Football Championship 2026

If Down and Westmeath make their finals, Cavan drop into the Tailteann.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9663 - 26/04/2026 20:19:07    2668952

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Well at least we're still in it.

Enjoy the B competition."
Aw bless, a little upset are we?

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2017 - 26/04/2026 20:47:51    2668966

Replying To Square_B:  "Aw bless, a little upset are we?"
Not at all, an off day today but plenty to look forward to with this team. They owe us nothing.

I see your minors got a trimming off New York today?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1576 - 26/04/2026 21:15:23    2668979

Replying To Cabbagepatch1667:  "Hahahah right back at you kiddo.

Hope you enjoyed that humbling you got today, can't say yous hadn't had it coming.

Who's Jimmy gonna blame this time? The mighty Donegal falling to division 3 opposition"
We were well and truly beat today. No complaints at all, more power to Down.

We have won the last two Ulster Championships, will take a bit of getting used to well-being out this early but maybe the rest will do us good. Time will tell.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1576 - 26/04/2026 21:19:08    2668981

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Not at all, an off day today but plenty to look forward to with this team. They owe us nothing.

I see your minors got a trimming off New York today?"
I'd say you're definitely crying into your tea. Things can only get better as they say.

Great to see you following our minors, must be hard to keep up with all the games.

And don't forget, stay humble.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2017 - 26/04/2026 22:39:27    2669007

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Based on form so far

Ulster final
Derry v Donegal

Munster Final
Kerry v Cork

Connacht Final
Galway v Mayo

Leinster final
Louth V Westmeath (that will be some day out)

Round 1 of All Ireland (random draw)
Donegal v Dublin
Kerry v Armagh
Galway v Meath
Louth v Roscommon
Derry v Kildare
Cork v Tyrone
Mayo v Monaghan
Westmeath V Cavan

Shaping up nicely"
I hope you are not a betting man.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1015 - 26/04/2026 23:28:56    2669024

Replying To Square_B:  "I'd say you're definitely crying into your tea. Things can only get better as they say.

Great to see you following our minors, must be hard to keep up with all the games.

And don't forget, stay humble."
Is it not pints people cry into? Sorry I wouldn't know but I'll take your word for it, given your greater experience.

Good luck in the Tailteann.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1576 - 27/04/2026 09:48:08    2669065

Well done to Down yesterday better team on the day, I hope you go on to win Ulster . Best of luck.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 274 - 27/04/2026 10:01:56    2669075

Ulster final
Derry v Armagh

Munster Final
Kerry v Cork

Connacht Final
Galway v Roscommon

Leinster final

Armagh v Dublin
Kerry v Donegal
Roscommon v Meath
Louth v Mayo
Derry v Kildare
Cork v Tyrone
Galway v Monaghan
Westmeath V Cavan

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1771 - 27/04/2026 10:09:39    2669082

Down a great football county I hope they can repeat that performance now, Armagh will be well warned and I still think will have enough to get to the Ulster final, but just the old man in me loves seeing Down compete for the Sam Maguire

agree with the Donegal poster about 1991, had that feeling early on when we were missing bad shots in those first 10 minutes, and Down looking up for things. Was very impressed with the Down keeper and the kickouts as well, Eoghan Bán stole a short one early but other than that I don't remember too many where we came out on top.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 323 - 27/04/2026 10:49:33    2669107

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Is it not pints people cry into? Sorry I wouldn't know but I'll take your word for it, given your greater experience.

Good luck in the Tailteann."
A humble man like yourself wouldn't drink anything else. I know you'd be thinking about the price of the pints. Anyhow, pass on my regards to Jimmy & the lads. And remember, always stay humble.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 2017 - 27/04/2026 11:32:43    2669127

Replying To REDANDBLACK30:  "Well said. It could be an omen for Donegal we beat Tyrone in the first round in Ulster after a replay in 2008 and yet then they ended up winning the All Ireland. Donegal have been magnificent last few years best of luck for the rest of the year."
Congratulations to Down, you were deserved winners and it would be nice to see you go on and win Ulster.
It was a tactical masterclass yesterday by Conor Laverty, Tony McEntee etc, and it showcased the talent you have.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1786 - 27/04/2026 11:40:32    2669141

Replying To Square_B:  "A humble man like yourself wouldn't drink anything else. I know you'd be thinking about the price of the pints. Anyhow, pass on my regards to Jimmy & the lads. And remember, always stay humble."
I will of course pass your concerns and regards on to Jim.

