Sligo GAA thread

Interesting few weeks reaction, in fairness PeterQ92 a Donegal man can see it which probably gives a unbiased wider perspective.

I watched the Leitrim game live and back again. I just want to start off by acknowledging David Quinn who was outstanding and showed incredible leadership and quality and was the main reason we won. The timing of his scores were right when we needed them. He has to show it more now because he can do it clearly.

My main takeaway was how fortunate we were. This game turned on one moment when Leitrim missed an easy goal chance to go 10 pts up and instead stay at 7 and our next scores 2pter and goal to bring it 2 pts. That saved us the game but even when got ahead by 3 or 4 we still let Leitrim in for a few easy goal chances. It was very poor defending. We were so weak in the tackle at times and brushed off so easily and gave away cheap turnovers. Some on here mentioning our lads are great servants and want to give participation trophies by the sounds of it. Did you see who was marking McNulty. McNulty scored 1-4 from play from midfield and his goal he was tracked but our player was brushed off so easily. Leitrim could have scored 5-18 easily. I scratch my head when I hear on here the Sligo defence 2-7 have proven themselves to be excellent.

Remember this was a Leitrim team with 3 starters from last year with little to no S&C done compared to us. The had 3 u20s from this year and 3 from last years all starting so the age profile was much younger than us. We didn't have 1 who started from A Schools or Connacht Championships 3 years out. Now they are forced to bring them in but to get so close to us is very concerning but not unexpected. We lost our shape and forwards seem to lose their way until Quinn stepped up. This Sligo team has a few weak spots better teams will exploit and players with low ceiling which is why we are stagnating now. The starting team named for Kildare is the exact same team by the looks of it.

No consequences for 2 back to back poor performances.

I have been confused as to what player evaluation look like with Sligo for years. Like how can anyone justify holding back the U20s who are now 21,22,23 yrs old to watch the players who get loads of chances and play poorly so often. I just don't get it why those younger are getting no chances.

Kildare and Sligo have had some great battles over the years. I was there in 2001 when with 14 man Sligo beat them and many times after. We have had big wins over them but they have to. I remember them relegating us one year from DIv2 with last kick of the game. The recent draw in the sam maguire group stage was promising but obviously recently they look to have kicked on a bit.

All that being said I expect Sligo to put on better show against better opposition and really there is no pressure on this game as both teams advance, Kildare's style of play tends to suit us but Id be concerned at their running power and midfield. Flynn, Beirne and hyland got 3-12 against Tipp for them and will cause us problems.

Both teams should make a semi final at least as remaining teams are poor and won't punish the way a top 20 team would so I won't be reading too much into this game. Westmeath would be favorites for me to win it out followed by Kildare. Offaly, Antrim and Fermanagh are decent but not world beaters.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1857 - 30/05/2025 20:40:58    2613677

Replying To Sligonian:  "Interesting few weeks reaction, in fairness PeterQ92 a Donegal man can see it which probably gives a unbiased wider perspective.

I watched the Leitrim game live and back again. I just want to start off by acknowledging David Quinn who was outstanding and showed incredible leadership and quality and was the main reason we won. The timing of his scores were right when we needed them. He has to show it more now because he can do it clearly.

My main takeaway was how fortunate we were. This game turned on one moment when Leitrim missed an easy goal chance to go 10 pts up and instead stay at 7 and our next scores 2pter and goal to bring it 2 pts. That saved us the game but even when got ahead by 3 or 4 we still let Leitrim in for a few easy goal chances. It was very poor defending. We were so weak in the tackle at times and brushed off so easily and gave away cheap turnovers. Some on here mentioning our lads are great servants and want to give participation trophies by the sounds of it. Did you see who was marking McNulty. McNulty scored 1-4 from play from midfield and his goal he was tracked but our player was brushed off so easily. Leitrim could have scored 5-18 easily. I scratch my head when I hear on here the Sligo defence 2-7 have proven themselves to be excellent.

Remember this was a Leitrim team with 3 starters from last year with little to no S&C done compared to us. The had 3 u20s from this year and 3 from last years all starting so the age profile was much younger than us. We didn't have 1 who started from A Schools or Connacht Championships 3 years out. Now they are forced to bring them in but to get so close to us is very concerning but not unexpected. We lost our shape and forwards seem to lose their way until Quinn stepped up. This Sligo team has a few weak spots better teams will exploit and players with low ceiling which is why we are stagnating now. The starting team named for Kildare is the exact same team by the looks of it.

