them nearly took his eye out with a flag, ha ha.

We stopped in a fair few bars on the way home, and I remember the bonfires lighting across the Shannon as we drove through the dusk on the coast road.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/12/2017 23:53:30    2064354

Replying To Horsebox77:  "On a totally totally different topic - changed broadband as now as a bonus have the eir sports channels well they showed the full 70 minutes of Kerry and Clare from 92 today so I sat down and watched god I had forgotten how shocking we were back then. Our 6 forwards couldn't burn a ball or take a score we were totally enept at midfield and the sideline decisions were shocking, certain players mainly in defence in the lean years were class class players the likes of Breen, Flaherty and Stack and they got the reward in 97 but players like Connie Murphy, Morgan Nix and Anthony Gleeson who was a very very good full back really just fell in with the wrong generation"
Ya horse you're lucky with your broadband ours is brutal everything seems to effect it from the mountain to the weather .

Ya we were brutal back in 92 , it's hard to tell are we worse now than back then, we've been winning Munster and beating a few small teams nowadays but we can't seem to beat Mayo at the minute.

I think our footballers are better trained these days and fitter than 25 years ago.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/12/2017 12:49:41    2064458

Tmw night they showing the 2000 semi final all vs Armagh that was one cracking game. Looking forward to seeing Seamus Moynihan vs Oisin McConville thst was some clash the Armagh man scores 1-09 and Moynihan still wins man of the match

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/12/2017 23:36:10    2064514

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Tmw night they showing the 2000 semi final all vs Armagh that was one cracking game. Looking forward to seeing Seamus Moynihan vs Oisin McConville thst was some clash the Armagh man scores 1-09 and Moynihan still wins man of the match"
I was at that game horse and I only came across the program in the attic at the weekend when I was up getting the Christmas decorations. It was some game for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2017 19:38:05    2064568

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I was at that game horse and I only came across the program in the attic at the weekend when I was up getting the Christmas decorations. It was some game for sure."
Watched on from home, the immortal to the rescue!! We flew close to the Sun that day!!! Jesus when you think of how hard won that semi-final spot was, you think we would have been more wary and prepared for the Orchard men in the 2002 final.

You'd have to acknowledge it lads, we do have an annoying tendency at times to lose finals we should really have put to bed long before the final whistle. What were we up at half time in 2002?- 4-5 points, and cruising. All we had to do was keep the scoreboard ticking over on the restart.

2011 was obviously another sickner, think we should have had 2008 in the bag as well going into those last few minutes. As for 2015, well if we started our best 15 we might have actually sneaked it, Dublin were poor enough that day!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/12/2017 20:48:03    2064576

Replying To TheHermit:  "Watched on from home, the immortal to the rescue!! We flew close to the Sun that day!!! Jesus when you think of how hard won that semi-final spot was, you think we would have been more wary and prepared for the Orchard men in the 2002 final.

You'd have to acknowledge it lads, we do have an annoying tendency at times to lose finals we should really have put to bed long before the final whistle. What were we up at half time in 2002?- 4-5 points, and cruising. All we had to do was keep the scoreboard ticking over on the restart.

2011 was obviously another sickner, think we should have had 2008 in the bag as well going into those last few minutes. As for 2015, well if we started our best 15 we might have actually sneaked it, Dublin were poor enough that day!"
Ya hard to argue with you there the hermit you can't trust us we could win 1 that you wouldn't expect like 2014 or lose one you'd expect us to win.
I wonder should fitz have put out some kind of a team for the McGrath cup? I heard Moran is taking a break for the league and that's a pity cos he's made for the soft ground.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/12/2017 22:36:35    2064583

Excellent move by Fitzmaurice... read the attached, Weldon the leading Basketball Coach from Fossa now also involved in Kerry Set up. This lad is in the same mould as Donie Buckley but not as "old School" he would be more up to date... Well done Co. Board/Fitz... good too to see that we will be forced to pick a new midfielder for the start of the league as Moran will miss the first few games...

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/kerry-draft-in-leading-basketball-coach-james-weldon-464096.html

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/12/2017 08:24:00    2064590

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Excellent move by Fitzmaurice... read the attached, Weldon the leading Basketball Coach from Fossa now also involved in Kerry Set up. This lad is in the same mould as Donie Buckley but not as "old School" he would be more up to date... Well done Co. Board/Fitz... good too to see that we will be forced to pick a new midfielder for the start of the league as Moran will miss the first few games...

Great" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/kerry-draft-in-leading-basketball-coach-james-weldon-464096.html"
Great move all right horse now hopefully fitz will listen to them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/12/2017 13:23:27    2064609

I am really encouraged by these backroom moves lately. I am not sure we have a panel capable of winning Sam just yet but we are moving in the right direction with massive potential coming through. It's all about how this is managed now.

Fair play to the county board and everyone involved, I am glad that lessons appear to have been learned from last year. We should probably expect a bit of inconsistency next year as changes are implemented and new players are brought in but a tenner on Kerry for Sam 2019 might be worth a punt.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 08/12/2017 12:47:36    2064665

Well lads, were any of ye watching Ireland's "Greatest Sporting Moment" (comma's very much intended!!) on RTE over the last while?

Italia 90 peno shootout got no.1, probably no surprise.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1207/925826-italia-90-shoot-out-voted-greatest-sporting-moment/

I really can't remember a single thing about the 1990 World Cup, probably was too busy out on the lawn pretending to be Jack O'Se.

As for Harrington's major win being second, FFS, I think someone winning gold in the Olympics or the World Championships carries a bit more weight.

No GAA moment in the final choice either, very bad form! Kerry 4 in a row or Kilkenny's should defo have been in consideration

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/12/2017 12:51:11    2064667

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well lads, were any of ye watching Ireland's "Greatest Sporting Moment" (comma's very much intended!!) on RTE over the last while?

Italia 90 peno shootout got no.1, probably no surprise.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2017/1207/925826-italia-90-shoot-out-voted-greatest-sporting-moment/

I really can't remember a single thing about the 1990 World Cup, probably was too busy out on the lawn pretending to be Jack O'Se.

As for Harrington's major win being second, FFS, I think someone winning gold in the Olympics or the World Championships carries a bit more weight.

No GAA moment in the final choice either, very bad form! Kerry 4 in a row or Kilkenny's should defo have been in consideration"
Brolly was pushing the Offaly stopping Kerry doing the 5 in row as the greatest sporting moment saying when Offaly beat it was like the Death Star being destroyed well if we were the Death Star then what the hell does he think the dubs are?

I think Padraig Harrington winning the naughties one when the grand slam was there and croke park being opened up to soccer and rugby it showed how fecked that program was.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/12/2017 17:46:07    2064681