We might have lost yesterday but great to have a home grown manager to rally the troops all the same and not some mercenary.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1576 - 27/04/2026 11:45:18    2669147

Replying To CCFabu:  "Down a great football county I hope they can repeat that performance now, Armagh will be well warned and I still think will have enough to get to the Ulster final, but just the old man in me loves seeing Down compete for the Sam Maguire

agree with the Donegal poster about 1991, had that feeling early on when we were missing bad shots in those first 10 minutes, and Down looking up for things. Was very impressed with the Down keeper and the kickouts as well, Eoghan Bán stole a short one early but other than that I don't remember too many where we came out on top."
Well Down have taken away our record as being the only team to defeat Jimmy in Ulster. Always thought Down could have taken ye in 2013 in the semi-final before Malachy put a plan in place for the final. My worry for Donegal would be is this a repeat of 2013. How long can a squad of amateurs continue at the high intensity that Jimmy demands. Most Monaghan people won't agree but I believe we beat a tired Donegal team in 2013. Dont get me wrong it was a deserved win and was the beginning of a great era for us, though unfortunately we didnt reach the promised land. The diffetence, Donegal had got their All Ireland in Jimmy's second year, which didn't happen this time. Of course ye bounced back refreshed in 2014 and should have had the second Sam for that team. What I am trying to say is this year could be 2013 all over again. It may be next year before this team reaches the Hogan Stand. Hopefully for ye, the Langan injury is not as bad as rumoured. I will be hapoy to be proved wrong. Unlike some of my county men, I am always happy to see Donegal go on to bigger things when we ourselves are out of the picture, as I would be for Armagh or Down. Hopefully we can make the Ulster Final on Saturday but if we do, it wont be the same in Clones without Donegal. Actually it is a very big week for Monaghan teams in all grades. Anyways good luck for the rest of the season.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1015 - 27/04/2026 12:27:40    2669167

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ulster final
Derry v Armagh

Munster Final
Kerry v Cork

Connacht Final
Galway v Roscommon

Leinster final

Armagh v Dublin
Kerry v Donegal
Roscommon v Meath
Louth v Mayo
Derry v Kildare
Cork v Tyrone
Galway v Monaghan
Westmeath V Cavan"
I think it will be a Dublin v Kildare Leinster final, with Dublin by 6-8 point winners. Louth havent beten Dublin in 53 years and havent beaten a big team in championship yet. Luke Loughlin and Mathew Whitakker gone with injury for westmeath, just think they could get hard to replicate energy and hunger of two weeks ago, this will open door for kildare who i think might just hit form at right time, nobody talking about them they will love that and always see themselves as better team than kildare. westmeath have a shocking championship record v kildare too.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 928 - 27/04/2026 14:41:33    2669253

Replying To dickie10:  "I think it will be a Dublin v Kildare Leinster final, with Dublin by 6-8 point winners. Louth havent beten Dublin in 53 years and havent beaten a big team in championship yet. Luke Loughlin and Mathew Whitakker gone with injury for westmeath, just think they could get hard to replicate energy and hunger of two weeks ago, this will open door for kildare who i think might just hit form at right time, nobody talking about them they will love that and always see themselves as better team than kildare. westmeath have a shocking championship record v kildare too."
I don't think history really matters. Westmeath had a poor championship record v us and look what they did last week.Louth wont fear Dublin at all because Dublin aren't at the level they have been for the last how many years.The game in portlaoise probably favours Louth as Dublin would have a bigger crowd in croke park.I do though expect Dublin to be alot better than the last day and it should be a tight game.I know what your saying Louth wont get a better chance to beat Dublin and that will add a bit of pressure on them but I think Louth have improved this year.I think the celebrations caught up with them last year after winning leinster and didnt preform in the all Ireland series.The 2 lads missing for Westmeath would be a big blow and probably swings it in Kildares favour but Westmeath bringvthe same intensity they did v us they will there abouts.Down brought serious intensity yesterday v Donegal and caught them out.I think there will be a few surprises this year as if your not at it from the start with the new rules a game can go away from you very quickly.