No consequences for 2 back to back poor performances.

I have been confused as to what player evaluation look like with Sligo for years. Like how can anyone justify holding back the U20s who are now 21,22,23 yrs old to watch the players who get loads of chances and play poorly so often. I just don't get it why those younger are getting no chances.

Kildare and Sligo have had some great battles over the years. I was there in 2001 when with 14 man Sligo beat them and many times after. We have had big wins over them but they have to. I remember them relegating us one year from DIv2 with last kick of the game. The recent draw in the sam maguire group stage was promising but obviously recently they look to have kicked on a bit.

All that being said I expect Sligo to put on better show against better opposition and really there is no pressure on this game as both teams advance, Kildare's style of play tends to suit us but Id be concerned at their running power and midfield. Flynn, Beirne and hyland got 3-12 against Tipp for them and will cause us problems.

Both teams should make a semi final at least as remaining teams are poor and won't punish the way a top 20 team would so I won't be reading too much into this game. Westmeath would be favorites for me to win it out followed by Kildare. Offaly, Antrim and Fermanagh are decent but not world beaters."
Excellent post

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 40 - 31/05/2025 14:30:48    2613745

Westmeath beaten today, Carlow bet Fermanagh already . I would be treating the game tomorrow as a must win game or it becomes very difficult.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 133 - 31/05/2025 16:18:03    2613760

Replying To Taypot:  "Westmeath beaten today, Carlow bet Fermanagh already . I would be treating the game tomorrow as a must win game or it becomes very difficult."
Limerick beating Westmeath is good for the likes of Sligo. If we lose to Kildare we can't meet them until semi final or a win and it's a home QF if they win next week. Did anyone really fancy a trip to Mullingar and pulling off a QF win? But I agree every game should be treated as must win.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 516 - 31/05/2025 17:44:47    2613773

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Limerick beating Westmeath is good for the likes of Sligo. If we lose to Kildare we can't meet them until semi final or a win and it's a home QF if they win next week. Did anyone really fancy a trip to Mullingar and pulling off a QF win? But I agree every game should be treated as must win."
My post wasn't about meeting Westmeath. It was how competitive this years Tailteann Cup is turning out to be. Wicklow are after topping their group. If we don't win tomorrow we could be playing Laois in Tubber next week.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 133 - 31/05/2025 21:42:03    2613835

Some really interesting results today in the football. I watched Westmeath v Roscommon in the league, their Kildare game and Antrim game and they really impressed so I'm really surprised Limerick caught them. Fair play. As said Carlow beating Fermanagh a few weeks ago shows you can't take anything for granted. It looks like nobody matches Down's standard in the tailtean this year.

It would be a positive to get a home Quarter final. All the best to the team and management.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1857 - 31/05/2025 22:00:24    2613844

Was in the Hyde today to view that high scoring entertaining encounter. Good comeback by Sligo from 12 points down 10 minutes into the 2nd half to cut the gap to two points but you were undone by breaches then. Decent crowd and atmosphere was good especally during that comeback I won't be surprised if we get a repeat of that match in the final. Best of luck for the rest of competition I see you got Carlow at home next.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4073 - 01/06/2025 20:21:15    2614138

When you look back on the game it was a highly entertaining game but the breeze played puck with it. We had our chances in both halves to have narrowed the deficit if not been ahead. Full back line was woefully exposed to bigger men and out muscled. Not starting Spillane was a mistake and as for Devaney, well the last 2 mins he played would require a man in a white coat to call to him and not the umpire! Anyways we've a good draw got with Carlow and the QF options aren't as bad as I expected them to be, Wicklow, Limerick or Fermanagh away is nothing to be worried about.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 516 - 01/06/2025 20:46:13    2614144

Where will the game be played next weekend lads? Presume main ground in Sligo town is still closed.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 01/06/2025 22:12:36    2614170

