Galway Football thread

Replying To systematic:  "Gut wrenching.

All saying we let it slip when 6 up, but dubs got 2 soft frees to get back to 3, and then Shane Walsh was fouled by Scully before the penalty.
No penalty, stand by that. And black card one out best defender might as well have been a red.....
Then Maher gets no penalty, which is shocking call. The advantage would have been to get a penalty!

Kieran Molloy had best game for Galway.
Dylan fantastic but should have scored his goal.
Maher real die on his feet man.
Darcy really stepped up on kickouts in 2nd half."
I'm sorry about all the times I cursed Kieran Molloy in my head. He stood up today. At least now I can enjoy the football.

Gaillimh_ar_dtús (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 28/06/2026 19:51:29    2682602

Galway didn't deserved to win today. Back to the usual sideways football and slow build up. Why won't they attack at pace instead of letting Dublin get every player back. The dubs kept it simple. Direct balls into con. Shane Walsh was invisible. Why Finnerty didn't take that 2 point free when Walsh hit the post? I knew when I seen him take it he was gona miss.

Joed1987 (Galway) - Posts: 20 - 28/06/2026 20:09:58    2682611

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It wasn't unreal. We pretty much saw the same against Roscommon. 6 up with 10 minutes left in that one. We almost let Westmeath catch us as well. A 9 point lead with 6 minutes left wasn't safe in that case. Only for Comer won the last kickout, they could very well have levelled it.
I'm not going to put the boot in to anyone individually, but we saw some of the same issues we've been looking at for 6 years. We all know what the major one is and we're still no better at it. We've been backboned by a strong U21 All-Ireland finalist team in 2017 and an U20 All-Ireland winning team in 2020, plus a few very talented older players.
This coupled with Dublin's inevitable slide from their peak, left us with opportunities to win an All-Ireland but we didn't manage it. I'll never question the effort the lads put in and their resilience has been shown many times, but we've come up short and it's of our own making.
We've been poor underage for the last number of years. There's no arguing otherwise. Some people think that's harsh, but it's the reality. It's very difficult to see how we're going to have a better chance in the next few years. The drought from 66 to 98 isn't far off being eclipsed. I'd love to know how many championship games Galway have lost as favourites in the last 5 years. I'd be surprised if there's a team which has lost more, especially big knockout ones.
We're a big well-resourced county. Our return at the top level is extremely poor in both codes, given this. People on here slag Mayo. Our own record is awful.
I know everyone is doing their best for the betterment of Galway football, but a county if our size shouldn't be going 4 or 5 years without a provincial underage title. I worry for the next few years. It'll make it all the tougher when we know we didn't capitalise on the talent we had."
100%

People have been turning a blind eye at how poor we've been at underage since 2020 really. Mainly because we've had a senior team competing for All-Ireland titles. But that run seems over now and who are the players that are going to replace the likes of Conroy, Walsh, Comer, etc? I haven't seen them yet.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2554 - 28/06/2026 20:11:11    2682612

Just back from the game. Can have all the names on paper but as mike tyson says what do you do when you get punched in the face. A great side and ill follow them always but its just so frustrating to see our big men in midfield consistently being beaten for dirty ball especially in first half. Just didnt have it. Against a team where they had 3 games and extra time and are older than us

jp_coyne (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 28/06/2026 21:06:17    2682650

Replying To jp_coyne:  "Just back from the game. Can have all the names on paper but as mike tyson says what do you do when you get punched in the face. A great side and ill follow them always but its just so frustrating to see our big men in midfield consistently being beaten for dirty ball especially in first half. Just didnt have it. Against a team where they had 3 games and extra time and are older than us"
JP, never bet against north-side Dubs tenacity - I'm a big fan. You give them a sniff of it and they will nail you! I'd like to see Con winning another AI after all the injuries, but it's Kerry's to lose. We just dodged a bullet.

