Where to next?

Your right lads, the All-Stars have been seriously devalued over the past few years. It seems these days all you need is to be on the team that made the AI final and your nailed on.

You seem to get no credit for what's done in the League of the provincial championships or for being the best player all year for your county just because they might get knocked out before the final.

Surely 1 or 2 of the Rossies deserve to be in serious contention for their Championship run!

Star was great all year IMO, and he surely played a bigger part for his team than some of those Mayo lads

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/11/2017 18:44:46    2059845

The semifinal replay debacle will put pay to Murphy's all star I'm afraid , like ye say the all stars are a grand old knees up for the nominees and it's nice for the winners but it's not something i ever had a lot of time for.

I think of players like connair Harrison from Down who was brilliant all year for Down won't get one.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/11/2017 20:17:47    2059861

I hold no merit or mass on all stars and truth be told have not for many's a year like he said it iften is more what team you played on apart from what you cactuslly did - similar they pick 6 backs in 6 positions and similar with the forwards - i'd Rather the old fashioned one where full back were pared with full backs and corner forward we're picked at 13 or 15 at the moment you could have 3 county number 14's picked at 13, 14 & 15 ah and then there is the token all star - Kerry won the league and Munster we'll get one Paul Geaney Roscommon won Connacht they will be lucky to get one - being hones it should Be call the knockout championship all stars as no body outside the quarters have a hope of one and semi's an outside chance and truth be told 13 will be made up of all Ireland finalists with the winners getting 9

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 02/11/2017 21:01:34    2059872

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I hold no merit or mass on all stars and truth be told have not for many's a year like he said it iften is more what team you played on apart from what you cactuslly did - similar they pick 6 backs in 6 positions and similar with the forwards - i'd Rather the old fashioned one where full back were pared with full backs and corner forward we're picked at 13 or 15 at the moment you could have 3 county number 14's picked at 13, 14 & 15 ah and then there is the token all star - Kerry won the league and Munster we'll get one Paul Geaney Roscommon won Connacht they will be lucky to get one - being hones it should Be call the knockout championship all stars as no body outside the quarters have a hope of one and semi's an outside chance and truth be told 13 will be made up of all Ireland finalists with the winners getting 9"
Good call horse, rossies got nothing and we got one , all in all we can't complain I guess.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/11/2017 21:18:43    2060279

The token two All-Stars for the other two semi-finalists Kerry and Tyrone I see

Hey lads have ye seen the main page, the Dubs are going mad because they didn't get all 15. Jesus wept!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/11/2017 21:24:29    2060283

Replying To TheHermit:  "The token two All-Stars for the other two semi-finalists Kerry and Tyrone I see

Hey lads have ye seen the main page, the Dubs are going mad because they didn't get all 15. Jesus wept!"
Ha I posted on the Cluxton thread my first venture to the main forum in a while but truth be told I would have given McCarthy the the player if the year he's a class class act .

On another note was at home today and watched the league final again - jez what happened between that game and the all Ireland series - Shanahan was flying so was Mikey Gearney no James or Donaghy. The movement and support off the shoulder the defending in packs th3 volume of turnovers and the intensity did we simply peak too soon? I don't think we could have peaked too soon as the morning of the final game we were in 4th place and a final place looked unlikely

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 03/11/2017 22:52:53    2060308

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Ha I posted on the Cluxton thread my first venture to the main forum in a while but truth be told I would have given McCarthy the the player if the year he's a class class act .

On another note was at home today and watched the league final again - jez what happened between that game and the all Ireland series - Shanahan was flying so was Mikey Gearney no James or Donaghy. The movement and support off the shoulder the defending in packs th3 volume of turnovers and the intensity did we simply peak too soon? I don't think we could have peaked too soon as the morning of the final game we were in 4th place and a final place looked unlikely"
Listen Horse that's a mystery that will keep most of us awake long after the bedroom lights have been switched off on the dark winter nights to come!
The only explanation I can come to is that Eamon simply didn't trust the young guys who shone in the League final to repeat the trick come the Championship.
Maybe we feel into the trap of thinking this was a on off blip by a disinterested Dublin team.
I don't buy that for a second, as you said none of us expected Kerry to be in that final so we couldn't possibly have been peaking for this game. It was a bonus and we only had a week to prepare. We picked the best team we had and we went out and beat what was nearly Dublin's best 15.
But it seems come Championship, Eamon reverted to the veterans and all momentum from that day was lost.