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "When you look back on the game it was a highly entertaining game but the breeze played puck with it. We had our chances in both halves to have narrowed the deficit if not been ahead. Full back line was woefully exposed to bigger men and out muscled. Not starting Spillane was a mistake and as for Devaney, well the last 2 mins he played would require a man in a white coat to call to him and not the umpire! Anyways we've a good draw got with Carlow and the QF options aren't as bad as I expected them to be, Wicklow, Limerick or Fermanagh away is nothing to be worried about."
Agree that the wind had its part to play. I can't believe that the management persists with playing Cummins at 6. He offers plenty going forward but is abysmal defending. His man went in with 1.4 at half time and was involved in multiple other scores. Paul Mc has been off the pace last 2 games. Evan is the only man that looks anyways comfortable with the man on man in the fb line. Lost too many breaking balls in the 1st half. Agressively commited more men to the break for the last 15 of the game and started to reap the benefits. Game was there to be won in the end. Deignan 2 pt effort to equalise goes wide. 3 man breach puts it back to 3pts. Spillane swipes at an easy effort. Murphy drops a hand pass short to a man gone inside the Kildare fb line who would have had a decent goal chance. Don't know how long Mullen out for but he's missed from half back line. Oh to have a big strong midfielder to do the donkey work around the middle and free Paddy O up to the forwards. You would think that Carlow should be beatable if we play like we did for the last 15.

Sligogo (Sligo) - Posts: 2 - 01/06/2025 23:02:53    2614186

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Where will the game be played next weekend lads? Presume main ground in Sligo town is still closed."
I would say Tubbercurry.

Sligogo (Sligo) - Posts: 2 - 01/06/2025 23:03:41    2614187

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Where will the game be played next weekend lads? Presume main ground in Sligo town is still closed."
Kilcoyne Park, Tubbercurry

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 472 - 02/06/2025 00:09:46    2614196

When you go that far behind in a game there can be no excuses or what ifs. Amazingly we end up in Tubber v Carlow which is a great result. Yes Carlow will bring challenges but if we can't beat them at home we are fooling ourselves about winning the competition. Hopefully Carlow have no access to a video of yesterday or they will see several areas where they can hurt us.

MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 96 - 02/06/2025 12:03:49    2614266

Tony doing a great job. We gave Mayo, Kildare and promotion a good rattle. If Seán wasn't in Oz we'd have been closer or even win one of them.

Cuphalffull (Sligo) - Posts: 1 - 02/06/2025 12:14:11    2614268

Sligo will take plenty of belief from yesterday but as I said before there was no real jeopardy or pressure with little at stake in reality. Carlow at home and Fermanagh/Wicklow or Limerick away between us and a semi final is very much attainable.

Management continue to underwhelm me in how they evaluate matches, I don't know how they watch the video of the Leitrim match and drop Towey and Spillane. They corrected it somewhat at HT with McNamara coming off but a lot of damage was done. Towey should be playing better but I would still start him. Cummins and McNamara were badly exposed for most of Kildare's goals. I have been saying it for years Cummins is not a defender and he hasn't the pace for the new rules. Watch the 3rd and 4th goal back. That channel is wide open and Kildare exploited it and I am sure it wasn't the only time. He lasted 67 mins. I can see he isn't comfortable with the speed of the game so can the opposition.

All the goals were easily preventable, 2 defenders covering the same man on the 1st, no danger with kildare out on the wings for the 2nd but waltz past us covering the one runner and being the wrong side, 3rd goal straight from the kickout but plenty of cover but a lazy tackle and not bottling up the runner in the tackle let them through far too easily, and 4th goal is straight through the middle where our lack of pace was exposed. We need to have players who can match the runners pace, we need to be more aggressive in the tackle in contact. Our defence is just too soft at times. We also need to communicate better, this defence is playing together a long time, you can't cover the same man and not the runner at this level and you have to see the danger too. Teams are creating too many goal chances against us and its something that can be fixed. Firstly personnel changes and then shape and positional awareness. We need to learned to front up physically better and use our bodies to cut across runners and slow them down.

Great attempt at the comeback and great resilience to not give in. 1-24 is a great score with some left behind. When I watched the Leitrim game I actually thought we created a lot without much of a platform so clearly we have the creativity part right and hopefully that can continue now. Today was free hit in a way and you avoid Westmeath and we probably know we can beat Kildare if Management get it right.

