New Louth Manager

This is a very good appointment. A man of integrity who has as others are saying won All-Ireland's and worked wonders with Fermanagh.
Few ever said Micko was too old and look at what he achieved. Pete is a man of similar attitude and ability.
We have a number of young lads coming through who can learn a lot from him. He will mix these with the experienced lads ,who I hope will now be available, and we should have exciting times ahead. Can't wait for the Byrne Cup to start.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1742 - 28/09/2017 19:57:48    2051458

Replying To 19616609:  "This is a very good appointment. A man of integrity who has as others are saying won All-Ireland's and worked wonders with Fermanagh.
Few ever said Micko was too old and look at what he achieved. Pete is a man of similar attitude and ability.
We have a number of young lads coming through who can learn a lot from him. He will mix these with the experienced lads ,who I hope will now be available, and we should have exciting times ahead. Can't wait for the Byrne Cup to start."
Aw jaysus '61 !!! Pete McGrath is a great appointment and I am delighted he's here. But not being able to wait for The O Byrne Cup !! I think I'll hold off until The National League.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6196 - 28/09/2017 20:14:42    2051468

Replying To WheresDeBallBag:  "Yeah but they are still all Irelands. Your not seriously going to belittle an all Ireland championship no matter when it was won. Our main man Ollie might take that as blasphemy. I was going to ask you would you go up to any of the Monaghan men with medals in their pocket and tell them your not impressed cause it was years ago but I suppose you'd have a hard job."
You are right WheresDeBallBag. It is blasphemy. An All Ireland title should not be sniffed at and the great Pete Mc Grath has them All Ireland's two more than what Monaghan has ever achieved.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/09/2017 22:55:21    2051522

Replying To 19616609:  "This is a very good appointment. A man of integrity who has as others are saying won All-Ireland's and worked wonders with Fermanagh.
We have a number of young lads coming through who can learn a lot from him. He will mix these with the experienced lads ,who I hope will now be available, and we should have exciting times ahead. Can't wait for the Byrne Cup to start."
I am the same 19616609. Roll on the O'Byrne Cup. Can't wait for next year. An Lu Abu!

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 28/09/2017 22:56:38    2051523

A great appointment for Louth best of luck to ye, great experience, record and a man of integrity- I'm sure the players will respond to him

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 589 - 28/09/2017 23:08:23    2051529

A great appointment for Louth best of luck to ye, great experience, record and a man of integrity- I'm sure the players will respond to him

Bainisteoir (National) - Posts: 589 - 28/09/2017 23:12:06    2051531

I share the optimism and enthusiasm voiced by most re Pete McGrath. Ped mentions honour and 1961 refers to integrity. These traits combined with his knowledge and history of success, suggest a great appointment. Let Snappers scoot and Scooters snap, be they one and the same. Most of us, like Ollie said, will look forward to 2018!

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 238 - 28/09/2017 23:29:32    2051537

Replying To Greengrass:  "Aw jaysus '61 !!! Pete McGrath is a great appointment and I am delighted he's here. But not being able to wait for The O Byrne Cup !! I think I'll hold off until The National League."
Green grass . The first Sunday in January is always magic. Seeing the familiar faces again, hating that Darver wind on the unprotected hill,wondering how X will fare in the Red Jersey or will Y go for another year and then the excitement when the Reds run out. And now Pete McGrath . Why wait for another month?

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1742 - 28/09/2017 23:53:05    2051540

Great appointment. I'd say Paddy K and Shane L had a lot to do with this happening. Really missed out the last time when he was interested. Pillar would have been good also Imo. Can't wait for OB Cup and NL now. We do need good direction now and good quick dexcision making on the line. I hope he brings that. Some more players might get involved who could play a part. Won't mention any names but a few come to mind who were not available over last few years? An Lu Abu.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 755 - 29/09/2017 09:51:12    2051591

Replying To ninjasmyth:  "Great appointment. I'd say Paddy K and Shane L had a lot to do with this happening. Really missed out the last time when he was interested. Pillar would have been good also Imo. Can't wait for OB Cup and NL now. We do need good direction now and good quick dexcision making on the line. I hope he brings that. Some more players might get involved who could play a part. Won't mention any names but a few come to mind who were not available over last few years? An Lu Abu."
Some seriously deluded lads on here, you could have Jim Gavin in charge and it still wont make a difference. We don't have the players. Imagine this weekend 3 teams left in senior championship and not one of them have a starting forward on the Louth team.

