Limerick Senior Hurling 2026

The GOAT. John Kiely take a bow.

hlynch12 (Limerick) - Posts: 238 - 20/07/2026 17:09:18    2686403

Replying To endgame:  "Galway easily beat a Cork team well seasoned on the intensity of Munster hurling. But that was a semi final.. Galway have a history of playing poorly in All Ireland hurling finals and yesterday was more of the same. 21 lost out of 26 played. A terrible record."
If we hadn't had a borderline automatic ticket to the semi final 1975-1996, we'd have lost about 10 less finals, because we wouldn't have been in those finals. Would that still be a terrible record? Possibly not.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4876 - 20/07/2026 17:19:50    2686405

Replying To endgame:  "Galway easily beat a Cork team well seasoned on the intensity of Munster hurling. But that was a semi final.. Galway have a history of playing poorly in All Ireland hurling finals and yesterday was more of the same. 21 lost out of 26 played. A terrible record."
The second half of that game was not intense or physical The first half wasn't that physical for that matter. Not compared to the following day or the Munster finsl for that matter.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 742 - 20/07/2026 22:06:44    2686434

Replying To Viking66:  "If lack of battles in Leinster did them no favours, how did they beat Cork so easily?"
That wasn't a true Cork performance. I have no skin in that game but they have played to far higher standards than what they showed in the semis. It did ye no favours having Cork wilt so easy.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 500 - 21/07/2026 00:33:42    2686440

Replying To Fitzy01:  "That wasn't a true Cork performance. I have no skin in that game but they have played to far higher standards than what they showed in the semis. It did ye no favours having Cork wilt so easy."
Just out of interest what is a true Cork performance these days? They look as inconsistent as Galway and Wexford would more traditionally look.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20294 - 21/07/2026 10:23:08    2686456

Some crowds around Limerick city last night , the amount of kids in Perry square for the teams homecoming was unreal , every pub in the city was wedged with a great athmosphere. The best homecoming night since the one in 2018 at the Gaelic grounds .

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 778 - 21/07/2026 11:29:28    2686466

Replying To Viking66:  "Just out of interest what is a true Cork performance these days? They look as inconsistent as Galway and Wexford would more traditionally look."
Cork won all their games in the Munster RR, which included beating the current AI champions. They lost the Munster final to the same oposition by 1 point. Our malfucntions appear to be croke park related, and critiscism (rightly so) will continue to dog us until that is rectified. Galway won all bar one of their Leinster RR games and won the Leinster final, then beat Cork in the semi final. Losing to this Limerick team is no shame for them.

To say both our counties are as 'inconsisent' as Wexford is a bit of a strecth, your lads won one game and that was against Kildare who were relegated. In fact I would go as far as saying that Wexford are not inconsistent at all, but very consistent in terms of their results

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 611 - 21/07/2026 12:26:26    2686477

what a weekend in dublin what a team and what a performance. when limerick get within touchig distance of liam mccarthy noone beats them. they save the best until last each time. what a team, and the talk is they aint going anywhere which isnt good news for everyone else. people asking how did galway beat cork so easy its very simple cork collapsed .

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1165 - 21/07/2026 12:50:28    2686484

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Cork won all their games in the Munster RR, which included beating the current AI champions. They lost the Munster final to the same oposition by 1 point. Our malfucntions appear to be croke park related, and critiscism (rightly so) will continue to dog us until that is rectified. Galway won all bar one of their Leinster RR games and won the Leinster final, then beat Cork in the semi final. Losing to this Limerick team is no shame for them.

To say both our counties are as 'inconsisent' as Wexford is a bit of a strecth, your lads won one game and that was against Kildare who were relegated. In fact I would go as far as saying that Wexford are not inconsistent at all, but very consistent in terms of their results"
I wasnt talking about anything recent when it comes to us. We dont get consistent performances since the 1970s regardless of whether we are in general good or bad in any given year. And most of the Galway teams since the 90s were the same, except 2017. Could vary in performance levels from 1 game to the next. Could be not great in general but play one good game all year, or the other way around, which is what Cork and Galway did this year.
And, yes, I agree this year was the first consistent year we have had in a good while.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 20294 - 21/07/2026 12:53:11    2686485

Replying To Viking66:  "Just out of interest what is a true Cork performance these days? They look as inconsistent as Galway and Wexford would more traditionally look."
After Evey game cork played in Munster including the final they were still alive if they lost. They beat a very poor Offaly team. The one knockout game they played where they was no tomorrow if they lost. they lost big

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 197 - 21/07/2026 14:07:42    2686493

Cork getting to the last three All Ireland Semi Finals and two of the last three finals makes them probably one of the most consistent teams in the Championship. In the History of the GAA very few teams reach 3 finals in a row.

Remember even Limerick did not make the final for two years before this year, and earlier this year lots of people were saying they were done for, too much milage on the clock etc. as they had lost 4 championship matches in a row (i.e. Clare in final round robin of 2025, Cork in the Munster final 2025, Dublin in Quarter final 2025 and Cork in opening Round Robin 2026)

All I know is that, at the moment Cork still look like the biggest threat to Limerick, and if they keep giving themselves opportunities, probability means that an all Ireland will fall their way eventually. And as I well know from following Limerick over the years when they do get over the line it will probably sweeter for them than any All Ireland they have won before now.

Even in Limerick this all Ireland is being celebrated around the city the last two nights way more than the three or four in a rows and its because we had a two year gap. Party moves to Patrickswell this evening will be good craic.

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 290 - 21/07/2026 14:38:39    2686495

I suppose as a Limerick Supporter who has seen Cork play against us year in year out, i'm mainly speaking to the level they generally hit when they play us but also how they performed in RR and the Munster final, i would see that as their true level. I see where you are coming from but I wouldn't put them in the same bracket as Galway or Wexford, they seem to have a slightly different issue to resolve when not comes to the business end of things be it lack of leaders on the field, lack of ball winners in the half forward line, managements in game calls when plan A doesn't work or simply coming in with the mindset of back to back champions each year without travelling the hard road first. They should be embracing that hurt and carry it with them. Limerick had to relearn this lesson last year after the Dublin game.

Anyway this is the Limerick thread and we are the All Ireland Champions, if someone wanted to open a thread on this it would make for interesting discussion :)

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 500 - 21/07/2026 14:58:55    2686498