Your just an anti Naomh Conaill person. Jealousy is a terrible thing. I have no idea how this year's Championship will go but I see us been amount the few capable of winning the Senior Championship. We are currently Senior Champions so a bit of respect from you would be more than welcome but probably too much to ask for?
Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 473 - 19/07/2023 12:48:28 2495610 Link 0 |
No I'm not anti n Conal. Am I not allowed to say that I don't think n Conal is going to win the championship this year. It's just my opinion lad , don't take it too personal. The dr maguire will be heading back to letterkenny I think. As I said it's only my opinion. My 3 championship predictions Senior- st eunans Intermediate. Termon Junior. Convoy. . rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 19/07/2023 13:01:45 2495614 Link 0 |
He was the county's best player three years ago. Two years ago was injured. Last year opted out.
TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 19/07/2023 13:09:26 2495619 Link 1 |
In Donegal we do have the tools/players to win an All Ireland, however finding suitable quality management is our main problem. Looking at the likes of Dublin, Kerry, Derry, Monaghan, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Armagh etc, I believe at full strength we have the talent and depth to beat any of them and win the All Ireland, however unfortunately very few coaches or managers within the County seem able to imagine the possibilities. The 2023 Donegal squad was missing a lot of key players, yet we got to the last 12 of the All Ireland and put up respectable performances despite the management mess near the end of a brutal League campaign. The potential of this Donegal sqaud is off the chart when adding in players who were missing this year, we just need an energized management team to help make it happen. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1332 - 19/07/2023 13:25:21 2495625 Link 2 |
The three men in question, are probably three of the best footballers to ever play for Donegal , i be happy to have them in Donegal dressing room any time ..
red.hugh (Donegal) - Posts: 176 - 19/07/2023 13:45:58 2495631 Link 0 |
Perhaps he is better at club level as county players usually are but Niall was a player who took on and scored long range shots. At that time, Langan and Thompson were doing the same. Then, all of a sudden it looked like they were directed to stop taking these on. Thompson still hits the odd one. Then opposition defences knew that this was a big threat they didn't have to deal with when playing Donegal and could sit deeper, making life harder for our attacking players than it was previously. I greatly suspect that several of the missing players aren't interested in being part of the setup due to past managers not identifying and utilising their greatest strengths.
StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 19/07/2023 13:50:43 2495633 Link 1 |
I think we need to be realistic about what a new manager can do. We haven't made a serious challenge for the All-Ireland since 2014, that is going on 10 years. I am not trying to be pessimistic but the reality is that we need to try and build a team to challenge. Even with a full deck to choose from we have been unable to get to a semi-final since 2014. In saying that, I haven't been impressed with the standard in the All Ireland race this year, these are not vintage Kerry and Dublin teams by any means. Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1906 - 19/07/2023 13:54:36 2495635 Link 0 |
I agree, Niall showed he had all the tools in 2019. I remember that dog of a day in Castlebar he was one of the few that in my opinion showed a bit of fight in that game. He'd be one of the first on the team sheet for me so long as he was committed and showing well in training, so much talent.