AnCrúiscínLán (Galway) - Posts: 125 - 28/06/2026 21:36:39    2682669

Replying To Marooned:  "100%

People have been turning a blind eye at how poor we've been at underage since 2020 really. Mainly because we've had a senior team competing for All-Ireland titles. But that run seems over now and who are the players that are going to replace the likes of Conroy, Walsh, Comer, etc? I haven't seen them yet."
I'm curious why no one is talking about your management team? A big part in all this and to be honest, I'd be thanking them for their service at this stage.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2186 - 28/06/2026 22:35:03    2682704

Kickouts a disaster. Can't blame Gleeson he's not designing the kick out strategy we've outsourced that to Cavan. No variety copy and paste from Westmeath game and expect the opposition not to have that covered? Some baffling substitutions. Another collapse when in a great position. Need a management clear out and a Caroline Currid in to address the late collapse proble.

WolfeTone (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 28/06/2026 22:46:57    2682708

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It wasn't unreal. We pretty much saw the same against Roscommon. 6 up with 10 minutes left in that one. We almost let Westmeath catch us as well. A 9 point lead with 6 minutes left wasn't safe in that case. Only for Comer won the last kickout, they could very well have levelled it.
I'm not going to put the boot in to anyone individually, but we saw some of the same issues we've been looking at for 6 years. We all know what the major one is and we're still no better at it. We've been backboned by a strong U21 All-Ireland finalist team in 2017 and an U20 All-Ireland winning team in 2020, plus a few very talented older players.
This coupled with Dublin's inevitable slide from their peak, left us with opportunities to win an All-Ireland but we didn't manage it. I'll never question the effort the lads put in and their resilience has been shown many times, but we've come up short and it's of our own making.
We've been poor underage for the last number of years. There's no arguing otherwise. Some people think that's harsh, but it's the reality. It's very difficult to see how we're going to have a better chance in the next few years. The drought from 66 to 98 isn't far off being eclipsed. I'd love to know how many championship games Galway have lost as favourites in the last 5 years. I'd be surprised if there's a team which has lost more, especially big knockout ones.
We're a big well-resourced county. Our return at the top level is extremely poor in both codes, given this. People on here slag Mayo. Our own record is awful.
I know everyone is doing their best for the betterment of Galway football, but a county if our size shouldn't be going 4 or 5 years without a provincial underage title. I worry for the next few years. It'll make it all the tougher when we know we didn't capitalise on the talent we had."
I think you've done ok with the talent available.
The issue is the media hype resulted in you being big favourites in games you had no business being big favourites in, thats skewed perspectives a litttle.
Joyce has done well and overacheived. Lots of better sides diwn through the years have won the same or not much more.

JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 221 - 29/06/2026 07:35:22    2682748

Anyone see or hear Belclare since the game?

mayomanic (Mayo) - Posts: 87 - 29/06/2026 08:02:39    2682750

The team crumbled out there. Sean Kelly was a incredible massive loss for speed, tenacity and leadership. No point talking now. Tough to watch their spirit just dry up and whiter away with 6 minutes left to fight. Thought PJ would have got 6 foot 7 Fionn McDonagh out there we needed him for catching all those high balls and for his goal scoring. If nothing else, to have one Moycullen player on the pitch fighting to honour Paul Clancy. It was hard to watch.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 220 - 29/06/2026 09:18:57    2682762

Replying To galwayfball:  "McDaid and Molloy off and others left on. I can't understand it"
I think it was a mistake taking these 2 and more importantly O'Laoi off. All 3 were having a solid influence on the game and all had scored! Hard to understand how Matthew stayed on, the game really passed both himself and Paul by. Another year lost but as others in the forum have already said a full re-set is required and I believe that starts with a change of manager.

Dualstar22 (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 29/06/2026 10:52:48    2682787

Replying To systematic:  "Gut wrenching.

All saying we let it slip when 6 up, but dubs got 2 soft frees to get back to 3, and then Shane Walsh was fouled by Scully before the penalty.
No penalty, stand by that. And black card one out best defender might as well have been a red.....
Then Maher gets no penalty, which is shocking call. The advantage would have been to get a penalty!