Casserly and O Boyle not on the bench is surprising but maybe injury related. Anybody know? Any word on Mullen?

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1857 - 02/06/2025 17:08:49    2614361

Sligo v Carlow Sunday June 8th in Tubbercurry at 2pm.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1857 - 02/06/2025 17:20:50    2614367

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo will take plenty of belief from yesterday but as I said before there was no real jeopardy or pressure with little at stake in reality. Carlow at home and Fermanagh/Wicklow or Limerick away between us and a semi final is very much attainable.

Management continue to underwhelm me in how they evaluate matches, I don't know how they watch the video of the Leitrim match and drop Towey and Spillane. They corrected it somewhat at HT with McNamara coming off but a lot of damage was done. Towey should be playing better but I would still start him. Cummins and McNamara were badly exposed for most of Kildare's goals. I have been saying it for years Cummins is not a defender and he hasn't the pace for the new rules. Watch the 3rd and 4th goal back. That channel is wide open and Kildare exploited it and I am sure it wasn't the only time. He lasted 67 mins. I can see he isn't comfortable with the speed of the game so can the opposition.

All the goals were easily preventable, 2 defenders covering the same man on the 1st, no danger with kildare out on the wings for the 2nd but waltz past us covering the one runner and being the wrong side, 3rd goal straight from the kickout but plenty of cover but a lazy tackle and not bottling up the runner in the tackle let them through far too easily, and 4th goal is straight through the middle where our lack of pace was exposed. We need to have players who can match the runners pace, we need to be more aggressive in the tackle in contact. Our defence is just too soft at times. We also need to communicate better, this defence is playing together a long time, you can't cover the same man and not the runner at this level and you have to see the danger too. Teams are creating too many goal chances against us and its something that can be fixed. Firstly personnel changes and then shape and positional awareness. We need to learned to front up physically better and use our bodies to cut across runners and slow them down.

Great attempt at the comeback and great resilience to not give in. 1-24 is a great score with some left behind. When I watched the Leitrim game I actually thought we created a lot without much of a platform so clearly we have the creativity part right and hopefully that can continue now. Today was free hit in a way and you avoid Westmeath and we probably know we can beat Kildare if Management get it right.

Casserly and O Boyle not on the bench is surprising but maybe injury related. Anybody know? Any word on Mullen?"
Have a look at the New York sanction list and you'll see why O'Boyle isn't playing. I presume can't play once on a sanction list.

BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 111 - 03/06/2025 04:07:19    2614459

Conor Johnson flying out today.
Two of the 3 changes that were made before the game didn't work. These lads have to take their chances . They need to grow up fast. We were then back to the usual tea when we started to play. . Very disappointing at our lack of options.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 133 - 03/06/2025 10:48:03    2614497

Thanks lads, I just had a look. James Donlon on his way as well but obviously he wasn't involved with county seniors. With the lack of chances I don't blame them. We do need to review what is actually happening to our younger players in the county senior set up. Can it be its all on the players or is it management holding them back and not developing them. As I said before giving game time to low ceiling players who are allowed too many poor performances shouldn't be blocking chances to younger players. You have to experiment and try an unearth new talent as well. New York usually stream their club games.

Its a pity Markievicz is out of action, Galway v Armagh or Donegal V Mayo would have played there I'd imagine and we probably receive some much needed cash.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1857 - 03/06/2025 19:12:11    2614662

Replying To Sligonian:  "Thanks lads, I just had a look. James Donlon on his way as well but obviously he wasn't involved with county seniors. With the lack of chances I don't blame them. We do need to review what is actually happening to our younger players in the county senior set up. Can it be its all on the players or is it management holding them back and not developing them. As I said before giving game time to low ceiling players who are allowed too many poor performances shouldn't be blocking chances to younger players. You have to experiment and try an unearth new talent as well. New York usually stream their club games.

Its a pity Markievicz is out of action, Galway v Armagh or Donegal V Mayo would have played there I'd imagine and we probably receive some much needed cash."
Careful now with your low ceilings. One of the players that you frequently mentioned as low ceiling got loads of points lately especially against Leitrim. A lot of young players have got chances and they are not ready yet. When you are 15 points down it's time to take them off and put back the older more reliable and better footballers.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 133 - 03/06/2025 22:31:01    2614686