I'm not always picking rows with everyone here . Just because some of you don't like the facts. The fact is alot of you even ones from Leitrim & Wicklow slag Mayo off and then say your not anti Mayo on here . As I said previously we are in transition and have no expectations . Maybe don't keep using the same phrase " Mayo won't win anything " as the poster from Leitrim above said also. Then you might not get ones " picking rows " . Just the facts man .
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 1002 - 12/09/2025 23:46:43 2635939 Link 0 |
Yes, and NU has never beaten Mayo in championship football, whereas for poor ould Leitrim…!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2477 - 13/09/2025 01:04:54 2635942 Link 0 |
Agree 100%. But sure let them live in beautiful delusion land. They like to get patted on the head saying aren't ye great to keep coming back. Aren't ye great for getting to a semi final and logging the togs. They like this.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 479 - 13/09/2025 13:32:22 2635982 Link 1 |
Where is NU please?? Thanks for your input. Riveting as always and so insightful. Thanks twice please.
bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 479 - 13/09/2025 14:54:05 2635999 Link 1 |
Nothing you have stated on here or elsewhere are facts. They are opinions and are mainly bizarre opinions and get upset when they are challenged.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 721 - 13/09/2025 15:57:07 2636004 Link 4 |
I live in Wicklow but Im a True blue Dub. Yes you do pick rows as your posts make no sense and Im only giving the facts on Mayo.Serial bottlers.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 521 - 16/09/2025 11:10:06 2636396 Link 2 |
S1234 - give it a rest. You're responding to every comment people make on Mayo. We will be laughed at and mocked until we win an All Ireland, that's just a fact….who cares…it's lads on an internet forum…whoop de do. Get out and live life. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11981 - 16/09/2025 15:17:20 2636446 Link 1 |
I see the nrl Australian rugby league are kicking off the season in las Vegas. They start the season in America and make a big deal about it by hosting a couple games. I think around 15,000 travel from Australia you get around 5,000 traveling to new York from Ireland. The difference in coverage is unreal. The Australians big it up as something amazing but the GAA don't take advantage of having a actual new York team. The GAA should look at the nrl and make the new York game the season opening celebrations Kew (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 28/02/2026 19:14:58 2659085 Link 1 |
GAA+ Kew (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 24/03/2026 18:50:56 2662944 Link 0 |
@kew or anyone else who might happen to know - Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3434 - 24/03/2026 21:33:10 2662975 Link 0 |
Yes they do in part but it's still a huge undertaking financially and logically. That said fundraising takes place over there. Fundraising also takes place in London. NY and London were added to Connacht because we have the last amount of counties. Also and this point was made to me in New York, Connacht counties have the largest diaspora in those cities than anywhere else in Ireland due to historical reasons.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11981 - 25/03/2026 07:49:21 2663004 Link 0 |
@yew_tree: Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3434 - 25/03/2026 09:53:46 2663030 Link 0 |
The Connacht Council provide travelling teams with a grant of €50k which in reality is a small token contribution. When Leitrim went over in 2023, the cost was estimated to be nearly 250k (including the 50k grand). 10 years prior in 2013, it cost 95k which was setoff by a 65k grant and 5k from supporters in NY. For counties like us, that's unsustainable. In reality the cost should be funded on a more sustainable basis from Central Council coffers and certainly to take account of standing of the county involved. I'm not sure what was fundraised last time out but I don't recall much fundraising events in NY as most of the fundraising was done earlier in the year from the 50 miles walk event in early January. For smaller counties, the fundraising opportunities are not that lucrative anyhow. The Connacht Council are eager to keep the game and as far as I know a review is to take place after Roscommon play next month. I would be in favour of keeping the game as I think it's important to keep the diaspora involved and to grow the games in the US. It involves so much more than a championship game once a year and that has to be acknowledged. As for rotating the game around the provinces, I'm not so sure. The natural fit for the game IMO, is with Connacht as the disapora in NY mainly come from these parts. Same goes with London. Either way, keeping NY in the championship is going to cost money whether they come here or a team goes there. Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1903 - 25/03/2026 14:16:11 2663089 Link 0 |
Absolutely NY and Ali don should be kept. The GAA is more about the actual game on the field. Remember NY GAA also do well out of these trips. I wonder are there many from Roscommon going over? They missed out last time due to Covid I think. The cost though of a trip to NYC has gone thru the roof since Covid. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11981 - 25/03/2026 15:21:04 2663123 Link 0 |
@Square_B: I was always under the impression that Croke Park centrally provided funding for those trips too. So is it really only €50k from Connacht Council? I fully accept that wouldn't go far towards covering total costs. But maybe all the more reason to "share the burden" ! Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3434 - 25/03/2026 16:08:33 2663140 Link 0 |
I'm only telling you what I know about the GAA in NY and my knowledge of same, you can take that on board or not. You are conflating the idea of emigration in total to NY with those involved in the GAA over there. It is not by accident that Connacht was chosen as the province to which NY play in. It is well known that the Leitrim diaspora in NY would be quite large, particularly in and around the Bronx. And that's just from the least populated county in Ireland. Anyhow, the fact remains is that the game should be retained for the reasons I have given and if rotating that around the provinces is found as a way to ensure it is retained, so be it. But I have my doubts.
Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1903 - 25/03/2026 17:01:18 2663155 Link 1 |
Seems our Wexford friend is looking for a trip to NYC for Wexford GAA. Get your club delegate to lobby your CB to bring a motion to Congress to have New York moved out of Connacht and into Leinster. Then you'll get your trip over when it's Wexfords turn. yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11981 - 25/03/2026 19:48:49 2663186 Link 0 |
LOL. I'm not looking for that at all. Was just pointing out that neither of these arguments stand up to close scrutiny: (a) they play in Connacht because we have the smallest number of counties and they beef up the numbers, and (b) they play in Connacht because we have the largest diaspora. And while I'd still maintain that an argument could be made for rotating New York between the provinces, I'm still not going to make that argument myself. Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3434 - 25/03/2026 23:27:26 2663243 Link 0 |