Kieran Molloy had best game for Galway.
Dylan fantastic but should have scored his goal.
Maher real die on his feet man.
Darcy really stepped up on kickouts in 2nd half."
There is merit in your summation regarding the free kick situation, we had a fairly good return from shots taken but transition from defence to attack and visa versa was at pedestrian pace. Four of the staring forwards played reasonably well but the game mostly passed McDaid by,Tierney also to a lesser extent.Having a half back line who seemed to be content to concede three or four in order to score one themselves won't fill your trolly. The kick out once again a major problem both in delivery and reception options, a defence coach is a must have who can devise restart plays and a goal keeper with the vision and kicking skills to implement it.I felt Galway also badly missed Kellys organisational and tackling skill set at the back yesterday,

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 236 - 29/06/2026 11:03:43    2682791

If P.Joyce is to be kept on as Manager, surely Galway county board should send him on a coaching course. Sometimes he does'nt seem to grasp the basics. Example he's on the sideline wearing a Dublin blue tracksuit.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2765 - 29/06/2026 11:51:04    2682806

Replying To mayomanic:  "Anyone see or hear Belclare since the game?"
I'm here... happy out with life..

You meanwhile , first thought yesterday was to come on to a forum board looking for an anonymous Galway poster...
You need to get out for fresh air lad

Belclare98 (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 29/06/2026 13:15:59    2682840

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "The team crumbled out there. Sean Kelly was a incredible massive loss for speed, tenacity and leadership. No point talking now. Tough to watch their spirit just dry up and whiter away with 6 minutes left to fight. Thought PJ would have got 6 foot 7 Fionn McDonagh out there we needed him for catching all those high balls and for his goal scoring. If nothing else, to have one Moycullen player on the pitch fighting to honour Paul Clancy. It was hard to watch."
Fair point...

Watched the likes of O Flaherty, Mc Donagh, O Conghaile, and Mc Grath warming up all second half, and we were wilting in the last 10 mins..
A lot of soul searching today and in the coming days but definitely a fresh approach needed on the sideline..

Belclare98 (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 29/06/2026 13:18:51    2682843

Replying To hlynch12:  "Galway looking good. Will push Kerry in final."
Jesus but the bookies love you

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2809 - 29/06/2026 13:25:45    2682846

Some of the lesser lights did very well yesterday. Molloy and O'Laoi scored 0-5 between them. And O'Loai won a lot of breaking ball especially after half time. Where Sean Kelly was badly missed was I'm pretty sure he would have marked Scully and Scully wouldn't have had the same influence on the game with Kelly hounding him.

The problem was Galway only got 0-2 from Walsh, McDaid, Tierney and Comer. That won't cut it from a group of players of that quality.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2554 - 29/06/2026 13:45:30    2682863

Disappointing end to another disappointing season yesterday.

Defenders too slow and standoffish which gave Dublin too much time and space to shoot. Only improved in the 2nd half when we got more aggressive.

Kickouts and fielding, cleaned out, slightly improved in the 2nd half.

The losing of the game was the slow ponderous attack giving Dublin too much time to get back in a shape similar to basketball to defend around the arc.

Bringing on a sub that isn't Comer on until the 68th just tells it's own story.

I'd guess Pj probably leaves with another QF exit and losing the Connacht title along with Silke, Conroy, Walsh and Comer.

ColmFlaherty (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 29/06/2026 14:24:57    2682891

Replying To Belclare98:  "I'm here... happy out with life..

You meanwhile , first thought yesterday was to come on to a forum board looking for an anonymous Galway poster...
You need to get out for fresh air lad"
Lol see ye in February next year ha

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1169 - 29/06/2026 14:31:20    2682901

Replying To Square_B:  "I'm curious why no one is talking about your management team? A big part in all this and to be honest, I'd be thanking them for their service at this stage."
Maybe just overated in general .

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1169 - 29/06/2026 14:31:55    2682903