I also don't buy this peaking too soon lark, how can putting in a good performance in the start of April hamper your preparations for games 4 months later? I think Kerry have been suffering for years because of the huge gaps between our championship games and the fact the current set-up won't release them for club duty during the inter-county breaks over the summer, like we used do. How can you keep sharp when all you are doing ins training for 5 or 6 weeks on end? The Super 8 format should benefit us a lot, lots of games on a regular basis allowing us to build momentum and a settled side.

The League final showed we have the core of a good young side that can beat the best out there. The coming spring campaign has to be all about bedding in quality young players into the key positions we are deficient in, goalie, full-back, half-forward etc. If that means flirting with relegation so be it.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/11/2017 14:19:56    2060425

Replying To TheHermit:  "Listen Horse that's a mystery that will keep most of us awake long after the bedroom lights have been switched off on the dark winter nights to come!
The only explanation I can come to is that Eamon simply didn't trust the young guys who shone in the League final to repeat the trick come the Championship.
Maybe we feel into the trap of thinking this was a on off blip by a disinterested Dublin team.
I don't buy that for a second, as you said none of us expected Kerry to be in that final so we couldn't possibly have been peaking for this game. It was a bonus and we only had a week to prepare. We picked the best team we had and we went out and beat what was nearly Dublin's best 15.
But it seems come Championship, Eamon reverted to the veterans and all momentum from that day was lost.

I also don't buy this peaking too soon lark, how can putting in a good performance in the start of April hamper your preparations for games 4 months later? I think Kerry have been suffering for years because of the huge gaps between our championship games and the fact the current set-up won't release them for club duty during the inter-county breaks over the summer, like we used do. How can you keep sharp when all you are doing ins training for 5 or 6 weeks on end? The Super 8 format should benefit us a lot, lots of games on a regular basis allowing us to build momentum and a settled side.

The League final showed we have the core of a good young side that can beat the best out there. The coming spring campaign has to be all about bedding in quality young players into the key positions we are deficient in, goalie, full-back, half-forward etc. If that means flirting with relegation so be it."
Kevin Mc Carthy injured (awol) Shannahan a complete dip in form ,Tom Hickey of Desmond's roastedn him, he was anonymous in Rockies fall from grace Jack Barry in out Ò Beaglaíoch injured ,mistakes made not playing J O D from start in replay not sending Fionn Fitz to rescue Enright earlier Just think 74 mins played 1 point up Bj Keane kicks a free to himself and Bryan Sheehan misses one that is usually bread and butter for him Darran O Sullivan inexplicably black - carded on 2nd day. The margins are infinitesimal and I am of the opinion we would have rattled Dublin it was the game on players minds from 1st Sunday in July Beidh ár lá again go luath Nil desperandum!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 04/11/2017 14:55:40    2060433

Another good win from Dromid, pity Ballyduff came up short against Kanturk.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/11/2017 17:26:02    2060626

Replying To TheHermit:  "Another good win from Dromid, pity Ballyduff came up short against Kanturk."
Ya well done to dromid the hermit, what did the duffers lose by?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2017 18:17:48    2060637

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya well done to dromid the hermit, what did the duffers lose by?"
1-20 to 2-12

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 05/11/2017 19:19:09    2060647

Replying To TheHermit:  "1-20 to 2-12"
Ah not so bad the hermit. A 5 point loss to kenturk is decent enough.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/11/2017 21:51:22    2060667

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ah not so bad the hermit. A 5 point loss to kenturk is decent enough."
They will be flying fitness wise - I wonder what is the interest footbsll wise - they are pared against Tarbert in the North Kerry quarters already through are Listowel and Ballydonoghue after this weekend - Tarbert are a team that could flip either way so will be interesting to see the outcome here if Ballyduff are interested they could go a long long way on this

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 05/11/2017 22:38:36    2060673

Lads I know it's Monday and I don't want to go on a bit of a downer here but this is the first autumn/ winter in 25 years that I'm not excited about next years senior intercounty football championship, it's the first year where i know we're not going to win it and I've got a bad feeling it's just going to be more of the same.

With fitz staying on and him keeping his backroom team and with none of the old players announcing their retirement it's just going to be the same crap.

Fitzs ultra negative style and being reactive instead of being proactive gives me no hope , plus fitzmaurice lack of faith/ fear of using the young players is sickening.

