Wexford Hurling Thread

Replying To Viking66:  "Their minors only lost to ours by a few points that year too. Nothing too notable underage apart from that."
No school in Leinster A Hurling and can't remember them reaching a Leinster SF at either Minor or U20

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 957 - 09/03/2026 19:08:29    2660731

Replying To Viking66:  "Your father isnt far wrong. There are loads of bits of wishful thinking and good intentions, and fair play to the lads on the committee who put alot of their time in for nothing drawing it up, but its very short on specific actions and targets.
It will be interesting when the flesh is put on the bones, and it starts getting put into practice, will there be anything in it then that will improve things."
I wouldn't be overly worried about it not being fleshed out, don't think it's rocket science, it's just about how do we get more kids playing hurling and how do we get kids hurling for more months in the year

That's stuff that doesn't need to be fleshed out and it's pretty much the most important thing for us right now

S&C stuff and what exactly we want our coaches to do would need fleshing out alright but just because it's not in the Strategic Report doesn't mean it's not being discussed (Might not be discussed right now, who knows, would guess it is although real question is whether the proposed changes work)

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 957 - 09/03/2026 19:13:56    2660732

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Tbh, I think Kildare's rise has a lot to do with Brian Dowling

You see people on here giving out stink about our underage results; I wonder what they'd say if we had've their underage results instead"
Manager makes a huge difference. In my opinion it's the reason we are where we are also. Even the martins nearly got relegated by making a poor appointment. This is year 3 and wexford have regressed over the 3 years.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 297 - 09/03/2026 20:59:16    2660739

Replying To tearintom:  "Agree on the strategic plan.

But I wouldn't be concerned about spending another year in 1B. If anything yesterday proved we aren't ready to go up and stay up, going up and coming straight back down isnt of any use to us. For example id prefer to be where we are rather than where Offaly are this year.

Its a young squad, another year of development will do no harm, there's no quick fix, we need to realise that its going to take time and accept that imho."
Definitely! And we might be a few years in 1b and that's fine. We are where we are.

We can say oh we have to play the best to learn and improve but looking at our full back line yesterday and thinking if they came up against Bull O Brien, Gillane, Hayes, Connolly, Darragh MacCarthy etc!

Zero benefit to that

Goreylad1985 (Wexford) - Posts: 17 - 09/03/2026 22:05:00    2660751

Congratulations to Simon Roche for getting on the Hurling TOTW and getting nominated for GAA HOTW. Great achievement!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 18721 - 09/03/2026 22:23:02    2660752

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I wouldn't be overly worried about it not being fleshed out, don't think it's rocket science, it's just about how do we get more kids playing hurling and how do we get kids hurling for more months in the year

That's stuff that doesn't need to be fleshed out and it's pretty much the most important thing for us right now

S&C stuff and what exactly we want our coaches to do would need fleshing out alright but just because it's not in the Strategic Report doesn't mean it's not being discussed (Might not be discussed right now, who knows, would guess it is although real question is whether the proposed changes work)"
I'd say s and c and nutrition at underage is the bit that needs the most attention to be honest.

If you look at what Dublin have done, or Kildare even moreso, or the reason Antrim and down could give us so much trouble is because they're all physically stronger than us.

It was fairly stark in Ennis how the fringe Clare players were much more physical than our young lads.

I know Egan introduced a specific programme for the 20s , there's the trilan programme in schools and our underage players will be playing senior club again which should help a lot but this will take time.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4314 - 10/03/2026 08:06:15    2660764

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Manager makes a huge difference. In my opinion it's the reason we are where we are also. Even the martins nearly got relegated by making a poor appointment. This is year 3 and wexford have regressed over the 3 years."
Do you think he's doing a bad job? I think we can do better, but that seems a harsh assesment to me

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4314 - 10/03/2026 10:15:31    2660776

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'd say s and c and nutrition at underage is the bit that needs the most attention to be honest.

If you look at what Dublin have done, or Kildare even moreso, or the reason Antrim and down could give us so much trouble is because they're all physically stronger than us.

It was fairly stark in Ennis how the fringe Clare players were much more physical than our young lads.

I know Egan introduced a specific programme for the 20s , there's the trilan programme in schools and our underage players will be playing senior club again which should help a lot but this will take time."
Id agree, very worrying in truth the S&C gap to the newer Clare players. Roche was ok, Carley seems to have filled out a good bit but plenty more seemed miles off it. Lads not putting it in off the field it has to be. Our coaches, dieticians etc can't be that far behind what Clare have or Limerick. At that level you have to be able to physically compete as the starting point.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 532 - 10/03/2026 11:29:00    2660784

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Manager makes a huge difference. In my opinion it's the reason we are where we are also. Even the martins nearly got relegated by making a poor appointment. This is year 3 and wexford have regressed over the 3 years."
Hardly managers fault 10-15 players won't commit to the cause?