Lads we don't have the players and we will be relegated to Division 3. Some lads need to cop on here!

gaellu (Louth) - Posts: 182 - 29/09/2017 10:32:42    2051605

Replying To gaellu:  "Some seriously deluded lads on here, you could have Jim Gavin in charge and it still wont make a difference. We don't have the players. Imagine this weekend 3 teams left in senior championship and not one of them have a starting forward on the Louth team.

Lads we don't have the players and we will be relegated to Division 3. Some lads need to cop on here!"
Ah gaellu your awful negative. The only dellusion I see here is that you probably think you're a realist. Sure if we go by your train of thought we should shut the doors on all clubs and county. What sport means to you is clearly polar opposite to what it means to most of us here. Maybe we should take the Jim McGuinness approach and cut out all negativity from our county surrounding the gaa. Whether it be from player, committee, county Board member or anyone who wants to call them selves a Louth Gael just gone and let's just strive to compete as best we can. Like the Dubs say if we stop chasing success and focus on improving ourselves success will find us.

WheresDeBallBag (Louth) - Posts: 458 - 29/09/2017 11:07:01    2051621

I think it's a good appointment aim stay in division 2 I would like to see the country board fix the club game hear first then move on to the intercounty team they seem to be doing it the other way around it get the club teams stronger get the underage levels sorted get more young people involved in gaa the football and rugby in this county seems to be taking over unfortunately

bennypoor (Louth) - Posts: 521 - 29/09/2017 11:33:59    2051635

Lads we all know what success means in louth next season.If we manage to stay up in division 2 and win 1 or 2 championship games that would be as good as winning an all Ireland for us.We know we haven't a hope of winning a leinster or Sam Maguire but if we achieve the rest pete Mc grath will be considered a hero.

gooch13 (Louth) - Posts: 656 - 29/09/2017 11:41:17    2051641

Replying To gooch13:  "Lads we all know what success means in louth next season.If we manage to stay up in division 2 and win 1 or 2 championship games that would be as good as winning an all Ireland for us.We know we haven't a hope of winning a leinster or Sam Maguire but if we achieve the rest pete Mc grath will be considered a hero."
Exactly Gooch. Good interview with Pete McGrath on Newstalk. He mentions having Louth playing football well into the summer as a goal and obviously giving Division 2 a good lash is a the other main goal. It's a good appointment anyone saying otherwise is just cantankerous gits.

WheresDeBallBag (Louth) - Posts: 458 - 29/09/2017 12:02:49    2051645

Replying To gaellu:  "Some seriously deluded lads on here, you could have Jim Gavin in charge and it still wont make a difference. We don't have the players. Imagine this weekend 3 teams left in senior championship and not one of them have a starting forward on the Louth team.

Lads we don't have the players and we will be relegated to Division 3. Some lads need to cop on here!"
No Body is talking about winning Leinster or Sam, we are excited about a Top Class Appointment though and we are all realistic of what he can achieve!

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 29/09/2017 12:11:47    2051649

Lads firstly I wish Pete all the best, Now im not saying its a bad decision but is his best days not behind & also did very little when over Cooley
Yes he has the experience & so on. Its just an opinion.

truelouthfan (Louth) - Posts: 165 - 29/09/2017 12:32:10    2051657

Replying To truelouthfan:  "Lads firstly I wish Pete all the best, Now im not saying its a bad decision but is his best days not behind & also did very little when over Cooley
Yes he has the experience & so on. Its just an opinion."
What did the other Top Managers do with Cooley?

MR (Louth) - Posts: 2570 - 29/09/2017 12:48:40    2051661

Replying To truelouthfan:  "Lads firstly I wish Pete all the best, Now im not saying its a bad decision but is his best days not behind & also did very little when over Cooley
Yes he has the experience & so on. Its just an opinion."
Unless he has started forgetting everything he's learned and experienced over the years. Or has stopped moving with the times then I don't see how any managers best days can be behind them. Listen to his Newstalk interview

WheresDeBallBag (Louth) - Posts: 458 - 29/09/2017 12:50:06    2051662

Serious appointment from Louth if he makes them as competitive as Fermanagh were it will be great for Louth.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/09/2017 13:49:19    2051688

Jim Gavin has all the resources,McGrath is a better manager

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/09/2017 13:51:54    2051691