Monaghan GAA thread

Replying To farneygael3:  "Monaghan by 4 or more. Roscommon are a provincial only team and May as well pack it in when that's done. Enda Smith out also"
I hope your right. Bottom line, we need to tighten up at the back significantly, mayo and armagh had it to easy at times. Also up front, woods garland carey have been doing alot of work off the ball but I'd love to see them tag a few points to there name to take the pressure off mc Carron ward bannigan. Hopefully we can really disturb the rossies kickouts like scotstown did in the last 20 in January. Monaghan to edge it

222 (UK) - Posts: 941 - 12/06/2026 13:52:24    2679135

The boys on the newstalk football pod dont give us a snowballs in this one called us not a good side poor oufit no midfield desperate defence and unable to take chamces instead relying on short bursts to get out of trouble unable to play for 70 mins this year and last year lads looking to go stateside already. Theres only one answer to that tonorrow afternoon.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 2003 - 12/06/2026 15:14:15    2679161

Replying To seanie08:  "The boys on the newstalk football pod dont give us a snowballs in this one called us not a good side poor oufit no midfield desperate defence and unable to take chamces instead relying on short bursts to get out of trouble unable to play for 70 mins this year and last year lads looking to go stateside already. Theres only one answer to that tonorrow afternoon."
All three are expecting a good tight competitive contest be interesting to hear what all three would think now with the knowledge that Enda Smith is out injured the type of loss that could well swing this contest in Monaghan's favour now.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3996 - 12/06/2026 20:24:01    2679175

Replying To seanie08:  "The boys on the newstalk football pod dont give us a snowballs in this one called us not a good side poor oufit no midfield desperate defence and unable to take chamces instead relying on short bursts to get out of trouble unable to play for 70 mins this year and last year lads looking to go stateside already. Theres only one answer to that tonorrow afternoon."
Anybody writing Monaghan off tomorrow are very foolish. It's certainly a game I'm worried about and not a game i wanted for Ros coming off a defeat. Monaghan are a team with alot of top class players throughout, Beggan, McCarron, O Hanlon, Bannigan, McCarthy, O'Toole all brilliant footballers. Ye boys have more heart than any team in Ireland and if its in the melting pot with 5 to go il be sweating! Enda missing for us is a huge loss, he's our leader over the last few years. I don't see there being more than 2/3 points in it either way. Hopefully we can dig it out but it'll be a hell of a battle! Looking forward to the trip up to Clones tomorrow and a good game of knockout championship football!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 346 - 12/06/2026 22:18:10    2679188

Replying To Seanfan:  "Monaghan have won how many All Irelands....?"
I doubt there are many remember Roscommon winning All Irelands.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1105 - 13/06/2026 00:57:23    2679203

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "I doubt there are many remember Roscommon winning All Irelands."
I do
That's when it was Gaelic football

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 352 - 13/06/2026 12:14:19    2679226

Some clarity coming to leagues after last night's games. Corduff in trouble in Senior. Tyholland going poorly in Intermediate. And what has happened Sean McDermotts. They at the very bottom of the lowest rung in Monaghan football. Truagh starting to put it together. Harps the form team in Intermediate. Killeevan are the biggest success story so far. Young Graham back from the Ulster Rugby Academy bursting nets at different venues. Pride of place must go to Michael Tierney of Eire Og. I heard he hit 1-11 of a 2-12 total in their win over Donaghamoyne. Surely it is long past time that Gabriel Bannigan and his selectors took notice. Having seen him on a number of occasions over the years, he always impressed me as the type of marksman the county could do with. Deadly from frees and not afraid to mix it and win his own ball.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1105 - 13/06/2026 12:46:17    2679236

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "I doubt there are many remember Roscommon winning All Irelands."
Remember watching Roscommon push Kerry all the way in the 1980 final. That Rossies team was close. The pedigree is there.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1350 - 13/06/2026 13:07:51    2679238

What is going wrong in the Seans?

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 704 - 13/06/2026 13:22:26    2679240

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Remember watching Roscommon push Kerry all the way in the 1980 final. That Rossies team was close. The pedigree is there."
That Roscommon team won 4 Connacht titles in a row, won the National League, lost two All Ireland semi finals by a point, one after a replay and then lost the '80 All Ireland final by 3 points to a great Kerry team. Pedigree yes.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2700 - 13/06/2026 13:42:27    2679241

Replying To endgame:  "That Roscommon team won 4 Connacht titles in a row, won the National League, lost two All Ireland semi finals by a point, one after a replay and then lost the '80 All Ireland final by 3 points to a great Kerry team. Pedigree yes."
Was up on Hill16 cheering on the Rosies that day1... I wont be cheering ye today..lol!.... heres to a good game between 2 good attacking teams!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 453 - 13/06/2026 14:44:47    2679246

Couldn't get today due to work. Controlled game here in 2nd half. As said before, once the Connaught championship is over the Rossies are best just packing it in

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 704 - 13/06/2026 17:47:18    2679283

Magic, Magic, Malone.

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 704 - 13/06/2026 18:08:43    2679286

Replying To farneygael3:  "Couldn't get today due to work. Controlled game here in 2nd half. As said before, once the Connaught championship is over the Rossies are best just packing it in"
Well done to Monaghan. If ye took your chances ye'd have beaten us by 20 points. Roscommon were poor today but that's a mostly young Roscommon team who I think over the next few years will go well in the All Ireland series. Best of luck to Monaghan in the next round.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2700 - 13/06/2026 18:20:09    2679291

Once we settled we showed composure.
Having taken the lead we rarely looked troubled against a Roscommon side that did not turn up.
Some great performances from the older players.
Bank the win.
Move on to Round 3.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 386 - 13/06/2026 18:22:01    2679293

Could have been a 20 point win.
Immense.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1350 - 13/06/2026 18:26:48    2679295

That's more like it monaghan 70 minute performance fair play players and management well done always proud and never beaten hard is paying of again well done

Farneyblueandwhite (Monaghan) - Posts: 150 - 13/06/2026 18:28:56    2679298

Replying To endgame:  "Well done to Monaghan. If ye took your chances ye'd have beaten us by 20 points. Roscommon were poor today but that's a mostly young Roscommon team who I think over the next few years will go well in the All Ireland series. Best of luck to Monaghan in the next round."
I'm predicting Galway v Kerry All Ireland SFC Final 2026

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2867 - 13/06/2026 19:25:59    2679319

Replying To endgame:  "Well done to Monaghan. If ye took your chances ye'd have beaten us by 20 points. Roscommon were poor today but that's a mostly young Roscommon team who I think over the next few years will go well in the All Ireland series. Best of luck to Monaghan in the next round."
Listening to that now for 15 years

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 13/06/2026 19:52:37    2679333

Well done Monaghan on a good result. Could and should have been more. Not a game that reached any great heights but at least ye had a gameplan that worked. Roscommon on the other hand seemed lost in space. Good luck in the draw on Monday

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 133 - 13/06/2026 20:01:32    2679336