Proudroyal (Meath) - Posts: 410 - 27/04/2026 15:43:59    2669286

Replying To Commodore:  "Congratulations to Down, you were deserved winners and it would be nice to see you go on and win Ulster.
It was a tactical masterclass yesterday by Conor Laverty, Tony McEntee etc, and it showcased the talent you have."
Yes if Down could win Ulster and end a famine dating back to 1994 it would be a great boost for the county. To miss out on an All Ireland place next weekend if results don't go our way will seem very harsh.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1753 - 27/04/2026 16:21:29    2669298

Replying To Proudroyal:  "I don't think history really matters. Westmeath had a poor championship record v us and look what they did last week.Louth wont fear Dublin at all because Dublin aren't at the level they have been for the last how many years.The game in portlaoise probably favours Louth as Dublin would have a bigger crowd in croke park.I do though expect Dublin to be alot better than the last day and it should be a tight game.I know what your saying Louth wont get a better chance to beat Dublin and that will add a bit of pressure on them but I think Louth have improved this year.I think the celebrations caught up with them last year after winning leinster and didnt preform in the all Ireland series.The 2 lads missing for Westmeath would be a big blow and probably swings it in Kildares favour but Westmeath bringvthe same intensity they did v us they will there abouts.Down brought serious intensity yesterday v Donegal and caught them out.I think there will be a few surprises this year as if your not at it from the start with the new rules a game can go away from you very quickly."
It's also really difficult to know where Dublin are at.

Division 1 is tough, and Dublin were a bit all over the place. Ironically their better performances came out of Croke Park, nice win in Roscommon, and really should have beaten Galway on the final day. So they've been there there about with 60 mins played, wheels have just come off at the wrong time.

So it's hard to compare a division 1 campaign vs a division 2 - obviously Louth have all the momentum and as you said won't fear Dublin, but they still have to go and do it.

Louth at their best are great, but also quite flaky at times too. We destroyed them in the first half of the league game, and but for a pile of gifted 2 points frees, and us being unable to close out the game - it wouldn't have been close. And that type of performance won't be enough for Louth.

So it's really hard to call, but Louth are never going to get a better opportunity to beat them, and if they can't do it now, I don't know when they will.

I think Westmeath put everything into that Meath game and are rightly banged up, Loughlin is a big loss and although Kildare are really poor, they might just get over the line.

So leaning about 60/40 that it'll be a Louth Kildare Leinster final for me, but won't be surprised if it's Dublin and Westmeath either. A healthy Leinster Championship is good to see though.

Cabbagepatch1667 (Meath) - Posts: 136 - 27/04/2026 16:29:31    2669305

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Ulster final
Derry v Armagh

Munster Final
Kerry v Cork

Connacht Final
Galway v Roscommon

Leinster final

Armagh v Dublin
Kerry v Donegal
Roscommon v Meath
Louth v Mayo
Derry v Kildare
Cork v Tyrone
Galway v Monaghan
Westmeath V Cavan"
Are you alliwed 2 changes every week? You batting 50 per cent there.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1015 - 27/04/2026 16:48:00    2669312

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "Well Down have taken away our record as being the only team to defeat Jimmy in Ulster. Always thought Down could have taken ye in 2013 in the semi-final before Malachy put a plan in place for the final. My worry for Donegal would be is this a repeat of 2013. How long can a squad of amateurs continue at the high intensity that Jimmy demands. Most Monaghan people won't agree but I believe we beat a tired Donegal team in 2013. Dont get me wrong it was a deserved win and was the beginning of a great era for us, though unfortunately we didnt reach the promised land. The diffetence, Donegal had got their All Ireland in Jimmy's second year, which didn't happen this time. Of course ye bounced back refreshed in 2014 and should have had the second Sam for that team. What I am trying to say is this year could be 2013 all over again. It may be next year before this team reaches the Hogan Stand. Hopefully for ye, the Langan injury is not as bad as rumoured. I will be hapoy to be proved wrong. Unlike some of my county men, I am always happy to see Donegal go on to bigger things when we ourselves are out of the picture, as I would be for Armagh or Down. Hopefully we can make the Ulster Final on Saturday but if we do, it wont be the same in Clones without Donegal. Actually it is a very big week for Monaghan teams in all grades. Anyways good luck for the rest of the season."
yeah that worry could be there considering how flat we were yesterday and personally I am in doomsday mode one minute, optimistic mode the next, truth is we really won't know until that first match for Donegal in 4-5 weeks time and it's all speculation until then. in terms of next year, honestly I think that it will be very very tough to bounce back if things don't go well this year, Murphy can't go another year I don't think and you saw there yesterday how important he still is (which is maybe a problem in itself)

I think 2013 we were battling an awful lot of injuries and just the fact we had finally won Sam, and in the way it happened over those couple of years, there was always going to be a bit of a dip. Monaghan were well deserving that day no doubt about it. I don't know if this year is like that but time will tell

big week for Monaghan is right, ádh mór I always have time for Monaghan people even though yous have always been a sticky team for us! well before 2013 as well I think the record between the counties in Ulster is very very even over the years

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 323 - 27/04/2026 18:22:42    2669334