Ulster GAA celebrate 2019 President's Awards

December 02, 2019

Ulster GAA Referee of the Year Noel Mooney.

The annual Ulster GAA President’s Awards in association with O’Neills took place in the Canal Court Hotel, Newry on Friday 29th November with 250 people in attendance.

This awards ceremony recognises the Players, Administrators, Coaches, Officials, Referees, and Team Managements for the significant contribution they make to the GAA. Our volunteers are the lifeblood of the GAA and are the very heartbeat of our communities. All the award winners represent the many more who also carry on this valuable work across the nine Ulster counties.

The Ulster GAA President’s Awards are a way of highlighting the achievements of some of our special and significant contributors to the Association in Ulster. At the 2019 ceremony, we highlighted excellence in Club Coaching.

Below is a list of all the awards winners on the night:

O’Neills Ulster GAA Lifetime Service to the GAA Award - Brian Armitage

Player of the Year Football - Michael Murphy

Player of the Year Hurling - Conal Cunning

Service to the GAA through Education - Paddy Hardy

Club Coaching Awards

Sean McManus – Aontroim
Mairtin McConville – Ard Mhacha
Ciaran Tierney – An Cabhán
Sean McGoldrick – Doire
Pauric Harvey and Rory O’Donnell – Dún na nGall
Brendan Birt – An Dún
Declan Deazley – Fear Manach
Matthew McArdle – Muineachán
Des O’Doherty – Tír Eoghain

Overall Winner Club Coaching Awards - Sean McGoldrick – Doire

Special Recognition Awards

John Morrison RIP – Services to Coaching
Aontroim - 1969 U21 All Ireland winners
Raymond McSherry - Services to the GAA
Ulster GAA Wheelchair Hurling Team
Paul Brady - Handball
Mary Connolly - Ulster Ladies Football
Marion McStay - Ulster Camogie

Recognition of Referees

Noel Mooney - All Ireland Minor Championship Football Final Referee
James Connors - Nicky Rackard Final
Colum Cunning - Joe McDonagh Final
Barry Cassidy - All Ireland Senior Football Club Final
Paul Faloon - All Ireland Junior Football Club Final

The McGlinchey Cup for Referee of the Year - Noel Mooney, An Cabhán

Recognition of All Ireland winning teams

St Michael’s Enniskillen – Hogan Cup
St Colman’s Newry – Paul McGirr Cup
Slaughtneil – All Ireland Senior Camogie Club Championship
Clonduff – All Ireland Intermediate Camogie Club Championship
Michael McGibney – All Ireland Scór Sinsir Aithriseoireacht

Most Read Stories