IMO he needs to make a massive statement right away and cull a lot of the lads that are over 30 and lads that are on the panel but haven't been able to break through coz they're not good enough.

I still can't believe the county board gave him an extra 2 years I've been at about 15/16 club matches all over the county since Mayo beat us and I haven't met one Kerry person who's happy about it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/11/2017 11:43:09    2060745

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Lads I know it's Monday and I don't want to go on a bit of a downer here but this is the first autumn/ winter in 25 years that I'm not excited about next years senior intercounty football championship, it's the first year where i know we're not going to win it and I've got a bad feeling it's just going to be more of the same.

With fitz staying on and him keeping his backroom team and with none of the old players announcing their retirement it's just going to be the same crap.

Fitzs ultra negative style and being reactive instead of being proactive gives me no hope , plus fitzmaurice lack of faith/ fear of using the young players is sickening.

IMO he needs to make a massive statement right away and cull a lot of the lads that are over 30 and lads that are on the panel but haven't been able to break through coz they're not good enough.

I still can't believe the county board gave him an extra 2 years I've been at about 15/16 club matches all over the county since Mayo beat us and I haven't met one Kerry person who's happy about it."
K'boy.. "it's ok not to feel ok"…..

Seriously ok you'd be pissed off at the way the championship ended for us, but look one has to look at the positives.. ok we are measured or we measure by the canister in September but in fairness when one breaks down Fitz's CV is impressive. He is unbeaten in Munster with 5 titles in a roe, we have made the semi finals in every year, we have contested 2 finals winning one and have a league title this year. That is a very good collection of victories. Ok again I would be the first to be critical and would also advocate a change of backroom but I would still keep Fitz at the helm. I would dispense with Hassett and Mikey and bring in Dingles Tommy Griffin and a fresh face like say Gary McGrath (beaufort) or John Galvin (Crokes).

The only issue I have is the lack of youth progression but again we have developed U23 squads under the guise of the Kerry Juniors. We have again amassed is it 3 in a row here and 4 in a row of minors, again the McGrath Cup will be imperative here and the early stages of the league. I would be fearful that the likes of Gavin White with Crokes and Brian O'Beagleach, Cathal O'Luing and Tomas Se from An Gealtacht could be club tied until March due to their Munster and All Ireland club runs.

Again and I have said it before Fitz must coldly cull.. Kelly, Maher, Moran, Darran, Donaghy, Donnachadh, Fionn, Buckley and maybe Cillian.. and bring in the kids… they are good enough.. we need to bed in a Keeper, Full Back , Midfielders and a forty yard man… for me the forty yard man is the priority.

Still though K'boy could be a lot worse.. it's only football, went to a brilliant talk one night given by the Gaa's Paudie Butler.. Club's win on average a championship one year in ten on average but it's the other 9 years your hoping dreaming plotting or looking back…. that's the buzz the chase.. come on think back to the days of the "chase" the bit of skirt that got the blood going the beep text of a replied text or the missed call that made you feel you were in .. the chase the dream the pull… ah feck man its great to be alive… the next skirt/match is only around the corner…

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/11/2017 14:58:32    2060797

Ah sound man horse I'm grand only for not looking forward to next year :-0
And my days of chasing skirt are well gone haha :-)

But in fairness you're right in all you say in regards the cull , it's gotta happen and I know the likes of Shane Murphy gavin white eanna o'connicuir tomás o'se Cathal o'luing and robaird o'sé will probably be club tied and that's a balls in one way but fitzmaurice needs to get all those lads in and we need to start building the team around seanie Shea at centre forward, but will it happen or will we have a half forward line of Buckley Mikey geaney and donnacha Walsh again?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/11/2017 22:36:27    2060888

Replying To Horsebox77:  "K'boy.. "it's ok not to feel ok"…..

Seriously ok you'd be pissed off at the way the championship ended for us, but look one has to look at the positives.. ok we are measured or we measure by the canister in September but in fairness when one breaks down Fitz's CV is impressive. He is unbeaten in Munster with 5 titles in a roe, we have made the semi finals in every year, we have contested 2 finals winning one and have a league title this year. That is a very good collection of victories. Ok again I would be the first to be critical and would also advocate a change of backroom but I would still keep Fitz at the helm. I would dispense with Hassett and Mikey and bring in Dingles Tommy Griffin and a fresh face like say Gary McGrath (beaufort) or John Galvin (Crokes).

