Donegal GAA thread

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Mickey Graham..what's Youse think.."
He'd have to be considered if he applied. A serious cv in club football at different clubs, and overachieved at county level. Not a massive commute from Cavan to Convoy.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 14/07/2023 18:24:41    2494417

Replying To RoryGall35:  "Mickey Graham..what's Youse think.."
He's certainly worth an interview anyway. It would depend on what sort of team he could put together. I think that he done very well with Mullinalaghta and Cavan, and seems to be tactically astute. Naturally, we would believe that we have more talent at our disposal, so it could be an attractive enough proposition for a man who seems eager to prove himself. I heard him interviewed in the last week, and he wasn't speaking like a man who has had his fill of intercounty management. Personally, I believe that Malachy O'Rourke is our best option at the moment, but I'm not sure if that's going to happen.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 763 - 14/07/2023 19:01:57    2494419

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Which 3 of our lads are ye trying to claim over in Fintown/glenties??

The champ will be between ourselves - the others are falling further behind.

Wer u over in park o Donnell today ? Decentish game - draw prob fair result but we did blow a healthy lead.

Who is the lad between the sticks with the jackeen tones ???"
What happened the other 3 Eunans teams that didn't field last weekend?

Bad sign that 15 couldn't be gathered to go up the road to Muff

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1184 - 15/07/2023 13:10:01    2494484

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "He's certainly worth an interview anyway. It would depend on what sort of team he could put together. I think that he done very well with Mullinalaghta and Cavan, and seems to be tactically astute. Naturally, we would believe that we have more talent at our disposal, so it could be an attractive enough proposition for a man who seems eager to prove himself. I heard him interviewed in the last week, and he wasn't speaking like a man who has had his fill of intercounty management. Personally, I believe that Malachy O'Rourke is our best option at the moment, but I'm not sure if that's going to happen."
Was O Rourke not asked last year and ruled himself out

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2872 - 15/07/2023 13:33:49    2494488

Only one man that get the team back in shape and that's Jim, but if he's not interested then there's nothing we can do about it I suppose.
Mc Guinness, with Murphy and Lacey, that would be some management team and would bring a bit of hope back to the fans as well.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3175 - 15/07/2023 15:12:58    2494506

Watching the TC final here and I have to say it's pretty poor fare. I think if we get our house in order there's no way we're a TC standard team.

We'd all love to see Jim make a return but I'd say he knows better than anyone that thinks behind the scenes need sorting out.

Of the outside possibilities I'd say MOR or MG would be very decent candidates. Whether they'd be interested or not us another story.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9745 - 15/07/2023 15:50:25    2494512

Replying To peiledoir20:  "What happened the other 3 Eunans teams that didn't field last weekend?

Bad sign that 15 couldn't be gathered to go up the road to Muff"
Yeah very poor from St. Eunan's, their no show in Muff guaranteed Muff a place in Div 3 promotion play-off. A lot of walk overs in DIV 3 and 3B in particular but not confined to just that level. If my memory serves me it used to be a €200 fine per game. I wouldn't have much confidence in the county board applying the rules equally to all clubs though.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 50 - 15/07/2023 16:26:42    2494521

Replying To BeardedBorderGael:  "Yeah very poor from St. Eunan's, their no show in Muff guaranteed Muff a place in Div 3 promotion play-off. A lot of walk overs in DIV 3 and 3B in particular but not confined to just that level. If my memory serves me it used to be a €200 fine per game. I wouldn't have much confidence in the county board applying the rules equally to all clubs though."
Their Div. 3 had a bit of an identity crisis this year.

Pub team put out in one game.

Half a Div. 1 team put out another game.

Couldn't field for their last game. Hard to know what they are at. I don't think they know themselves.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1184 - 15/07/2023 16:52:03    2494531

Replying To eunans4ever:  "We can all make stuff on here - it's the nature of the beast.

I haven't read anywhere here that anyone called for Glenties/Fintown to be split in two - that's just madness , why would anyone suggest that ????

The poster u replied to isn't from letterkenny , it's widely known where he is loyal to."
I see you were caught out again by another poster, yourself and rorysboys should take a break and maybe visit Naomh conaill, see the excellent work being put in by our volunteers.
You see I don't begrudge a club having success when they put in the work. Unlike yourself and rorysboys.

The county board could learn a thing or two from our club. Passionate and hard working, and it's about the club and not the individual.

If you haven't everyone pulling in the same direction, it will not matter who is managing Donegal.