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 19/07/2023 14:01:55 2495639 Link 1 |
prophet in your own land rory bocht lol
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 161 - 19/07/2023 14:02:18 2495640 Link 0 |
Stop will you ,so we have the players to win an all Ireland but as usual blame all the managers if we don't. That's the attitude of a lot of Donegal fans the players can do no wrong. Even with a full squad we're miles off the likes of Kerry Dublin and Derry. I don't like saying it but this is fact. Get me three more defenders and I might agree that we could make a semi final.for the time being forget all Irelands as the old saying goes learn to walk before you can run.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 19/07/2023 14:14:33 2495644 Link 0 |
That's the problem lad , I'm probably a bit too knowledgeable for this forum.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 19/07/2023 14:15:55 2495645 Link 0 |
Nobody questioning that they were great players, one of them in the 1970s and the other 2 in the 1990's. They've done nothing since their playing days to suggest they could coach a modern day inter county team.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 19/07/2023 14:16:14 2495646 Link 2 |
Are we miles behind Derry? Really? With a bit more gumption we would have won the Ulster final in 2022. I don't remember any Derry players in particular rinsing our defence that day. Fair enough in Ballybofey this year they could have hammered us but I would put that down more to our legs going than any awe-inspiring attacking play by Derry. Even Dublin and Kerry, whilst I would agree are ahead of us, aren't world beaters either. Certainly not when compared to their teams of yesteryear. Take Clifford out of that Kerry team at the weekend and Derry would have beaten them by 5 points+. I know that chatting here is easy, it's a lot harder to prove it all out on the pitch. But given a proper managment set up, and a good S&C program, I see no reason why we shouldn't aspire to be in that top 4-6 bracket. Time to rid ourselves of the inferiority complex and get things moving in the right direction again. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 19/07/2023 14:35:01 2495654 Link 3 |
Closing date for applications for the job on Friday. I can't imagine they're drowning in applications. Thankfully, Maxi has ruled himself out. Bonner, in his column calling for a Donegal born manager...so we can endure more mediocrity if anyone with a good track record isn't interested. I might tip into the bookies to see if I can get a price on them announcing someone from the 92 or 2012 squad with no cv that indicates success at any level. StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 19/07/2023 16:14:26 2495676 Link 1 |
We are miles behind don't fool yourself in thinking we're not.. the reason we took Derry to extra. Time in 2022 is because we're a well organised team with all our players available. A lot of players didn't make them selves available this year ,wudnt take a genius to know why, I could have told yous that early this year.. Derry have win two all Ireland minors this last few years why because they have a brilliant under age set up. There colleges are always competing at the top level, they have a lot of good club teams, teams who have win club all irelands and went to finals. . What under age success have we. Absolutely nothing our club football is a borefest I could go on. Nobody no more disappointed than me. My fear next year if we Don't get our act together is that we'll end up in the tailteann cup.. forget about outside managers there a waste of time, get donegal men in who care about our county team.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 19/07/2023 16:42:23 2495682 Link 1 |
Who do you want be interesting to hear.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 19/07/2023 16:44:30 2495684 Link 0 |
Manager and coach needs to be proven. Some sort of record. Just because you kicked a point in 92 or 2012 doesn't make you a good manager or coach. Easy saying pick a Donegal manger but realistically there's no one proven in the county. Martin Ragen is probably the only manager who could hold his hand up and say I deserve it. Based on his record.
TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 19/07/2023 17:15:25 2495697 Link 1 |
Was Michael Murphy not playing 3 years ago? The team became better when Mogan came in, albeit not a direct replacement, but a better player. I'll say no more on it as it's not my intention to slate him online.
SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 19/07/2023 23:06:16 2495735 Link 0 |
OK, so why can't be get well organised again, and entice all players back? Get ourselves primed and ready for 2024. It's not climate change we're trying to solve here. I would agree with you re: underage though. Our record is abysmal, criminally so. Fair enough, other teams in the province have the advantage of their colleges system which ensures their youngsters get regular exposure to a higher standard of football than our lads of a similar age do. But that's what the Academy was for. It's makes it all the more galling when you think about it. How we've somehow managed to take a shotgun and shoot ourselves in both feet on that front. You'd wonder what kind of power this interim director has? If he comes in and recommends that Karl Lacey and his team of coaches be brought back on board as a top priority what happens then? You'd like to think certain individuals would accept that, step aside and facilitate the smooth return. I wouldn't bet on it though. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 20/07/2023 10:16:35 2495753 Link 1 |
Very Good point.Although I do think there is a vast difference between club and County.Aspiring County managers should really manage County u21 or even a smaller county before they step up to senior inter county management.
heyday (Laois) - Posts: 35 - 20/07/2023 10:33:02 2495757 Link 1 |