The only issue I have is the lack of youth progression but again we have developed U23 squads under the guise of the Kerry Juniors. We have again amassed is it 3 in a row here and 4 in a row of minors, again the McGrath Cup will be imperative here and the early stages of the league. I would be fearful that the likes of Gavin White with Crokes and Brian O'Beagleach, Cathal O'Luing and Tomas Se from An Gealtacht could be club tied until March due to their Munster and All Ireland club runs.

Again and I have said it before Fitz must coldly cull.. Kelly, Maher, Moran, Darran, Donaghy, Donnachadh, Fionn, Buckley and maybe Cillian.. and bring in the kids… they are good enough.. we need to bed in a Keeper, Full Back , Midfielders and a forty yard man… for me the forty yard man is the priority.

Still though K'boy could be a lot worse.. it's only football, went to a brilliant talk one night given by the Gaa's Paudie Butler.. Club's win on average a championship one year in ten on average but it's the other 9 years your hoping dreaming plotting or looking back…. that's the buzz the chase.. come on think back to the days of the "chase" the bit of skirt that got the blood going the beep text of a replied text or the missed call that made you feel you were in .. the chase the dream the pull… ah feck man its great to be alive… the next skirt/match is only around the corner…"
Horse I'm all for culling some of the chaff from the panel, but surely there's a place still for Maher, Moran and Donaghy? Every team needs experience and leadership, I'd worry about throwing in a host of youngsters lacking those essentials. You need a little balance in any squad.

Kingdomboy, chin up. Sometimes my faith gets shaken too but overall I'm an eternal optimist when it comes to Kerry football. The Mayo replay was a disaster but I'd be inclined to reckon that we were focused on Dublin all summer and gambled we had enough to get over Mayo the first day without giving them enough respect. Then we panicked and made the error of giving them far too much respect.

We are still well capable of getting to an AI final and if we get a few key positions sorted and a bit of luck (which had been in short reply in recent years) who knows where 2018 will end up.

Saying that if come the first day of the League the usual cohort are still on the bench, then Fitzy will be on the receiving end of a lot of legitimate criticism. Somehow however, I think the County Board has sent the message down that youth is the future so use em.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/11/2017 23:17:23    2060898

P.S. Horse, the chase isn't all it's cracked up to be sometimes! Those luckless late teenage years wandering around the dance floor in the old Horans and the tunnel walk thingy around it (remember that?) were torture! Thank God college was kinder ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/11/2017 23:29:12    2060900

I'd be optimistic about next year, I don't expect us to win anything but we will undoubtedly see new faces in the panel and starting lineup. Eamon is not a fool and when these young minor winning players are ready they will get their chance. Reports seem to suggest that they didn't perform well enough in training and A vs B games last summer to justify inclusion. You have to earn your spot and I wouldn't ask any manager to throw young lads in to Championship games to see what happens. That's what the league is for and in fairness there were several U21's playing early in the league during 2017 before they were called up to the U21 panel.

Just looking at some of the problem positions, off the top of my head for the league next year at least one of O'Beaglaoich, Tom Leo O'Sullivan or Foley should be able to take one of the corner back spots, Gavin White and Tom O'Sullivan at wing back (P.Murphy possibly moved to half forward again?), Rob O'Se at midfield as backup to Moran and Barry, Sean O'Shea, Micheál Burns, Matthew Flaherty and Kevin McCarthy in the half forward line. There are plenty of others too, and players like Brendan O'Sullivan and Daithi Casey who are a bit older but are worth a look.

You would need at least a couple of the above to have a proper breakout season like Paul Murphy did in 2014 if we are to have any chance of making an All Ireland Semi or even Final. The potential is definitely there in my view, but it would be a big ask to stop Dublin doing the 4 in a row as they have years of winning experience and conditioning that we just won't have. Despite the Mayo replay this year I wouldn't fear anybody else. We are not as bad as we looked that day.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2117 - 07/11/2017 11:23:06    2060952

Replying To TheHermit:  "P.S. Horse, the chase isn't all it's cracked up to be sometimes! Those luckless late teenage years wandering around the dance floor in the old Horans and the tunnel walk thingy around it (remember that?) were torture! Thank God college was kinder ;D"
Jesus ya horan'a and Ted on the door busting our chops to get in - no the chase can be fun

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 07/11/2017 16:29:58    2061029