I believe it will take us a few years to sort out the whole mess, because there are people involved in the county board or pulling the strings behind the scenes that have been there for decades.
And until we get fresh professional blood involved, we will continue to underachieve.
We need a complete overhaul in our coaching setup, and get rid of coaches who preach that possession rubbish. And defensive football.
You can't make clubs play a certain way, but you can coach the development squads in a certain way, from underage up.
Teach defenders how to defend one on one, and teach forwards to attack their man when in possession.
Jesus I miss the days of tony Boyle, or Adrian Sweeney or a Brendan devenney getting the ball and only thinking of one thing, turning and shooting and taking on there man.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 15/07/2023 21:04:39    2494635

Replying To The keeper:  "I see you were caught out again by another poster, yourself and rorysboys should take a break and maybe visit Naomh conaill, see the excellent work being put in by our volunteers.
You see I don't begrudge a club having success when they put in the work. Unlike yourself and rorysboys.

The county board could learn a thing or two from our club. Passionate and hard working, and it's about the club and not the individual.

If you haven't everyone pulling in the same direction, it will not matter who is managing Donegal.

I believe it will take us a few years to sort out the whole mess, because there are people involved in the county board or pulling the strings behind the scenes that have been there for decades.
And until we get fresh professional blood involved, we will continue to underachieve.
We need a complete overhaul in our coaching setup, and get rid of coaches who preach that possession rubbish. And defensive football.
You can't make clubs play a certain way, but you can coach the development squads in a certain way, from underage up.
Teach defenders how to defend one on one, and teach forwards to attack their man when in possession.
Jesus I miss the days of tony Boyle, or Adrian Sweeney or a Brendan devenney getting the ball and only thinking of one thing, turning and shooting and taking on there man."
Any word on your pal Jim. He said he was willing to help out this year so I would say he'll be there in some capacity next year. Keep us informed lad.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2613 - 15/07/2023 22:07:26    2494657

So a Eunans Glenties league final. Will probably be shadow boxing ahead of their championship clash a few weeks later.

At the other end Glenfin pulled out a big performance in Towney earn a relegation play off. Cloughaneely go down despite putting up a good fight at home. The same cannot be said for their opponents Killybegs who went down without even a whimper. Worrying signs in the fishing town.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1184 - 16/07/2023 20:04:46    2494903

"We just came up short"- Maxi Curran

15 points ain't short Maxi.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 143 - 16/07/2023 21:31:10    2494934

Yeah, the ladies were well and truly beaten. Their passing was atrocious.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 17/07/2023 08:48:43    2494969

Any word on a manager?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1208 - 17/07/2023 15:07:55    2495140

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Any word on a manager?"
I don't know what the panic is getting a manager in anyway, don't think it's going to make a wild pile of difference who comes in unless we get McGuinness back in, he is the only one that will give the fans a bit hope again, Murphy also but he is going to gain experience first and learn the trade a bit, though if you look at Monaghan and Vinny Corey if you have got what it takes there isn't that much to learn, just get in there and get the ship on the right heading.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3175 - 17/07/2023 20:08:24    2495244

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Any word on a manager?"
Heard Maxi Currans name mentioned a couple of times in recent weeks, although one time was Brendan Devenney joking on DL debate about how maybe Maxi could be an option for the Senior men's team. I'm not sure whether he is interested or if he would be suitable.

I hadn't heard of any other names mentioned so far, they will probably struggle to get serious candidates this time again.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1332 - 18/07/2023 08:05:06    2495283

There should be no talk of a manager until McGee and McGrath are ousted. No clubs should be entertaining any nominations until then. They need to speak up and be heard, now.

Ye thought club membership numbers were down this year? Just wait till you see what's coming after this shambles. When the gate admissions go up and the underage matches, reserves, second teams fall apart it won't be the heads of the county board looked for, it will be the club chairs, and rightfully so.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 452 - 18/07/2023 10:41:03    2495332

Hearing that players have approached McGuinness and have already met with him. This would be a big step forward if he were to commit.
McGuinness seems to be grasping at straws on the soccer pipe dream. Hope the players can sway him back to what he's good at.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 154 - 18/07/2023 11:09:02    2495350

Replying To Commodore:  "Heard Maxi Currans name mentioned a couple of times in recent weeks, although one time was Brendan Devenney joking on DL debate about how maybe Maxi could be an option for the Senior men's team. I'm not sure whether he is interested or if he would be suitable.

I hadn't heard of any other names mentioned so far, they will probably struggle to get serious candidates this time again."
I see Maxi has finished up with the ladies ...

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 18/07/2023 11:25:53    2495354

Pauric McShea, writing in the Democrat, suggests that he wouldn't be too worried if Barry McGowan and Manus Boyle were involved with the senior team. Do either of these lads have any coaching achievements? Otherwise it's a strange call, and dare I say it, old fashioned.

SignTheContract (Donegal) - Posts: 197 - 18/07/2023 11:55:00    2495363