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 532 - 10/03/2026 11:29:45    2660786

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Do you think he's doing a bad job? I think we can do better, but that seems a harsh assesment to me"
To be blunt yes. Look at the rapps and rathnure with and without skippy. Surely wexford can produce better than what we are getting. Alot of lads not making themselves available should also be a bit of concern.

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 297 - 10/03/2026 12:07:33    2660794

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I'd say s and c and nutrition at underage is the bit that needs the most attention to be honest.

I know Egan introduced a specific programme for the 20s , there's the trilan programme in schools and our underage players will be playing senior club again which should help a lot but this will take time."
Its 6 years too late at u20s. Yes it should be there but only to build incrementally on the work done since u14. All the munster counties development squads(and a lot of clubs) are in formal programs from u14. These aren't aspirational or optional either. These are both collective and individual programmes and sessions tailored to the individual ( fluid ) and regularly assessed. If you aint putting in the work it often leads to being dropped. I think its great. If a young lad gets nothing or very little out of it on the pitch he comes out of the 3/4 years in there fitter and stronger but , most importantly, knowing his body and mind and how to look after it.

Tadhg2020 (Limerick) - Posts: 67 - 10/03/2026 12:24:01    2660796

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Do you think he's doing a bad job? I think we can do better, but that seems a harsh assesment to me"
In your honest opinion Doyler, since Rossi took over, have the Wexford Senior hurling team improved?

Has our touch, speed, strength, tactics, systems or anything required to be a competitive inter county hurling team improved?

And ask yourself the same questions of Dublin since O Ceallachain took over!

Goreylad1985 (Wexford) - Posts: 17 - 10/03/2026 13:05:22    2660797

Replying To Timbertony:  "Hardly managers fault 10-15 players won't commit to the cause?"
We just don't know do we?

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 297 - 10/03/2026 13:10:37    2660798

Replying To Goreylad1985:  "In your honest opinion Doyler, since Rossi took over, have the Wexford Senior hurling team improved?

Has our touch, speed, strength, tactics, systems or anything required to be a competitive inter county hurling team improved?

And ask yourself the same questions of Dublin since O Ceallachain took over!"
Hard to compare us and Dublin though given the player turnover we've had

I would have issues with how Rossi sets us up off our own puck-outs and off opposition puck-outs as well as a general lack of intensity

But he has done a good job at blooding in younger players which was always going to be a thankless task

I think he has given time to players who are not up to it whilst others who have more potential IMO have been left out

But listening to Rory Jacob a few weeks ago, that could have been because he doesn't think they were ready and he thinks blooding them in too early would ruin them for the future, think he's right if that's the case

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 957 - 10/03/2026 13:38:10    2660802

Replying To Tadhg2020:  "Its 6 years too late at u20s. Yes it should be there but only to build incrementally on the work done since u14. All the munster counties development squads(and a lot of clubs) are in formal programs from u14. These aren't aspirational or optional either. These are both collective and individual programmes and sessions tailored to the individual ( fluid ) and regularly assessed. If you aint putting in the work it often leads to being dropped. I think its great. If a young lad gets nothing or very little out of it on the pitch he comes out of the 3/4 years in there fitter and stronger but , most importantly, knowing his body and mind and how to look after it."
I can tell you with 100% certainty we are at worst equal to all the other top Counties now at S & C from U13 all the way to this year's Minors.

PolPeist (Westmeath) - Posts: 7 - 10/03/2026 14:08:28    2660805

Replying To Goreylad1985:  "In your honest opinion Doyler, since Rossi took over, have the Wexford Senior hurling team improved?

And ask yourself the same questions of Dublin since O Ceallachain took over!"
Fairly harsh rossi took it knowing lads retiring and after davy there was a gap lads coming of age because they were gone or overlooked in that period . . He s had to try build new squad and stay competitive no easy task when in reality we were nt even at top table when davy was in charge bar 19 . .
I dint kniw what we are comparing ourselves to in the past . We were average at best in pecking order we may have slipped a bit year on year but its not a landslide . Other teams have improved too
. Time will tell if Rossi can turn the tide but blame can't be laid at his door in its entirety .
As for players not committing thats personal choice ..
Easy to blame manager. If lads want to play they will commit to any trainier or manager. If they are honest they just don't want to the hard yards thats fair enough . But just be honest about it and own yiur decision .
Maybe they dont see eye to eye with manager . In rhe end of the day he has to do what he believes is best for his team and wexford hurling . The buck stops with him . But he needs commitment lads that are nt there are nt there through their own choice. If they want success in hurling you have to commit dont go blaming everyone else .

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 545 - 10/03/2026 14:12:12    2660806

Replying To PolPeist:  "I can tell you with 100% certainty we are at worst equal to all the other top Counties now at S & C from U13 all the way to this year's Minors."
From what ive heard the tirlan scheme with S&C coaches going into schools is working really well with a couple of 1000 young lads in wexford benefited from it over the last couple of years. Not sure what the S&C is like with the development squads but I think it is working well with the schools

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 928 - 10/03/2026 15:24:12    2660816